Occidental Diagonal 414
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Occidental Diagonal 414

Traveller (98)
Habitación Junior Suite con terraza
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (9)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£217
Get rewarded with One Key
£241
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#62 of 506 hotels in Barcelona
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Catalan and 2 more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Rooftop bar
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites

Location

Avinguda Diagonal 414, 08037 Barcelona Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Barcelona-El Prat Airport
Costa Brava Airport
Verdaguer
5 minBarcelona Metro
362Reviews5Q+A22Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 268
  • 68
  • 11
  • 8
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Imogen D wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my partner were both so pleased with our stay at the Occidental Diagonal 414! All hotel staff were extremely kind and helpful, including printing our travel documents for our return trip. The location of the hotel was great for those wanting to visit the city's landmarks and shopping streets with the majority of these only being a short walk away. We booked the cheapest room available which was spacious, contemporary and very comfortable - our highlight was definitely the huge waterfall style shower! We also enjoyed a sunset drink on the rooftop bar one evening which has a lovely view of Tibidabo.

Our only negative would be that our room's view was just an internal one looking into other rooms of the hotel, but we also didn't mind as the price was a bargain for the quality. If you are after a room with a view be sure to book one the slightly more expensive rooms, that's what we'll be doing on our next trip!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you are looking for a room with a view, ensure you book one of the more expensive city-facing...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vishnu V wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was a true highlight of our stay in the city. The reception staff was incredibly helpful, kind, and efficient. They let us check in early and got the room ready within minutes, would offer great guidance for the city, and were extremely warm and welcoming.

The hotel is in a great location; close to all of the main attractions in the city, as well as the metro. Everything we wanted to do is within walking distance, along with great places to eat.

The room itself is very modern and clean, with great use of space. There is plenty of natural light, and a great view onto the street corner. The rooms are also very well insulated, with virtually no road and outside noise.

Highly highly recommend this hotel for leisure or business purposes.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and have great iews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cody wrote a review Mar 2022
Torquay, United Kingdom190 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We can’t fault this hotel. We got a ‘free’ room upgrade from a superior room to a deluxe room that had a balcony facing the city which was a lovely bonus. The room itself was modern and had a beautiful layout, we both loved the shower. Would have been slightly awkward if you were travelling with someone who wasn’t your partner as the shower screen is almost see through but it was fine for us of course. The bed was super comfortable and we both slept like babies. You can feel the metro very slightly underneath but we didn’t mind this and the main road outside the hotel was closed so cannot comment on road noise but it was quiet for us. We will definitely be booking again when we come back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
spice wrote a review Nov 2022
Surrey, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We found the hotel to be comfortable, clean and modern. We found the staff to be informative and helpful. We had a good sleep. The only small snag was we were able to hear the trains in the nights, probably I'm a very light sleeper. On the whole we had a very comfortable stary. I will highly recommend this hotel. The staff were very kind in keeping out luggage in a room next to the reception after we checked out at midday until we left for the airport. Thank you
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Diagonal 414
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Dear FoodTaster1961, Many thanks for your feedback. We do our best to create a quiet and relaxing environment for all our guests and regret if you were disturbed. Please do not hesitate to make us aware of any concerns during your stay, we are always happy to help. We are, nevertheless, pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will be sharing your kind words with them as we know it will mean a great deal. Thorough cleaning is an absolute must for Barceló and we thank you for highlighting the high standards of our hotel; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is a top priority for our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future. Dirección / Hotel Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chadwick Cooney wrote a review Nov 2022
Orlando, Florida8 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
For starters, ensure your front desk staff know how to answer questions and give an actual response other then just repeating what we ask.

Upon check in our bags were not delivered to our room like many other hotels do, we had to load them into the very tiny elevator by ourselves and up to our rooms. Upon entering the rooms the walls were dirty with smudges and what looked to be dirt/sweat hand marks on them. Need a fresh coat of paint.

Do not go by any of the service times because the downstairs bar was never opened not once in our 4 night stay. It stated it’s open until 1am and that was not the case. The upstairs roof top is gorgeous and very nice to sit and relax but also never opened when it says. It closes at 11 but we went up on several occasions around 8/9 pm and it was closed. Their “pool” they advertise is a 10” deep wading pool for children all you can do is get your feet wet, not sure why they didn’t use that space for fire pits or games.

Then when asking about a massage to hook at their “Spa” the front desk clerk Jess, who was rude couldn’t give us any information on when or how to get to the spa or massage. She stated “today is not a good day for the spa, it’s a Holiday” ok so does that mean they are closed or limited reservations? She stated back, “refer to your room brochure for more information” Ok so we did that, that brochure states to dial “9” which guess what? Takes you to the front desk. No one there knows anything. Was very quick to dismiss you and not helpful at all. The only thing to drink was a little mini bar with wine and beer that you had to pay for and then hope the front desk will open the wine for you since your room has no wine openers. Everyday they did lay out a champagne and rose wine for you to have, thanks for that little something but if you wanted food to your room or to enjoy a drink downstairs or on the roof top forget about it because they are usually closed or never opened at all. I give this a hotel a solid 2/5. Rooms were a 3/5. Service was a 1/5.

Cute hotel, you have something going but get your staff to be friendly and Knowledgeable. Especially Jess. Open up your bar areas and Make Money! They are nice but don’t do so well when they are always closed. Also, if
You are going to run a Spa business out of your hotel make sure you promote it more and have your front desk know about it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dirección Occidental, Director General at Occidental Diagonal 414
Responded 4 Nov 2022
Dear Chadwick099, Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on high levels of customer service and were concerned to receive your comments. Please rest assured that we have noted your comments and the matter will be addressed with our team. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. We regret that your messages were not promptly replied to; rest assured that we will be looking into this matter. We have a room service menu in all rooms so you have the option to have food. Please let us know where did you see that the bar is open until 1 am, it must be a mistake. We hope to see you again in the future and be able to provide you a better service. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Derek W wrote a review Aug 2023
Boston, Massachusetts15 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very nice hotel with comfortable beds and quality finishes in an excellent location in the city. We absolutely enjoyed our stay here and would consider it on a future visit to Barcelona. That said, reviews are helpful when specific, so here's where things fell short:

The elevators are truly tiny and extremely slow, with only two cars servicing the entire hotel. We frequently took the stairs to avoid them. When we left to check out, I'm not exaggerating that it took a full 5 minutes to get from the elevator on the 4th floor down to the lobby.

There are automatic lights in the toilet room in the bathroom that shut off after 15 seconds. So when you're doing your business, the lights go out and then you have to wave your arms around like a lunatic almost constantly, or go in total darkness. There is also no fan and it's pretty close to the beds, so forget any privacy if that's important to you.

No washcloths, although this is true in much of Europe.

There is a Nespresso in the room (nice!), but after we used the two pods, they were never replenished. This is very stingy for an expensive 4-star hotel!

The front desk concierge was clueless and simply looked up our question about the neighborhood on the internet.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Diagonal 414
Responded 9 Aug 2023
Dear derekw80, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding the elevators, and we understand that they may be slow at times. We do have 2 lifts available for our guests' convenience, but we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Regarding the automatic lights in the toilet room, we will look into this issue and consider making adjustments to improve our guests' experience. We apologize for any discomfort this may have caused you. Moreover, in terms of the Nespresso pods, we will ensure that our housekeeping team is more attentive to replenishing them in the future. We also apologize for the experience you had with our front desk concierge and will work on improving our team's knowledge of the local area. Nonetheless, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds, quality finishes, and excellent location. It's also great to know that you would consider staying with us again on your next visit to Barcelona. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Dirección / Hotel Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Žiga Holc wrote a review Aug 2021
Gornja Radgona, Slovenia2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely hotel in the heart of Barcelona. Everything you need is within a walking distance and even if you need to use the metro - it's just 100m away from the entrance of the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely laid out but there are some things that are missing (bigger wardrobe, shelves in the shower). The breakfast is rather average. The thing that bothered me the most was that the room which we got (superior on the 6th floor) had small windows with practically no view outside - this was extremely disappointing since we though we will get the big windows with a nice view on the street - like we saw on the photos on booking/barcelo.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Superior rooms on the 6th floor have small windows (basically no view outside)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
מעיין י wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The bed in our room was horrible! , it actually consisted of 2 single beds that no one even bothered to firmly connect to a double bed. After several nights of restless sleep because of the uncomfortable bed and because of the subway that passes under the hotel, I decided to contact the hotel reception, and with tearful eyes from lack of sleep I asked them to find a solution for me. The receptionist I spoke with said that there was no problem and that she could move us to a room on a higher floor, and we agreed that when we return from our trip outside we will do so. However, when we returned, the nice receptionist was no longer there, and the receptionist who was there did not see fit to move us to a room (by the way, we pre-booked the expensive rooms of the hotel and not the basic rooms).
Our lack of sleep that lasted for several days, she wanted to compensate with a couple of coupons for a drink at the hotel's rooftop bar, which is very poor and insulting to me!!!!!
I will finish by saying that a hotel should provide a pleasant and calm experience, where your needs are met by the hotel employees, a shower cap, a quality hair dryer, a comfortable bed, bathrobes, slippers, chairs on the balcony all these should be in the hotel, but were not in this hotel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: October 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dirección Occidental, Director General at Occidental Diagonal 414
Responded 20 Oct 2022
Dear Sunshine682390, We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry that your room was not what you had been expecting. We would like you not to wait until the last day of your stay to tell us all this kind of things. We always try to solve any issue as soon as possible. We did offer you to change your room in the morning but you did not want to do the change, and due to the full occupancy that room was assigned during the day. We think there was a missunderstanding and we apologize. Please do not hesitate to let us know of your preference on your next visit. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DaniloAC92 wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The bed linnen and towels were not changed throughout the whole stay. No additional water was provided (just two small bottles of water in day one). The breakfast doesn’t have many options and the coffee is very bad.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Diagonal 414
Responded 21 Jul 2023
Dear Danilo, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you appreciated our convenient location. However, we regret to learn about the issues you faced during your stay. We understand that the bed linen and towels were not changed as expected, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Our team is dedicated to providing a comfortable and clean environment for our guests, and we will address this matter internally to ensure it does not happen again. We also acknowledge your concerns regarding the limited breakfast options and the quality of the coffee. We strive to offer a variety of choices to cater to our guests' preferences, and we will take your feedback into consideration for future improvements. Additionally, we understand that the water supply in the room was not sufficient, and we will look into this matter to better accommodate our guests' needs. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Dirección / Hotel Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natasha wrote a review Jun 2022
Rome, Italy12 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a pleasant stay at Occidental Diagonal 414. My international flight arrived very early and with advance notice, they accommodated an early check-in which was much appreciated. The bedroom itself was small but the amenities are comfortable and everything was clean. The bed was lovely as was the shower. If I could better anything it would be to offer guests a bit more space because I found the room a bit cramped for two people. I also thought they should leave water in the rooms for guests upon every room change. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient. We really appreciated that they held our luggage all day after check out. Overall, I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Betsy J
7 contributions
We arrived from the cruise terminal but when we left if wasn't too far to get to the airport, maybe 35 minutes. The hotel staff was very helpful in arranging rides. It is very convenient to all the sights in Barcelona.
Answer from Vicky C
Costa Adeje, Spain52 contributions17 helpful votes
Yes the rooftop terrace is lovely. However, there there were only half a dozen sunbeds or so. There were also big chairs etc as there's a bar up there as well. I don't know which rooms the other reviewers were in but we were on the 5th floor and you couldn't hear anything! It was very quiet and our rooms faced the street. It was a really lovely hotel.
JoyceTanKL asked a question Jun 2023
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia34 contributions39 helpful votes
Is there a self-service laundry facility here?
Garry M wrote a tip 6 May
Adelaide, Australia3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is very quiet so for us after jetting in from Australia it was perfect"
Read full review
NoMadLady22 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Auckland, New Zealand22 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are getting on metro to get to the hotel with luggage, Diagonal might be easier to get out of (since this station has lifts and Verdaguer does not)."
Read full review
Janet wrote a tip Nov 2023
Walkden, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel is situated at the end of a cross roads bear this is mind when booking corner of Diagonal Avenue."
Read full review
Chelsea wrote a tip Jul 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom10 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool get busier around 5pm so we tried to get a spot around 4pm and we always managed to get a sun lounger. Also you get a steamer."
Read full review
Cosmin C wrote a tip Jun 2023
Bucharest, Romania20 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Helpful tips: - use Verdaguer Metro Station;"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barcelona area.
PRICE RANGE
£174 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaEixample / La Dreta de l'Eixample
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OCCIDENTAL DIAGONAL 414 - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Occidental Diagonal 414
Which popular attractions are close to Occidental Diagonal 414?
Nearby attractions include Passeig de Gracia (0.3 miles), Casa Milà - La Pedrera (0.2 miles), and Bloody Mary Cocktail Lounge (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Occidental Diagonal 414?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Occidental Diagonal 414?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Occidental Diagonal 414?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Occidental Diagonal 414?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Occidental Diagonal 414?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bella Italia, Con Gracia, and Billy Brunch.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Occidental Diagonal 414?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Occidental Diagonal 414 have airport transportation?
Yes, Occidental Diagonal 414 offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Occidental Diagonal 414 located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Barcelona.
Are any cleaning services offered at Occidental Diagonal 414?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Occidental Diagonal 414 offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
All Barcelona HotelsBarcelona Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BarcelonaHotels near Occidental Diagonal 414
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire