Platzl Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Platzl Hotel

Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria Germany
Traveller (1017)
Room & Suite (665)
Restaurant Pfistermuehle at the Platzl Hotel
Dining (161)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£227
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#18 of 421 hotels in Munich
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria Germany
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Munich Airport
17.6 mi
See all flights
Marienplatz
4 minMunich U-Bahn
Odeonsplatz
8 minMunich U-Bahn
2,903Reviews87Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,822
  • 817
  • 157
  • 67
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Steve B wrote a review Apr 2022
folsom341 contributions75 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our our first trip to Munich in many years and our decision to select the Platzl Hotel as our home base made for a memorable trip. As others have mentioned, the hotel has a really excellent location within the Aldstadt, a few minutes walk Marienplatz, Viktualienmarkt, Residenz, and other attractions in the old town. Another aspect of the location that I liked was that it was pedestrian oriented with very little automobile traffic to have to deal with. Also, the Marienplatz U and S-Bahn Station is again only a few minutes walk from the hotel. Despite being centrally located in the Aldstadt, we experied very little noise during our stay at the hotel which made a good nights sleep. The service at the hotel was excellent, very helpful staff who provided us with guidance and advice as well as selling us transporation tickets so we wouldn't have to hassle with the machines in the stations. The 5th floor room was excellent, and while cozy in terms of size, it provided a historic feel while including modern amenities. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom had an excellent shower (great water pressure). We were also fortunate to have a room view of views towards the south so we were have to see the many towers and spires in the Altstadt. An added bonus during out stay is that we were able to check in to our room at 10:00 a.m. after a long transatlantic flight, really nice to shower, change, and rest before heading out to see the City. We had a wonderful time in Munich and I would happily stay at the Platzl Hotel again for our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Select a higher level room to views and also potential reduction in noise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PhilipAtticus wrote a review Nov 2020
Limassol City, Cyprus137 contributions62 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived at the Hotel Platzl on November 1st for a business stay. It was my first trip back to Munich since 1993.

The hotel is located just around the corner from the Hofbrauhaus, and a few blocks from Marienplatz. It is a perfect location from which to explore the city.

The hotel’s architecture is a little bit on the dark and heavy traditional side, but it is ergonomic, ultra-clean and ultimately very attractive.

I appreciated the double room, which was large, clean and very comfortable and well-equipped.

The hotel is quiet: once in the rooms, it’s easy to work or sleep undisturbed.

Breakfast is excellent. Well worth the added price.

The hotel staff is excellent at every level: professional, but taking time to explain the city or different procedures. I felt very good being in a city that was locking down due to COVID thanks to the staff.

Ultimately, I was happy to see a hotel which was proud of its traditions, which employed and trained and retained excellent staff, and which paid attention to detail at every level of its operation.

I will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: High Floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heiko Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel
Responded 19 Nov 2020
Dear PhilipAtticus, thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write this detailed review about your recent stay at the Platzl Hotel. I am delighted that you have chosen our hotel for your first trip back to Munich after 27 years. It is great to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and appreciate our values. We believe that it is our personal and attentive service combined with our family tradition which sets us apart. Your kind words are a great motivation for our employees to keep up their passionate work – especially during these unsteady times. We hope that it will not take you more than two decades agein to return to Munich. Stay healthy. Best regards from the heart of Munich, Heiko Buchta – general manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JHKTS wrote a review Jan 2023
United Arab Emirates17 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great overall hotel experience. We booked two rooms for three nights and arrived by car from Austria. The hotel has its own underground garage for EUR30/24 hours from where the lift goes straight up to the lobby and hotel room floors. Check-in was smooth and very friendly, rooms were spacious and very clean, great bathrooms. We added breakfast which we thought was worth the extra money. Obviously, the hotel's location is excellent, with the Marienplatz, Residenz Munchen and other sights just a short walk away. Thought the hotel offered good value for money and can definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heiko Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel
Responded 9 Jan 2023
Dear JHKTS, Thank you very much for your brilliant feedback. We are pleased that we are able to offer underground parking for our guests. We are happy to read that you profited from it. Our housekeeping works intensively on the cleanliness of all areas. Thank you for highlighting their work. A delicious breakfast is the ideal foundation for a great day. We recommend adding the breakfast during your reservation process as this helps us a lot with reducing food waste and staff planning. Therefore, we only charge EUR 20,- per person. We look forward to welcoming you again! Best regards Heiko Buchta – general manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PierbrunoProfili wrote a review Jan 2020
Rome, Italy105 contributions98 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The company usually chose Platzl every year for its central location and traditional style, despite small rooms and cramped bathrooms. The first day I saw with my colleague a mouse crossing the bar at the lobby. Another day we, and some other guests, saw a mouse in the breakfast room right behind the egg stand. In Italy for such issue a hotel would have been closed in less than 24 hours. I was astonished that, as soon as personnel was pointed out what occured, no action,such as a breakfast refund curtailed from the advanced payment, was taken.
The gym is not available for the entire opening times since it seems to be rented for private lessons by an external trainer who changes in the gym leaving his streetwear on the floor, using the gym as a changing room. During my workout I was nicely asked to leave the gym by an unidentified person dressed in regular streetwear and, at my first denial, I was asked to limit the possibility to train on the majority of its machines. The discussion went on also in front of the lesson attendees, which was quite embarassing. Obviously in the end I was granted to stay and continue my workout,also because I would have otherwise refused to go out. Probably the over 1000 euro paid for 5 nights is not rentable without having the rent their gym. If guests cannot use the gym for the entire time stated at the time of reservation this should be curtailed or the entire stay refunded (especially for business travellers that would choose a hotel with a gym to stay fit during their trips).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heiko_Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Dear PierbrunoProfili, Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your recent stay at the Platzl Hotel. I am very sorry that you saw rodents in our hotel. Please note that this is not due to lack of hygiene in our hotel but due to 2 massive construction sites in our immediate neighbourhood as well as the cold spell. We are already working urgently and with full capacity on their elimination. Additionally, we regret the miscommunication about the usage of our fitness room. Thanks to your comment, we have now put up the training schedule (total of 4 hours per week) for everyone to see. The trainers are informed, that the fitness room is always open for guests to train but we kindly ask for our guests’ understanding that the usage of the equipment is limited during the training sessions. Personal- and group trainings can be booked by our hotel guests. We sincerely hope that we have not lost you as a frequent guest in our hotel and would be very delighted if you gave us a second chance. Best regards, Heiko Buchta-General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Quigs1977 wrote a review Dec 2022
17 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for the most traditional looking and beautiful hotel in Munich then the Platzl is for you.
We are currently staying at the hotel and check out tomorrow but we decided to write our review early out of pure frustration.
Where the Platzl is beautiful to look at and the staff are indeed friendly that’s where it ends.
On day one when we arrived we were impressed with the room size considering it’s Europe (deluxe room) but the smell of urine in the bathroom was quite strong. I went to reception and asked if this could be fixed and sure enough when we were out someone came to the room and cleaned the toilet. That night was absolutely terrible. We both hardly slept due to the noise. Firstly there was a party upstairs which the hotel cannot be blamed for but the paper thin walls meant we heard everything, including the tapping of something in the wall which kept us up all night. The following morning I went to reception and informed them of what had happened over night and I asked if we could be moved to a room of the same value and we were assured we could. The lovely gentleman at reception told us when we came back it would be sorted. Unfortunately that was not the case he had gone home and the gentleman now working had no idea what we were talking about, and to make matters worse the smell had returned to our bathroom. From here it was too hard and I told him to forget it. This morning was horrendous. The noise from 7.30 by housekeeping banging doors, moving furniture etc was so loud we decide to get up and go out. When we came back in the afternoon to have a rest the noise was still terrible. We expect that we won’t sleep much tonight so we might have to drink a few more beers to knock ourselves out. Any the moral of my long winded story is, if you are looking for that German idyllic hotel in a great location and don’t mind sleeping then this hotel is for you.
The staff have been friendly but we have felt let down by their lack of attention and following up on a simple request.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heiko Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel
Responded 21 Dec 2022
Dear Quigs1977, thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your recent stay at the Platzl Hotel. We regret to read that we were unable to meet your expectations. We are truly sorry that your room move was not executed. We want to internally investigate what has happened in order to prevent it in the future. We hope that you do get in touch with us directly with further details which would be a great help in this process. Our central location in the heart of Munich is indeed connected to a certain level of activity. Our reception desk is open 24/7. Please never hesitate to contact our reception desk if you feel disturbed by neighbors. Our housekeeping team is certainly not supposed to disturb our guests in the early morning. Please know that this will be addressed with our housekeeping manager. We hope that you still enjoyed pleasant hours in Munich and wish you happy holidays. Best regards Heiko Buchta – general manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cslavinsky wrote a review Jul 2022
Ocean City, New Jersey1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Platzl Hotel was conveniently located a short walk from the S-Bahn, which was appreciated coming in from the airport after a long flight from the US. I didn't realize I had arrived on the day of the Munich Pride parade, so I was also conveniently located near the post-parade party action, which was a welcome surprise. Grabbing a beer from one of the trucks and listening to the techno beats in the shade on a Sunday afternoon was a nice departure from my usual business travel. People watching and concert going aside, I was also in the tourist district, which made it easy to pick up souvenirs for my wife and sons. A stone's throw from the Glockenspiel and around the corner from the Hofbrauhaus, you couldn't pick a better place to be. I look forward to returning to the Platzl next time I'm in Munich, not just for the clean rooms, but the pleasant staff, excellent breakfast, and feeling like I was home. For the tech oriented, wifi up and running, able to stream video calls without issue. And air conditioning, which this summer is definitely a must have.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heiko Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel
Responded 28 Jul 2022
Dear cslavinsky, Thank you very much indeed for your brilliant review! It’s a great pleasure to read that you fully profited from our services but also from our excellent location. It is a great compliment for us that the Platzl Hotel felt like home to you during your time here in Munich. We look forward to your return and wish you all the best for the meantime! Best regards from the heart of Munich Heiko Buchta – general manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
279SS6 wrote a review Mar 2023
Standish, Maine21 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This review is a little overdue but we stayed at the Platzl Hotel in Dec of last year. It was our first time to Munich. We absolutely loved the Platzl!! Everyone was so kind and friendly who worked there!

