We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Showing 773: English reviews
Cologne
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We had a 6 bed room and stayed for 5 nights. It was summer and really hot in the room. You could not open the window and there was no AC. The bathroom was to small and there was mold and hair and it smelled really bad. The location was really good, but I expected a lot more ( pictures...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonitravels0412
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. Every feedback is very valuable for us, because it helps us to improve our services and facilities. I have to apologize for the cleanliness. That is definitely not our standard. We will investigate what happen and stop that. Recently we have arranged for many more fans to fight the exceptional heat in Hamburg. The...

Reviewed 27 July 2016

I made a last minute decision to stay here when all of the lockers were taken at the bus station. The hostel was very modern and clean. I did find it a bit strange to charge for lockers for luggage storage during check-in, but I guess you should make money however you can. For the location and price, the hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for the review. It is great to see that you had a good time in our hostel. Hopefully we can welcome you soon again at Generator. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

We have booked a two bedroom room and it was fine. However the bathroom was VERY small and I was so pleased that I didn't have to share room with to many. The bar was fine, however it was a little pricy. The breakfast was okay - also a little pricy. They have signs with food, nachos fx. But no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RiksPriks
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the review. I regret that food was not served. We have discussed that internally and now there should be no more problems with that. I would be very happy if we could welcome you soon again at Generator. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Our 8 bed dorm became at least 30 degrees and the air stale and unbreathable at night; even though we had the window open as far as it went (which isn't much). It was hard to sleep even though I was almost naked (underwear and no blanket) and everyone was sweating as if we were living on the sun. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel H
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, I really regret that your stay was not as comfortable as expected. We have reacted on your comment and provide now fans on request. I understand your frustration, but I hope you give Generator another chance in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I recently visited Hamburg for a stag and stayed in this hostel. When I was informed of paying €55 for two nights I thought it was well over priced for a hostel. How wrong was I, I've stayed in several hostels and this was by far the best, facilities are modern and clean and the WiFi is superb. The bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carljohn220988
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi WOW, I am very happy that we left such a good impression. Thanks for letting us know about it. I wish you and your friends, all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

This place is honestly the best youth hostel in Hamburg hands down! I've enjoyed my time here so much. The rooms and the en suite toilet and shower are cleaned on daily basis which is really good. The en suite toilet and shower can be a bit tiny, but there are way more spacious ones on each floor. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adam_g2212
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the nice comment.We are looking forward to your next stay. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

The hostel has a lot to offer, of course some things more important than others. It was clean, high standards, it has the facilities you would need and want except kitchen, but has some drawbacks. Some of the staff were really helpful and charismatic. But others almost rude. One incident in specific. I was going to wash my clothes and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isaac O
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry for the behaviour you experienced. That does not reflect the high standard we have set ourselves for the service we provide. That will be followed up. I would be delighted if you chose Generator also on future travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Such a cool place for young adults to stay. Me and my friend were in a Grilsroom only and shared it with an australian and american girl. We had great talks, I bet it's always like that: great experience! The rooms are cool and clean and big enough. Only the shower was pretty small. I'm coming back or am visiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evemaechler
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for the review. It is great to see that you had a good time in our hostel. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again at Generator. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Hotel is literally across the road from the central station. Bar is fun, coffee shop is pretty good, staff are friendly. Rooms are fine with plugs and usb chargers by each bed, only slight downside is the bathrooms are tiny, but it's not an expensive place so that's not really a deal breaker. Wifi is also free, and fast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamiep84
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the feedback. It is good to see that we meet your expectations. We would be delighted if you chose Generator also in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here last year so thought I'd book again but never again. This is a terrible place to stay. So many school kids running around to all hours of the night. Terrible food offering (when they actually offer food). Rude, impolite and arrogant bar manager. No wonder the atmosphere is terrible. Last year they had a polish guy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billyboy690
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for the review. I have to apologize that I only answer now. We are currently working on changing the entire bar concept. Soon the bar will reopen with many great new features. Under age won't be allowed to enter anymore as per German legislation. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling...

499 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Eight Person Room (27)
Viewed
Four Person Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Six Person Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Bridge Inn Hotel
#203 of 318 in Hamburg
167 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#67 of 318 in Hamburg
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel Number One
#61 of 318 in Hamburg
413 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 318 in Hamburg
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our fresh, brand new Hamburg Hostel opened in January 2012 and is located in the heart of St Georg, next to the central train station "Hauptbahnhof Sued". Many of Hamburg’s great attractions are on our doorstep, such as the Deichtorhallen, the City Hall and the area of Speicherstadt. We know that Hamburg can be expensive, so unlike many other Hamburg hostels we give you: FREE Wi-Fi Internet, FREE bed linen, central location and en-suite Rooms.All our other Generator Hostels are renowned for their famous late nights at Generator Bar which provide a unique atmosphere, entertaining our guests with DJ nights, Karaoke, quizzes and fancy dress evenings: expect this and many many more fun evenings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Hamburg

Address: Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range: £29 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hostel is near the police station so you hear lots of sirens, but you feel safe.”
stevenpP2820UV, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Quiet, clean and comfy”
simonpJ3860QC, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make use of the secure lockers too if you arrive early.”
luvleyleah, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a room on the fourth floor with electrical blinds. Nice”
sirius052016, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Double check everything with the staff. Not the most professional.”
, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5