We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ideal Youth Hostel

312 reviews
Save
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (7)
Overview
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good31%
  • Average27%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (312)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Ideal Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
32
47
32
16
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
32
47
32
16
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswifi only worksgreat locationstayed there for two nightshighly recommend this hostelshort stayramblasdormnightlifetoasterkeyvaluablesmetrokitchenetteterraceroof
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Great location, bang smack on las ramblas,close to main attractions, pier and beach 15 minute walk. very little noise for recovering sore heads. Very clean and friendly staff. Could do with some extra cultlery and maybe a WiFi update! Price is good for a European...More

Thank Emer C
Response from ideal y, Reception desk at Ideal Youth HostelResponded 11 January 2017

Dear guest, thank you so much for giving us your positive feedback about our hostel! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in Barcelona. We hope to see you again in our city. Kind regards from the staff.

Reviewed 23 November 2016

Looks rather shabby from the outside, and it gets only marginally better within. Does the trick. The beds were a bit noisy when turning around, as the bed is more or less a sheet of metal that clunks every time you turn. The room size...More

Thank tpjansen
Response from Reputation M, Receptionist at Ideal Youth HostelResponded 25 November 2016

Dear guest, thanks for having taken the time to share your observations about our hostel, your point of view is very important to us. We would like to inform you that the size of our bathrooms and their equipments, are in the standards of youth...More

Reviewed 4 November 2016

The place is good to stay. I stayed there for 2 nights in a 10 bed room and I had a great time. The beds are good. It is cheap, the location is perfect and staff are nice. The best thing there I think it...More

Thank Mariana F
Response from Reputation M, Reception desk at Ideal Youth HostelResponded 4 January 2017

Dear guest, thank you so much for giving us your positive feedback about our hostel! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in Barcelona. We hope to see you again in our city. Kind regards from the staff.

Reviewed 1 November 2016

It's one of the worst places I've stayed at. It's not clean, the facility is very old and dirty. The staff are not friendly either. Great location thought. I don't recommend this place. Everything is broken in this building.More

Thank Elsa A
Response from ideal y, Reception desk at Ideal Youth HostelResponded 5 January 2017

Dear guest, thanks for having taken the time to share your observations about our hostel. In this case we understand it is your personal opinion which we don’t share. Our cleaning staff do their rounds every day, but in case you find any trouble you...More

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

IYH offers a fine bed to sleep on. However the hostel is very difficult to find and is not well marked-I walked right past it the first time! Inside, the common room isn't set up in a very social setting. The couches are cubed in...More

Thank Brittany J
Response from ideal y, reception desk at Ideal Youth HostelResponded 2 November 2016

ideal y, Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review Dear guest, thank you for taking your time writing a comment to our hostel. We consider every customer has their own opinions. In this case we understand it is your personal opinion which...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345631
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Details
Price range
US$28 - US$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$28 - US$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (7)
Nearby
El Raval
Once a downtrodden corner of downtown Barcelona, this
gritty area has seen a cultural resurgence boasting an
excellent nightlife and one of the most multi ethnic
spots in the entire city. A sense of humble
authenticity protrudes from the many independent
record stores, second hand shops, and student bars
that seem to light up the streets day and night. The
rocking epicenter, the MACBA Plaça, is a modern day
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Elliot H
14 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Reputation M | Property representative |
Dear guest, we feel really sorry but we did not find any reservation under this name in our system. Please check on the website you booked through and verify that the name of the reservation or of the hostel is correct. Best... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12345
Room Tips
"Try to ask for a room at the front, i.e. on the mainroad. They have tiny balconies, and that helps! (Thus the..."
Read review
"I liked my small room with private shower."
Read review
"Try to book a room on one of the lower floors as the wifi may reach these rooms - we were on level 2 &..."
Read review
"take a room in lower floors, you might get wifi"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing