We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sun & Moon Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sun & Moon Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The good: The staff were lovely and accomodating. The location is prime right near la rambla and nearby many good restuarants, nightlife and transport. We booked a private room with bathroom which was large and clean. The not so good: The whole hostel was full of children/teenagers which was a massive disappointment as being in our 20s we had no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephilyy
infosun, Owner at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the stay in our hostel. We are glad that your exprgirnce in a hostel was successful. As regards having young guests, we also accommodate school, universities and colleges. Therefore, we need to be flexible and share the facilities with them. We hope you come back and...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It would take me a whole week to expain the horror of this place. "Disgusting" is what describes this hostel best. There is no hygiene. The blankets and beds were dirty. The ground was full of hair and the shower is worse than a public bathroom. I am ashamed really. I can't understand how this place can still be open.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Federica B
infosun, Owner at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Federica Thank you for your comment. We are very shocked at your review as none of guests have ever said such thing. If you experience this, please show us while you are here in the hostel so we can solve the problems. We don't want our guests to feel uncomfortable. Cleaning of the rooms and sheets/blankets are done every...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The only one good side is location! You have less than 100 methers to La Rambla, and around 5-10 minutes to the almost every important point of the city. Rooms are awful, small, dirty, without soap and toilet paper. Beds are small, uncomfortable, and you must rent bed sheets with price of about 4 euros in total for one night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Димитрије К
infosun, Owner at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comment. We are sorry you didnt enjoy your stay here. The rooms are being renovated to bring the best possible atmosphere and comfort. Please note that the extra charges are already stated in each site for your information. Regards, Sun & Moon hostel

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dirty room, clogged shower, no toilet paper nor soap the 1st night, blanket for additional cost, the room was not cleaned during the stay. The location is great, but not a good value despite being relatively cheap. Anybody can come in, no strict rules concerning the noise and drunk people in the lobby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dajana N
infosun, Owner at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Rooms are cleaned every day and toilet paper, soap is provided. As informed during check in time we have cleaning 24 hours service and we are concerned of our guests comfort every day. Additional costs such as blanket, are already stated in each website. Please do read them before for your own information. Regards, Sun & Moon hostel

Salou, Spain
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Group of friends spending the weekend in the big city. Great location right in the heart of Barcelona just off the famous Rambla. We all stayed in the same dorm with private bathroom. Beds were really comfortable and the room was spotless! Lovely shower, too. And breakfast included for a very good price. Staff were very friendly and willing to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajgarcia50
infosun, Owner at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comment. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the hostel. Please come back again :) Regards Sun & Moon hostel

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

This place is an overcrowded and bedbug infested "hotel". The cleaning here is not very good to say the least, it just sticks of chlorine and does not really get into the conors. The breakfast is so bad, don't even bother buying it, you are so much better of buying it of the street. There is a room located right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mads h
infosun, Owner at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all it's important to clear out that the statement you are making is totally false. The hostel is not infested. The rooms are clean every day and checked too. Breakfast consists of a variety of different things: yoghurt, jam, butter, cereals, milk, coffeee, juices, bread, and much more. Plus, it's free. So please stop making false accusations....

holland
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Barcelona in a amazing city!! I love it!! People in this place are great!! I always meat nice people and make a lot of friends of over the world. Is very centric and near by the beach and the discos... If you are a party person thats great!! Good done!! Thank you!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iru
infosun, Propietario at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comment. We hope to see you soon again :) Regards, Sun & Moon hostel

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Its also close to the sea and beaches. You can find so many shops and super market near to your Hostel.Like, KFC, Burger king, Dia, Carre four, Mac.D. etc. I recommend to every one to try it. Just book it before your arrival.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 874maz
infosun, Propietario at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment! We hope to see you again soon :) Regards, Sun & Moon hostel

Roskilde, Denmark
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Staff was very helpful, The cleaning was fine. perfekt place for young people to stay Very central Breakfast was no so good Aircondition was okay value for money Wifi was fine - and easy to get on in all romms

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A789FNkirstenn
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Very dirty and small overcrowded rooms. Bathroom was not cleaned when we came. Showers are worst I have seen so far-rusty and fixed to the pipe so you can't move it. You have to pay for sheets and towels. If you didn't pay for breakfast better save your money and go somewhere else. You only get ONE bread slice, small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salih H

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#288 of 519 in Barcelona
488 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Condal
Hotel Condal
#290 of 519 in Barcelona
464 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel California
Hotel California
#201 of 519 in Barcelona
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Uranie Barcelona
Uranie Barcelona
#236 of 756 in Barcelona
31 reviews
El Raval
Ideal Youth Hostel
Ideal Youth Hostel
#196 of 756 in Barcelona
275 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Kabul Hostel
Kabul Hostel
#77 of 756 in Barcelona
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)

Neighbourhood Profile
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
With its iconic, old-Europe streets and alleys, this picturesque neighbourhood is the very heart of Barcelona. It blends historic artifacts from its days under Roman dominion up through the Spanish Civil War with a vibrant modern-day culture of artisan shops and authentic culinary experiences. Avid explorers will be thrilled to discover quaint terraces and plazas brought to life by the many small bars and local musicians lasting late into the night. Fashionistas will be drawn to Portal de L’Angel, which is lined with well-known brand names and smaller boutique stands.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sun & Moon hostel offers the opportunity to stay in the heart of the Gothic Area in Barcelona. Its unsurpassed location will give you the opportunity to find the treasures of the most antique streets, the cathedral, museus, plaza Sant Jaime, Ferran… and much more! If you choose to take one our free walking tours, our colleague will explain you all the legends in an interactive, funny and cool way!Sun & Moon hostel accommodates around 170 people, which means, you can get to know many people daily from around the world with different cultures and styles!We encourage to get to know them in our lobby that is open 24 hours!Our recent renovated, common area, is open 24 hours and has 6 computers with free unlimited Internet connection and Wi-Fi, a kitchen (owen, microwave, fridge), a chill-out zone, TV, music to relax solo and with friends.Before the party starts, we offer Free dinner daily (except drinks). To continue the long night, we organize big parties whereby everyone gets to know each other and see the experiment the famous clubs in Barcelona. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sun & Moon Hostel

Address: 17, Ferran Street, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Price Range: £13 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sun & Moon Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sun & Moon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Sun & Moon Hotel Barcelona
Hostel Sun And Moon
Sun & Moon Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sun & Moon Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sun & Moon Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book before your arrival through internet”
 of 5 bubbles 874maz, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not book”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The upstars rooms are sur quiter !! because the ones down are close to the bar !!”
 of 5 bubbles 499fathiy, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Steps to upper beds should be accessible. Worn out mattresses should be replaced.”
 of 5 bubbles dannlogue, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Take a room adjutants to hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles 287rajendrag, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay