City Apart Hotel Fussen
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

City Apart Hotel Fussen

Reichenstr. 33, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria Germany
Traveller (177)
Room & Suite (84)
Dining (29)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#8 of 39 hotels in Fussen
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make City Apart Hotel Fussen their hotel of choice when visiting Fussen. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Nearby landmarks such as Krippkirche St. Nikolaus (0.0 mi) and Stadtbrunnen (0.0 mi) make City Apart Hotel Fussen a great place to stay when visiting Fussen.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at City Apart Hotel Fussen offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.

Guests of City Apart Hotel Fussen are also welcome to enjoy breakfast buffet, located on site.

Travellers looking to enjoy some dumplings can head to Gasthof Krone, Madame Pluesch, or Hirsch. Otherwise, you may want to check out a seafood restaurant such as Il Pescatore, Ristorante Pizzeria Michelangelo, or La Perla Ristorante Pizzeria.

Fussen is also home to Hohes Schloss, a popular castle that is not too far from City Apart Hotel Fussen.

At City Apart Hotel Fussen, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Fussen.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Desk
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Bulgarian, German, Portuguese and 2 more

Location

Reichenstr. 33, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria Germany
Name/address in local language
373Reviews8Q+A33Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 163
  • 160
  • 36
  • 9
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Debra L wrote a review Jun 2014
Seattle82 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was in a great location in the center of everything. The service at the front desk was exceptional. I cannot remember the woman's name who checked us in, but she was American and was extremely friendly, efficient, and provided great information on restaurants.

Our room (a 2 bedroom suite) was very nice, comfortable, and recently updated. There is not an elevator. If that is a concern, this may not be the hotel for you.

We typically do not eat breakfast at a hotel, but the breakfast at this hotel was excellent and well worth the fee.

We would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mommoves wrote a review May 2014
Heidelberg, Germany85 contributions64 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We live in Germany so are aware of possibly no A/C in Summer or stairs to climb with luggage. Small rooms and odd decor can be the norm so we were very happy with this modern hotel. There were a few stairs to climb but the rooms were perfect. The second best I've had for that price in all of Europe. Why? Size was larger than usual. The beds were fantastic. Everything was new and felt clean. The bathroom had a great blow dryer with diffuser. The drapes were thick and completely blocked the light which is always a peeve of mine. We had a separate room with door for our son and small living room space with table and sofa in between. Water pressure was good. WiFi was good as well. Location was perfect. You are in the old town and right next to the parking garage. We parked in the garage next to Netto market which made it easy to get to the hotel by passing through the narrow lane next to the Kebab restaurant you see when you exit the garage. I gave 4 instead of 5 stars because I think breakfast should have been included or at least less expensive. It was a great breakfast but for a few euro less I would have felt happier.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank Tadeu A wrote a review Sept 2019
Rio de Janeiro, RJ170 contributions109 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
People will never imagine how good this hotel is, even taking into account the pictures.
It is well located, has a very good interior and is brand new!... a charming and comfort option to new this evolving city.
If you have the chance, consider that as one of the best.
Hope you have!
Congratulations to the team.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony face front street... some (very little) noise!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Torana2 wrote a review May 2014
Auckland New Zealand93 contributions94 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights at the City Apart Hotel. The room was nice but the bed/pillows were very uncomfortable. There is no lift so you have to carry your suitcases up the stairs. Breakfast at 7.50 euro was value for money. If I stayed in Fussen again I would not stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tracy8358 wrote a review May 2014
Panama City Beach, Florida473 contributions100 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have many reviews under my name and traveled to many places. I only give reviews based on what I see and how I sleep while visiting a property. At first I thought the CityApart was a descent place to stay. We stayed here for three nights while visiting Neuschwanstein Castle and surrounding areas. I was told when I made my reservation I was to be on the first floor. When I checked in I had to walk from street level up 20 stairs to get to the reception then another 20 stairs to get to what they call the first floor. In US terms it would be the third floor and in Europe the second floor. I specifically asked for a first floor room due to the fact I have just gotten my leg out of a cast and am using a cane to walk. The journey up those 40 stairs daily to get to my room was hard.The room was spacious and was decorated in IKEA like furnishings with a balcony. A clean bathroom was a plus even though the shower was a standard European Tiny one.The hotel was a tough to find down a non drivable street so we had to park 4 blocks away in the car park for $15 euros per day and hike to the hotel. (They tell you it is just a short walk). We were however allowed to drive to the door in the early morning to pick them up. The breakfast was a ok and had eggs and sausages but cost 6.90€ per person. Our problem with the hotel was that upon check out we were informed that we had placed a dent in the furniture,(the size of a Euro coin) where the luggage goes and were forced to pay the 40€ to buy a new stand. The girl at the front desk called the manager for me to explain to him the problem and it seems to me she was trying to convince him I had really done the damage. I assumed from the little German I understand that she also was a cleaner of the rooms and did not want to be blamed for not reporting the problem earlier. We are 2 ladies in our 50's who absolutely did not damage anything as we took pictures of the room when we checked in and there was damage already done to the furniture. We have it on film. This makes me wonder how many others have been charged for the same thing. The manager of the hotel had such a bad attitude he would not even consider refunding our money even though we tried to tell him we had pictures and tell him the spot was caused by a previous guest. I would not recomend this hotel just because of the attitude of the manager and the girl working the desk that morning. She was screaming at the manager over the telephone that we had to pay the bill and was very accusing of us. I also did not like the fact that the parking was so far away and the room had so many stairs to access. There was also no advantage of staying there as all the stores close early and most of the restaurants did too. I will never recomend this hotel to anyone and warn as many as possible to check your bill and take pictures of the room and furnishings upon arrival to avoid this terrible hassle we endured. Also report any damage no matter how small to the front desk ASAP or you will be charged.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Metin O, Manager at City Apart Hotel Fussen
Responded 22 May 2014
We are very sad to see that you have decided to falsely accuse us on Tripadvisor for your actions. As you have many reviews you should have known better that this is not helpful at all for travelers nor does it increase your credibility. On the contrary, it sheds a whole different light on your previous ratings when knowing the facts: With regard to the elevator, it is common in Germany that smaller hotels are not equipped with elevators. Especially in Füssen's historical downtown, more than 90% of the hotels/buildings are under a preservation order, where no elevators are allowed. You were informed about the fact that our hotel is not equipped with an elevator 4 months before your arrival. As far as the damage is concerned, it was not the suitcase stand that you and your room partner destroyed; it was a table which was damaged heavily. Your claim that a previous guest or the housekeeping ladies could have caused the damage without being noticed is absolutely not true. There is an intensive check, especially on furniture with documented and signed checking lists on every check-out. In case of damage, several pictures are taken and dated like it was done after your check-out. These pictures not only show the damage that you have caused, but also the wooden chips around it, which states clearly that it was a recently caused damage. When you were informed about the issue and that the checking lists do not show any damage before your check-in, your explanation was that you had your trousers laying over it all the time during your stay (3 days) ?!?!? It is simply a lie that you informed the hotel management or the reception about pictures that you have made on your check-in that prove that the damage was already there. Why would you take pictures from a previously caused damage in a hotel room and not informing the reception about it? When the hotel manager was explaining to you that replacing the table would cost 80 EUR and we only charge you 50% (40 EUR) as a good will gesture, you were complaining about the amount of money and threatening with bad reviews. You were ready to pay 20 EUR. So why would you suggest to pay anything for something that you haven't caused???
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Visphot wrote a review May 2015
Mumbai, India46 contributions53 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If your idea of comfort includes wearing a hairshirt, you will truly enjoy your stay in what the City Apart Hotel Fussen calls a 'comfort' room in its unique doublespeak mode.
Should you have taken monkish celibacy vows, they will be further reinforced by dormitory-bunk-style layout of the beds: foot to foot and separated by a large table. No chance of letting the Romantic Road atmosphere intrude here! Speaking of intrusions, you should be aware there is simply no way your room can be secured from the inside. The only device provided is the door lock which can be opened from the outside by the companion / master key from the outside even if you keep the key in the key-hole after locking the door from within.
The hairshirt reference isn't entirely figurative either. This hotel hasn't heard of bed-sheets other than the rough cloth the mattress comes stitched in. Consequently, you have the free bonus of sleeping in direct contact with the hair and other detritus shed by equally unfortunate previous travelers.
If your desire for self-mortification isn't satisfied by the above, you can always go for a bath in the tiny shower area. The unpredictable and sudden fluctuations in the water temperature should provide sufficient freezing and scalding experiences to save your soul through suffering.
Don't worry about losing touch with the hard physical labour that is so essential for salvation. The hotel has no elevator at all. The reception is located on the first floor and the rooms are a floor or two further up.
Speaking of facilities, if the name Apart Hotel led you to conjure up images of a kitchenette or any washing arrangements that a normal apart hotel offers, don't waste your time searching for them here. Even the crockery is limited to two glasses - in the bathroom!
Most of these observations, bar the bed layout, presumably affect all guests of the hotel. The reception staff have been uniformly trained to conclude all conversations about customer complaints with a loud offer to cancel the booking. Since the hotel is careful to charge your travel card for the full stay as soon as you arrive and you don't want to search for alternative hotels in the limited days you have in the town, City Apart Hotel is smugly confident that their rudely shouted ultimatum won't be taken.
We stayed in four other hotels during this trip to Bavaria and were met everywhere by courtesy, consideration and unobtrusive helpfulness which we take to be characteristic of the German culture in general. City Apart Hotel Fussen strikes a discordant alien note in the uniformly happy experiences we had elsewhere in Germany. Avoid it if you want to experience the charm and warmth of German people in general. Do book a 'comfort' room here if you have promised yourself penance instead of pleasure on your holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kamej wrote a review Dec 2014
Sydney, Australia22 contributions23 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
What can we say? We were really looking forward to staying at this hotel having read the reviews on Tripadvisor. However, we started off on the wrong foot when we realised that there was no lift in the hotel and that we had been allocated to a room on the third floor. When we commented on our logistical dilemma (we were travelling with two large suitcases) and how there was no mention of lack of lift on their booking profiles (Tripadvisor, Booking.Com), Cherokee quite rudely told us that this information is mentioned in Tripadvisor reviews (sorry - but I should not have to read reviews to get such basic hotel amenity information). Once we finally made it to the room, we were okay. The bed was firm and comfortable; the pillows terrible. The bathroom was big but lacked certain basic toiletries that you find at other hotels. On the parking front, for 5 Euros you can park in a hotel car park around the corner and come and go as many times as you want within a 24 hour period. The hotel is well-located in a pedestrian mall, and there is a fabulous Italian restaurant (San Marco) 20 metres from the hotel - definitely a bonus and definitely worth eating at during your stay in Fussen.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lolli14 wrote a review Dec 2014
Los Angeles, California30 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After driving several hours from Italy and sleeping in 5 different apartments during our tour of Europe, this hotel was a breath fresh air. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was modern and very clean. The beds were VERY comfortable and the breakfast was a huge plus. Location was great- the immediate area is good for walking around and browsing/sightseeing, and it is only a short drive to Neuschwanstein Castle. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travel11223344 wrote a review Oct 2014
Edmonton, Alberta200 contributions131 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in the pedestrian area of Fussen. You must park a short distance away if driving, but once you've settled into the hotel, the neighbourhood is very nice.

Check in was simple, but do note that the reception desk is only open from 7:30am - 11am for check out and 2pm-8pm for check-in. Make sure to make arrangements if you're arriving later than that.

The hotel does not have an elevator, so be aware that you must climb about 50 steps with your luggage if you are on the top floor.

We were in room 11. It was large, with a very big bathroom. We were happy with the bed, view (onto the pedestrian street) and price (€89 though booking.com). There was some noise from the road below in the morning beginning at 6am, so if you are sensitive to this perhaps request a room on the other side of the building. We also had a balcony with a door from both the main room and bathroom, which was nice for allowing fresh air in.

We didn't get their breakfast, there are plenty of delicious bakeries nearby that are far less expensive.

Overall, we were very happy with the hotel and would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John and Donna M wrote a review May 2014
Mason City, Iowa3,576 contributions214 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were two families (4 adults in one room and 2 adults in another), and we selected this hotel. We were impressed by the spaciousness of the rooms and the location of this hotel. We found parking nearby (actually about 2-3 city blocks) for 7 EU per night. This was an underground parking lot and was easy to reach with luggage to and from the hotel. The rooms were large and well laid out. We got a great night's sleep. The breakfast is 6.90 extra but well worth the cost. We had wide assortment of hot and cold dishes. Great coffee and hot chocolate machine was a hit for us as well. Next time we are visiting the castles in this area we will stay here again. It was only a 10 minute drive from the parking to Nueschwanstein Castle.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We were in room 5 and it was huge!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from MetinO
Füssen, Bayern, Germany2 contributions
Hello, please inform the reception one day before your check-out and they will enable an early check-out providing all the necessary information and procedure.
Answer from MetinO
Füssen, Bayern, Germany2 contributions
Thank you for your message. Our Junior Suite (2 separate rooms, 1 living area, 1 bathroom) for 139 EUR per day would be the right choice. If you would like to make a reservation please contact the hotel directly via email or phone: +49 8362 9250 396 Best Regards, City Apart Hotel Füssen
RetireeC0uple asked a question Mar 2015
San Jose, California27 contributions7 helpful votes
How far away is the parking when staying at City Apart Hotel Fussen? What is the nightly cost?
Answer from Caddies104
Birmingham, United Kingdom70 contributions27 helpful votes
2/3 minutes walk away, around 300 metres.
Gromit53 asked a question Oct 2014
Nelson, United Kingdom13 contributions12 helpful votes
Where do you park at this hotel if its in the center?
Answer from Caddies104
Birmingham, United Kingdom70 contributions27 helpful votes
A few hundred metres away is an underground car park which the hotel can get you at a reduced rate. Good value but cannot remember exact rate.
GmaDee asked a question Sept 2014
Rochester, New York7 contributions
Is this hotel air conditioned?
Answer from karen h
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States4 contributions2 helpful votes
No but they have a portable air conditioner in the room.
Frank Tadeu A wrote a tip Sept 2019
Rio de Janeiro, RJ170 contributions109 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms with a balcony face front street... some (very little) noise!"
Read full review
Karen P wrote a tip Jun 2017
Spangdahlem, Germany8 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wifi was sketchy."
Read full review
Ruangsri wrote a tip Oct 2016
Bangkok, Thailand36 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Select Comfort twin room as there is a lot of space and lower floor will be better as there is no elevator."
Read full review
Dimtngirl wrote a tip Sept 2016
Hendersonville, North Carolina1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Luxury price for budget accommodations."
Read full review
skbose wrote a tip Sept 2016
Singapore, Singapore74 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"People planning to drive in with their own car should do so before 10AM or after 8PM"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fussen area.
PRICE RANGE
£103 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyBavariaSwabiaFussen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CITY APART HOTEL FUSSEN - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about City Apart Hotel Fussen
Which popular attractions are close to City Apart Hotel Fussen?
Nearby attractions include Basilika St. Mang (0.2 miles), Hohes Schloss (0.2 miles), and Museum der Stadt Fussen (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at City Apart Hotel Fussen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at City Apart Hotel Fussen?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
Is parking available at City Apart Hotel Fussen?
Yes, free parking and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to City Apart Hotel Fussen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Il Pescatore, La Perla Ristorante Pizzeria, and Ristorante Pizzeria Michelangelo.
Is City Apart Hotel Fussen located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.10 miles away from the centre of Fussen.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at City Apart Hotel Fussen?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Portuguese, Turkish, Romanian, and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to City Apart Hotel Fussen?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Altstadt von Fuessen (0.4 miles), Schloss Hohenschwangau (1.9 miles), and Antike Römervilla (2.6 miles).
All Fussen HotelsFussen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FussenHotels near City Apart Hotel Fussen
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire