Axel Hotel Berlin
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Axel Hotel Berlin

bed
Traveller (731)
Panorama of the City Room at the Axel Hotel Berlin
360
Panoramas (9)
682420 Guest Room
Room & Suite (288)

View prices for your travel dates

£87
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#296 of 603 hotels in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in Schöneberg, the heart of the gay scene in the city, Axel Hotel Berlin is fascinating for its cosmopolitan spirit and delicious, by the careful combination of design and comfort, and for excellent service. The charm and elegant mix of gold on black, overlay and textures make Axel Hotel Berlin a unique space in the German capital. With 87 design rooms, fully equipped to provide guests with maximum confort and a different stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Full body massage
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Italian

Location

Lietzenburger Str. 13/15, 10789 Berlin Germany
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 98 out of 100
98
Berlin Brandenburg Airport
11.7 mi
See all flights
Wittenbergplatz
3 minBerlin U-Bahn
Augsburger Straße
5 minBerlin U-Bahn
2,211Reviews12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 785
  • 670
  • 378
  • 192
  • 186
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ed M wrote a review Jul 2021
The Hague, The Netherlands40 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Situated right in the middle of Berlins authentic gay area and right around the corner from Berlins famous shopping street Kurfürstendamm the Axel hotel is a most convenient place to stay. On a stone throw distance there is Wittenbergplatz with its many restaurants and from where public transport takes you to any neighbourhood in Berlin you want to go to.

This “hetero friendly” hotel, suitable for open minded people i.p. gay/bi/bicurious men, is a very neat place with dark clubby hallways that makes you feel like partying all the time. The rooms are simple though above average tastefully decorated. Hotel facilities are great: there is a wellness area, outside whirlpool and fitness equipment. Special feature is the roof terrace. Hotel bikes are for rent. Just one single minor point: breakfast (provided by the adjacent restaurant) is poor. You better go out and enjoy one of the many eateries in the immediate vicinity.

Obviously at the end of the day it is the people who make your stay memorable. The always smiling and friendly faces at the Axel reception desk are fully aware of that. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Escapefromlife wrote a review Jul 2022
Brighton, United Kingdom195 contributions165 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Distinctly average hotel with inflated prices. Don't bother paying for the breakfast - it's one of the most mediocre breakfasts I've ever had at a hotel. The "cooked" breakfast is barely warm. The surly woman guarding the breakfast (to make sure no one gets in without paying) is rude. Didn't seem to be any tea for breakfast either.

There is a rude cleaner who kisses her teeth at you if you walk on her wet floor - then gives you dirty looks as she re- mops it.... why mop a floor in reception at 9am when people are going through...

The hotel is "just ok" nothing stands out here.. its OK if you get a good price deal, paying the full price the cost isnt justifiable for what you get.

the spa area was a bit dirty with toe nails on the floor (why do people cut their nails in the spa and leave them????)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Director General at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 3 Aug 2022
Dear guest, first of all i like to say thank you for staying with us during your time in Berlin . I m really sorry to hear about your experience you have made during your stay. I will talk to the Restaurant Managment to clearify this situation and will take this review to the next Team meeting. I m sorry again for the cirumstance! Best regards Oliver Böhme
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aaron wrote a review Feb 2023
County Dublin, Ireland154 contributions87 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Having read some of the reviews of Axel Berlin here I was a little apprehensive about my first visit to Berlin. While my stay was far from perfect I personally did not have the bad experience other reviewers had.

While the outside of the building is impressive, I am not entirely sure all the black and gold works anymore as a decor. The corridors to the rooms are far too dark and there is a danger of walking into mirrors ect. This is especially notable at night when returning to your room. Once you open your room it is very hard to find the slot to insert your keycard to switch on the lights. There is also a fairly bad smell in most public areas/corridors.

My room 509 looked out onto a yard and not onto the street, so most days was very quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable as were the pillows, I have problems with my back but slept fantastic every night. I loved the shower, although as others have noted unless you firmly close the door, water will leak out onto the floor. Again I felt all the black surfaces was a bit too much. Apart from switching the lights on at night my only other issue with the room was the hight of the clothing rail which was impossible to reach.

The restaurant served a perfectly adequate breakfast, staff were a little cool and hardly spoke to me when I went in each morning. I did not have dinner there as it was closed on a few of the evenings during my stay.

Reception staff were courteous, friendly and always responded to my hello.

The location is great, a few minutes walk to the main shopping street and good gay bars very close as well.

Having stayed in Axel Barcelona, Axel Two Barcelona and Axel Buenos Aires back in the day I was a tiny bit disappointed with my stay. It didn’t feel like the Axel experience I’ve had previously. I also don’t think it represented value for money as a solo traveler. Would I go back? Possibly, but I’d look at other options as well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Director General at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 23 Feb 2023
Thank you so much for your review and your recent stay . I m happy that you had a good time with us while you are in Berlin and we hope to see you as soon as possible. All the best Oliver Böhme Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian Martin wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom362 contributions128 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked here for weekend.visit of touristing and were pleased with the choice. It is a large city centre hotel with easy access to the extensive and prolific gay venues in and around Schöneberg. The rooms are decorated with black and grey walls with a large and comfortable bed. The powerful shower is encased by red tinted glass and the usual gels and shampoos are provided. The breakfast is good but a bit heavy on the carbs. There is a spa - open air jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and a basic gym on the sixth floor. Staff are friendly and helpful and I’d have no hesitation in returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Director General at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Dear Ian, thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to had you here as guest and we are all looking forward to see you soon. Best regards, Oliver Böhme, Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChristianHH wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One week after reopening on June 14th. I had booked a few days at the AxelHotel. As always, the staff around Oliver is very friendly, competent and always eager to take care of the guest. A big compliment to the manager Oliver; very personable, competent and always open to a conversation.
On the 6th floor there is a gym and the reopened outdoor jacuzzi. Unfortunately, due to official Covid regulations, the sauna and steam bath are still closed, but the jacuzzi makes up for this shortcoming. There is also a relaxation area. If you are looking for relaxation in the open air or want to sunbathe, the roof terrace with shower facilities is at your disposal. If you are sociable, you will surely find a connection here quickly. The hotel is very stylish, unfortunately the years have not passed by without a trace, but overall this is not really important. Since the Axel is very close to Wittenbergplatz, you can use public transport to get to the city's sights. Kurfürstendamm and KaDeWe are just around the corner. Both invite you to shop. Unfortunately I cannot recommend breakfast at the moment. It is very disappointing and carelessly prepared. There is currently no buffet form, but even what is offered on the menu leaves a lot to be desired in terms of preparation. You can enjoy a very tasty, freshly prepared breakfast in a café right across from the hotel for less money. Otherwise there are many cafes, bars and restaurants within walking distance, where every taste is covered.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steen wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
ts a lovely hotel in a good location, close to the center. Very nice service at the reception, the room was nicely clean, but overall the hotel seemed somewhat worn. The breakfast restaurant was a chapter in itself! The staff was very, very slow, did not have an overview of the serving to the very few guests who were present. The wait for a cup of coffee was 20-30 minutes, the cheese was forgotten, despite three calls. The restaurant had run out of juice, one day, butter the next. In general, the breakfast products were of a poor and cheap quality! The hotel simply can not be this standard familiar!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Geschäftsführer at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for your review. I m happy that you had a good time with us. I m sorry that you had a bad experience with our restaurant. I will talk to the provider to work on situations like that. Best regards, Oliver Böhme, Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Google M wrote a review Mar 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't bother staying here...I did twice but never again. The Hotel manager was very accommodating to me as I needed to book extra nights but the other staff were horrible including the ginger one who muttered rude statements under his breath in English at me when he thought I couldn't hear. Wood furnishings at the back of the bed were filthy and full of dust but I don't blame the cleaners who are afraid to knock on doors due to the nature of guests at this hotel. Hotel Gym and Steam Room and Jacuzzi were occupied by Homeless Gypsies let in by older desperate guests via Grindr. I called reception to ask them to get rid of the homeless Romanian Rent Boys occupying the facilities for guests and intimidating the paying hotel guests and the response I got was "managers not in until tomorrow...what do you want me to do about it...." On checkout they tried to charge me for items taken from the mini bar I never took. They tried this during my first stay in 2017 so must be an ongoing scam.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager Axel Hotel Berlin, Director General at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Dear guest, i m sorry to read about your stay and i m sorry that we didnt met. Even when i m not full day here but i m every day in the Hotel. However i will point on your review in the next Meeting to get better.I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best regards, Oliver Böhme, Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anish wrote a review Dec 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom21 contributions45 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
2 days into a week long stay & have to say I’m very disappointed despite enjoying my previous visit in 2019.

From morning until 2am/3am the place has escorts/call boys hanging around using the wellness centre facilities meant for the guests. Really makes you feel very uncomfortable as theyre clearly hanging around to get business but at same time using the facilities meant for the customers.
I’m surprised that management even let them in and hang around. If they’re not hanging around the wellness centre theyre randomly hanging around on different floors just standing around.

It’s Saturday night and since 8pm the wellness centre has been taken over by the escort boys hanging around, taking up all the sunbeds, taking up the steam room (which never seems to work) sauna ( which seems to be cold by 10pm) leaving the jacuzzi they’ve taken over so can’t really use anything. The whole point of the holiday was to switch off and chill out. Should have chosen Barcelona (and paid daily euro20 to use the facilities) atleast it would guarantee no escorts/call boys
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StephenJamesGilbert wrote a review Nov 2023
Lincoln, United Kingdom91 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Six friends occupying three rooms.

Hotel is in a very good location for the gay scene.

Hotel is generally rundown and a bit dirty/scruffy. The rooms are damp. The heating in the room did not work and it was cold in November. The shower was good lots of hot water. Bed is comfortable. The hotel has a night club style, the rooms are dimly lit. There is no Kettle in the room. There is a small fridge with minibar.

The steam room is out of action. The Jacuzzi is small dirty and does not work, no air bubbles or water jets and was cool/cold. The sauna is small and was switched off at 8:30 pm, not the advertised 10 pm.

The staff are young and pleasant. The room housekeeping was done each day day, but you must remember to put your card on door handle.

You can leave your luggage free of charge at reception. Late checkout is €25 for three hours.

Would we visit again probably yes because of the location. Also lots of guys in the hotel are on social media so it’s easy to arrange hook ups.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Borja Valeiras, Atención al cliente/recepción at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 17 Nov 2023
On behalf of Axel Hotel, we are sorry if we have not been able to meet your standards. We are currently under a process of transformation and evolution, so we highly value your feedback in order to tackle our weaknesses better. We hope you give us another chance in the future to assess our growth. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adamj7777 wrote a review Sept 2023
London, United Kingdom131 contributions44 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My room had a faint smell of bad drain pipes but not from them. The smell was in the middle of room in one of the pillow positions ok the bed which was strange. I could not figure it out.

The room lacked some basics that you would get in much cheaper hotels in the same area, such as there was no kettle and no where to put luggage in the room. My bag had to sit on the floor in the way.

I’m terms of sleep I was very disappointed . The bed was quite hard and the pillows were very very soft or very hard. Additionally, as I was on the first floor the bar downstairs kept me awake with the music (very noises base, bed shaking at some points). Then when the bar closed there was 45 mins of dragging furniture around which was very loud. This was awful the night before the Berlin Marathon and detracted from my experience of the next day (and my performance) as I had less than 4 hours sleep.

I could also hear a lot from next door rooms (doors banging shut, toilets flushing etc). The hotel is advertised as having soundproof rooms but this is just simply not the case at all and was very disappointing.

On the positive side: Great location, I always stay in this area anyway. Rooms nice and clean and good housekeeping staff. Reception staff friendly. Spa quite nice. There was a safe in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Borja Valeiras, Atención al cliente/recepción at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 29 Sept 2023
On behalf of Axel Hotel Berlin, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. We highly value your feedback, as we are currently in a stage of transformation and development and your review will allow us to tackle our weaknesses more efficiently. We are glad to hear that at least our staff was on the positive remarks, and we hope you give us another chance in the future to assess our growth. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from ShaunLake
Manchester, United Kingdom73 contributions50 helpful votes
I couldn’t agree with you more. The housekeeping were fantastic. I hope you enjoy your stay 😊
Answer from Darren W
Melbourne, Australia486 contributions163 helpful votes
In my opinion, Axel Hotel is not the place for a romantic anniversary celebration.
Answer from Scott G
San Diego, California79 contributions36 helpful votes
We did not use Schönefeld airport on our trip, so I cannot comment on that, but as others have said, that airport is connected by S-Bahn train to the public transit system. Unfortunately, Tegel is the busier airport - and it is not connected to the public transport system by anything other than buses. Taxis, however, are plentiful, and we took three (arrival, back to pick up a rental car for one day, and its return), each time it cost around $25 airport to front door of the Axel Hotel.
Tony asked a question Jan 2017
Manchester, United Kingdom34 contributions54 helpful votes
Hi We have booked a superior room with 2 bedrooms, can I ask what floor they are on Thanks
Mark T wrote a tip Mar 2024
8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great hotel. 6th floor has the spa and jacuzzi. Great massage, wonderful helpful staff"
Read full review
Steve R wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay at the Artim or Riu"
Read full review
Travis D wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else!"
Read full review
lookingaroundfornow wrote a tip Jul 2023
Hong Kong, China616 contributions158 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Give this hotel a year to ‘hopefully’ clean up its act and hotel"
Read full review
J B wrote a tip Jul 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not trust promises made by staff"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Berlin area.
PRICE RANGE
£68 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyBerlinTempelhof-Schöneberg (Borough) / Schöneberg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AXEL HOTEL BERLIN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Axel Hotel Berlin
Which popular attractions are close to Axel Hotel Berlin?
Nearby attractions include Kaufhaus des Westens (KaDeWe) (0.1 miles), Viktoria-Luise-Platz (0.3 miles), and Prinzknecht (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Axel Hotel Berlin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hasty Pastry, Indisches Restaurant Maharadscha, and Oyster Bar KaDeWe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Axel Hotel Berlin?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Axel Hotel Berlin?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Memorial of the Berlin Wall (3.2 miles), East Side Gallery (4.1 miles), and Gleis 17, Grunewald (3.3 miles).
Is Axel Hotel Berlin accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Berlin HotelsBerlin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BerlinHotels near Axel Hotel Berlin
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire