We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Room Mate Gorka

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (170)
Room & Suite (99)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 65 hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Looking for a place to stay in San Sebastian - Donostia? Then look no further than Room Mate Gorka, a romantic boutique hotel that brings the best of San Sebastian - Donostia to your doorstep.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Room Mate Gorka offers guests free wifi.

Plus, Room Mate Gorka offers a fitness center and a lounge, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting San Sebastian - Donostia, Room Mate Gorka is located a short distance from Plaza de Guipuzkoa (0.0 mi) and Ayuntamiento (City Hall) (0.2 mi).

While visiting San Sebastian - Donostia, you may want to try some lobster at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Arzak, Akelarre, or Gandarias Jatetxea.

Best of all, Room Mate Gorka makes it easy to experience many great San Sebastian - Donostia attractions like Ayuntamiento de San Sebastian, Iglesia de Santa Maria del Coro, and Kursaal, which are some popular architectural buildings.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Room Mate Gorka as you experience everything San Sebastian - Donostia has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Centrally Located
492Reviews15Q+A40Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 426
  • 49
  • 6
  • 4
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
BazzaO50 wrote a review Feb 2024
Ferndown, United Kingdom72 contributions40 helpful votes
We have just come back from a fabulous stay at Room Mate Gorka in San Sebastián. The location of this hotel is perfect for us. The hotel is 5 minute walk from the Old Town, 10 minutes from the beach and right in the heart of San Sebastián. There are so many bars, restaurants and shops on the doorstep to visit - a really lovely buzzy atmosphere. The hotel itself is fab. The reception staff are without exception, happy and extremely helpful. It would be unfair to name them as I didn’t catch the name of everyone and I would hate to leave anyone out. The room (executive room) was spacious and exceptionally clean (thank you Christopher and Jasmine for looking after us so well). The bathroom was spacious and well thought out and plenty of storage space. The only thing (which we asked for) which wasn’t available was a non-slip mat for the shower which would have been appreciated. We tried the breakfast once but there wasn’t much choice (we went at 1030) although we had specially made scrambled eggs which were delicious. The Old Town was a great place for food and wine - we didn’t had a bad experience in any place and we tried many!! The bar next door (part of the hotel) was amazing. Again, the staff were so friendly and as we popped in every night for an aperitif and later for a night-cap they soon knew us. It was a lovely place to relax, so comfortable and friendly and it was a very nice way to end our evening. All in all, we had a great stay for our first visit to San Sebastián and it won’t be our last.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Room Mate Gorka Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Room Mate Gorka
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Bazza, First of all, we want to thank you for sharing your experience at Room Mate Gorka. We are so delighted to read your comment about your recent stay with us. We all work to make guest feel like home and we really hope to be able to welcoming you back many times more at your home away from home in San Sebastian. Best regards, Sophie Valensi Front desk manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
School70 wrote a review Aug 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom57 contributions74 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Loved the room overlooking the Square. Bed, bathroom and decor was great quality and attention to detail. Staff were genuinely enthusiastic and welcoming. Alex and Jonas on front desk very helpful and friendly. Breakfast quality of products was 10/10. Fresh pastries and bread. Breakfast room itself was lacking atmosphere as down -1 floor. A small hotel with a big heart. Not heard of the brand before staying here. Will look to stay in other of there properties in other cities
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: San Sebastián can be extremely busy in August. Avoid
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Room Mate Gorka Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Room Mate Gorka
Responded 5 Sept 2023
Dear School70, Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Room Mate Gorka. We are so happy to read you comment and we will share it with the whole team, especially Alex and Jonas. We really hope to be able to welcoming you back at your home away from home in San Sebastian. Best regards, Gorka's Team :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MeeMo M wrote a review Feb 2024
Madrid, Spain1 contribution
I've stayed here in January for christmas eve and everythins was perfect. The location is terrific, right in the city centre and perfect to exploring everything by foot, the staff makes a big effort to make us feel super comfortable. I stayed in other Room Mate hotels and it is always perfect, if one day I go back to San Sebastian for sure I'll go back to Gorka. Thank you so much team!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Room Mate Gorka Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Room Mate Gorka
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Meemo, First of all, we want to thank you for sharing your experience at Room Mate Gorka. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to be able to welcoming you back at your home away from home in San Sebastian. Best regards, Sophie Valensi Front desk manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SagaLoutLondon wrote a review Jan 2024
London36 contributions26 helpful votes
I stayed for 3 nights along with 7 friends and we were all very happy with the experience. The hotel is very central but quiet. The staff were friendly and efficient. A special mention for Nerea in the breakfast room. We intended to have eat there on the first day and then try elsewhere. However, we went back every day and she looked after us very well.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Room Mate Gorka Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Room Mate Gorka
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear SagaLoutLondon, First of all, we want to thank you for sharing your recent experience at Room Mate Gorka. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to be able to welcoming you back at your home away from home in San Sebastian. Best regards, Sophie Valensi Front desk manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lulukate65 wrote a review Jan 2024
Melbourne27 contributions34 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Lovely room with a little balcony overlooking the square. Bed comfortable and room clean and well decorated. Great location with lots of bars and markets close by. Staff so helpful and have some great tips for dining. A beautiful town to explore and we were able to walk everywhere from where we were staying.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Room Mate Gorka Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Room Mate Gorka
Responded 7 Jan 2024
Dear Lulukate65, First of all, we want to thank you for sharing your experience at Room Mate Gorka. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to be able to welcoming you back at your home away from home in San Sebastian. Best regards, Sophie Valensi Front desk manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Popcorn49 wrote a review Nov 2023
Perth, Australia36 contributions39 helpful votes
Loved this boutique hotel. In a great location, beautiful room with great bathroom & lovely toiletries. Staff super friendly & great bar next door. Close to all the good pintxos bars in the old town. Very quiet area, though close to everything. Would definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Room Mate Gorka Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Room Mate Gorka
Responded 28 Nov 2023
Dear Popcorn49, We want to thank you for sharing your experience at Room Mate Gorka. It makes us so happy to read that you have a great stay with us. Our main goal is to make guest feel like home. We hope to be able to welcoming you back at your home away from home in San Sebastian. Best regards, Sophie Valensi Front desk Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RCZ wrote a review Sept 2023
Prague, Czech Republic261 contributions186 helpful votes
Nice modern hotel. Perfectly located. Quiet (stayed on the 5th floor). Good bar as part of the hotel. I’d rate the hotel itself 5 out of 5. However, the breakfast… The breakfast was pretty bad. It’d deserve only 2 out of 5… Why? Starting with the breakfast room itself located on -1st floor (dark, no windows, very cold due to AC set to crazy low temp), continuing with incompetent server who we had to “chase” so that we could order something and ending up with very non-fresh looking food on the buffet (luckily you can at least order some eggs - not very tasty but at least made to order). No surprise nobody had breakfast there. I’d avoid it next time as well. Honestly I am quite surprised how hotel management can ignore this since the rest of the hotel is really great? Btw - the hotel’s bar serves breakfasts as well (from 9:30), it is much better choice. So if I may recommend - book your room WITHOUT breakfast and enjoy either the hotel’s bar/cafe or any other cafe nearby serving delicious breakfasts. There are quite many within walking distance. The same price as hotel’s breakfast but very different experience…. As for the hotel itself - it can definitely be recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid hotel’s breakfast (details in review)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Room Mate Gorka Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Room Mate Gorka
Responded 30 Oct 2023
Dear Rcz111, First of all, we want to thank you for sharing your experience at Room Mate Gorka. Your comments help us to improve our services day by day and we are already working on it. We are happy to know that you liked the decor, our centric location and the bar. We really hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you at your home away from home in San Sebastian and making your stay a 10 out of 10. Best regards, Sophie Valensi Front desk manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
scatherton wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Fantastic location one block from all the action. Close to the old town, shopping and beach. We had a stylish room and a super comfy bed. Shower was hot and powerful. Staff were very accommodating trying to sort an early check-in and ordering taxis. We chose to have breakfast one day and it was fresh and varied. We used the bar next door with the discount which was helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We couldn’t fault it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Room Mate Gorka Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Room Mate Gorka
Responded 24 Sept 2023
Dear Scatherton, First of all, we want to thank you for sharing your experience at Room Mate Gorka. How wonderful is to read comments like yours. We all work to make guest feel like home and we really hope to be able to welcoming you back at your home away from home in San Sebastian. Best regards, Sophie Valensi Front desk manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jim T wrote a review Sept 2023
London, United Kingdom17 contributions3 helpful votes
Booked and executive room and was given a room with two singles which is not what I request or paid for. Reception did not inform me of this, and we really rude. When i I complained they claiming that all bookings are subject to availability and I’d have to pick it up with booking.com and not then. They did move me after one night, but to a smaller room facing the back of the property (again not what I booked). They said the manager would come see me, but nobody did. They also offered me a free drink in the bar. But guess what, after I left I realised I’d been charged. On another subject, reception was frequently empty and had to wait 10-15 mins for anybody to show up, and the bar was exceptionally slow. All round, this was not a good experience and nobody has been in contact, said sorry, or offered any kind of meaningful recompense. A complete waste of money on my part
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Room Mate Gorka Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Room Mate Gorka
Responded 11 Sept 2023
Dear F699MMjohnt, First of all thank you for trusting in Room Mate Hotels and for taking the time to write such a detailed review About your recent stay with us. Information from our Guests is the most value information we can have. We are glad to know you liked our location. However, we are sad to know we did not meet your expectations. In Room Mate we work hard to offer our Guests the best experience possible, and in your case we failed. We are sorry to know you did not like our rooms. I leave you my email: gorka.direccion@room-matehotels.com, where I will be delighted to help you with anything related to the hotel. For the entire Gorka´s team it would be a pleasure to have a new chance to make your next stay a memorable one. We would be more that thankful if you may give us a new opportunity. Best Regards, Andrea Elicegui/Directora Room Mate Gorka
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
820yhw21 wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I arrived with my fiance early in the morning around 9 AM after an early flight from Madrid, we were disappointed ot hear from the staff that there was no early check in. However, upon checking she had provided us some good news and said that Room 101 is avaliable and we can check in right away, from there, everything went severely downhill. We checked in and took a nap as the flight was very early, however, I struggled to sleep at all as I kept hearing water leaking sounds and people going in and out constantly on the floor, I then realised that the toilet that was in the room was fitted for disabled people, there was no shower with glass seperating and was a mere shower curtain seperating the toilet and the shower, please see photo attached. I was perlexed and didn't understand what was the case of it, however upon investigating I realised I was given a room which is for disabled people which was not told to us at all during check in or even when the staff decided to take us to our room. Having booked this hotel through Hotels.com I have then been informed by the hotline that the staff actually admits that the hotel is completely oversold in my room category and they decided to try their luck is giving us a disabled room. Hotels.com agreed that we should not be paying anything to the hotel even our short stay of 2 hours in the hotel, however, I have received constant pings on my credit card to try and charge the stay despite what they have done and that hotels.com told them that they are not allowed to do so. I would not recommend this hotel at all!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Room Mate Gorka Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Room Mate Gorka
Responded 4 Sept 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for writing to make us aware of your concerns regarding your recent stay at Room Mate Gorka. Your comments are greatly appreciated and your feedback is important to us. We are sorry to read that we could not match your expectations during your time with us. In Room Mate we are sure that the best way to improve our service is by listening carefully our guests comments. After making the early check-in and giving you the room available in your category at that time, instead of waiting, we have evidence that you were offered another room in a higher category which you did not want to change to. If you had left immediately on arrival, no charge would have been made, but you used the room for 4 hours and that room was not available for sale that day because of that reason. Furthermore, we would like to inform you that you have left an outstanding charge at the bar which has nothing to do with your reservation. Best regards, Andrea Elicegui / General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Sebastian - Donostia area.
PRICE RANGE
£89 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainBasque CountryProvince of GuipuzcoaSan Sebastian - Donostia
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROOM MATE GORKA - Updated 2024 (San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain)

Frequently Asked Questions about Room Mate Gorka
Which popular attractions are close to Room Mate Gorka?
Nearby attractions include Discover San Sebastian (0.09 miles), Parte Vieja (0.2 miles), and Calle 31 de Agosto (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Room Mate Gorka?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a business centre, meeting rooms, and taxi service.
Is parking available at Room Mate Gorka?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Room Mate Gorka?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mendaur Berria, Karrika Taberna, and Bar Sport.
Is Room Mate Gorka located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of San Sebastian - Donostia.
Does Room Mate Gorka offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Room Mate Gorka?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castillo de la Mota (0.4 miles) and Caserio Katxola (1.5 miles).