We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (708)
Room & Suite (211)
Pool & Beach (78)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#215 of 507 hotels in Barcelona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Occidental Atenea Mar Adults only stands out for its proximity to both the beach and the city. It is 150 m from the Nova Mar Bella beach and 15 minutes from the CCIB convention centre and the Diagonal Mar shopping centre. The hotel has spacious and modern rooms, most of them with sea or city views. All the rooms have free Wi-Fi. Among the services offered by the hotel you can enjoy parking, free use of the gym, sauna, hydromassage bath and free Wi-fi throughout the hotel. Also, there are 5 modular function rooms for meetings with natural light and capacity for 400 people, equipped with the latest technology in audiovisual and communication equipment. Try exquisite dishes of the finest Mediterranean cuisine in its restaurant Likewise, enjoy a refreshing cocktail in the exclusive terrace with views of the promenade. Finish your day with a relaxing walk along the beach.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Infinity pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Car park
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Paseo Garcia Faria 37-47, 08019 Barcelona Spain
Name/address in local language
Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only
2,699Reviews59Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,150
  • 950
  • 346
  • 140
  • 113
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Wayne M wrote a review Mar 2024
35 contributions1 helpful vote
Great hotel, around €40 each way from the airport. Decent location and L4 metro is a 15 min walk which will get you around easily (when not on maintenance shut down!) Try and coincide arrival for 3pm as you can’t get in before then. Reception staff 100% spot on, helpful and friendly. Same with breakfast staff and cleanliness, brilliant! Bar staff a bit cold, but not enough to write anything negative. Overall very good and served as the base for a good trip
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don’t arrive before 3pm
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lynn E wrote a review Mar 2024
Runcorn, United Kingdom66 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
4 nights away with my son at the occidental. Lovely hotel, staff are really welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had the room only option. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The cleaniess of our room was of a high standard and cleaned everyday if you left the sign on the door handle. Breakfast was available if you chose to dine there. We had a sea view which was nice. Transport links are a short walk away, a large shopping centre about a 7 minute walk. Supermarket and restaurant a couple of minutes walk. We dined at the tango grill (next to the hotel) and you had the option to take away. plenty to see and do in barcelona just make sure you have comfortably footwear as there's alot of ground to cover! For 21 euros you can get the t-usual ticket this lasts for 30 days and you can use it on the airport train, metro and buses within the city zones. Nou camp ground is under construction (which we didn't realise) so only museum tour available. All in all we had a wonderful time and we would choose this hotel again if we visit barcelona again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Wear comfy shoes! Book tickets sagrada familia saves the queues Gym but didnt use Pool but...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted to hear that our staff made such a wonderful impression with their welcoming and helpful nature, and that the comfort and cleanliness of your room met your expectations. It's also great to know that you appreciated the convenience of our location, with easy access to transport links and local amenities such as the shopping centre and restaurants. Your tips on making the most of Barcelona's transport with the T-Usual ticket are much appreciated by fellow travelers. We're also glad that the sea view from your room added to the enjoyment of your stay, and that our dining options provided a pleasant experience. It's wonderful to hear that your overall time in Barcelona was enjoyable, and we are honored that you would consider us for your future visits. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best wishes, Melanie Lell, Guest experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Simon N wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
They told me one breakfast price when arriving and when Im about to pay at the end of the week it was more than 100 euros more expensive than they told me. I remember even double checking when we got the offer in the beginning of the week (about the price) and he in the reception told me a way cheaper price than It actually ended up being. Totally unacceptable!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only
Responded 4 Mar 2024
Dear Simon, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are genuinely concerned to hear about the discrepancy you encountered regarding the breakfast pricing. Our commitment to transparency is paramount, and we assure you that any miscommunication is unintended. We always strive to provide clear and accurate information, and our website outlines the available options and special offers for all guests. We are glad, however, that you found our rooms to be comfortable and our location and cleanliness to your satisfaction. Your positive remarks about the sleep quality and room standards are greatly appreciated, and we are proud to offer a pleasant urban retreat near the sea. We hope the aspects you enjoyed will encourage you to consider us again in the future. Kind regards, Melanie Lell, Guest experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rudysterr wrote a review Mar 2024
Ottawa, Canada655 contributions80 helpful votes
Took the nearby bus H16 to Placa de Catalunya, the gateway to the city. On the last day 3 men created a diversion (dropped coins in the bus) which almost lost me my cell phone. so keep your wits about you. Other than that we really enjoyed this city. Rick Steves Pocket Barcelona was a helpful guide as were Runner Bean Tours and Tapas Walking Tour : Food, wine and history by Alex Gross.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only
Responded 4 Mar 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We regret to hear about the incident during your bus journey and hope it didn't mar your overall impression of the city. It's always important to stay alert, and we're glad that you were able to keep your belongings safe. We're thrilled to learn that you found our city to be enjoyable and that resources like Rick Steves' guidebook and local tours enhanced your visit. Your remarks on the value, rooms, location, cleanliness, service, and sleep quality are greatly appreciated and affirm our team's efforts to provide exceptional experiences. It's especially rewarding to know that our accommodations and services met your expectations to the fullest. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best wishes, Melanie Lell, Guest experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Melissa G wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions3 helpful votes
As a Guest Experience Manager I look to a hotel stay differently. I can 1000% recommend the hotel, we had an absolutely amazing stay and even if I would want to find anything negative I could not. The location of the hotel is amazing, the rooms are super comfortable and have all you need. But what makes the difference is definately the TEAM! Everyone is so lovely, making us feel so welcomed. A special thank you for the sweet man at the Reception, so professional and lovely!:)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only
Responded 21 Feb 2024
Dear Melissa, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are overjoyed to hear that our location, rooms, and amenities met all your expectations and provided comfort during your stay. It's truly rewarding to know that our team's dedication to hospitality made a lasting impression on you, and we are especially grateful for your kind words regarding our professional and friendly reception staff. Your appreciation for the attentive service provided by our team reaffirms our commitment to guest satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion :) Best regards, Melanie Lell, Guest experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kihddi wrote a review Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
The location of the hotel was absolutely perfect - the beach is directly opposite and within walking distance, there’s a metro and several bus stops nearby too, so it’s very quick and easy to get into central Barcelona. The service was excellent, staff were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious with a large variety of sweet and savoury options. Room was modern and very clean with a beautiful view of the beach. A truly amazing stay, and will definitely consider coming back again! :))
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
azin wrote a review Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
Most of their rooms just have a very small window without any view which was kind of disappointing at the first and you have to pay a lot change to upgrade it! Their pool was temporary closed because of repairs but they didn’t mention that online in the description and they just told us when we got there! Also the bed especially the mattress was uncomfortable and we couldn’t sleep well at all. We were there just for 3nights and they wasted half of our first day just because we were unhappy with the room with just a small room without any view. And unfortunately it was my birthday!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only
Responded 5 Feb 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We're truly sorry to hear about the aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. It is unfortunate that the temporary closure of the pool coincided with your visit, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We strive to keep our guests informed and regret any oversight in communication prior to your arrival. Regarding the room allocation, we aim to provide accommodations that meet all of our guests' needs and preferences, with several room types offering different views. We understand the importance of a comfortable night's sleep, and it is disheartening to learn that the mattress was not to your liking. Our team is dedicated to ensuring the comfort and satisfaction of our guests, and we're saddened that we couldn't make your birthday stay more memorable. We hope you will return for an improved experience in the future. Kind regards, Marina Solanas, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
aliaahamid23 wrote a review Jan 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom1 contribution
very nice people good view close to beach and public travel is very accessible live love laugh slay. watched sunrise from our hotel room. room was cleaned every day. pool was closed because it’s december duh so that’s fair but deffo recommend xxx
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We're thrilled to hear that our staff's friendliness made a positive impression and that you enjoyed the spectacular views from your room. It's wonderful to know that the proximity to the beach and accessible public transportation enhanced your stay. We appreciate your understanding regarding the seasonal closure of our pool and are delighted that you would recommend our property to others. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Marina Solanas, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ahmedmirzaee7 wrote a review Dec 2023
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom1 contribution
Lovely staff and reception , upgraded our room for free, staff helpful, fitness room was good, our room was also good , very pleasant and kind they brought a birthday cake in the morning as a surprise, thank you.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Dear Ahmed, Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade and found our staff to be helpful and kind. It's wonderful to know that the fitness studio contributed positively to your stay and that our room service added a special touch with a birthday cake surprise. Rest assured that our team is dedicated to providing a clean and comfortable environment, as reflected by your appreciation for the room's cleanliness. We are also pleased to know that the overall service met your expectations and contributed to a memorable birthday stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience. Best wishes, Marina Solanas, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shishir1921 wrote a review Dec 2023
Redditch, England, United Kingdom40 contributions50 helpful votes
Positive: - Very good location with good bus and metro connectivity - Access to several local cafes, food joints and takeaway- very close to the beach with good walking paths  - t casual or tfamiliar tickets work out well to use for a few days ( tickets not valid on journey to airport via metro. But can be used on trains). Also it's worth mentioning if there are cancellations on trains, the announcement is not very good in the train station. Due to this issue I was so close to miss my flight- Airport is about 45 mins by public transport- central city is about 25-30 mins - very good and clean rooms. - Decent size bathroom with powerful showers, complimentary brush, paste, cleaning kits - There is no kettle, but you can use the coffee machine for hot water. Its slow but works - Comfortable beds and good night sleep- Staff does help when questions asked- Usb charging  Scope to improve - Need to be responsive to customer emails. It was my birthday and hence I booked this holiday for a short city break. After reading many bad reviews on TripAdvisor, several emails were sent many weeks before the holiday start date, requesting for a good room. I mentioned this to the reception on the day of check in. They did not bother or even apologise for poor communication.  - The window was of no use as the glass was not clean. - Reception staff can be more warm and welcoming  - The Pool area was not open. However, this is still advertised on the website, Tri[advisor and booking website. 
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only
Responded 12 Dec 2023
Dear Shishir, Thank you for your review. We are known for having guest-oriented personnel who are welcoming at all times and are fully aware that their interactions with our guests have an enormous impact on the overall holiday experience in our hotels. Therefore we are very sorry to read your comments on the service you received and commit to addressing any situation that does not follow this goal of making sure our guests feel welcome and looked after at all times. We have taken good note of your remarks concerning the service you received upon check-in and apologize. We will certainly share this with them. It is feedback like this that will help us improve every guest's experience, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are very pleased to know that you liked the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be comfortable. We would like to thank you for highlighting the comfort of our beds; at Barceló we understand that a comfortable and satisfying nights' sleep is a top priority for our guests, therefore we pay close attention when it comes to choosing the mattresses for our beds. We are happy you found our hotel to be in a central location during your visit to Barcelona. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Eliezer Troya, Deputy Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barcelona area.
PRICE RANGE
£119 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo atenea mar hotel barcelona, barcelo hotel atenea mar, barcelo hotel barcelona
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Barcelo Atenea Mar Adults Only
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaDiagonal Mar i el Front Marítim del Poblenou / Sant Martí
NUMBER OF ROOMS
191
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OCCIDENTAL ATENEA MAR - ADULTS ONLY - Updated 2024 (Barcelona, Catalonia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only
Which popular attractions are close to Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only?
Nearby attractions include Palo Market Fest (0.2 miles), Craft Beer Zurich (0.05 miles), and Kintsugi Cannabis Club (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only?
Conveniently located restaurants include Internacional Bar Restaurante, De-paso by Tras Paso, and Tango Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, an infinity pool, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (2.0 miles), Ciutat Vella (2.5 miles), and L'Anella Olímpica de Montjuïc (3.9 miles).
Does Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.