First I have to say that they have the best breakfast ever. From the set up every morning of breakfast to the people who greet you when you come to breakfast etc, they have breakfast absolutely down. Really good choice of food, you feel like you are at a full-blown brunch buffet. So definitely pay the extra for breakfast; you won't regret it and will look forward to it every day you wake up there.

Everyone at the front desk was so helpful, they will call you a taxi but make sure you are in the lobby when the cab comes or the cab drivers get pissy if they can't find you quickly. And that's not the hotel's fault, that was ours. Cabbies are serious over there, don't make them wait!

One day we wanted lattes but the bar was closed because it was early and the young guy at the front desk (sorry forgot his name but probably the youngest one working there) went completely out of his way to help up and get us lattes. He was so pleasant.

It's nice to get a drink at the little bar in the hotel after a day of walking around and the bar staff in the bar were so gracious and kind. We looked forward to getting drinks there every night. Most speak pretty good English, and gave us so many tips where to eat, site seeing tip etc.

Our king-size bed was so comfy and our room was super clean. We had no problems sleeping and it was nice and quiet thru the night.

We were lucky enough to go during Christmas time, and they had the lobby decorated beautifully with a tree, etc. Just a short walk to the Christmas markets and literally everything.

As you can tell from this review, we loved the Platzl Hotel and we can't wait to come back hopefully this December. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. So thanks to the whole staff for making our first trip to Munich a memorable one!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heiko Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel
Responded 17 Mar 2023
Dear 279SS6, Thank you very much for your detailed review. Christmas is indeed a brilliant time to visit Munich and the Platzl Hotel. Each year we put extra attention to the decoration during Christmas. We have read your praise about our employees with great pleasure. Everyone works passionately on creating memorable stays for our guests. We are delighted that they were able to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of the room as well as the choice on the breakfast buffet as well. We are especially happy that you are planning to return this year! Best regards from the heart of Munich Heiko Buchta – general manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cinnamoncrunch wrote a review Jul 2022
941 contributions254 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying for a night as our travel plans changed while on the move and really glad we chanced upon the Platzl Hotel. It’s conveniently located and a minute walk away from the main shopping street, rooms are functional (great that the curtains are black out - our previous hotels weren’t! + they have air conditioning in the summer and provide some shampoo and conditioner). Also, Loretta was really lovely and welcoming to us while we were checking in. Would totally recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KenCage wrote a review 4 May
Fort Worth, Texas30 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful 4 night visit at the Platz Hotel in Munich. The location of the hotel near the Marienplatz and most of the other Munich attractions is the reason for our selection. However, it was the quality of the services they provide that make it an outstanding hotel. The staff was excellent, consistently going above and beyond to assist you. The room was both spacious but ours also offered two bathrooms (Toilet & Sink / Shower and Sink) that made life a little less crowded. Food Service was great. We had a dinner package which was a fantastic introduction to German cuisine and the breakfasts should not be missed. It even included a large selections of organic teas. What a way to start the day. We also enjoyed the sitting area and downstairs bar which made you feel welcome, almost part of their family. This was our first stop on a three week tour of Central Europe and definitely set the standard of what we were hoping to enjoy on our vacation. We were not disappointed .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heiko Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear KenCage, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Platz Hotel. It brings us immense pleasure to know that our central location near Marienplatz and other Munich attractions contributed to making your stay convenient and enjoyable. We take pride in providing exceptional services, and I am thrilled to learn that our staff exceeded your expectations by consistently going above and beyond to assist you throughout your visit. We are pleased to hear that you found your room spacious and appreciated the added convenience of having two bathrooms. Moreover, I am delighted that you enjoyed our dining offerings, including the dinner package showcasing modern Bavarian cuisine and our extensive breakfast selection featuring organic teas. I am pleased that you enjoyed our lobby area and downstairs bar, where you were able to unwind and socialize. Our lobby and bar area will undergo renovation which will make it even more inviting. Your kind words serve as a testament to our commitment to excellence, and I am thrilled that we were able to set the standard for your vacation in Central Europe. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future. Best regards Heiko Buchta - general manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Spainey wrote a review Jul 2023
Hove, United Kingdom17 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is superb Marienplatz, viktualienmarkt, Hofgarten,Englisher , Garten, Odeonsplatz etc etc all walkable. Staff are presentable welcoming and efficient. Breakfast is excellent high quality and not to be missed. Room perfectly acceptable ,comfortable bed , small selection of English news channels on TV, bathroom products supplied were welcome, mini bar included with water, soft drinks and beer. You are close to the most famous beerhall in the world so expect to hear people enjoying themselves! Not a problem for us but may be a consideration for some. This isn't the cheapest place to stay but, if you have the budget, the overall experience is good value. A little slice of Bavarian joy. Prost !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heiko Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel
Responded 21 Jul 2023
Dear Spppainey, Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the comfort of the room as well as our delicious breakfast buffet. Our strategic location in the heart of Munich is indeed ideal to explore many of Munich’s sights within just a few minutes of walking. A fair value for money ratio is important to us. We appreciate your acknowledgement. We hope to may welcome you again soon. Best regards Heiko Buchta – general manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Monica asked a question Jun 2023
Costa Mesa, California172 contributions43 helpful votes
Does anyone know how far this hotel is to the Neuschwanstein castle?
Answer from Heiko_Buchta
Munich, Germany8 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear Monica, thank you for your question. Castle Neuschwanstein is about a 2 hour drive from the Platzl Hotel. There are multiple tour operators offering day trips from Munich. Best regards Heiko Buchta – general manager
BalkrishnaShroff asked a question May 2023
Mumbai, India23,735 contributions1,338 helpful vote
Will the renovation will be over by 1st week of July ?
Answer from Heiko_Buchta
Munich, Germany8 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear BalkrishnaShroff, thank you for your question. The renovation works will not be finished by July. There are multiple projects at the hotel which will take months. With pleasure we assist with any further questions you might have. Best regards Heiko Buchta – general manager
BigNCBear asked a question Nov 2022
North Carolina130 contributions19 helpful votes
Is access to the spa complimentary? Not for massages and such but to the steam room, etc. Danke!
Answer from Stelios858
Reading, Pennsylvania16 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes, it was a very unique space!
Answer from Heiko_Buchta
Munich, Germany8 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear Stephen D, thank you for your message. As stated by Siandmon, our reception desk is open 24/7. With pleasure we store your luggage until the room is ready. Have a safe trip to Munich!
Fran D asked a question Mar 2020
Amery, Wisconsin34 contributions33 helpful votes
Is there an ATM/cash machine at the hotel?
Answer from Heiko_Buchta
Munich, Germany8 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear Kitty 268, there is no cash machine in the hotel, but threre is one available for 24 hours just across the street at the post office. Best regards Heiko Buchta
ssumart wrote a tip Feb 2024
382 contributions87 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check if construction work is going on within the hotel at time of booking. Use the steam/ sauna if you get the chance !"
Read full review
Klaus G wrote a tip Feb 2024
Reno, Nevada91 contributions99 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid effected rooms at all costs"
Read full review
Erika wrote a tip Jan 2024
13 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"EAT THE BREAK FAST BUFFET EVERYDAY and absolutely each dinner at the restaurant."
Read full review
Seals Swim S wrote a tip Dec 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want to eat in the restaurant book. In busy seasons all reaturnats are very full and booked."
Read full review
Julie P wrote a tip Dec 2023
Crown Point, Indiana406 contributions90 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walk around to the street by the Hofbrau House. Lots of good dining and fun establishments there. Easy one block walk."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Munich area.
PRICE RANGE
£195 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
platzl hotel munich
LOCATION
GermanyBavariaUpper BavariaMunich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
167
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PLATZL HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Platzl Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Platzl Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Marienplatz (0.2 miles), Bus Bavaria Neuschwanstein Castle Tours (0.09 miles), and New Town Hall (Neus Rathaus) (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Platzl Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Platzl Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Platzl Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Platzl Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Platzl Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Little London Bar & Grill, DinnerHopping, and La Tavernetta.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Platzl Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Platzl Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Platzl Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Platzl Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Munich.
Are any cleaning services offered at Platzl Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Platzl Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Munich HotelsMunich Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MunichHotels near Platzl Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire