We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Napoleon

Show Prices
#71 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,526 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Napoleon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,961: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed at the hotel Napoleon in July on the occasion of my wifes 60th birthday for eight nights, and found the charm of this hotel absolutely marvellous.The Superior room that we booked was clean and spacious serviced each day without any problems. The breakfast that is provided consists of hot and cold fare and is enough to suit the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harlequin45
UK
Reviewed 18 September 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a holiday in Italy and we spent 2 nights at the Napoleon Hotel and it was just fabulous! At the most it was a 15 minute walk from the main train station but there is a metro stop (A line) right outside the hotel - The hotel is also a 10/15 min...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HolidayObsessed84
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Just back from our stay at the Napoleon and our visit to Rome. This visit was for our 5th Wedding Anniversary. We had our wedding reception at the Napoleon and have been back many times. Again, we would highly recommend the hotel and we honestly can not wait to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goodluck_travelling
NYC area
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Expectation: Hotel with nice front street side facing a beautiful park/piazza Actual: Hotel hidden behind dark graffiti filled columns and closed down storefronts in a seedy part of town (pictures are deceiving); long walk to most attractions, but on the plus side, metro subway station right on the doorstep for easy access Expectation: Genuinely friendly staff willing to help Actual:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank n0npareil
napoleonRoma, Owner at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On the last week, this is the third time that I was called to give some response to very bad reviews. My question is: why such hard criticisms after and in the middle of hundreds of reviews describing positive experiences, enjoyable stays, ranking the hotel “excellent” or “very good”? First, I wish to assure our readers that nothing...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I had a 'superior room' - an upgrade. Frankly it was a big disappointment. The entire hotel is typical of what you find throughout Europe - old, shabby hotels in need of renovations. It is adequate however - not dirty, not distressing, but four star - give me a break. My stay started poorly. The promised airport pick-up wasn't there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GRinCali
napoleonRoma, Manager at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We checked carefully about the inconvenience of the pick up on your arrival.. For what is in our records, we never failed a pickup when we received the flights details. We never received yours. We hold your reservation and the room was available. We offered a complimentary dinner not because we have made any mistake but because your...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My husband and I along with our friend stayed 3 nights at the supposedly four star Napoleon Hotel based on the positive reviews from TripAdvisor and the description/photos from the hotel's website. However we were shocked with what we experienced here and we are still confused about how these other reviews could be true. First off, the hotel is in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank freddu98
napoleonRoma, Manager at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I found your review totally misleading. Many of the information you provide are mistaken, exaggerated or untrue. Hundreds of TripAdvisor users expressed very positive opinions about the hotel Napoleon., many of them considered the hotel “excellent”. You wonder how they could be true. I would only underline that many of them were posted by TripAdvisor users who have...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Thanks to TripAdvisor reviews, I booked this hotel for 4 of us travelling to Rome prior to a cruise. From the moment the driver picked us up at the airport, we knew we had chosen correctly. The staff is absolutely amazing. They could not be more helpful, with restaurant (and gelato) suggestions, directions, maps and a bouquet of flowers to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonsumy
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Hotel Napoleon was by far the most enjoyable visit we experienced on our Italy trip. From the time of arrival in the foyer we were welcomed like we were special. The rooms are furnished traditionally with antics comfortable quiet and pleasing to theeye.. It has a huge beautiful guest lounge where internet can be used or large Tv or simply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunflowers15
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We were here one week at the end of August. It was quite hot weather outside, but hotel was great! The area is very comfortable. The main historic sites are very close to the hotel (for example Santa Maria Maggiore is about 5 minutes walking). The rooms are very well equiped...comfortable, old stylish and calm. About services: transfer from and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarjanM
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Our first stay in Rome and we knew the location from tripadvisor so weren't concerned about walking across the city to visit city sights. Although a reasonable fitness is required. For example,Trevi fountain approx 30mins and Spanish steps about 40. The underground station is right outside the hotel and is very easy to use and cheap at 1 euro per...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P

971 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (475)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (121)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (187)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (388)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (42)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (39)
Viewed
Superior Room (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#79 of 1,292 in Rome
2,363 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
3,931 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,292 in Rome
2,214 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#26 of 1,292 in Rome
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Esquilino

Neighbourhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighbourhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighbourhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic centre. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located, close to the Colosseum, Metro stop outside the hotel, direct connection with the Vatican. Family run, free high speed WI-FI throughout the hotel, 2 internet access, Concierge and Porterage 24H, Restaurant / Bar Bistro / Breakfast buffet, Gym. Very quiet rooms, all overlooking courtyards large and sunny, away from the noise of the city. Individual air-conditioned. Superior service, with professional and qualified staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Price Range: £90 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#81 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#140 Business Hotel in Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Napoleon staff and other travellers.
46 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (46)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Napoleon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take deal for courtesy car from airport .We are talking luxury”
 of 5 bubbles KennethM335, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The lower floor rooms looked to be larger and slightly better equipped”
 of 5 bubbles Toast094, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“306 was a room with a king size bed and balcony”
 of 5 bubbles N1720JGkarent, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request for higher floor for quietness”
 of 5 bubbles travelc342, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Guests should request rooms that open to the inner alcove and not to the streets.”
 of 5 bubbles woleo2013, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5