Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Mittenwalder Str. 59, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria Germany
In die Jahre gekommen
Traveller (231)
Vue de la chambre
Room & Suite (95)
Dining (21)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#15 of 40 hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen at the foot of the Zugspitze is the ideal destination for year-around active vacationing. Not only the hotel itself, but also its spectacular surroundings, offer just the right vacation opportunities in Bavaria to suit everybody's taste. Find nature and tranquility for stressed city-dwellers, the perfect trails and slopes for skiing, and any number of fun recreational activities for the entire family. The Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen is particularly suited for families, because with its Alpine chalets the hotel complex resembles an idyllic little mountain village. You will enjoy the atmosphere of true Bavarian hospitality and the special comforts and amenities of a hotel in our spacious studios, apartments and suites. For conference and event guests our hotel is a haven, too, since we provide an environment that makes working a productive pleasure.Come and see for yourself. We look forward to welcoming you!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Ski school
Skiing
Tennis court
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Solarium
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Bottled water
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Mittenwalder Str. 59, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria Germany
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 53 out of 100
53
Kranebitten Airport
18.8 mi
See all flights
413Reviews10Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 134
  • 148
  • 83
  • 31
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
heinrichgrafe wrote a review Apr 2022
Singapore, Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Dorint on Easter weekend. Overall a good experience with breakfast service and offerings being very good.
However, our Son made the reservation for two double rooms closed together, one for three nights and ours for one. He confirmed the reservation and the close proximity again a few days prior. His room was greatly renovated with wonderful bathroom and clean and well appointed new interior design.
However,our room 330 in a very different opposite house, was not renovated, with the carpet being worn out and at least urgent shampooing needing , no slippers provided, which would be needed on this carpet. The balcony table leaves a lot to be desired.

Unfortunately the team member at the Reception seemed to be very indifferent, firstly with the inflexibility in the room allocation and assigning a not renovated room in a not requested proximity; probably thinking a one nighter on a first visit; not so important !!!
Secondly, the receptionist seems very unpleasantly surprised, when we requested information about Easter Catholic Mass Services, with hesitation to assist.

As mentioned, overall still a reasonable good experience of the hotel, with good location, concept and breakfast offerings,
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: FO / The Guest is not an interruption of work, but the only purpose of the work ! Give first...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stefanie Lüdtke, Sonstige at Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your detailed comment. This helps us to improve our service qualities in all areas. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and want to apologize for the inconvenience. Due to the fact that we only have two renovated sample rooms, we cannot offer a renovated room to all our guests. But we really hope to offer it soon. Rest assured that all guests are important to us, whether it's only one night or multiple. We hope that you give us another chance to proof our capabilities. Kind regards, Stefanie Lüdtke (General Manager) and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
elnino wrote a review Jun 2023
Vancouver, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice and cozy hotel directly opposite the ski jump. The rooms are very spacious and you have a great view of the Alps. We really liked the rustic Bavarian style. It is exactly what you would expect in Bavaria. The rooms were clean and we had everything we required. The staff was pretty polite and helpful. We felt comfortable. The evening buffet in the restaurant was delicious and varied. My favorite place was the beer garden where we could enjoy a cold beer after a long hike. I am sure we will be back on our next visit to Germany as we felt very comfortable. But next time then in the winter.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stefanie Lüdtke, Sonstige at Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Responded 26 Jun 2023
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your excellent comment. A full guest satisfaction is a big compliment for the whole team. Please remain loyal to our hotel and visit us again - we look forward to being your host. Greetings from Garmisch-Partenkirchen Your Dorint Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
twistedwheelnut wrote a review Jun 2021
Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a fantastic location, with views of the mountains, and even the ski jump from the window. My room was large, with a separate seating area. The decor is a little old fashioned, but it was clean and felt authentically German. Restaurant is classic Bavarian style, with good quality food and drink. The spa area is very nice with good facilities. I was here for business meetings. The meeting rooms are spacious and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stefanie Lüdtke, Sonstige at Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Responded 12 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for your great review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Especially your lovely words about our house made me happy! Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, yours Carolin Mohr | Assistant to General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin T wrote a review Dec 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Came with my family, including my two college age kids and elderly mother. Entering the place is confusing. We went to reception. Attendant was more interested in getting German speaking guests in their rooms ahead of us even though we were first in line. We had two pieces of luggage per person as we had a week long trip. No staff available to take these bags. Normally that would be okay except that the parking, reception and rooms were very spread out in a confusing manner. We had to get to our rooms following a maze of halls, stairs and the occasional elevator that went nowhere. Lugged heavy luggage up multiple flights of stairs. Asked staff we found on the way for directions and they honestly had no idea where our rooms were. This is not the place to go for elderly travelers, the handicapped or those with lots of luggage. Staff at reception were borderline rude. Hotel looked extremely dated from the 1980s. Beds felt like concrete. Bathroom had moldy grout. Not sure who rated this place so high but I did not have the same experience. One of the worst places I have been to.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this place if you have elderly travelers and luggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stefanie Lüdtke, Sonstige at Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay in our hotel. We hope that you will give us another chance to prove our capabilities. Kind regards, Your Dorint Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steen Bonde wrote a review 18 Jul
Mechelen, Belgium
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Lets start with the best part. The service in the reception area was very good and helpful and the dining area outside was very nice.
If you have any disabilities or trouble walking, the hotel will become a nightmare of steep roads and stairs. The rooms are big but not in a good shape. The beds are hard even for a big guy like me but the worse part is the food! Do NOT go for the buffet! The food is terrible made and the quality does not match the price. Moreover, do not go to the breakfast buffet at 9:00 in the morning. It is chaotic and very poor organized. Only one coffee maker made us wait in line for a long time. You should think a big old hotel knows how to handle many people by now.
A general comment is that the hotel is way too expensive compared with other hotels with the same or better facilities.
Last but not least. Please note that you will have to pay 11 Euros per day to park your car, and you cannot check in before 16:30!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sindy P wrote a review Jul 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
English below
להיזהר! מלון מזעזע, אין מיזוג, אין מעלית, הכל ישן ובריח של אבק!! נותני שירות מתחת לכל ביקורת!

Highly NOT recommended!!
That is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.
The room wasn't cleaned before we checked-in, there was no elevator to the room and also no one to help us with the luggage.
The hotel is so old you can actually smell it.
We asked for a ventilator and the receptionist didn't even tried to help us ans just started yelling at us.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stefanie Lüdtke, Sonstige at Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Responded 3 Jul 2023
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay in our hotel. We hope that you will give us another chance to prove our capabilities. Kind regards, Your Dorint Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda H wrote a review Jul 2022
Yeovil, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyed our stay here. All a bit tired and dated. Breakfast was good. We had lovely views from our block but it was pretty steep to get to our room. You could walk underground to reception if you wanted a longer easier walk. Reception staff were friendly. The outside bar area needed a good sweep. There were odd bits of broken glass. Our room was clean
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stefanie Lüdtke, Sonstige at Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Responded 1 Aug 2022
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel. Kind regards, Carolin Mohr
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kareny wrote a review Dec 2005
Buffalo, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was wonderful. We scored an unbelievable rate from their website. How we got this rate was: there were no cancellations allowed, reseved 2 months prior, and it was somewhat off season. 58 euros included breakfast for 4 & welcome drinks. Children 6 & under are free, and we have 2 children (ages 5 & 6). Since there were 4 of us, they opted to give us an apartment with a balcony overlooking the Alps.
This hotel has a beautiful indoor pool, indoor tennis court, spa, children's playroom, restaurant, and hiking trails nearby. The much famed Partnach Gorge trail near the Olympic Stadium is in walking distance. All the staff were wonderful and very professional. Bus stop is in front of the hotel's street. Adults pay a 2 euro per day tourist tax which covers unlimited bus transportion in Garmisch, discounts on cable cars, free entrance to an indoor pool in Garmisch and a few other things. I was able to look at the standard rooms and they were very nice also. All rooms are very cozy. The scenery looking out the windows of the restaurant were breathtaking. So was the scenery from our balcony. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2005
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eolienne wrote a review Mar 2007
France
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've booked this hotel for one week from March 17th to March 24th 2007. Weather was incredible, plenty of sun at first, and then tons of snow, a dream !
Now about the hotel : we stayed on a full board basis, with our 13 month baby. Our room was huge : about 60 sq meters, two bathrooms with tub. The furniture and decoration were quite old, but very well kept and spotless clean. We had a litlle "kitchen corner" that we used to prepare meals for the baby.
Now for the food : everything was good and healthy : fresh vegetables, fresh fruits, cooked to perfection by a very good chef.
The whole staff was lovely to us and the baby, helpful and polite.
The fitness center is great and fully equipped, the smimming pool and spa (with 2 saunas, hammam, and a jacuzzi) are really a plus when you come back from a ski afternoon.
The town of Garmisch is very cute, and there's many things to do around for those who don't ski : visiting Partnachs klamm (some kind of canyon : beautiful in the snow), Ludwig von Bayern's Castles (Neuschwanstein, Linderhof...)
A very relaxing holiday for us, we'll definitely go back there again next year !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2007
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
j.schr wrote a review Mar 2016
Bascharage, Luxembourg
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel from 10.10.2015 - 15.10.2015. to travel with my family (two adults, one baby of 2 months and one baby of 22 months). The staff of the hotel was unable to place two babybeds in the sleeping room, whereas this was confirmed in writing already several days in advance.
As the clerk at the reception desk was unable to find a solution (there was only one room-type available having all the same problem), we agreed on a reimbursement via the tour operator and I had to find another hotel for the same evening.
Until this day, The Dorint Sporthotel declines to reimburse any of the EUR 454,50 already paid (as the tour-operator confirmed to me).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mirja asked a question Nov 2019
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Do you offer transport to the ski slopes?
Answer from Shayupi
Singapore, Singapore14 contributions23 helpful votes
can you ski there ? zugspitz?
fraulauzon asked a question May 2016
Paramus, New Jersey18 contributions3 helpful votes
Hello! Can you tell me if the front desk is manned 24 hours? Thank you!
Answer from DorintGAPA
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Dear Fraulauzon Thank you for your message and your interest connected. We apologize for the late feedback. due to a change in personnel, we are only now possible to reply and hope that we can further assist you now. Now to your question: our reception is open 24 hours for our guests. Best regards Kathrin Tryba | Assistent Director
Answer from DorintGAPA
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Hallo, the first slope (the "Hausberg") is about 3 km away. The Alpin wolrd is about 6 km away which is a 14 min drive through Garmisch. I am looking forward to see you soon! Yours Stefanie Lüdtke Resident Manager
anon_123_13 asked a question Nov 2015
Frankfurt, Germany13 contributions1 helpful vote
at what age are the children allowed in the kids club? our son is 2 years old.
Answer from Marsha E
Kingston, Canada188 contributions94 helpful votes
I am note positive but did see some parents with very small children in the pool.
Kevin T wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place if you have elderly travelers and luggage"
Read full review
Elie B wrote a tip Jun 2023
Los Angeles, California221 contributions118 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The place looks like neglected campgrounds. Dinner option was only a buffet with an inspiring food selections. "
Read full review
heinrichgrafe wrote a tip Apr 2022
Singapore, Singapore16 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"FO / The Guest is not an interruption of work, but the only purpose of the work ! Give first time, one night guest the best; he I’ll return."
Read full review
Craig Holley wrote a tip Sept 2019
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is worth paying an extra few euros for the larger upstairs apartments really spacious with large balconies bunk beds for kids etc"
Read full review
A Alrashidi wrote a tip Jul 2019
Kuwait City, Kuwait8 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful views."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Garmisch-Partenkirchen area.
PRICE RANGE
£121 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dorint sport hotel garmisch-partenkirchen
LOCATION
GermanyBavariaUpper BavariaGarmisch-Partenkirchen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DORINT SPORTHOTEL GARMISCH-PARTENKIRCHEN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Which popular attractions are close to Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen?
Nearby attractions include Ludwigstraße (0.6 miles), Olympia Skistadion (0.3 miles), and Sommerrodelbahn (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chocolaterie Amelie, Gasthof Fraundorfer, and Taverna Hellas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Historische Bobbahn Rießersee (2.1 miles).
All Garmisch-Partenkirchen HotelsGarmisch-Partenkirchen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Garmisch-PartenkirchenHotels near Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire