We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Visit hotel website
Traveller (781)
Room & Suite (473)
Video
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
At our 4-star Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, you can choose between Single Rooms, Large Rooms, Privilege Rooms, Apartments and Privilege Suites. Our Family Rooms offer plenty of space in two separate areas with a connecting door. One child up to 12 years old can share your room for free and a second child for a charge of EUR 15 per night. Pets are welcome (charge of EUR 10 per night). It is just a short walk to the chic boutiques and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse, but as a guest at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie you can also enjoy the calm and comfort of a grand Wilhelminian-style building The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the main train station, 15.5 miles (25 km) from Schönefeld Airport and 3.1 miles (5 km) from the A100 highway.
Read more
Property amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Spa
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
125Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
29Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
3,571Reviews
1,078Photos
55Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,104
  • 1,271
  • 154
  • 26
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Booked having searched Trip Advisor. Never been to Berlin so had no idea of areas to stay. Choose this as it was close to Checkpoint Charlie I knew it had to be central! I booked a suite made of two double bedrooms, bathroom and toilet. Excellent choice for me and two teenagers.
Read more
Response from H3120-GM, Manager at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Responded 2 days ago
On behalf of my entire team as well as on a personal note, I would like to thank you for your excellent Rating and the recommendation. We truly appreciate positive feedback such as yours as it encourages us to stay committed to providing the best services possible for our guests. We are very glad, that you were satisfied with our hotel and our service – and you could enjoy your stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience - we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best regards, Jessica Matschke Assistant General Manager
Read more
We booked this hotel at short notice and were drawn to it as we have a teenage daughter and now need more space than many hotels provide in standard rooms with the traditional sofa bed that often comes with them. We were not disappointed with our room which was in the
Read more
Response from H3120-GM, Manager at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your positive review, the nice feedback on the room and especially on the reception staff, and also for your critique and suggestions on improvement regarding the service at bar and the house-keeping. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you had to deal with. Please rest assured that I have already looked into this and taken steps - and within my team I will make sure that negative experiences are a rare exception in the future. I sincerely hope that your next visit will leave you completely satisfied. We would love to welcome you back. Best regards, Jessica Matschke Assistant General Manager
Read more
Thought we were off the tracks when we first arrived but then realised how central the hotel was. Very easy to get too on the U-bahn and very easy to get around. Actually only 10 minutes walk to Unter den Linden and another 10 to Brandenburg Gate! Hotel itself a little strange
Read more
Response from H3120-GM, Manager at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your visit. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our services and your overall stay with us. On behalf of my team, I would like to thank you for the stellar review and the positive remarks on the breakfast and especially on the staff. We hope to see you soon again and that our services will ensure another rewarding and enjoyable visit with us. Best regards, Jessica Matschke Assistant General Manager
Read more
Brilliant stay at the Mercure in Jan/Feb 19. Really impressed with all aspects of the hotel. Great location and transport links, very clean throughout, accommodating and friendly staff speaking impeccable English, enormous rooms. Really reasonably priced, no need to pay more,
Read more
Response from H3120-GM, Manager at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Responded 5 days ago
We highly appreciate and value positive feedback such as yours and consider it a highlight in our daily routine as hosts. On behalf of our staff and management, we are very pleased that you gave us the highest rating. We will gladly pass along these top reviews and positive remarks on our services to the respective staff members and employees. We are very happy that you felt so comfortable with us and that you really enjoyed our amenities. My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back as a guest hopefully soon. Best regards, Jessica Matschke Assistant General Manager
Read more
We arrived early but the hotel staff were lovely and accommodated us without a problem. Initially, we thought we were slightly off the beaten track but after getting our bearings it was clear that we were in an excellent location and within walking distance to quite a number of
Read more
Response from H3120-GM, General Manager at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Responded 5 days ago
On behalf of my entire team as well as on a personal note, I would like to thank you for your stellar review and the great remarks on the staff. We truly appreciate positive feedback such as yours as it encourages us to stay committed to providing the best services possible for our guests. We hope to see you soon again and that our services will ensure another rewarding and enjoyable visit with us. Best regards, Jessica Matschke Assistant General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
The Upper Floor Room at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
The Upper Floor Room at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
The Upper Floor Room at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Photo provided by managementMercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
suite room
PreviousNext
12345695
Hello you will find a pricelist in your room stating the exact amount for each item you choose to hand out to the laundry service. The pricerange is as example € 5,50 for a shirt to € 12,00 for a suit
0 votes
Show all answers
Hey Our rooms have all individual air conditioning (fan coils). The Brandenburg gate is approx 1,6 km (1 mile) Hope to welcome you soon in Berlin
2 votes
We do not offer a shuttle and as said above - a taxi is the easiest way to our hotel. You can take the public transportation with bus and subway - easy as well and 35 min driving time — but at night you might feel safer with a taxi I am looking forward to welcome you
1 vote
Show all answers
which rooms have a balcony?
Hello Jane, 80 out of our 139 rooms have a balcony - and ther are different categories from superior double to Family Suites that will offer a balcony or roof terrace. The best way is to call or mail us to help you make your reservation with the best possible room combination for your trip. See you in the heart of Berlin Benedikt Heydweiller
2 votes
Show all answers
Hi, We do not have a privilege Lounge - as nearly no Mercure Hotel in Germany offers one. We do offer a Espresso MALONGO machine (but not "Nepresso") and some of the rooms offer a balcony. Please indicate your wish for a balcony upon your reservation we will do our best to provide a dedicated room.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345611
"If travelling with children ask for an apartment room in the annex if you need extra space"
"I think there is no difference between the floors and the rooms."
"Ask for rooms with a balcony."
"perhaps ask for a room with a balcony. for a quicker trip to the hotel on foot, consider the stadtmitte station."
"Rooms with kitchenette are very spacious"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure hotel and residenz berlin checkpoint charliemercure berlin
LOCATION
GermanyBerlinMitteMitte (Borough)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
139
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing