We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 145: English reviews
Nunavut, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stunning building and great location as a base to visit this beautiful City. Amazing view from our room. Breakfast was taken in the Cloisters and choice was fresh and plentiful. The hotel has a very nice atmosphere. Very clean and quiet.

Helpful?
1 Thank oliviaandersonnu2016
Sergio M, Director de Recepción at Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban, responded to this review

We apreciatte your opinion about Hospes Palacio de San Esteban hotel, and hope you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will be happy to welcome you back again in your next visit to Salamanca More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I loved everything about this hotel. The service was wonderful. The room we booked (deluxe) was very spacious. The hotel smells so good when you walk in. They must have some oils burning or something. The only downside was that the room service menu is quite limited. Nothing from keeping me from staying there again. The hotel is in a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank luvatl
Sergio M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the wonderful rating. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the Deluxe room you had and we will be glad to welcome you again when you return to Salamanca. More 

Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent location but not a 5 star's hotel. Small and very simple rooms. Not a proper spa (you have to request the massage and the massagist come from outside, so it is difficult to get an appointment). Not a proper fitness centre (a small room in the basement). Good food but poor service. It could be a solid 4 stars'... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gemamadrigal
Sergio M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban, responded to this review

Thank you very much for rating our hotel. We are sorry for not meeting your expectations with the fitness center and the massage. We are working on it in order to improve. We hope to welcome you back when you return to Salamanca. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is nice and in a good location. We stayed for one night so we could explore the town. The staff were very nice, although their English is a little poor... After being told we were being upgraded to a Deluxe room based on my SPG status, although we would have to wait for a few hours, we ended... More 

Helpful?
Thank DoubleDLedge
Sergio M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban, responded to this review

Thank you very much for rating our hotel. We are sorry for any misunderstanding that may have happened during your stay with us. Everything you have said will be used in order to improve and we will be glad to welcome you again and when you return to Salamanca giving you a better stay when it happens. More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a little issue with our bathroom but Mr Victor Gil, hotel manager, made sure that we could still have a pleasant staying, and sure it was! Very good breakfast and lunch, loved the food. Very well located as well, close to every where, we did not even had to use the car for the 4 days we stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Xuxu2012
Sergio M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban, responded to this review

Thank you very much for rating and recommending our hotel. We are happy to know that you had a great stay with us thanks to the help of Victor Gil. We hope to welcome you back when you return to Salamanca. More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Salamanca is a magical city like an open air museum where every street is full of history. We were definitely mesmerised during our stay there, but unfortunately the hotel could not meet our expectations of a 5 star luxury. It is located in a beautiful historical building, which sometimes creates some difficulties such as corridors like labyrinths, changing elevators several... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fatih D
Sergio M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban, responded to this review

Thank you very much for rating our hotel. We are sorry for not having met you expectations. We take note of everything you have said in order for it to improve and we hope you can give us a second change for us to give you a better stay. More 

Llanrhystud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The hotel is located in a former monestery in the old town, a short walk from all the major attractions. The hotel has been sympathetically restored and is beautifully maintained. Our room on the first floor, was comfortable and large, with a nice seating area, windows opened onto the hotel entrance area. comfortable size. Our Breakfast was included in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paulinelr
Sergio M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the detailed rating of your stay in our hotel. It is nice to know that you had a fantastic day in our beloved city and we hope to welcome you again when you return to Salamanca. More 

ny
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

there was no cafe or nice outside lounge where we could have just sit and enjoy a drink. the bar was inside and there was never anyone attending it. the rooms are rather dark (it is a historic hotel, with small windows) and a lot of the rooms face the courtyard (which means : no view and not much light).... More 

Helpful?
Thank dodiloo
Sergio M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban, responded to this review

Thank you very much for rating our hotel. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not very inviting. We take note of everything you said in order to keep improving and we hope you can give us a second chance when you return to Salamanca. More 

Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Clean, comfortable, cosy place to say the minimum, a luxurious spot to describe it better. it is a converted monastery where you are subject to have an unforgettable experience. All staff are attentive and kind, and breakfast, which is lavish and delicious, is served at a huge refectory. Thoroughly recommended. Marcio and Ana

Helpful?
Thank dondinax
Sergio M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban, responded to this review

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel. It is great to know that you had an amazsing stay with us and we hope to welcome you again when you return to Salamanca. More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

A romantic weekend away booked weeks in advance. The single request I made was a double bed - guess what.... "not available"! The negatives: The staff appeared to be 98% male, which I can assure you does not equate to efficiency. The room was small, dark and pokey, very poorly lit and the walls were paper thin. Expect to be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mattzimbo
Sergio M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban, responded to this review

Thank you very much for rating our hotel. We are sorry for not meeting your expectations. We want to let you know that your comment will be used in order to keep improving and make the changes needed. We hope you can give as a second chance in order to change your opinion of our hotel. More 

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 72 in Salamanca
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
#5 of 72 in Salamanca
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#3 of 72 in Salamanca
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 72 in Salamanca
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
El Monje
El Monje
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban

Address: Lugar Arroyo Santo Domingo 3, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Price Range: £77 - £648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Salamanca
Ac Hotel Salamanca
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#6 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#13 Family Hotel in Salamanca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Barcelona, Spain
1 month ago
Newquay, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 405 very quiet with an excellent view of the Cloisters”
 of 5 bubbles AllanLondon, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would advise to ask for a room with courtyard view.”
 of 5 bubbles diederieke, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view to the Cathedral on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles helensH2579HH, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Courtyard view very serene.”
 of 5 bubbles Z6954JAmariad, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“view over roof tops to cathedral was nice - room 208”
 of 5 bubbles H0rstT, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay