Hotel Del Mar
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Del Mar

Traveller (334)
Panorama of the Double Room at the Hotel Del Mar
360
Panoramas (4)
Room & Suite (304)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#269 of 510 hotels in Barcelona
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Sea Hotel, located in the heart of Barcelona between the Gothic quarter and the beaches of la Barceloneta, housed in a building considered artistic national monument surrounded by the most important monuments of Barcelona, This hotel offers excellent value for money and is perfect for visiting the city of Barcelona, thanks to its good connections by public transport. We are in the Placa Palau, between the Gothic quarter and the beaches of Barcelona, very close to the famous district of el Born, the port and the Parc de la Ciutadella, in one of the most popular tourist areas of the city. Within walking distance of the Hotel of the Sea you will find several bus, train and subway lines that will allow you to comfortably navigate Barcelona. The Hotel del Mar in Barcelona offers 75 comfortable rooms with a functional and elegant decoration, many of them with views to the sea and the port of Barcelona, and some with terrace. All the rooms have: heating and air conditioning, flat screen TV satellite, safe (with charge), bathroom with hairdryer and amenities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Children's television networks
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Tile / marble floor
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Catalan and 1 more

Location

Pla de Palau, 19, 08003 Barcelona Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Barcelona-El Prat Airport
Costa Brava Airport
47.2 mi
See all flights
Barceloneta
1 minBarcelona Metro
901Reviews53Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 208
  • 458
  • 165
  • 39
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joanne R wrote a review Apr 2022
Egham, United Kingdom10 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 4 nights in April. The hotel is basic, but clean and in a great location to visit all the sites of Barcelona. A short walk down to the Harbour, beach and restaurants.
We arrived earlier to the hotel and were lucky that room was ready so were able to check in. The reception staff are all helpful and friendly.
We had a family room which was basic but comfortable. The beds were comfortable, good black out curtain and even though we were on the main road, little noise could be heard. We asked for extra pillows as only one provided each in room.
Breakfast: Good selection of food. Cooked food included, Bacon, scrambled egg, boiled eggs. Toast and bread rolls available. Meat and cheese selection, fruit and pastries. Masks were worn in all public spaces, including at breakfast and you were also given a disposable glove to wear when choosing your breakfast items.
The breakfast room is small and can get busy, but staff working hard to clear tables quickly and replenish food.

You can order your Taxi back to the airport from the hotel. The reception staff will do this for you. It is roughly 35 Euros and takes 25 mins. Check out is 12pm which great, the hotel will store your bags for you and there is a lounge area with TV where you can wait if needed.
We would recommend this hotel for a stay in Barcelona!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Del Mar
Responded 17 May 2022
Dear Customer, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We are very pleased to know that we have contributed to making your trip an unforgettable experience. Anna Ruiz. Customer service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen S wrote a review May 2022
Rosyth, Scotland, United Kingdom60 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ideal hotel for sightseeing in Barcelona. Plenty places to eat roundabout including McDonald's if that's your thing! Though some lovely reasonably priced restaurants. The hotel isn't flash but really nice and the staff are great. We had a small balcony looking out to street. The breakfast was great : nice coffee; pastries; ham; cheese; hot stuff; yoghurts; cereal; (baked apple which was lovely) and fresh fruit. Bed was comfy and nice modern bathroom with great shower and ridiculously good internet! We arrived on an early morning Ryan Air flight and got into our room at 10.40am which was just perfect. Check out was 12 noon but reception stored our luggage (no fee) and then even ordered a taxi to take us to the port for our cruise €25. It's a great location, just a stone throw to the marina and really near the beach. 15.mins walk to the cable car which is must do. Great hotel and would definitely recommend/return. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Del Mar
Responded 17 May 2022
Dear Customer, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We are very pleased to know that we have contributed to making your trip an unforgettable experience. Anna Ruiz. Customer service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AngeMcG wrote a review Aug 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom158 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a brilliant hotel for us.
Arrived early and luggage was held for a couple of hours whilst we explored.

Location is very central. Metro (Barceloneta) is just across the street and bus stop is outside hotel. 10 minutes each to beach, port, La Rambla, basically anywhere.

We were on 1st floor and with windows closed at night the noise level was fine.

Lots of bars/restaurants in local area with a vast selection.

Staff at hotel were so polite. A smile and a greeting every time you pass though reception.
Restaurant staff at breakfast welcoming.

Breakfast is the same each day but there is a great selection. Certainly sets you up for the day.

Free safe in room (50€ fee if you lose the key), you need to ask for the key if you want to use it.

Shower is excellent and the wi-fi is speedy in the rooms. Bed was exceptionally comfortable and air conditioning a welcome after a hot day exploring

Overall and hotel I would not hesitate coming back to.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Del Mar
Responded 2 Feb 2023
Dear Customer. We are delighted that you have chosen our hotel and that it has left you with such a good experience. We work to make our customers happy and our greatest satisfaction is knowing that our goal has been met. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotels in the near future. Anna Ruiz. Customer service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jamieleigh G wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
There is no entertainment at this hotel the pool is shaded and water is frezzing with about 10 sunbeds. The roof top bar shuts early the whole time we was there they didn’t have so many cocktails take long
to serve you we was waiting at the bar the guy looked at us enough times and still didn’t come and serve us just kept moving tables so we walked out. The gym is tiny and you can bearly breath in there. The room cleaners think they can bang your door down at 8 to clean (not everyone wants to be up and out for 8 for them to clean why your on hoilday. Buffet breakfast is a waste of money literally unless you like bland food and hard pasty also be careful sitting on the chairs as one lady fell of and so did my sister poor design. My skin in my room was all cracked and also the bath was rusty shower goes from stone cold to super hot you have to keep playing with it and changing it to keep a temperature you can wash with. Safe didn’t work after trying to set it up 4 times nothing in mini fridge.
The bit that done me the most is if your like me and like to sit by the pool you have no chance never no beds as only a handful any way pools shaded by the hotel ans water frezzing so if you wanna swim in the shade and get out and be frezzing this the place for you the hotel super quite except at breakfast as in no one around the odd person.
Hotel stunk of cannabis.
I basically feel like it was a complete waste of money I basically paid all that money to sleep on the bed as I paid els where to sit and vibe around the pool I only sleet in the hotel as it’s so boring no night life no entertainment every in hotel shuts early.
Also no sign of spa and massage. All round im so not Impressed and wouldn’t ever come back or recommend it. It was like staying in a ibis or travel lodge complet waste of money

broken sink
Rusty bath
No balcony look out windows and there’s patterned glass in front of you like your cadge in
Room service is terrible al round I won’t ever come back or recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Del Mar
Responded 27 Sept 2022
Dear Sir: Reading your review, it seems to us that you have the wrong hotel. Our hotel is located in Barcelona near the beach, but in the city. We do not have a swimming pool in any of our hotels in Barcelona. I'm sorry that the so-called hotel was not to your liking. We would love to welcome you to our hotel in Barcelona. Anna Ruiz. Customer service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Victoria C wrote a review Jan 2020
18 contributions19 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I arrived at 11 and were pleasantly surprised to have been given the keys to our room that early when check in is after 2. We dropped our bags and headed out to do some cite seeing. However upon our return in the evening we realised the bed was broken and made the loudest sound! We went down to reception and complained, they came upstairs and they swiftly changed our rooms. Satisfied so far. The next room we were given was exactly the same, with the bed making so much noise! I was beginning to think this was a comedy! But it took about 2 hours for the staff downstairs to do anything about it and by this time it was 10 o’clock. They lied to us saying that there were no rooms left, when on their website there were and the supervisor rudely said “what do you want us to do about it’’. After much protest we finally changed rooms. I was horrified by how rude the staff were on reception and how unhelpful they were and inconsiderate. Will NEVER stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Del Mar
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Dear Customer, We are sorry to read this opinion, but you also do not tell us why you have had a bad experience. We look forward to another opportunity in the future. Anna Ruiz Customer service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nik1905 wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom62 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with my husband for a long weekend at the end of January, cannot ask for anything more for a city break hotel. Great location, didn't have any issues at all during our stay. We arrived two hours before check in time and they allowed us to check in early, didn't question it at all. On our last day we left our bags in the luggage room and the reception organised a taxi to collect us when we needed. We had an inward facing room so nice and quiet and still got a good breeze through the window. No issues with noise from rooms either side or above. Would recommend and stay here again, walking distance to everything.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Del Mar
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Dear Customer, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We are extremely pleased to know that we have contributed to making your trip an unforgettable experience. Anna Ruiz. Customer service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
illuminated2010 wrote a review Sept 2022
Canada79 contributions205 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is located in a very convenient location. It is at the South end of the Gothic Quarter and a 10 to 15 min walk to Barceloneta Beach. It is also surrounded by many restaurants.

The breakfast was also very good for the price. The menu did not change and the buffet was the same everyday, but had just about everything one would expect for breakfast.

If you are looking for a clean, safe place to sleep at the end of the day. This is it if you managed to book it for a good price. There is no charge for the in room safe, a bath tub for you to soak your body after a long walking day out and cold air-conditioning. When we were there, temp was in the 30s C and it worked great.

If you are looking for a hotel with amenities like bar, pool and place to hang out, then look somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Del Mar
Responded 2 Feb 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We are extremely pleased to know that we have contributed to making your trip an unforgettable experience. Anna Ruiz. Customer service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob P wrote a review Apr 2023
York, United Kingdom95 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In Barcelona for either a city or beach break and this hotel is perfect both in location, facilities and friendly staff. Arriving from UK, the hotel is a 30 minute/35 Euro taxi ride from the airport (an alternative is to take the airport bus to the main square). The Plaza Palacio is right on the edge of both the seafront and Gothic quarters so is perfectly placed for (walking) exploring. The rooms are adequate, with good en suite facilities and there are both stairs and lifts to the higher floors. The buffet breakfast is excellent with a mix of cooked items (bacon, sausage, egg) and cold meats and cheeses, bread, fruit coffee etc. The hotel staff are very polite and all we spoke to could speak workable English. There is so much to see and do in Barcelona but one I would particularly recommend is a walking tour of the Gothic quarter - fascinating.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lillian B wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a really bad experience with this hotel. I almost never leave negative reviews (literally maybe one other time in my life), but hope others can benefit from the information.

We stayed in April 2023. It's a shame, because the location is good and the staff onsite is nice. However, there was trash outside the hotel entrance for the entire three days of our stay, no one cleaned it up. The restaurant next door managed to keep their area clean, but not this hotel. There were ants in our room and the cleaners came at really weird times - super inconsistent. Beds were uncomfortable and the smoke from restaurants below overwhelmed the patios, so it was even tough to enjoy the outdoor balcony. FYI there are other hotels close, so I highly recommend looking into those instead of this one to take advantage of the good location.

The worst was the customer service. I booked my stay months ago, but never received a confirmation email (yes I checked spam). I wanted to make sure I had lodging, so I contacted customer service to explain the situation and booked the same room to ensure I had lodging since I was leaving the following week. I only revived confirmation for the second booking to my email, and when they responded, customer service confirmed only one booking. So that was that. But then when I checked in to the hotel, they said I had two reservations and would be charged for the first night in both rooms, despite the fact that I reached out to avoid this very circumstance. They refused to remedy the situation and were super rude to me. I was shocked to receive the kind of treatment for something so obviously their mistake and easy to fix.

Maybe they are under new management since the other reviews? I am not sure. Beware of this - I recommend looking elsewhere!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah G wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good breakfast for 12€. Rooms for 2 was all right, clean and cozy. The bathroom was fine. Here and there slight flaws, but showering without problems possible.
As far as we could tell, each room has a small balcony. If you wish, you can also order something to eat in the room. The room is equipped with a good air conditioning, so you do not get sweaty while sleeping.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you don't want the room cleaned, put a sign on the door. Even if there is a small sign in the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Norma A Customer Service, Otros at Hotel Del Mar
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Estimada clienta, Muchas gracias por su valoración y por sus comentarios. Atentamente, Norma A., Customer Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terri D asked a question Jan 2022
Chicago, Illinois45 contributions2 helpful votes
Does the double room with terrace have a minibar where I can chill water?
Answer from mark h
Liverpool, United Kingdom150 contributions83 helpful votes
There’s an Irish bar in the square behind the hotel (walking up towards the Gothic quarter), easy to find. They have. TV and I’m sure they will have the rugby on
Answer from Dave B
Rochester, United Kingdom331 contributions95 helpful votes
I agree with everyone else, user the Aerobus, very easy and cheap. If you don't fancy the 20 minute walk to the Hotel then get the metro to Barcaletta and it's less than 5 minutes to the hotel. Rather than the T10 ticket though, if you are site seeing think about getting a Barcelona Pass, free entry to lots of attractions and free bus and metro travel.
scarlett269 asked a question Sept 2019
127 contributions48 helpful votes
How much is a taxi from here to espanyol football stadium
Answer from MayaMiruna
Bucharest, Romania305 contributions112 helpful votes
It is better to take a cab as the hotel is far from the stadium
Br wrote a tip 2 May
Birmingham, United Kingdom9 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bed a little on the firm side... "
Read full review
Emma wrote a tip Mar 2024
Exeter, United Kingdom26 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Even if you request a certain room, don’t expect to get what you’ve requested. Take your own toiletries."
Read full review
DavidRawl wrote a tip Sept 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom524 contributions513 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the hotel if you need twin beds or a specific bed type"
Read full review
Sarah G wrote a tip Aug 2023
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you don't want the room cleaned, put a sign on the door. Even if there is a small sign in the room that says that cleaning is only done on request."
Read full review
Emma F wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Metro stop very close by. About 15mins to las rambla Amazing wine bar the street behind the hotel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barcelona area.
PRICE RANGE
£148 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
del mar hotel, del mar barcelona
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaCiutat Vella (Old Town) / Sant Pere / Sant Pere, Santa Caterina i la Ribera / Port Vell (Old Port)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL DEL MAR - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Del Mar
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Del Mar?
Nearby attractions include Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (0.2 miles), Xventura Barcelona Treasure Hunts (0.2 miles), and Dux - Gin & Cocktail Bar Barcelona (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Del Mar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Del Mar?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Del Mar?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Del Mar?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Del Mar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Caminito Grill Steak House, La Peninsular, and Cremat 11.
Is Hotel Del Mar located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Barcelona.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Del Mar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Del Mar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Catalan.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Del Mar?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (0.2 miles), Reial Monestir de Santa Maria de Pedralbes (3.7 miles), and Ciutat Vella (0.5 miles).
Is Hotel Del Mar accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Barcelona HotelsBarcelona Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BarcelonaHotels near Hotel Del Mar
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire