We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen

Show Prices
#2 of 72 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
Lusaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

After renovating all rooms, the hotel made a huge step forward. The interior designers made a very good job. The best reason to stay at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen is the outstanding friendliness of the complete staff. Not only the receptionists (without any exception) but also the house-keeping is very friendly. I don't think it's just pretending, I really feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marcel R
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear Marcel R. Thank you very much for rating us on tripadvisor. The whole Team of the Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen do their best to offer our guests the best service during their stay at our Hotel. We are very glad that you rated our Team as friendly and that you felt welcome during your stay at the Mercure Hotel... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Freshly renovated rooms, clean and good service. Not far from major amenities including the main train station and restaurants. Only issue was the hard bed that made sleeping uncomfortable. If they can fix that, all would be well...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime_JW
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear Jaime_JW. Thnak you for taking your time to rate us on tripadvisor. We are pleased that you like our renovated rooms and that you rated our service as good. We hope to welcoming you again next time you visit Essen. More 

Muntelier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Good location only 1 km from the main station, metro station to downtown in walking distance. Street in paralel to Bismarckstrasse is "Rütenscheider strasse" and has some restaurants to choose (all walking distance).( Don't take "La Bistacca", a steakhouse, expensive and bad, meat didn't seem to be fresh and to pay € 12,90 for a glass of Chianti is a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ernst4000
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear Ernst4000. First of all: THANK YOU FOR YOUR RATING. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and specially that you rate our Team as friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
271 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

First time at this hotel. I became a member of the Accor family so things are more easy. I must say some things are more easy but not all. I make a small resume : - check out the receptionist asked for my company information and that's somethings i already put into check in sheet online. ( not a big... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank v
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear Frank v. Thank you for taking youre time to take part on our satisfaction survey. We are happy that you became a member of the Accor familiy and we are very glad that the service was good and professional to you. We are sorry for the inconvienience during your stay. We have a brand new coffee mashine and we... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We are spending four nights at this hotel and are very happy with the room, location and helpfulness of the staff. The bed was extremely comfortable. Just two things to note that aren't so good. First, we've found the shower very difficult to operate. This is the third Mecure Hotel we've stayed in during this trip and we had no... More 

Helpful?
Thank FelicityB4
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear FelicityB4. Thank you for your rating on tripadvisor. First of all we are proud that you rated us as an "excellent hotel". The renovation ends in September and we hope you will be our guest next time when you are in Essen again. Best regards More 

Moulton, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016

The best bed in our 16 days of travel in Europe and one of 5 hotels. The AC is great for a July visit. Conveniently located within walking distance of the "Rue" and not far from the train station.Courteous, helpful front desk staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaceyef
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear Kaceyef, Thank you for rating us at tripadvisor. We are happy because of your very good rating and specially that you are very satisfied with the Hotel. Thank you for being our guest during your stays in Essen. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Have stayed in a number of German Mecure hotels and this is no different. Great staff, nice modern lobby and bar/restaurant but the rooms are all dated, tired and generally in need of a refurb. Even for a relatively low budget hotel there are a lot of other better polished hotels out there in the same price bracket. Mercure need... More 

Helpful?
Thank James H
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear James H. Thank you for rating at tripadvisor. We are glad to inform you about our renovation. All of our 132 rooms will be renovated during summer 2016. Also the public area will get a modern style. We hope to welcoming you again. More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2016

3 night stay in the Plaza, and I couldn't complain about anything. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast (food a touch colder than I'd like but no worries), quiet room on the top floor to boot. I can't really make this review much longer as I don't have anything to whinge about. Perfectly good business hotel, about 200 - 300m from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank THE_Chris
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear THE-Chris, we are delighted that you have stayed with us and you have taken the time to tell us about your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your personal words. We are very happy about your praise. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. More 

Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Mercure Plazza Hotel very much. Crossing to the nearest Ubahn was a bit cumbersome, but we managed. The breakfast was very rich and satisfying. The room was spacious enough for our needs.

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
Thank yizhakm
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear yizhakam. Thank you for rating us at tripadvisor and for your personal words. We are happy because of your very good rating and specially that you are very satisfied with the Hotel-Team. We are happy to welcome you again in Essen. More 

Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Average Business Hotel with OK staff but not more. Good breakfast buffet. Overpriced car park fee: 18€/night is a bit over the top for a City like Essen. This is the reason for me to seek for another Hotel the next time.

Helpful?
Thank Jan R
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear Jan R. Thank you for rating us on tripadvisor. We are glad that you specially enjoyed your breakfast during your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. More 

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#9 of 72 in Essen
378 reviews
Ostviertel
Welcome Hotel Essen
Welcome Hotel Essen
#5 of 72 in Essen
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 1.5 km from the city centre, the 4 star Mercure Plaza Essen offers 132 bright and comfortable rooms. The Essen trade show centre is 1.5 km away from the hotel. The A52 and A40 motorways are easily accessible. Within 200 m of the hotel are the Folkwang Museum and the Philharmonie Saalbau concert hall. The Boxengasse hotel bar is a popular place for a drink in the evening. Guests can enjoy our swimming pool and sauna. Basement car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen

Address: Bismarckstrasse 48-50, 45128 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Südviertel
Price Range: £50 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Plaza Essen
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essen
#5 Business Hotel in Essen
#5 Best Value Hotel in Essen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The privilege-rooms are well designed and spacious (38m2).”
 of 5 bubbles CraneT_12, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view over the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles FelicityB4, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Top floor = nice quiet rooms”
 of 5 bubbles THE_Chris, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I could use the swimming pool at the adjacent Vita Nova twice”
 of 5 bubbles yizhakm, 14 May 2016 | Read review
“Higher Floors, Better view from the rooms on the right.”
 of 5 bubbles SamirMoosa, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay