We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal Balkonis

249 reviews
Save
Traveller (80)
Room & Suite (200)
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good35%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Concierge
Wheelchair access
Breakfast included
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (249)Write a Review
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
47
26
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
47
26
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stop just around the cornersant antoni metro stationtwo bottles of waterprivate terracefabulous stayrooms were very cleanairport bussingle roomstars hotelwalking distancesmall roomlocation is greatsagrada familiagood sizegothic quarterla ramblafirst floor
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I highly recommend this hotel. it is not expensive. it is situated in a good district and it is close to all services. the reception is open 24 hours, and the staff is extremely kind. the room was very clean. The only flaw that the...More

Thank V8832GHmartinam
Response from Balkonis R, other at Hostal BalkonisResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Customer Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that your stay at Hostal Balkonis has been so pleasant. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards Oscar

Reviewed 2 January 2018

I booked Balkonis for 3 nights as Barcelona was my last city during my Spain visit. Being solo visitor i booked a single private room with bathroom. Check in was great, Anna and Mariana were great staff. But on the first night - i couldn't...More

Thank Raju C
Response from Balkonis R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostal BalkonisResponded 2 weeks ago

Your reservation was a Non Refundable one and in Barcelona center (which normally it's not a quiet area by its nature), we took your complaints and distress in consideration as a special case, and we have decided to refund you exceptionally the last 2 nights...More

Reviewed 15 December 2017

We had a fabulous stay at the property. The recepcionist was really really nice and helpful. Close to the public transportation. The room is comfortable and clean, especially the bathroom. Great recommendation around the hostal.More

Thank Dorottya N
Response from Balkonis R, Recepcionista at Hostal BalkonisResponded 16 December 2017

Dear Dorottya Thank you for your opinion. We are glad to know that we have helped your vacation have been a little better. For us it is very important that our clients feel at home. It has been a pleasure to meet you and we...More

Reviewed 27 November 2017

We booked a room for five days and paid right after. Unfortunately two weeks before our trip, my husband's father passed away. As soon as possible I tried to get contact to give information to hostal balkonis and try to reschedule our reservation. At first...More

1  Thank Emre Ş
Response from Balkonis R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostal BalkonisResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Emre, We were first contacted by you only 6 days before your arrival with a request for a refund. You have made a Non Refundable reservation in which you have agreed with the conditions by acknowledging the cancellation policy and it's penalty in case...More

Reviewed 20 October 2017

We stayed 3 nights visiting family. The location was good for us, the accommodation was smaller than we expected although basic which was all we wanted but noise from doors all night was not good. The balcony could not be used as cats sprayed, we...More

1  Thank MargaretP49
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345617
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Concierge
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
US$51 - US$242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$51 - US$242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (80)
Room & Suite (200)
Nearby
El Raval
Once a downtrodden corner of downtown Barcelona, this
gritty area has seen a cultural resurgence boasting an
excellent nightlife and one of the most multi ethnic
spots in the entire city. A sense of humble
authenticity protrudes from the many independent
record stores, second hand shops, and student bars
that seem to light up the streets day and night. The
rocking epicenter, the MACBA Plaça, is a modern day
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Louisa F
3 September 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Yotam F | Property representative |
Hello Louisa. Thank you for your interest in our Hostal. The Hostal located in Street: Comte d´Urgell 18. 2 street going up from the Hostal, street Gran Via (3 minutes walking), its a main street with bus station and metro... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"If you want a room with a view, pay more for an outwards facing room. Some rooms face an inner courtyard."
Read review
"Although it is the cheapest room, it is also the smallest. Not ideal for two people. Id pay slightly more for..."
Read review
"very good wifi"
Read review
"Pay the title extra for a nice room and if possible stay for more nights!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing