Living Hotel Am Olympiapark
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Living Hotel Am Olympiapark

Traveller (148)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

£68
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#228 of 421 hotels in Munich
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
In unserem Living Hotel am Olympiapark , wohnen Sie ruhig und im Grünen. Gehen Sie joggen im Olympiapark, genießen Sie die Idylle auf dem Balkon oder der Terrasse Ihres Zimmers oder Serviced Apartments . Freuen Sie sich auf entspannten Komfort und Service. Und falls Sie doch mal Lust auf Action haben: Besuchen Sie Events und Konzerte im Olympiaark oder nutzen Sie die Verkehrsanbindungen, um schnell im Herz von München zu sein.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Convenience store
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Umbrella
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Shoeshine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Paschstr. 46, 80637 Munich, Bavaria Germany
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 59 out of 100
59
Munich Airport
17.3 mi
See all flights
Gern
6 minMunich U-Bahn
Westfriedhof
9 minMunich U-Bahn
334Reviews3Q+A27Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 135
  • 70
  • 33
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sunwoo K wrote a review Mar 2024
12 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
stayed in here for a month as a family temporary house. two of the best things I can think are a grocery store right next to this hotel and easy access to a tram and subway (U-banh) station less than 5-7 minutes by walk (so that it takes less than 30 minutes to the main city station). Staffs are nice and kind.
this property is well maintained and clean, though a facility is a bit old-fashioned.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janet Stache, General Manager at Living Hotel Am Olympiapark
Responded 4 Apr 2024
Lieber Gast, Vielen Dank für die gute Bewertung, die Sie unserem Hotel gegeben haben. Wir freuen uns, dass Ihnen der Aufenthalt bei uns gefallen hat und hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen! Mit freundlichen Grüßen aus München vom gesamten Team am Olympiapark
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dimitri_Cherchenko wrote a review Mar 2022
Geneva, Switzerland98 contributions92 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good location. Good price/quality ratio. Large two-level room, but in need of renovation. Small kitchen and eating area. Dark and with poor lighting, excepting the bathroom. Supermarket next to it. If you just need a place to sleep, then it is very much recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janet Stache, General Manager at Living Hotel Am Olympiapark
Responded 30 Mar 2022
Dear Dimitri, Thank you for your kind words and the good rating. It would be nice to welcome you again next time you stay in Munich. All the best from the Olympiapark Team!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TXTraveller88 wrote a review Aug 2013
Texas, USA66 contributions25 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel itself is fine, although unlike some others they charge extra for parking, breakfast, etc. The location near the Olympic Park in good. The grocery store and the restaurant located in the same complex are convenient pluses. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The neighborhood is nice, but crowded (don't expect to find parking easily). The real problem with this hotel, though, is that it has no air conditioning. On a hot August day, this alone makes for a VERY uncomfortable stay. Perhaps standards were different decades ago when this hotel was built, but the times have moved on. I have seen far older hotels updated with air conditioning. This hotel needs to do the same.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the complex, so as not to get the afternoon sun.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaisonAnd wrote a review Jan 2022
Berlin, Germany2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Until today I was ready to put 4 stars out of five. But now just one, because the experience is just terrible (my hotel is am Olympiapark). The situation is the following:
I came to the reception asking for room prolongation. At that moment I wasn't sure when I might leave, but I understood that I might need earlier termination. So I doublechecked at the reception whether there would be any fines in case I pay for one month but might need to leave earlier (in 2-3 weeks). The answer was that there will NOT be any fines.
So I paid for the month, having an understanding that everything is OK and whenever I need I can check out w/o losing money. But today, when I went to the reception and said that I need to check out this Friday, it appeared to be that I can NOT cancel the reservation now w/o losing money because I needed to warn them 14 days in advance, prior to the desired check-out date...
I absolutely disagree, that it's my fault, as I came in advance (by the way 14 days in advance and warned), asked about possible fines, received the info that there won't be any fines and trusted the information I received.
But now they say it was my fault and that their policies can't be challenged. Unfortunately, the arguments I provide don't work. Just contacted their central office, hoping that the solution can be found. Maybe I'm stupid and don't understand something. I've never experienced anything like this before...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janet Stache, General Manager at Living Hotel Am Olympiapark
Responded 26 Jan 2022
Dear Maison, Thank you very much for your review. We have spoken several times yesterday discussing the above mentioned issue. My colleague whom you have talked to in German (This was your choice since you have learned German while your stay in Munich) responded with our general terms and cancellation policies. Due to a language barrier, the security glass as well as the FFP2 mask (due to Covid), must have lead to a misunderstanding. After your conversation at the reception you received a confirmation of reservation where our cancellation policy is clearly stated as following: Free of charge shortenings of the stay will only be able up to 14 nights prior the actual departure date. These policies can be found on the confirmations of reservations and on our general terms and conditions which can be found on our website or could be send to you on request. We do send out confirmations including policies to prevent misunderstandings between our guests and us. I guess we do have to think about another way to make sure no misunderstandings occur in the future. Neither our cancellation policy nor our front office manager has changed in the last years therefore again I am really sorry but there must have been a misunderstanding due to the above mentioned reasons. It is really unfortunate that you are very unhappy with us now although it seems your stay was good so far. We do wish you all the best for your future and safe travels back home. Best Regards Janet Stache General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TaniAlbania wrote a review Dec 2023
Tirana, Albania47 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
we started with the first surprise , which was the location , the room is on another building , not on the main hotel. then we went to the room , and it was dirty , hair left behind. I had to go immediately to take some towels , because I could not walk because of the stains. there were spiders and the windows were not clear. then the shower water didn't go down , so I had to shower with the minimum water flow , otherwise it would flow on the bath and then room. there were rumors , somebody was working from day one . and then suddenly they turned off the heating. so imagine a room with no heating on Munich winter, especially this one. and to top it of , they where about to poison us , because they used Ozone to clean the rooms.
I can say that this hotel just isn't worth
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P M wrote a review Jun 2015
Chester, United Kingdom145 contributions64 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I would give it a minus rating if I could, but that is unfortunately not possible. My partner stayed in the room for business/leisure a year and a half ago (Dec 13-Jan 14). The room had severe mould and plaster crumbling off the walls (took many photos). For a year and a half now nobody is dealing with my complaint. Constantly I get the same fob-off answers "someone will be in touch" or a previous member of staff gets the blame of not having dealt with this (got several emails to proof this also). Today I called again (after previous visits) and I had one very rude person on the phone who not only refused to give me the name of the current manager (told me to look it up online), but also hung up on me by saying "tschuess" (erm, I'm not her mate). I have emailed fro and back so many times, but never received an answer from anyone. In case the manager replies as in other reviews that this is not the right hotel, it is the correct hotel. Derag Karl Theodor Munich. No mistake. Also, each time I called, there are only trainees working there (who were friendly, well one is: Herr Rosenbusch). Never ever a manger is present when I called in face to face or when contacting the hotel via phone. I am really upset about the treatment I have received. One and a half years......really? They obviously have enough business for now to not care about incidents like this. That permanent member of staff today and her terrible attitude really ruined my day and made me write this review. I will will see if I can get the manger of the Derag head office as this is really upsetting.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Living Hotel Am Olympiapark
Responded 30 Jun 2015
Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben uns nach 1,5 Jahren zu bewerten. Nach einem schweren Unfall im Oktober 2013 bin ich erst im Januar 2015 definitiv zurückgekehrt. Daher bitte ich um Verständnis, dass ich aufgrund dessen selbst nicht reagieren konnte und für Sie auch nicht erreichbar war. Zwischenzeitlich habe ich mich aber informiert und es stellen sich mir zwei Fragen: Warum bewerten Sie uns nicht in Ihrer deutschen Muttersprache? Warum beschweren Sie sich das erste Mal nach über einem Jahr, obwohl Sie gar nicht bei uns gewohnt haben? Ganz davon abgesehen, dass Ihr Bekannter vom 29.12.2013 bis zum 01.01.2014 in einem Hotelzimmer untergebracht war, welches im Sommer 2013 renoviert worden ist. Er war mit seinem Aufenthalt bei uns sehr zufrieden. Ich denke, wir sollten darüber sprechen und ich würde mich wirklich sehr freuen, erneut von Ihnen zu hören – jetzt bin ich ja wieder da. Mit freundlichen Grüßen Sabine Schneider-Rottig Direktorin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arcadie P wrote a review Jan 2015
Paderborn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany67 contributions110 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Probably 20 years ago it would have been a place with style and luxury but not today.
Even Ibis has better beds and no smell of food on halls.
Paying over 900 euros for 5 nights of sleep in a teenager-like-bed is not a proper way to run business.
The 2 stars are primarily for close location to public transportation and for the 2 bottle of water and other 2 of beer delivered for free on a daily basis, except for the last day - they even forgot to take the empty bottles :(
If you're on a business trip and plan to work from the hotel, forget about it - the connection is crappy and worse than a dial-up link back in 90's.
AVOID IT !!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't even think about choosing a room in this hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexander S wrote a review Jan 2014
Tübingen, Germany27 contributions24 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed a single night, paid almost 100 Euros - and walked into a very smelly room, although the window was already open (in December!). I had to keep the window open allnight, it would still smell. The carpet had many spots, big and small. Although spacious, this kind of room wouldn't even pass as a very simple motel room in the US. I should have read some german reviews before booking because of a reasonable location, it's a sadly known issue since at least a year..
The breakfast room was made out of 3-4 normal rooms - it's tiny and very crowded in the morning. The breakfast itself was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
newbury2003 wrote a review Dec 2007
Newbury, United Kingdom14 contributions36 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I find it hard to understand why this hotel has received so many positive reviews. I stayed here for one night while visiting Munich on business.

The hotel is stuck in the 70's and has not been touched since it was built for the 1970 Olympics. My room in particular was small, dusty and with the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. The hotel is situated in a residential area which means that there isn't much on offer outside the hotel and you will therefore need to hop on the underground if you want to go out..

The hotel staff didn't seem to make my stay any more enjoyable with a long wait to check in/out, added to the fact that the reception desk is far too small.

There are better areas and hotels in Munich and unless you are travelling on a tight budget I'd avoid this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2007
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne B wrote a review Mar 2015
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Rude manager...refused to change or refund my room! The rooms were smokers room and dirty. I clearly reserved a non smoker's room. The manager said nothing could be done and that was that! We had to leave and a refund was not given! What a scam!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not believe the ads!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Living Hotel Am Olympiapark
Responded 7 Apr 2015
Thanks a lot for your review and we are really sorry about what happened. But we like to inform you that you accidentally wrote about another hotel. We checked all our guest files and reservations. We found nothing - neither you nor your reservation. Furthermore you never spoke face to face to the manager as I am the manager. Wherever you made this experience - certainly not at the Hotel Karl Theodor. With best wishes from your Karl Theodor-Team in Munich Sabine Schneider-Rottig General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristin S asked a question Jan 2019
Lake Charles, Louisiana32 contributions10 helpful votes
How big is the couch bed in the duplex? Could it fit a younger couple?
Answer from Janet S
Hello jbo71, the couch bed is about 1,10mx1.50m Kind regards Carina Ensinger
lanny21 asked a question Sept 2014
Santa Ana, California
Is there a laundry facilities on site?
Answer from tihino
Bratislava, Slovakia253 contributions45 helpful votes
Yes, there is the laundry service in the hotel, however me personally never tried it
mrsmoriaty66 wrote a tip Jul 2019
Hamburg, Germany10 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best only a room with balcony, higher floor , and not in the Summer"
Read full review
Jamie F wrote a tip Apr 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom21 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a newer room"
Read full review
Travel.B wrote a tip Apr 2019
Herne60 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Back side has a children's play park and can be loud sometimes."
Read full review
Rainer K wrote a tip Apr 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa54 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The maisonette double storey rooms are very nice a spacious"
Read full review
holaadios wrote a tip Nov 2018
London6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"situated in a lovely area, 8 mins walk to Gern U-Bahn, a supermarket next door, several good restaurants nearby"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Munich area.
PRICE RANGE
£68 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
derag livnghotel karl theodor hotel munich, derag hotel munich
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor
LOCATION
GermanyBavariaUpper BavariaMunich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
249
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LIVING HOTEL AM OLYMPIAPARK - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Living Hotel Am Olympiapark
Which popular attractions are close to Living Hotel Am Olympiapark?
Nearby attractions include Escape Game Art (0.5 miles), Herz-Jesu-Kirche (0.6 miles), and Ost-West-Friedenskirche (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Living Hotel Am Olympiapark?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Living Hotel Am Olympiapark?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Living Hotel Am Olympiapark?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Living Hotel Am Olympiapark?
Yes, a parking garage and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Living Hotel Am Olympiapark?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Poseidon, Yee Chino Restaurant, and Osteria da Massimo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Living Hotel Am Olympiapark?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Living Hotel Am Olympiapark?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Living Hotel Am Olympiapark?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Living Hotel Am Olympiapark?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Asamkirche (2.7 miles), Nymphenburg Palace (1.4 miles), and St. Peter's Church (2.8 miles).
All Munich HotelsMunich Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MunichHotels near Living Hotel Am Olympiapark
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire