We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 688: English reviews
Cusco, Peru
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice and comfortable with everything you need to spend a good night, unless you have awful roommates, but that's something you'll figure out when you're there. I had a great time there, because it was super close to my bus station when I arrived. I found the rooms very clean and nice because they had charging spots everywhere in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TargetPeru
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very clean and well kept rooms, just a bit small. Staff was very helpful with sightseeing and food advice. The building is a bit confusing at first and staff at Check-in was quite rude, but all in all a good location to stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 812christinae
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the review. I feel sad when I have to read that your team appeared to be rude. That is not our normal standard. It is good to see that the other contacts with the staff was more satisfying. I would be delighted if we could welcome you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More 

Madrid
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Incredible location and services, but the bathroom should be a little bit bigger than it is for using the washbasin without problems. The breakfast was very complete and also cheap. I think Christmas is the best season in order to visit Hamburg. I want to come back soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank H46EHpablob
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, many thanks for the great feedback. Indeed Christmas is a good time to visit Hamburg with all the fantastic Christmas markets, "Glühwein" & nice sweets. But also in summer Hamburg has a lot to offer. Whenever you decide to come back, we are looking forward to your visit. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More 

Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Was at a meeting in Hamburg for one day and stayed overnight at Generator Hostel. Their location is excellent, room was clean and beds comfy, excellent and helpful staff, breakfast for 4,9߀ was ok too. Will stay there again during my next trip to Hamburg

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jo F
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the excellent review. We are looking forward to your next visit. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More 

Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Not the nicest hostel I've stayed at. They messed up on my reservation and failed to communicate the reasons why, so I had to look last minute for another accommodation. When I asked about this at front desk, the stick figure lady with short hair was extremely rude. They don't allow outside food and expect you to eat their garbage... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jgoldgar0
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. I regret that you left not satisfied. Especcially the service is normally our priority. I apologize that we failed on showing that. We know now the issues and will take the appropriate actions to prevent other guests of making the same experience. I wish you all the... More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked in through booking.com and the whole experience was very ok. I arrived far too early but could leave my luggage. The Hostel is right next to the main station, easy access by train or even bus. The surroundings are otherwise not the best: homeless people on the door step, cheap bars and foreigners shop... The room or the bunk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Irene Lisette C
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for the review. We really appreciate any type of feedback, because it helps us to improve our services and facilities. The surrounding of the hostel gets mentioned often. The Generator Hamburg has , other than many hostels/hotels in Hamburg, it's own security team, to make sure that only residents enter the building. I hope we get the... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been there once and was my first stay at Generator. Loved the arrangements in room, cleanliness, wifi, bed and the best part is location. After my stay of 2 nights at Hamburg Generator, i chose Generator in Paris and Berlin too! Recommended...

Helpful?
Thank hkbaxi
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, WOW! Thanks for the great feedback. It is really great that our Hostels were leaving such a good impression. You and your friends are always welcome to stay in our properties. All the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More 

Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall my stay at Generate Hostel Hamburg was okay. The rooms were very clean and somewhat comfortable. I enjoyed the privacy barriers between the beds. However, the ensuite bathrooms are terrible. They're so small and any sound made in them echoes around the room outside. You're better off just using the shared bathrooms in the hall. The lockers in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thewrldxplr
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. Every feedback is important for us, because we constantly aim to improve our services and facilities. The bathrooms were mentioned often and I agree that they are small. We had limited choice, when we refurbished the hostel, as it is protected under heritage (even the "Beatles" were making music in our building!). Still we... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Brilliant weekend with the Hostel being in a perfect location for transport and plenty of great bars in the surrounding area. Perfect for large groups as we had 2 6-bed rooms for the group of 12 we went with.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JK-BacktheSESH
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for the great feedback. Good to see that you had a smashing time in Hamburg. Whenever you return to Hamburg, come and visit us again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked here after seeing generally positive reviews, and was quite excited to stay at generator! Location: very good, a short walk from the central station - and better still, a U3 stop right outside the front door! Check in: I arrived around 13:30 (check in isn't until 14:00), a friendly chap did my registration and allowed me to put... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jparvin1
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for the detailed review. There are a lot of fair points that have to be addressed and will be followed up. I regret that we were not able to fully convince you of Generator Hamburg. Be assured that changes will take place. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More 

477 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (195)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (74)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Eight Person Room (27)
Viewed
Four Person Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Six Person Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 319 in Hamburg
1,108 reviews
Bridge Inn Hotel
#195 of 319 in Hamburg
156 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#70 of 319 in Hamburg
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Hamburg Alsterring
#53 of 319 in Hamburg
578 reviews
Empire Riverside Hotel
#23 of 319 in Hamburg
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our fresh, brand new Hamburg Hostel opened in January 2012 and is located in the heart of St Georg, next to the central train station "Hauptbahnhof Sued". Many of Hamburg’s great attractions are on our doorstep, such as the Deichtorhallen, the City Hall and the area of Speicherstadt. We know that Hamburg can be expensive, so unlike many other Hamburg hostels we give you: FREE Wi-Fi Internet, FREE bed linen, central location and en-suite Rooms.All our other Generator Hostels are renowned for their famous late nights at Generator Bar which provide a unique atmosphere, entertaining our guests with DJ nights, Karaoke, quizzes and fancy dress evenings: expect this and many many more fun evenings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Hamburg

Address: Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range: £20 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Double check everything with the staff. Not the most professional.”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are nicer, however you may be walking up so choose a lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles SarthakNag, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book as early as possible to avoid $30 a night prices...”
 of 5 bubbles 785samyt, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you can get a bigger room then go for it, the bathroom/toilets are pretty small”
 of 5 bubbles Chris15Leeds, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't forget earplugs, since the hotel is just in front of the central station and it can be a bit noisy at night.”
 of 5 bubbles chlo_b683, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay