Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca

Traveller (229)
Panorama of the Pool at the Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
360
Panoramas (8)
Superior
Room & Suite (216)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£181
£165
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#12 of 62 hotels in Salamanca
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Catalonia Salamanca Plaza Hotel, which opened its doors in April 2002, is ideally situated near Plaza Mayor, which is accessed by a covered walkway. Housed in a building that has kept its original Rationalist facade, all the rooms and facilities of the hotel are decorated in a modern style which combines an exotic Oriental touch with a more classical feel, as epitomised by the Villamayor stone. The hotel has 67 rooms, all equipped with the latest amenities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Telephone
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

Espoz y Mina, 23-25, 37002 Salamanca Spain
Name/address in local language
1,019Review7Q+A24Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 419
  • 418
  • 137
  • 24
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
josebenjamin wrote a review Nov 2023
Midland, Michigan4,085 contributions320 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Last month, my wife and I spent five nights at this hotel. We enjoyed the service and the great location, just within a few steps from Plaza Mayor, close to a supermarket, and within walking distance from many restaurants and attractions.

Our room (312) was very clean and of good size, but very oddly laid out, apparently the space taken was never intended to be a room at all. The entrance was very narrow, the closet was at an unusual location, and the path to the bed was somewhat twisted. Worst was the bathroom with the toilet placed at a cramped corner.

However, the room was very quiet, and nicely cleaned every day. The staff was helpful and attentive. The breakfast buffet was good in general, but not great. The hotel lacked atmosphere or charm. The price we paid was somewhat high, perhaps a little too much for the quality, ambiance, and services of this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Need a Laundromat?, just walk across the street.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from concha bustos, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Responded 3 Dec 2023
Thank you very much for your comments. Receive a cordial greeting
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JohnNorthWest wrote a review May 2023
10 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We received an officious reception when we arrived when we were told that we might have a twin not double room - "you have paid for the room not the bed(s)"; however when we returned later in the day, and with a different receptionist on duty, we did in fact have a double. Happily other staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean. The hotel is very well situated for exploring the historic centre of Salamanca: the location is its greatest asset. We enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from concha bustos, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Responded 29 May 2023
Dear John, thank you very much for the time you have spent writing these lines to us. We are pleased to know that the hotel and the service have met your needs. Yours sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deven58 wrote a review 9 May
Auckland, New Zealand133 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is ok due to its position - literally 20m behind the square. There is a great self use laundary right opposite the hotel - 5 meters!

Unfortunately, our room had a bit of a smell, and this hotel does not provide any extras. No slippers, no hot water jug, no coffee, etc. Reception has a coffee machine, but you have to purchase the pods!

Our room was really cold. We were told the AC was off. They said I could come to reception to get a heater if it was really cold. When I got there, the manager said he would "turn it on." Went back to the room, and it started working! Very weird indeed. Saving costs?

Shower in bath. Bit slippey as no antislip mat. Take care!

Staff were ok.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great laundary acoss the road. Under 3 euro for was wash and under 3 euros for the dryer!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from concha bustos, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Responded 1 week ago
Dear customer, thank you very much for the time you have spent writing these lines to us. We are pleased to know that the hotel and the service have met your needs. Yours sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria P wrote a review Jul 2023
10 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Caution! This IS NOT A 4 star hotel as they claim!!! My “view” was of a green and black mildew covered wall. The sink was cracked. There are gaps along the baseboards and some wall joints making the room appear cheap and unfinished. The walls are dirty and definitely in need of paint. Tiles around the bathtub have mildew and need regrouting. Seems they just tried to cover the dirt and mildew. The drinking glasses and bathroom mirror were dirty upon our arrival. The mini fridge is severely scratched and dented as if the hotel found it in someone’s garbage. Based only on my arrival and request for a change to a clean room, staff & 4 star service are lacking. No one to greet you at the door. No one offers to help with the luggage. Don’t ruin your stay in Salamanca by staying here. See pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Things to avoid: AVOID THIS hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from concha bustos, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Responded 29 Jul 2023
Hello, the hotel meets all the requirements to be a four-star hotel and several things that it says do not correspond to reality. All the best
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelingjohn123 wrote a review Apr 2024
Peterlee, United Kingdom3,057 contributions658 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful clean and modern hotel in amazing location just 100m from the Plaza. Very friendly staff and rooms cleaned every day (we forgot to put up the do not disturb sign)
Great bathroom with amazing shower, beds, fridge, safe boxes, smart TV and nice decor and quality furnishings.
Parking is €15 / night at a nearby parking garage.
Would definitely recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from concha bustos, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear customer, thank you very much for the time you have spent writing these lines to us. We are pleased to know that the hotel and the service have met your needs. Yours sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shamrocks4 wrote a review 4 May
Greater Adelaide, Australia58 contributions63 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here 2 nights . Clean modern, walking distance to all things Salamanca.
Great size bathroom with bath. Free toiletries , safe dep box etc
Would def recommend. Nice reception. Quick & easy check in.

Didnt like no natural light. No Tea/Coffee facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from concha bustos, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Responded 1 week ago
Dear customer, thank you very much for the time you have spent writing these lines to us. We are pleased to know that the hotel and the service have met your needs. Yours sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trina K wrote a review Sept 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very comfortable & pleasant staff. Lovely pillows, & bed. We took advantage of Room Service in the evening. Very prompt & efficient. In the AM we had a great Buffet breakfast, not crowded and staff was very pleasant & smiling!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from concha bustos, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Responded 19 Oct 2023
Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing us in your last stay in Salamanca. We are pleased to know that you had a positive experience in our establishment, so we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the city. Yours sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Torn N wrote a review Mar 2024
Lake Lure, North Carolina56 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped here at this hotel on a trip through Spain on our way to Portugal with a dog. Staff both online and at the hotel couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is a little hard to find when driving but it was well worth it. Even the pooch was made to feel welcome, they even provided bowls and a bed for the dog in our room. The hotel is in the perfect location, the room was very clean, comfortable and above and beyond our expectations. A full recommendation is given and we will definitely stay again should we travel to Salamanca in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Very pet friendly, great location, highly recommended.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from concha bustos, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Responded 20 Mar 2024
Dear customer, thank you very much for the time you have spent writing these lines to us. We are pleased to know that the hotel and the service have met your needs. Yours sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jocelyn S wrote a review Mar 2024
Frankfurt, Germany142 contributions76 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Restaurants, bakeries, cafes, and the Salamanca central market were around the corner from Plaza Mayor.
The single room was spacious, bright, and clean. The queen (or king) size bed was comfortable. Lots of pillows ! Free bottle of water.
I enjoyed the buffet. However, whole wheat/rye bread, and vegetarian/vegan food were not offered daily.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from concha bustos, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Responded 20 Mar 2024
Dear customer, thank you very much for the time you have spent writing these lines to us. We are pleased to know that the hotel and the service have met your needs. Yours sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom LLp wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It is the second time I stay in this hotel and it is always a pleasure. The hotel has been upgraded since the last time I came. Rooms are very quiet and beds are amazing... all services are great and staff very discreet and polite. And in this very weird time with the Covid, the protocols in place are just more than welcomed and respected, feeling safe. Gotta come back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from concha bustos, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Responded 26 Jul 2020
Dear customer, thank you very much for the time you have spent writing these lines to us. We are pleased to know that the hotel and the service have met your needs. Yours sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shawel2017 asked a question Apr 2017
Salamanca, Spain8 contributions2 helpful votes
Is it possible to pay for a day pass for the pool? Or is it reserved for guests only?
Answer from minoguera
Santo Domingo, Chile209 contributions112 helpful votes
I suppose the pool is only for guests, is a little one
Raul P asked a question Feb 2022
Logrono, Spain82 contributions61 helpful votes
¿Cuánto cuesta el buffet desayuno?
Answer from jslabajo
Madrid, Spain1 contribution
No recuerdo cuanto cuesta el desayuno, ya que yo fui con él incluido, lo que si te puedo decir es que tiene calidad, variedad y buen servicio.
pal0ma1969 asked a question Oct 2017
Province of Salamanca, Spain
Sí eres español te dan alojamiento o tienes que ser un fascista catalán independentista?
Answer from Jk G
Portugalete, Spain36 contributions10 helpful votes
Es un hotel del que no tengo ninguna queja, pero no se si admiten retrasados mentales como tu
Estanis asked a question Jul 2017
Seville, Spain26 contributions1 helpful vote
¿Tiene aparcamiento? Voy en un coche bastante grande
Answer from Eugama
Community of Madrid, Spain21 contributions6 helpful votes
Tiene Concertado aparcamiento con Le Man y cuesta unos 11 € por día
Answer from minoguera
Santo Domingo, Chile209 contributions112 helpful votes
el desayuno es aparte pero si se contrata en el hotel es mas barato que por booking
Deven58 wrote a tip 9 May
Auckland, New Zealand133 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great laundary acoss the road. Under 3 euro for was wash and under 3 euros for the dryer! "
Read full review
Torn N wrote a tip Mar 2024
Lake Lure, North Carolina56 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very pet friendly, great location, highly recommended."
Read full review
josebenjamin wrote a tip Nov 2023
Midland, Michigan4,085 contributions320 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Need a Laundromat?, just walk across the street."
Read full review
Maria P wrote a tip Jul 2023
10 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Things to avoid: AVOID THIS hotel."
Read full review
Toinon wrote a tip Sept 2019
Madrid, Spain39 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our rooms didn't have a view, so were quiet. I would think they are all good."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Salamanca area.
PRICE RANGE
£68 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
catalonia plaza mayor salamanca hotel salamanca
LOCATION
SpainCastile and LeonProvince of SalamancaSalamanca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
67
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CATALONIA PLAZA MAYOR SALAMANCA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Which popular attractions are close to Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca?
Nearby attractions include Ciudad Vieja de Salamanca (0.06 miles), Plaza Mayor (0.08 miles), and Scala Coeli Torres de la Clerecia (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca?
Conveniently located restaurants include Winelovers, Vinos, Tapas Y +, Hola India, and Sibuya Urban Sushi Bar Salamanca.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Salamanca.
Are any cleaning services offered at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
All Salamanca HotelsSalamanca Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SalamancaHotels near Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire