We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Residencia Universitaria Blas de Otero

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Residencia Universitaria Blas de Otero
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 24: English reviews
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 28 August 2016

First of all, be prepared to wait two hours to check in: the check-in starts at 2pm and at that time it takes ages, so that half of our afternoon in Bilbao was spent waiting in the lobby. When we finally managed to get in, we realized that we missed the wi-fi password and they told us we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samanta T
ResaInn, ResaInn at Residencia Universitaria Blas de Otero, responded to this review

Hi Samanta, Thank you so much for taking your time reviewing us! We are glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you, as well, for letting us know where we have failed. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, because your comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodation and feedback our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We needed the cheapest place to stay, as booked to go to the Bilbao Live festival quite late, after all the hotels had put their prices up. However I would recommend this to anyone on any budget, it is certainly better than a hostel dorm. The location is very convenient, and whilst it is opposite a scrapyard, they work sociable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asher P
ResaInn, ResaInn at Residencia Universitaria Blas de Otero, responded to this review

Dear Asher, A very big thank you for you positive and detailed comment. We’d love to know that you feel comfortable in your room and you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Bilbao. Kind regards.

Leiria, Portugal
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Want some place cheap, close to the city center, and you're not into hostels? This is a nice option. It is a student residence, which means it is unpretentious and does not have many amenities (such as TV and AC). It has nevertheless individual rooms with individual bathrooms, it is clean and is good value for money. The downside is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nuno R
ResaInn, ResaInn at Residencia Universitaria Blas de Otero, responded to this review

Hello Nuno, Thank you so much for such an amazing review! It is a big pleasure to know that you were satisfied with your stay at our residence. Hope to see you back again! Best regards from Bilbao! =)

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Although the area looks poor, especially in the night, it is close to the train station and the city centre. Good breakfast, kind reception (except for the night we arrived) and with a parking. Floor rooms are noisy but if you close the windows, it is much better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnmir13
ResaInn, ResaInn at Residencia Universitaria Blas de Otero, responded to this review

Hello Johnmir13, Thank you for such a great review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we will be glad to see you again soon! :)

HK
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

By the name we know this is not a fancy hotel, just a simple hostel and didn't set high expectations. What attracted us was the walking distance to everything, family room available, breakfast and free wifi included and very economic rates. The family room for 4 is more than what we expected, featuring a double room m a room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dora F
ResaInn, ResaInn at Residencia Universitaria Blas de Otero, responded to this review

Hi Dora, Thank you so much for your sweets comments! It’s a pleasure to read that our room accommodations and services exceed your expectations. Regarding the car park, we are so sorry that your experience was disappointing. Sometimes it’s difficult to park around our area, so we hardly recommend to book a parking lot in advance at the residence. We...

Bologna, Italy
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Hostel with Very Small room with Very Small kitchen corner. Dirty and incredibly small bathroom. Parking was assured But we waited for somebody to open the garage almost one hour outside. Bad area expecially by night around the hostel, full of strange people. Not recomended for women alone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariateresab0l0gna
ResaInn, ResaInn at Residencia Universitaria Blas de Otero, responded to this review

Dear Maria Teresa, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are disappointed that we did not reach your expectations and that you were not comfortable in your room. We have different room categories (standard and executives studios) depending on our customer needs. For us safety is very important, for that reason our security guard takes several...

Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Arrived in Bilbao with the objective of finally visiting the Guggenheim and booked into this hotel. It is part of Spain's Youth Hostel network so it is necessary to be a member. The hostel provides self contained single accommodation with a basic kitchen, bathroom and bedroom in a tiny, but well designed, rectangular space. Catering for students and scholars there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caminoperegrino
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Over in Bilbao for a veterans rugby tour Consequently trying to costs down - ended up at this place Positives were it was clean and communal areas are bright Beyond that the story's not so great: Rooms v small and basically equipped Staff pretty grumpy Breakfast very basic The location is dire - very very rough neighbourhood, I was there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJH1
ResaInn, ResaInn at Residencia Universitaria Blas de Otero, responded to this review

Hello MJH1! Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are disappointed that we did not reach your expectations and that you were not comfortable in your room. We provide diverse accommodation options (standard and executives studios) as well as modern common areas and facilities (gym, car park, outdoor terrace). We are located in a multicultural neighborhood,...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We have stayed 2 nights in Blas de Otero Hostel. The first area impression was a little dissapointed. A lot of strange people where hanging around the hostel. To be honest, when we get in the hostel everything was fine. It's a hostel with a lot of students who are living there. We had a 4 persons room. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny R
Lleida, Spain
Reviewed 8 August 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccapW5104CO

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#13 of 43 in Bilbao
1,746 reviews
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bilbo Zaharra
Casual Gurea
Casual Gurea
#1 of 25 in Bilbao
247 reviews
Pension Mardones
#17 of 25 in Bilbao
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Residencia Blas de Otero offers value accommodation in the historic centre of Bilbao, 400 metres from the Cathedral. Rooms include a private bathroom, small kitchen and free Wi-Fi access. Residencia Blas de Otero is a short walk from Abando Train Station and Bilbao's Old Town. The world-famous Guggenheim Museum is around 2 km away. The Residence is home to students of the University of the Basque Country. It includes a TV and DVD lounge, a games room, a gym and a self-service laundry room. Snacks and drinks are available from vending machines. There is free Wi-Fi access in public areas of the Blas de Otero. The Residence also has a 24-hour reception with a tour desk, which can provide information about the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residencia Universitaria Blas de Otero

Address: C/ de las Cortes, 38, 48003 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Price Range: £38 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia Universitaria Blas de Otero 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Residencia Universitaria Blas de Otero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residencia Universitaria Blas de Otero staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Residencia Universitaria Blas de Otero staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“a room facing away from the main street would be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles AsherP135, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the building are more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles frankthetaenk, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“cheap and "colourful"”
 of 5 bubbles Casual_Monk, 19 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Back of building if you do not like street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Princessminnie, 28 Jun 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay