Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia

Traveller (225)
Passeig de Gracia
Room & Suite (45)
empty common room
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#44 of 268 hostels in Barcelona
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Safestay Barcelona Passeig de Gràcia hostel is located on the most elegant avenue in Barcelona, featuring some of the best architectural walkings you will find in the city. The level of attention to detail you can find on this street is unrivalled not only in Barcelona but in any city of the world. Passeig de Gràcia is a real gem when it comes to capturing those all-important Instagram snaps!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Paid wifi
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Room features
Housekeeping
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Catalan

Location

Passeig De Gracia 33, 08007 Barcelona Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Barcelona-El Prat Airport
Costa Brava Airport
47.3 mi
See all flights
Passeig de Gràcia
3 minBarcelona Metro
1,170Review9Q+A89Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 388
  • 404
  • 194
  • 91
  • 93
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Angelos wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros: Close to center, clean beds
Cons: Staff would not so helpful

I stayed two times at this hostel. When you get in it has a bad smell but in the rooms wasn't that bad. The windows couldn't be opened so the smell from shoes and from all the people in there could be discomfort. It had good temperature that you could adjust. When the bathroom door opened (ensuit room) a bad smell came out (only in the 1st room i stayed).

I tried pizza on the canteen which was ok, pretty big for one person, but 5 euros.

I had two problems in my room that staff failed to help me.
Firstly an other roomate (woman) brushed her hair and all the floor was full of hair (beds and bathroom), when I asked at reception to send someone to clean it they very politely told me they will text the housekeeping and in about 20 minutes someone will come. Nobody came untill next morning for the usual cleaning.

Secondly when I got my second room I noticed that in the bathroom was missing the toilet brush. Again I went to reception to ask to give me one and they said that they did not have a spare and probably someone broke it.

They charge you for the locker if you want to leave your luggage before check in for 2 euros.

No curtains for privacy.

I booked it directly from their site where I paid tax and fees but in the check in they told me about an extra hidden fee about 0.75 euro per night , which it was not nice not to mention that when you book and prepay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Try to avoid upper beds as you feel like earthquake if someone is not so carefull
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SafestayBCN, Reception at Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Dear Guest: First of all, we truly hope that, beside the few problems you had, it was a nice stay. We wanted to apologize about the misunderstanding we had when you told us about the hair in the room, maybe the housekeeping staff misunderstood the room number; but of course this shouldn't have happened. On top of that, we are sorry that we run out of toilet brushes that day. In a different situation, we coudl have gave you one. We hope that you enjoyed the city, and we thank you for your time and effort to share this feedback with us. Best Regards, Safestay PDG.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn Farber wrote a review Feb 2020
Altoona, Pennsylvania
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a hostel and is great for university students who are looking for a cheap place that still has good rooms and amenities. Stayed in a four person room and the shower was smaller than expected, but it still functioned very well. The location was only a few blocks away from La Rambla, so it was really easy to see all the sights via walking, bus, or take the metro.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SafestayBCN, Recepcionista at Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear Guest: We are truly happy to read that you enojoyed the location of our hostel. We hope that you enjoyed the hotel as well. It would be a pleasure to have you anytime soon. Best Regards, Safestay PDG.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anonymous wrote a review May 2022
United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having booked pre Covid at a different safestay hosel in Barcelona we were finally able to travel 2 years later. We were unable to get a refund even though the travel restrictions were in place but they did let us move our booking to another date.
The location of this hostel very good with metro access straight outside and plenty of shops and restaurants. The breakfast was from €2.50 up to €5.50 which was extra on top of our rooms rate. We stayed in a 6 person female dorm with an en-suite. The room was basic but clean and was the perfect base for a city break as you don’t spend much time in the room. Remember to bring a padlock for the locker. There is a roof terrace but no seating or bar available which is a shame. The only negatives are the staff on reception weren’t very friendly and you have to pay €2 to store luggage once you have checked out. This service is free on your arrival day but for some reason not once you have checked out.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RECEPTION SAFESTAY, Encargado del hostal at Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia
Responded 4 Dec 2023
Hello, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Safestay. We'll use your feedback to improve our customer service. ¡Hope to see you soon again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Madeline M wrote a review Nov 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been to a few seedy hostels and honestly I've never even been close to leaving a review but here we are. I was reorganizing my belongings after just getting in from a flight outside my room (because of the quiet hours) leaving ample room in the walkway to get around. I was about as far into the corner as possible out of the way. I was approached by the staff in a very aggressive matter (without a mask within 6 feet of me) that this was unacceptable because of Covid-19. I tried to explain what I was doing with my belongings and he was incredibly rude and condescending that because of Covid I couldn't be in the hallway doing what I was doing. So I said I'm cleaning it up right and he continued to stand there berating me to clean up my stuff. Wasn't really sure what else to do and it was just an all around uncomfortable experience. Also they don't really care about the quiet hours and would just casually flick on the lights at 3 in the morning showing guests to their beds and would not enforce the quiet hours to the loud drunk patrons. No individual outlets so you gotta fight for them. Solid water pressure tho.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Safestay Passeig De Gracia, Encargado del hostal at Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia
Responded 9 Feb 2022
Hi Madeline! We are really sorry to hear your experience, but that not happen in this hostel, please check your reservation. Best regards!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Olga O wrote a review Apr 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival the check-in was quick and efficient. The hostel is quite big and it was fully booked when we were there. Hangout spots include the bar and a rooftop terrace which were nicely decorated but never really full. The beds were pretty basic but okay. Every bed does have an individual socket and lamp which is practical. Our roommates were very loud though and woke us up on 2 out of 3 nights as they came back from clubbing at 4:30am and made a lot of noise, shone flashlights on our faces etc. That’s not really the hostels fault though. Overall a well established hostel with all amenities you could need! Had a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring your own lock for the lockers inside the shared rooms! (None provided)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RECEPTION SAFESTAY, Encargado del hostal at Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Hola ,Olga nos encanta saber que as tenido una muy buena experiencia, en nuestras instalaciones . y que pudimos llenar todas tus expectativas trabajamos cada día para poder brindar un mejor servicio a nuestros huéspedes . esperamos verte de nuevo Att, Alejandro
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah Becker wrote a review Aug 2023
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had an awful experience with this hostel. I booked it and then received an email saying the room rates were much higher and so I cancelled it immediately. I was still charged however for the full amount despite my protest and refused a refund even though I cancelled it imeediately due to being misled over room rates.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RECEPTION SAFESTAY, Encargado del hostal at Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia
Responded 4 Dec 2023
We apologize for the inconvenience you faced. It's regrettable that the room rates were higher than expected, leading to a cancellation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chloe wrote a review Mar 2022
Barcelona, Spain
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is perfect, just over Passeig de Gracia with beautiful views. The staff are so attentive and I really appreciated all of the recommendations of places to visit and restaurants. They sent us an email with all the top spots for tourists and places to eat and it worked as our guide for the holiday!

Thank you, we had a lovely stay and we will be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RECEPTION SAFESTAY, Encargado del hostal at Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Hello, Go101 we are delighted that you had an excellent experience in our facilities and that we were able to meet all your expectations to make your trip as comfortable as possible. We hope to host you again soon. ATT : Alejandro
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
desi wrote a review May 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
my group of school friends and I stayed at this hostel in early May. the conditions of the room were very bad and the staff rude: they did not reimburse us the 180€ of the insurance that they should have given us back at the end of the stay, and they came up with more senseless reasons not to give us the money and keep it. I do not recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RECEPTION SAFESTAY, Encargado del hostal at Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia
Responded 4 Dec 2023
We are sorry to hear that you had inconveniences with your stay. Your feedback is valuable, and we'll address the issues to improve our services. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Moth Queen wrote a review Jul 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Safestay? More like unsafestay. A man lay in the centre of our room with his hand where the sun don’t shine. Dare I need to say more. This only got more intense. Encouraged by friendly Australians, we told reception that we can barely enter our room because of what he’s doing. The receptionist quite frankly needs a different job (eg not working with people) as his solution to this problem was to try and move half of us girls to a different room, leaving just one with this dodgy man. Well done very clever
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RECEPTION SAFESTAY, Encargado del hostal at Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia
Responded 4 Dec 2023
We're deeply sorry to hear about your distressing experience at the hostel. Such incidents are completely unacceptable, and we apologize for the discomfort caused. Your safety and well-being are of utmost importance to us, and we take this matter seriously. We'll investigate the situation and take appropriate measures to prevent any recurrence. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope you consider giving us another chance to provide a better experience in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fatih ö wrote a review Apr 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had 2 night reservation between 1 and 3 of April. I came to hotel 2 hours before and my room card was cancelled. Then i came to reception to make it renew and i back to room again. I saw that someone else was sleeping in my bed. They checked and they accept that 2 times they sold my bed and they cancelled my room card. Now i am waiting outside and they dont want to refund my money. please be careful in this hotel. They may have sold your place to someone else even though you paid and made a reservation. maybe you can sleep outside like me abecause reception said me it is normal.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RECEPTION SAFESTAY, Encargado del hostal at Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia
Responded 4 Dec 2023
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience at the hostel. It's completely unacceptable that your bed was sold to someone else despite your reservation. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Your feedback is valuable, and we hope you find a satisfactory resolution to this issue.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura R asked a question Feb 2023
Munich, Germany
Hola ¿hay estacionamiento cerca?
Answer from Safestay
Barcelona, Spain
Ola, Bom Dia. Temos sitio para guardar suas malas antes e depois de su estancia mais depois de seu check out tem um costo de 2€. Saudos e obrigado!
Carolina m asked a question Mar 2019
Central Argentina, Argentina
Hay lockers en las habitaciones que entren una valijas de 23kg??”
Answer from Vale S
Buenos Aires, Argentina607 contributions158 helpful votes
No, solo entra la valija chiquita. Algunos la dejaban atrás de la puerta. Pero si estás en una habitación de 10 personas prácticamente no hay lugar para equipaje tan grande.
Carlo H asked a question Oct 2018
Le camere con bagno privato hanno la cassaforte?
Answer from dilunasorriso
Naples, Italy72 contributions68 helpful votes
Non ne ho idea!!
Answer from Safestay
Barcelona, Spain
Hola, buen dìa. Actualmente el costo del alquiler de toallas es de 2€ y el servicio de Lavado y secado son 6€. Muchas gracias por tu consulta.
Departure15330997285 wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Think about what to do for food."
Read full review
Rebecca wrote a tip Apr 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom54 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no kitchen but there is a bar to purchase food!"
Read full review
gary b wrote a tip Feb 2024
Liverpool, United Kingdom2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Food and drink in the Bar in the hostel is decent and reasonably priced. McDonald's across the road from Hostel for a quick snack. "
Read full review
Moth Queen wrote a tip Jul 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t"
Read full review
Stephen M wrote a tip Mar 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barcelona area.
PRICE RANGE
£55 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
equity point centric hotel barcelona
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaEixample / Passeig de Gràcia / La Dreta de l'Eixample
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAFESTAY BARCELONA PASSEIG DE GRACIA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia
Which popular attractions are close to Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia?
Nearby attractions include Casa Batlló (0.07 miles), White Rabbit · The Off-Museum of Barcelona (0.1 miles), and Bobby's Free (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zenith Brunch & Cocktails, Bella Italia, and Babula Bar 1937.
Is Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Barcelona.
Are any cleaning services offered at Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Catalan.
Are there any historical sites close to Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (1.0 miles), Reial Monestir de Santa Maria de Pedralbes (2.7 miles), and Ciutat Vella (0.9 miles).
All Barcelona HotelsBarcelona Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BarcelonaHotels near Safestay Barcelona Passeig De Gracia
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire