Barceló Hamburg
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Barceló Hamburg

Es la vista que teníamos desde una de las ventanas de nuestra habitación
Traveller (576)
Panorama of the Alster Suite at the Barcelo Hamburg
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (551)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#68 of 337 hotels in Hamburg
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, German
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

Ferdinandstraße 15, 20095 Hamburg Germany
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Fuhlsbuettel Airport
Mönckebergstraße
5 minHamburg U-Bahn
Hauptbahnhof
6 minHamburg S-Bahn
3,188Reviews21Q+A77Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,621
  • 1,036
  • 337
  • 123
  • 73
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Flavio_MM wrote a review Sept 2020
Lecce, Italy45 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in Barcelo Hotel for 3 days for a short city break in Hamburg.
The location in the city is perfect: near public transportation and within walking distance to the city center and the main museums,
The hotel is clean and the rooms are very comfortable and equipped with all you can expect in a 4 star/superior hotel. I stayed in a Deluxe room.
There´s a buffet breakfast in the morning it is possible to order also specific dishes like for example scrambled eggs.
The personnel at the reception is very welcoming and helpful.
I can say that for me this hotel has been a great choice and I was able to visit the city and also to organize a day trip to Lübeck and Travemunde. The train station is also within walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sascha Füchtner, Geschäftsführer at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your stay at Barceló Hamburg and your great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Please come and visit us again soon. Our Hanseatic city is always worth a visit. Thank you, stay healthy and many greetings from Hamburg, Sascha Fuechtner | General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
catcat88188 wrote a review Jul 2021
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Traveled through Hamburg and stayed the night. Bed was very comfortable. 3 pillows were offered- soft,medium, and firm. Got a good night’s rest. We also traveled by car and they had a parking garage at their facility which we could park at for an affordable price while we walked around. Great location with both Alster lake and city city center all close by/within walking distance.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sascha Füchtner, Geschäftsführer at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 14 Jul 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit to the Barceló Hamburg and your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come and visit us again soon. Thank you, stay healthy and best regards from Hamburg, Sascha Fuechtner | General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janwim2021 wrote a review Aug 2021
Zuid-Scharwoude, The Netherlands1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very good and beautiful hotel. High level in quality and appearance. The location in the center of the city also offers parking options in the immediate vicinity.
The rooms are very neat and luxuriously furnished.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sascha Füchtner, Geschäftsführer at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 20 Aug 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit to the Barceló Hamburg and your great review. We are very happy about your praise and the "full score". We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Please come and visit us again soon. Thank you, stay healthy and best regards from Hamburg, Sascha Fuechtner | General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Giorgia C wrote a review Oct 2020
Bahar ic-Caghaq, Malta168 contributions90 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Barcelo Hamburg is perfectly located near restaurants and the train station.. good value for money.. rooms are pleasant ..booked 2 directly from their call center.
Helpful and courteous over the phone.
I had the misfortune to check in with Monica at my arrival..
After checking in she proceeded with charging us although both rooms where already been paid by my son few ours before.
My son was offered to upgrade to a junior suite for just additional 20 € per day which he gladly did.
I then asked Monica if we could move to his room when he check out for our last night since we wanted the coffee machine..
She told us the room was already booked and offered no alternative whatsoever.

I asked if we could pay the difference and have a coffee machine sent our room
She looked annoyed and said that they didn’t do that...
I asked if she could look for another junior suite available and she told me to come back the next day..
At night we asked her to book us a taxi to go to Ono restaurant we waited 15 minutes outside and asked her to follow up.. again the situation was dealt with no professionalism..
I would suggest to hire people that understand the meaning of HOSPITALITY.
The day after I spoke to Alex who was professional and courteous and proceeded to look for a coffee machine to be sent to the room and booked us a taxi to the airport.
Rooms were clean and practical, 504 was very hot and the minibar was practically room temperature..
621 was nice and cool.
As I said the Hotel location is perfect, my only complaint is that there is no reason for you to stay inside other than to sleep
The bar was unremarkable and our vodka martinis came without olives yes they did not have any for our entire stay.!!!

So if you are looking for a well located hotel the offers sort of good value for money that’s your place.
No thrills no frills..
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sascha Füchtner, General Manager at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Dear guest, thank you for choosing us and for your detailed review. First of all, I am very happy that our central location and our B-Rooms exceeded your expectations. On the other hand, I am sorry to hear that you feel uncomfortable during your check-in process. I just only wanted you to feel really good attended since the beginning of your stay. Unfortunately I think we had a misunderstanding. While your son was checking in he got an special offer to the Deluxe category for 20EUR,- extra per night. Unfortunately you could not get this offer, because during your check-in, we did not had available rooms anymore in this category. Moreover I would like to remind you, that you were offered the possibility of obtaining a Deluxe room as well the next day, with an additional cost of 20EUR, - per night and letting us know before 12am. The next day when I returned to work, I was informed that you were keeping the same room and that a coffee machine had been brought up to your current room. Regarding the taxi, please make sure that it was ordered, and we cannot influence its delay. I remember the situation very well and we were waiting for it because we could see in our display that the taxi was on its way. At the end, we proceeded to call a second taxi for you. I am sorry if the wait was not pleasant for you, for us neither, our main goal as hosts is to make our guests happy and to feel comfortable. Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times. My sincery apologies, Mónica Cantero Mayordomo Guest Experience
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hseder127807 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The reception staff was uninformed, made too many Ooooops mistakes like double charging for rooms and breakfast, confused rooms with disability access and just were not too engaged. The restaurant was just ok - rather low level mediocre and the cocktails were not even close to acceptable. Not going again. Location is great though.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BarceloHamburg, Manager at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel. I am very sorry that we did not manage to convince you of our service. I have discussed your feedback with our department heads today and we will improve. Perhaps you will give our hotel another chance in the future - I would be delighted. Thank you and many greetings from Hamburg, Sascha Fuechtner | General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hamsakhaskhoussi wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hey guys I will try to keep this short.
So I traveled 500+ km driving a car yeah? To arrive at Hamburg then I worked 6 hours and I head to the hotel.
As I arrived they asked if I have a Dokument from my firm with me stating that I’m here for business reasons(Arbeitgeber Bescheid).
I asked if I can bring it by Tomorrow Because it was late my college’s at HR where not working.
They said nope sorry can’t give you a room.
Well at this point i respect the regulations. But we have another issue here, if that document is so important that I can’t go in without it why not tell me?
And please I don’t care it the whole world knows about the necessity of it, I didn’t so the argument well it’s COVID every one know is BS.
Tell US Please no one wants to deal with it a check in.
You could have implemented that easily in the booking process.
Absolutely incompetent it blows my mind how can they charge your credit card for the room then send you home
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: November 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sascha Füchtner, Geschäftsführer at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 16 Nov 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. I am very sorry that my colleagues did not manage to find a solution with you. Especially in the current pandemic period, it is important that you as a traveller keep up to date with the new rules. And at the moment you have to prove that you are travelling on business in Germany/Hamburg in order to get a hotel room. We need this proof from our guests before check in. We are legally obliged to do this. Perhaps you will give our hotel another chance in the future. Thank you, stay healthy and many greetings from Hamburg, Sascha Fuechtner | General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michele T wrote a review Apr 2022
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates62 contributions56 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were traveling through Europe and we had to stop to Hamburg, we checked hotel with specific amenities, like charging for electric vehicles and parking.
The pictures of the hotels seamed fine with “big room” for family of 4.
Once on site the parking wasn’t available so the charging station,
The room didn’t have the second bed for the children.
The personal at the reception was really unfriendly and unwilling to help us.
Never had such a rude treatment not even in 2 stars hotel.
Icing in the cake… to be served dinner they told us we had to wait at least 45 to 50 minutes… and there were 3 tables…
I wish I could have get refunded and lieve immediately that place!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid the place!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Dear Michele, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that your stay with us fell short of your expectations. We pride ourselves on high levels of customer service and were concerned to receive your comments. Please rest assured that we have noted your comments and the matter will be addressed with the person concerned. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. Rest assured that your comments regarding the service you received from our waiting team have been reviewed with the relevant manager to be addressed and we apologize for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. We are sorry your room did not completely meet your expectations. All room types are described online and for future occasions, we can offer you personalized guidance to guarantee that you reserve the hotel and room type that perfectly match your needs. We regret any inconvenience caused due to the parking and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have taken good note of your comments and handed them to the concerned department to be addressed. We hope to welcome you back for a return visit. Best regards, Sascha Füchtner, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amilan469093 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked “city view” and got view of another building. When told the staff they said “it is subject to availability”. Note there is a different price on booking.com for city view or without city view. Broken wallpaper in the room and mold in the shower.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: July 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sascha Füchtner, Geschäftsführer at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 14 Jul 2021
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel. I am very sorry that we did not manage to convince you of our service performance. We will immediately remedy the deficiencies you mentioned. Please accept our apologies. Perhaps you will give our hotel another chance in the future - I would be pleased. Thank you, stay healthy and best regards from Hamburg, Sascha Fuechtner | General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
becsmile wrote a review Jan 2020
Delph, United Kingdom87 contributions98 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Checked in with no problems. Room was clean and modern with tea and coffee making facilities. The location was about 10 min walk from the main shops of Hamburg. We had breakfast at the hotel - in my opinion it was over priced, it was ok but not worth the cost. If I visited Hamburg again I would return to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BarceloHamburg, Manager at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Dear guest, Thank you very much for visiting Barceló Hamburg and your great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Please come and visit us again soon in beautiful Hamburg. Our Hanseatic city is always worth a visit. Thank you and many greetings, Sascha Fuechtner | General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob H wrote a review Dec 2023
12 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was way overpriced for the quality. Rooms very small even by Euro standards. Location was,pretty good but not great. We had our plans change so had to move from original,hotel to extend stay. Hotel Reichsdorf was a real 5 star hotel with great service and larger rooms for 30% less cost and great location. I can not recommend Bar elk at the $300/night cost.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 8 Dec 2023
Dear Bob, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We regret to hear that your stay did not meet all your expectations in terms of room size and perceived value. While European room sizes can indeed be smaller than those elsewhere, we strive to offer comfortable and well-appointed accommodations, complemented by our central location and contemporary Spanish-style interiors. We hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit for an improved experience. Best regards, Linda Plettenberg, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from LoveToTravelGal
Ventnor City, New Jersey693 contributions275 helpful votes
We never had the need for a guest laundry, so we never asked I would: email the hotel and ask that question
mehran t asked a question Mar 2022
Iran10 contributions
hi. is there coffee or tea maker in the room?
Answer from TheAng
Dublin, Ireland38 contributions44 helpful votes
I believe that depends on the size/type of room you booked. I've stayed th re a couple of times now and had different room size/type, and there was either a kettle or a Nespresso machine in the room.
Louise H asked a question Nov 2019
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom1,500 contribution218 helpful votes
Beds Superior room huge gap in the queen beds - why do they not make for double bed?
Aeysaurus asked a question Jun 2019
114 contributions12 helpful votes
Does the water from shower run fast? We love bathing.
Answer from Valentyna
3 contributions
yes
Answer from Mohamed R
Alexandria182 contributions45 helpful votes
Breakfast at the hotel is for 21 euros but you have to indicate you would like to add it to your stay when you check in otherwise it will be higher I guess.
Tore T wrote a tip May 2023
Oslo, Norway160 contributions68 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check all features before unpacking !"
Read full review
andrewdifiore wrote a tip Dec 2022
Windsor, Connecticut13 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check out the sauna!"
Read full review
LoveToTravelGal wrote a tip Nov 2022
Ventnor City, New Jersey693 contributions275 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 806 in our opinion must be the best room in the hotel."
Read full review
Michele T wrote a tip Apr 2022
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates62 contributions56 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the place!"
Read full review
Puffinman wrote a tip Jul 2021
Berlin, Germany973 contributions430 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to the 9 th floor. Jr Suites."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hamburg area.
PRICE RANGE
£119 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyHamburgHamburg-Altstadt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
193
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BARCELÓ HAMBURG - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Barceló Hamburg
Which popular attractions are close to Barceló Hamburg?
Nearby attractions include pause & play Escape Rooms (0.03 miles), Binnenalster (0.3 miles), and Mönckebergstraße (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Barceló Hamburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Barceló Hamburg?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Barceló Hamburg?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Barceló Hamburg?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Barceló Hamburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Quan Do, Mutterland Stammhaus, and Atlantic Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Barceló Hamburg?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Barceló Hamburg located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Hamburg.
Are any cleaning services offered at Barceló Hamburg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Barceló Hamburg offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Barceló Hamburg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
All Hamburg HotelsHamburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HamburgHotels near Barceló Hamburg
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire