Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City

Spohrstr. 4 In der Kurfürsten Galerie, 34117 Kassel, Hesse Germany
Traveller (43)
salottino di fronte al letto
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 47 hotels in Kassel
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to the art metropolis. Experience a hotel with a very special ambience. A relaxing domicile for business travellers and private persons who want to enjoy the city of 'documenta' and its many-facetted wealth of art and culture.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Breakfast available
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Portuguese

Location

Spohrstr. 4 In der Kurfürsten Galerie, 34117 Kassel, Hesse Germany
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 88 out of 100
88
Kassel-Calden Airport
Paderborn Airport
397Reviews2Q+A18Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 154
  • 165
  • 62
  • 11
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Becky F wrote a review May 2012
Hollywood Park, Texas234 contributions209 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been in Kassel many times as my relatives live there but never stayed in a hotel as we always stay with family. This time we were there to visit a relative who was ill and chose this hotel based on location to his home so we could walk. An American may be surprised at this hotel being called a 4 star property. The rooms are pretty standard, a good comparison would be a Hampton or a Ramada in in the states. Although if you can overcome the comparison to what you're used to, you will be pleasantly surprised and have a great stay. Almost all of the staff we came into contact with during our 6 day stay spoke English and were very accommodating and friendly. The location is perfect for walking anywhere in the city center and perfect for shopping. The hotel is connected to a two story mall where the hotel restaurant is located along with a good choice of other mall type restaurants. (Skip the City Pizza, it was terrible!) We wanted to try the Spanish tapas restaurant but couldn't understand the menu. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant 3 mornings, it is absolutely wonderful! The choices in the buffet are not huge but what they have is absolutely delicious. The coffee was the best I've ever had and I would crawl over broken glass to have one of those chocolate croissants again! ;) Beware if you're a late night eater, everything closes at 8:00 p.m. but you may be able to get something to eat at the hotel bar. There are also no vending machines that we could find, so we had to plan ahead for bringing drinks and water to our room or use the mini-bar. The room itself is not what I expected for a 4 star hotel. That being said, it worked out very well for our purposes. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms are also, there is daily maid service. The TV channels are very limited for English only speakers: Bloomberg business news, a 24/7 preacher channel and I think one more channel. I would have appreciated maybe CNN or another news channel to keep up with current events. They have free Wi-Fi which worked great. We tried to get the air conditioner to come on several times but eventually gave up and opened the windows. This worked out well until the nearby church bells woke us up at 6 a.m. each morning so we had to choose between a stuffy room or a wake up call at 6 a.m. each day. Small issues really, the room was very quiet otherwise. The bed was comfortable, we asked for additional pillows which were promptly delivered. The bathroom was small but it was very nice with marble floors and granite counter tops. If you need to stay in Kassel near the city center, this hotel would be a great choice.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cphlor wrote a review Apr 2017
134 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A clean, very comfortable room.

In the morning a very good breakfast served in the restaurant which is strangely not directly attached to the hotel (access through the shopping mall).

Well positioned close to the city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jürgen V, Geschäftsführer at Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City
Responded 12 Apr 2017
Dear Guest, We thank you very much for the great review and glad that you probably felt with us. Our employees are always committed to our guests a pleasant and positive stay in the hotel and in the city. Thank you on behalf of all employees for the positive comments
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bjjensen wrote a review Sept 2014
Vancouver, Canada27 contributions37 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We thought we were going to the Mercure hotel ( according to the GPS). However it turned out to be Best Western Plus.
We had been driving all day, and could not be bothered to leave. We probably paid more than we normally would have, but we're upgraded to a suite. It was very nice, and we enjoyed the restaurants close by the hotel. It is a very good location, close to shops etc.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dmfUtah wrote a review Jun 2015
Logan, Utah2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Here right now. Air conditioning doesn't work even though they advertise this. The room is sweltering so they offered us a fan - which is now blowing hot air around. We have checked 3 rooms and no air is blowing through the vents- but they claim other rooms have air-conditioning working. They won't upgrade us to a different "category"! Too late to get money back. They room seems nice, but it will be 2 long days and nights for us.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Markus I wrote a review Dec 2013
Basel, Switzerland11 contributions26 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Good location close to center. Non smooking room smelling from smoke not so nice. Nice Breakfast strongly recomended. Parking below the Hotel and direct access to a shopping mall. Pillows very soft and not comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: December 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Per_FNorway wrote a review Mar 2012
Sogne Municipality, Norway36 contributions42 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was a reasonably standard Mercure hotel, nothing particular, but prime location in the center of the city. The hotel belongs to Accors midscale set of brands, and reflects that.

The room was comfortable, and the quality of the wireless should be emphasized

It was a bit annoying that you had to go out of the hotel and into the mall to get to the restaurant, and offerings for a late meal at the hotel was very limited. I visited excellent restaurants outside the hotel, but it is often convenient to be able to have a small meal in the hotel.

Mind you, the hotel is ok, and I will probably use it next time I am in Kassel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
T3515 wrote a review Jun 2019
Portland, Oregon89 contributions64 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our second stay at a nice hotel. Not a bad walk from the Hebrew. Our room was clean quiet, plenty of space, comfortable beds.

Our room was hot and stuffy. One window opened a sliver. No a/c, but the “air cooling system” seemed not to work. Although it seemed the hotel was virtually empty the reception person could only offer a fan.

Luckily, after a shift change the new person offered to help. He unlocked both windows and we were able to sleep both nights.

Negatives: 19€ per person breakfast at a BW seems crazy. Numerous places nearby offer quality breakfasts for far less.

Dozens of satellite channels, but we found only Bloomberg and CNBC in English. Amazing a BW branded hotel doesn’t have CNN or BBC or Aljazerra or some other news channel in English. The hotel should state that clearly in its online description.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jürgen V, Geschäftsführer at Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City
Responded 11 Jun 2019
Thank you for your review and the positive comments on our house. Our house has no air conditioning and we do not advertise it. We cannot leave the fact that our breakfast buffet is not appropriate in terms of value for money and also very much doubt that you will receive an equivalent breakfast at this price "nearby." Our breakfast buffet includes 150 items of the highest quality, including all specialty teas and coffees, as well as a juicer with which our guests can squeeze their juice fresh, 10 different types of bread and bread fresh from the local baker, 8 versch. Sausage and cheese, 3 versch. Salmon species, shrimp, sausage salad, egg salad, Nuremberg sausages, meatballs, 6 different vegetables and much more. A breakfast chef ready for our breakfast guests prepares all egg dishes fresh and according to the wishes of our guests in front of their eyes. In national and international comparison, our breakfast buffet is much cheaper than in other hotels in our class. In addition, there is also the possibility to have a la carte for breakfast or a French breakfast for a price of 5.00!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jens-Petter R wrote a review Jan 2019
34 contributions34 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel was ok, but no heating in the bathroom or living room. -5 and humid outside... needless to say, the room was freezing. Concierge didn’t seem to care to much, but brought an external fan to the room for heating. Claimed hotel was fully booked, so no rooms available to switch...
Not coming back here. I pay full prize. I don’t expect to freeze...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jürgen V, Geschäftsführer at Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City
Responded 22 Jan 2019
Thank you for your comments. We have a ventilation system in the hotel that also heats the rooms. The sensitivities of our guests are, by their very nature, very different. Of course, we immediately took care of you and brought a heating fan to your room, which also warmed the room pleasantly.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maninder S wrote a review Nov 2018
Letchworth Garden City, United Kingdom118 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 3 nights, hotel is close to everything. Staff is very friendly and helpful. You can walk out in morning and have a coffee from one of local shops and all restaurants very close to the hotel as well. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jürgen V, Geschäftsführer at Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City
Responded 9 Nov 2018
Thank you for your great review of our house and the wonderful comments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike B wrote a review Jul 2017
Edinburgh, United Kingdom17 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is located as part of shopping centre. It is conveniently located especially for visiting Documenta. The staff are friendly, the rooms are dated but clean and the breakfast in the restaurant just outside hotel is excellent. The main down side of this hotel is the lack of air conditioning. Even though there are controls in each room and signs saying that it only works with the windows closed there is no effective system. The temperatures in our room during a recent stay were unacceptable and made sleeping almost impossible. The staff admit there is no system despite what is stated on the hotel website. If requested they will open the windows and provide fans but this made little real difference apart from making room noisier due to city centre location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jürgen V, Geschäftsführer at Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City
Responded 1 Aug 2017
It is an absolute puzzles why our house is so poorly rated by you because of an air conditioning that does not work in your eyes. We had outside temperatures of more than 30 degrees. It is summer and warm everywhere. In addition, our house has been completely renovated in January 2017, which the reader will be happy to convince by hand of our photos.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Faye29 asked a question May 2018
Surrey, United Kingdom8 contributions11 helpful votes
Are 2 small dogs welcome to stay ?
Answer from Jürgen V
Kassel, Germany
Yes, of course. However, this is not free of charge. We charge €15.00 per dog and per day.
Richard M asked a question Aug 2014
Shipham51 contributions10 helpful votes
Is there parking at the hotel? Is it free?
Answer from MercureKassel
Kassel
You can conveniently Park in the public parking garage and go directly to the elevator in the hotel. Parking costs € 13.00 for 24 hours
WVER973 wrote a tip Jul 2018
Eisenhuttenstadt, Germany58 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for similar like Rm 235, spacey and value for money."
Read full review
obsoperator wrote a tip Sept 2017
Bergen County, New Jersey7,515 contributions279 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I never want street exposure, and there's no view to desire."
Read full review
mjjfxvyrdhk wrote a tip Aug 2017
Vancouver Island, Canada12 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room that faces the internal courtyard. The view isn't great but it is definitely quiet."
Read full review
Gottlob_Frege wrote a tip Jul 2017
Boston, Massachusetts19 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go west, young man....."
Read full review
jacksbat3 wrote a tip Jul 2017
Morristown, New Jersey131 contributions73 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't know. Every room I have been in is different"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kassel area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kassel
LOCATION
GermanyHesseKassel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
128
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN PLUS HOTEL KASSEL CITY - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City?
Nearby attractions include Markthalle Kassel (0.3 miles), Naturkundemuseum im Ottoneum (0.3 miles), and Man walking to the sky (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a business centre, meeting rooms, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Mama Afrika, Shan Dong, and Abessina.
Is Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Kassel.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Portuguese.
All Kassel HotelsKassel Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KasselHotels near Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire