AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio

Traveller (2404)
Room & Suite (980)
Restaurant Bar with Terrace at the AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott
Dining (248)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#38 of 106 hotels in Malaga
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Solarium
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

Calle Cortina del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga Spain
Name/address in local language
3,278Reviews86Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,417
  • 1,242
  • 364
  • 104
  • 151
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Francesco P wrote a review Mar 2020
Province of Milan, Italy11 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I spend just 1 night in this hotel with mi wife.
Excellent position in the centre of Malaga, very close to the Cathedral, the sea port and restaurants. The airport is also close, around 15 minutes by taxi.
Very good breakfast, with many products, both sweet and salted. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was equipped of shampoo, body soap, and other amenities. There is the possibility to take a coffee in the room, since it is equipped with a Nespresso machine.
Staff is very kind and solved me the issue, since I had to leave one day earlier than expected.

In a standard room the view from the windows is not good.
In the bathroom, the shower is inside the bath tube, I'd rather prefer a "classic" shower.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The standard room is OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AC_MAP, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor Community. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
archios wrote a review Dec 2021
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom88 contributions109 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights in September 21
We stayed here as part of a long weekend in Malaga.
Location is excellent. Right by the cathedral in the old town and an easy walk to everywhere you’d want to go. There is also a taxi rank right around the corner. Despite the central location the soundproofing must be good because we could barely hear a thing outside from our room, which was a bonus as Malaga is not a city that goes to bed early!

Check-in was a little crowded, though it looked as though they had a conference on at the time. Covid protocols mean that there is a queuing system for the elevators, and this can mean there’s a bit of a wait sometimes given the number of floors in the building.

Our room was massive and on a corner with views of the cathedral and city from one window and the Alcazaba from the other. Really good value for the money we paid for it.

We didn’t use any of the on-site restaurants for breakfast or dinner but did have a drink at the small pool bar on the roof. Drink prices weren’t terrible and the location and view make it well-worth a visit. They also limit the amount of people who can visit the rooftop bar (for covid reasons I imagine) so though those not staying at the hotel can use it for a drink, they would be the first turned away in favour of guests instead.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fiona C wrote a review Jan 2020
County Kildare, Ireland26 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights on 10th January and overall, we enjoyed our stay. We arrived on a late flight and didn't reach the hotel until after 12pm. The check in process was easy and the girl checking us in was very helpful and informative and gave us a map of the area and explained to us about the rooftop bar and that is was open until 1am. We went up to our room which was lovely (couldn't fault it at all) and had a great view of the cathedral and headed straight to the bar for a quick drink before 12.30am. We arrived at the bar and sat down at a table, some staff passed us but no-one gave us a menu and we had to ask another table to see theirs, then a local had to ask for a waitresses attention for us as we were still not served 10 minutes later. When she eventually came over I asked for a Mojito (from the menu) and was just told 'No'. I was shocked by this response with no explanation (e.g. sorry it's too late, the bar is closing , we have no rum etc - whatever the reason) so I asked what I could order and was told a gin! We ordered a rum and beer and then left after that as we were not happy with the service and did not return to this bar during the rest of our stay. Luckily there is a bar downstairs and the guy at this bar was much more friendly and, made me a mojito which I was very happy with. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as it was €20 per person and we wanted to go to local cafes (for a much better rate). Overall a good stay but please speak to staff in the rooftop bar to ensure visitors are made feel welcome!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AC_MAP, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Fiona_888, Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at the AC Hotel Malaga Palacio. Feedback from our guests is a very important tool for us as it enables us to pinpoint our weak areas and to improve accordingly. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve. However As I see in your comments there are aspects with our service at the rooftop that we failed, I am very dismayed to see that we did not reach your expectations during your stay with us. We take note. Please excuse us for the inconveniences caused. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chrissdavid wrote a review Feb 2020
9 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our recent holiday in Malaga was delightful. The only complaint i have is with the hotel which claims to offer air conditioning on the website. When we got to our room it was atleast 28 degrees and facing the sun. The air unit only blew out warm air and when i called down they explained that in winter only heat works but could move us to another room. Since it was also very warm out we knew this would not help. We asked for a fan and they explained they were out. If you require a cool nights sleep you won’t find it here or will the hotel do anything to accommodate you
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AC_MAP, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Dear Chrissdavid, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor Community. Feedback from our guests is a very important tool for us as it enables us to pinpoint our weak areas and to improve accordingly. Regarding A/C , I regret to inform you that we have air conditioning centralizer. Therefore, on our website we expressly announce it " Rooms are equipped with a full bathroom suite and air-conditioning or heating according the season.” That mean that we have heating during winter and cool during summer in all the hotel. However, the days of your stay had a particularly high temperature that does not correspond to the time of the year in which we find ourselves, winter, something completely unusual. We always try our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible, but we regret that we were unable to achieve it. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay. I hope that you will come again so that we can create a completely different experience for you. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kača M wrote a review Sept 2021
Malaga, Spain65 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to the terrace of AC hotel to have a nice drink but we waited like 15 min with empty glasses and dirty table from the people before. we came to the bar after to ask and he said he will come soon (this took like another 10 min).
We order some cocktails and tbh there were THE WORST cocktails we have ever drunk. Drinks without any garnish, mine was without any taste, like sucking ice. For 10€ each!!! So I came to change it and they actually prepared another one which was totally different to the first one. Girls had mojito with the passion fruit and that was so sweet that they didn't drink it. Literally 3leaves of mint -really if mojito is based on mint??????
The service terrible, people who probably hate their job. People like this should not work in these kind of positions. I think they don't care that much about the service because they know they have the best view from the terrace.
So the view is beautiful but the rest horrible.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jorge Gonzalez, Director General at AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio
Responded 15 Sept 2021
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor Community. Feedback from our guests is a very important tool for us as it enables us to pinpoint our weak areas and to improve accordingly. As you can imagine, I am very dismayed to hear that we did not reach your expectations. I can imagine how frustrating this must be for you and apologize for the inconvenience experienced. We would have loved if you had contacted our maitre directly at that time who would have been happy to help you. Please excuse us for the inconveniences caused and feel free to contact us should you have any additional comments or requests. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
William S wrote a review Dec 2021
Tempe, Arizona229 contributions160 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here because of the hotels Marriott affiliation and my status. Bonvoyed again. The hotel recognized status at check in and it counted for nothing. Staff were friendly enough and helpful. Location is good (maybe too good in a holiday season as it remains very loud into the night. They don’t allow individual room temperature control so you’re relegated opening windows to keep temperature bearable. Room was very basic (they wouldnt allow me to use my upgrade certs even though they weren’t busy). The lobby reeks of sewer gas and its prevalent on lower floors. You have to vie with people going to the rooftop bar for the elevators and the elevators are very small so you don’t share. It’s a pain. For people with disabilities there are a couple of tiers of stairs to even get in the lobby, not sure how they would manage. Last and not least. I don’t mind paying a bit for comfort when traveling, but this hotels prices are NOT in line with the quality of the product. Hard pass.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Let me know Marriottt status doesn’t do it
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EsteponaCharlotte wrote a review Nov 2021
Estepona, Spain92 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you to all the team at the AC Palacio Málaga for looking after us so well. For such a busy hotel, the service is excellent. We had booked two double rooms and a suite for an overnight stay and everyone loved the special treats in our rooms, the excellent welcome from the doormen and reception staff and I particularly enjoyed meeting the housekeeper who came to make up the children's sofa bed - what a lovely lady and a credit to AC Marriott. This hotel is the perfect location from where to enjoy the best that Málaga has to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Park in Muelle Uno and enjoy the pleasant stroll along the paseo or through the park from there...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jorge Gonzalez, Director General at AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio
Responded 9 Dec 2021
Dear Charlotte, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay. Specially that our staff has exceeded your expectations and helped you. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
born_t0_travel wrote a review Apr 2020
Brooklyn, New York328 contributions96 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a great location, in the middle of it all. Restaurants, bars, shops, tourist sites are all within easy reach via walking. The view from our room was fantastic.

The AC is centrally controlled and on our first night it was extremely hot. We turned the temperature on high but apparently that was turning the heat up as it was still winter in Spain. So basically there is no AC in winter even if the weather is unusually high.

After checkout, I saw an additional charge of about 20 or 30 euro, not sure what that was for, but really did not want to bother to call and ask.

The rooftop did have good views, just slightly better than our room. However, the drinks available were pretty limited when we arrived around 9pm. Service was slow.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AC_MAP, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio
Responded 14 Apr 2020
Dear Born to Travel, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at the AC Hotel Malaga Palacio. Feedback from our guests is a very important tool for us. As you can see in our web AC Hotel Málaga Palacio offers AACC in summer and Heating in Winter so in february the Heating was on. Regardng the charge you mention in your review, in registration card you authorize the hotel to charge on your credit card for incidentals in case you did not make the check out so it is the case. We are happy you enjoyed our location Sincerely, AC HOTEL MALAGA PALACIO TEAM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelerMJY wrote a review Sept 2022
United States215 contributions138 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the AC Malaga twice during our travels around Spain, primarily due to the location in the historic center, and secondarily as we have (titanium) loyalty status at Marriott properties. We will not stay here again; the Maria Lario next door is a far superior stay in an identical location.

We tend to select Marriott properties when traveling, as the loyalty status can assist in better room selections, breakfast, etc. In the case of AC Malaga, they did not recognize the earned benefits and we had to have fees removed from our invoice that was included. This process took three separate (duplicative) conversations. Not sure about the benefits of loyalty, based on their approach here.

Rooms are ok - clean, but worn down and smaller than most. They promote the terrace on the top floor, which does have beautiful views, but they may be living off that a bit oo much, as the hotel and service don't live up to the promise.

Staying in the historic center of Malaga is a great time, but maybe consider a different hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: high floor, sea view, terrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jorge Gonzalez, Director General at AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio
Responded 19 Sept 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the AC Hotel Malaga Palacio. We always consider feedback from our guests is a very important tool for us as it enables us to pinpoint our weak areas and to improve accordingly. Concerning your comments abut your benefits as a Titanium member we are more than happy to provide you a link where you can check all your benefits in our brand: http://www.marriott.com/marriott-rewards/member-benefits/guarantee.mi#Guaranteed_lounge Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Malaga. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael C wrote a review Nov 2022
London, England, United Kingdom170 contributions95 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Bullseye. If you are going to stay in a large town - stay in the middle where everything is a short stroll.

This hotel almost backs into the cathedral, nestled on the edge of the old town with every possible eating option within a couple of hundred metres.

It is also 100m from the penultimate stop for the Airport Bus (4 Euros) and 30 mins.

The breakfast buffet (22 Euros) didn't look like value for money so we ate out at Lepanto (very near) and the Eggs Benedict there a beauty to behold.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy R asked a question Jul 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom229 contributions129 helpful votes
Hello, booked for next week. Do you have to book the swimming pool?
Answer from JOHN F
Coral Gables, Florida24 contributions22 helpful votes
No you don’t, But it isn’t a huge area so Keep that in mind.
Answer from THE TRAVELLER
Malaga, Spain13,296 contributions3,959 helpful votes
They are part of marriot group and so you will get English speaking if you phone their central reservations people
ShakaP asked a question Oct 2021
Chester, United Kingdom310 contributions59 helpful votes
Is it possible for non hotel guests to visit the rooftop bar?
Answer from Moving Butler
Ballarat, Australia184 contributions434 helpful votes
Yes dear, but you need to line up downstairs. Hotel Guests get first preference. Be patient and they will guide you upstairs
Paddy asked a question Jul 2021
Cramlington, United Kingdom1 contribution
Could you recommend where I can get a PCR test for my return to the UK please
Answer from Moving Butler
Ballarat, Australia184 contributions434 helpful votes
Airport , but go early. Also, for a fee, the Hotel used to work with a lab that came to the hotel.
A.S. wrote a tip 10 Jun
United Kingdom31 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool only available 10 to 6 then get out of the way."
Read full review
3825_Man wrote a tip 8 Jun
Los Angeles, California67 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Attend the evening reception on the rooftop at least once during your stay to watch the sunset."
Read full review
Ron R wrote a tip May 2024
Salem, Massachusetts116 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bus stops are nearby and it’s a short trip to the train station."
Read full review
Frances J wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to other rooftop bars"
Read full review
John H wrote a tip May 2024
37 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sea view with a balcony."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Malaga area.
PRICE RANGE
£160 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ac hotels málaga, ac hotel málaga
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of MalagaCosta del SolMalagaCentro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
214
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AC HOTEL BY MARRIOTT MALAGA PALACIO - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio
Which popular attractions are close to AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio?
Nearby attractions include OXO - Museo del Videojuego (0.2 miles), The X-Door Malaga (0.2 miles), and Museo de Malaga (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brunchit - Alhóndiga, La Caravana - Cocina Viajera, and Sibuya Urban Sushi Bar Málaga.
Are there opportunities to exercise at AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Malaga.
Does AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alcazaba (0.2 miles), Malaga Cathedral (0.08 miles), and Castillo de Gibralfaro (0.8 miles).
All Malaga HotelsMalaga Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MalagaHotels near AC Hotel by Marriott Malaga Palacio
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire