We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 713: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a quad room, booked for 1 night for three people. We arrived a few hours early to drop our things at the lockers. Good value by the way and secure, medium sized locker can be held for 6 hours for 2 euro... held 2 backpacks fine. We were going to rent a bike which is 12 euro an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luvleyleah
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to give us your detailed feedback. I have to apologize, that we were not up to the usual good Generator experience. I assure you, that we will work on the points, that can be improved and I hope you will give Generator Hamburg another chance in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Rooms are quite small plus cleanness of the rooms are not on th highest level. Also hostel hallways are smelling really bad and overall cleanness is really poor. Location of the hostel is the only bright side. Also breakfast could be improved.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bojant961
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, I feel sad, that you left not convinced. Still it is good that you tell us about your experiences, because with this information, we know, what needs improvement. Whenever you return to Hamburg, you will be welcome to stay with us again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

it is impossible to use the washbasin in the toilet because it is too small. In three days I've been there they never cleaned the room and toilets. Also the bathroom in the corridor was always dirty. The location instead is perfect and well connected with all public transportation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 77pierluigim
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, I am really sorry for the cleanliness. The rooms are getting cleaned on demand. We have sticker in every room that are suppose to inform our guests. The public toilets are normally cleaned several times a day and I deeply regret that they were not up to our high standard. That will be followed up. I hope we get...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Really enjoyed my stay, clean, lovely atmosphere in the lounge areas, really upmarket hostel. The rooms were great too, nice new beds with showers and toilets in each room which is quite unusual for a hostel!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank samuelf916
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to share your impressions with us. Good to see that you left satisfied. If you ever return to Hamburg, you will be welcome to stay with us again. In the meantime I wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I only stayed with Generator once before but the Hamburg hostel made me decide to have the brand as my go to Hostel when searching for accommodation! The staff were friendly, really helpful, gave advice and tips when prompted, and were really organised. The location is perfect, right next to the central hautbanhof, and 5-10 minutes walk to Mönckebergstraße, Rathaus,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the this great feedback. Our bar currently gets refurbished and will reopen with a brand new concept, new offers and .... a new name. Check it out on a possible return visit. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Stockholm
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, nice staff, breakfast sufficient and affordable. However I you should consider that the biggest dorms are really crowded when fully booked. When I entered the room I felt like the air was not really the best. Overall optimal choice for a affordable night in central Hamburg.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielsY838HQ
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for the review. We have in our dorms and in all other rooms a ventilation system, that should prevent sticky air, even when it is fully booked. Whenever you are around again, we would be happy to be your host again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location can't be better. It's at the centre of the city in the walking distance to Townhall, two minutes to central railway station and bus station. The hostel is big, and the staff is also good. Other additional facilities are expensive like food but it's always optional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dharmesh P
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for the review. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was very good, the common area was nice, rooms were okay but bathrooms were very small and almost not useable. Common bathroom was dirty. Staff was not very helpful and sometimes even unfriendly. Service not very good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the comment. I regret that the service was not up to the high standard we have set ourselves. That will be followed up. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Posadas, Argentina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is really modern, the bed was really comfortable and equipped with a lamp and several sockets. The location was superb, opposite Hauptbahnhof and with many restaurants nearby. The only downside was that breakfast was a bit expensive. Would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edwin Ariel R
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for the review. We always try to offer the maximum for the price paid on the unlimited breakfast buffet. We therefore change it constantly to apply it more to the needs and preferences of the international guests. It would be good to know what else you would have expected for the price paid. I hope we geht...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location perfect. It is really close to central train station and bus station. Staffs are helpful and responsive to my request. Room is good. However, it would be better if the toilet and bathroom are larger.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fatming L
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. Every feedback is important for us, because we constantly aim to improve our services and facilities. The bathrooms were mentioned often and I agree that they are small. We had limited choice, when we refurbished the hostel, as it is protected under heritage (even the "Beatles" were making music in our building!). Still we...

484 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Eight Person Room (27)
Viewed
Four Person Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Six Person Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Bridge Inn Hotel
#193 of 320 in Hamburg
160 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 320 in Hamburg
1,155 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#73 of 320 in Hamburg
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Hamburg Alsterring
#55 of 320 in Hamburg
589 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#52 of 320 in Hamburg
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our fresh, brand new Hamburg Hostel opened in January 2012 and is located in the heart of St Georg, next to the central train station "Hauptbahnhof Sued". Many of Hamburg’s great attractions are on our doorstep, such as the Deichtorhallen, the City Hall and the area of Speicherstadt. We know that Hamburg can be expensive, so unlike many other Hamburg hostels we give you: FREE Wi-Fi Internet, FREE bed linen, central location and en-suite Rooms.All our other Generator Hostels are renowned for their famous late nights at Generator Bar which provide a unique atmosphere, entertaining our guests with DJ nights, Karaoke, quizzes and fancy dress evenings: expect this and many many more fun evenings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Hamburg

Address: Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range: £23 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make use of the secure lockers too if you arrive early.”
 of 5 bubbles luvleyleah, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a room on the fourth floor with electrical blinds. Nice”
 of 5 bubbles sirius052016, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Double check everything with the staff. Not the most professional.”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are nicer, however you may be walking up so choose a lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles SarthakNag, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book as early as possible to avoid $30 a night prices...”
 of 5 bubbles 785samyt, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay