We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Hostal Rayuela

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostal Rayuela
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 16: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

-Well placed hostal in the famous comercial road of fuencaral.Very closed to the city of Madrid.10 min far from Puerta de Sol on foot and from the most of the monuments in the city. -Traditional building. -Well equipment room but not air conditioned and a little bit smelly -The beds are not so convenient and small for tall people. -No... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dimitris Z
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

The hostel is in an excellent position if you like night attraction, clean and not noisy but our room was really small, just to fit the bed. There was no window in our room but only in the bath that was directly connected by a glass wall. The bath had a really nice shower. Room number 7. See the picture... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thimsel W
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2016

The place is very understaffed and although the guy was nice, he wasn't there to let us in. The location is on a busy shopping street so not a great place to be waiting tired with all your luggage. Bed was so uncomfortable, didn't sleep a wink. You get what you pay for. Thank god it was only one night!

Helpful?
Thank Oliiiveeeeee

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

The hostel is very clean, very confortable, with good location too...but the owner is VERY RUDE, he treated us as though he was doing us a favor, 3 days with a stress not necessary for your trip... Run away... You can find a better place and have a very nice trip without this stress...

Helpful?
1 Thank CindyFC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2015

I expected a decent bed and a somewhat quiet night. Anything more would have been a bonus. The owner is rude, the mattress ancient and uncomfortable and the walls so thin you can hear EVERYTHING. Things like a change of towels might have been nice, or a bath mat that was not covered with the hair of the previous guest.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BishopsFather
rayuela2010, Propietario at Hostal Rayuela, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment but we think it is no correct. The mattresses were renewed two years ago. We offer clean towels when the customer arrives but does not change every day, as many hostels years ago, by ecology reasons but if the customer requests, we offer a new without problem. The hostel is an old building with strong walls... More 

Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Generally satisfied. Though we faced some problems when we arrived - the front door was locked and it was not easy to get in. We called the hostel phone number, but there were some language problems. The hostel is placed on the 4th floor and the reception is also there. Noise from the corridor made by the other guests coming... More 

Helpful?
Thank SlovakTraveller777
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2015

It was all very nice, big room, many bathrooms to share, quiete, and very kindly! But a pity no internet at room number 5! Internet is very important because you have to check aircraft mails maybe somebody need to work.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank 412angeloc
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2015

great location, very rude staff ( one dude who did not want to let us in when we arrived ! ) the room was not more than OK - but the BIG problem is that the walls are made of paper - you hear EVERY breath of other people in the building !

Helpful?
1 Thank PUTNICA80
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2014

I had booked and paid in advance of arriving by plane. Due to luggage problems I arrived a little later than expected. Back In the uk my home was rung (while I was in the air) saying that the hostel would close at 1130pm. This had no been preinformed. I made my way to the hostat at midnight

Helpful?
6 Thank Cornishtraveller72
rayuela2010, Propietario at Hostal Rayuela, responded to this review

This comment is not correct. We inform clearly in our pages that the check in is until 23.30. The hostel is located on a floor and it is necesary to ring the bell when the client arrives. The hostel is small and the noise of bell can hear and disturb to the guests who are sleeping. Nevertheless, if the customer... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2014

my wife and I stayed at this hostel in September ..we had no problems, the room had en suite bathroom, plenty of cupboard space. I think it is very good.I have no qualms about the cleanliness ok the shower curtain was in need of change maybe .but overall it was pleasant . we saw the owner at times when leaving... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard A

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Casa de Huespedes Cuenca
#141 of 272 in Madrid
8 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Loyola
Hostal Loyola
#199 of 272 in Madrid
82 reviews
Huertas
JQC Rooms
JQC Rooms
#153 of 272 in Madrid
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Hostal Casa Bueno
Hostal Casa Bueno
#58 of 272 in Madrid
155 reviews
Centro
Casa de Huespedes Lourdes
Casa de Huespedes Lourdes
#77 of 272 in Madrid
16 reviews
Hostal Sonne
#190 of 272 in Madrid
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Malasana

Neighbourhood Profile
Malasana
Hip bars and galleries, independent theaters and music venues, young people with tattoos and funky hair, narrow winding streets — this is Malasaña. Near the center, Plaza Dos de Mayo is a gathering of friends outside bars, dog owners, artists under craft tents, and creative types with notebooks and sketchpads on the plaza’s benches. It may not be as neat and tidy as many other parts of the city, but this only adds to the Malasaña edge. Shops and bars here range from hippie-crunchy to upscale trendy, and on weekends, the streets are bustling around the clock as the nightlife progresses from dinner to bar to disco to late-night food. On the west side of the neighbourhood is the subdistrict called Conde Duque, named after a large pink fort in its center that has been converted into a cultural center for exhibitions and performances. Prettier yet just as edgy, this intimate corner of Malasaña is home to a young international community.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the center of Madrid, halfway to the Gran Via and Chueca and Malasaña, Rayuela Hostel offers you a total of 10 newly renovated rooms, noted for its cleanliness, tranquility and an excellent location. You can visit the most emblematic place of the city without having to use public transport.All rooms have plasma TV, bed linen, towels and soap. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Rayuela

Address: Fuencarral, 41-40 Dcha, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Price Range: £24 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Rayuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Rayuela staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Rayuela staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I have booked via Booking.com. They have charged me as soon as I booked. Keep that in mind, I was surprised.”
 of 5 bubbles 908arturm, 9 Oct 2013 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay