We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Genio Hotel

Show Prices
#498 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Genio Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 340: English reviews
Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I've read the reviews and all I can say is the people who put negative comments either had a grudge which they cannot get over, got out of bed the wrong side or will only be happy if they're getting top quality for nothing - or they're resided never to be happy. Don't listen or take notice. If you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimSheeran
Nadia_Plama, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Genio Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for such a positive review, we hope to host you again soon.

Paris, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

Much More then I was expecting, as I read a lot of negative reviews prior to visiting. The hotel is very central, the room was cleaned well, breakfast was good, pastries, jam, cereal, bread, scrambled egg, the norm in Italy in general. A little incident for which is why I don't give 5 stars, I was waiting with my toddler...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cherieparis_Europe
Nadia_Plama, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Genio Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we will do our best to avoid situations like the one you described in the future by training the maids in the values of hospitality that we share.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I chose this hotel based on the lovation and the price. The room is very small, but this is the standard in downtown Rome especially for older hotels The hotel is very classic traditional and would need a renovation pretty soon. It has a charm of its own, but feels too old sometimes Staff is kind and helpful at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Federico T
Nadia_Plama, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Genio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Federico, thanks for your review, we will do our best to renovate the single room you stayed in and hope to host you very soon.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not a 4 star. Staff not that happy/willing to talk to you. Lift is tiny, had to help staff into it with her trolly, as it didn't go in or out without a fight. Lift interior scratched to bits all over. Bannister has been scratched with sharp object from the top floor to bottom. Walls in hallway dirty. Room, Toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank graham c
Nadia_Plama, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Genio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham C., thanks for your review that will help us to improve the service. We are sorry that unlike other guests you didn't like the standard of hospitality provided by our staff. The lift is small but 4 people do fit in it. We are in an historical building in the center of Rome close to Navona square after...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

By all means do not reserve "single room" in this hotel. They are as small as a bird case and do not worth the price. I recently reserved a room a single room, which by the way the term can be confusing if you're not Italian, at Hotel Genio via amomabookingcompany--another poor service company I do not recommend, thinking I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonybD2850JH
Nadia_Plama, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Genio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we are sorry that your first review on this website is negative, about our hotel, and mentioning one of our competitors (which does not respect the Tripadvisor rules). Our single rooms are average standard size for the hotels in the historical center of Rome, almost all of them are this way, we are sorry that it was an...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lampros P
Nadia_Plama, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Genio Hotel, responded to this review

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Located just round the corner from Plaza Navrona the Hotel is in easy walking distance of all the major attractions. We had a large comfortable room with shower ensuite which was perfect for my husband, myself and our 8 year old son. Breakfast was good with ample selection of food. There is a nice room terrace and staff were pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JudiC64
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Hotel Genio is probably in one of the best possible locations. On our visit, my wife and I were able to walk to all the usual tourist places. Position noisy but wonderful. The staff are very good, really good. The breakfasts on the top floor, with the opportunity of sitting outside with spectacular views, were lovely. The hotel itself was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveBvespa
Nadia_Plama, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Genio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SteveBvespa, thanks for your review about our staff and location, we will do our best to improve the air conditioning and the decoration and hope to host you again soon.

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Genio for two nights 12/13 October. We were unlucky enough to get the room with the broken shower, as has been mentioned in other reviews. The safe was broken as well. A man was sent up to fix both, but it was obvious that neither could be fixed. We were told that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mazza L
Nadia_Plama, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Genio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madame, we apologize for the issues you mentioned, we will do our best to avoid them in the future and hope that you will give us a second chance to show you our hospitality.

Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Returned last week from our 2nd visit to the Eternal city, staying 6 nights at the Hotel Genio. Agree with other comments on here that the location is what really sells this place. It is within walking distance of all the main attractions and is an excellent base for sightseeing. Our room whilst clean and comfy certainly could do with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanineRockChick
Nadia_Plama, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Genio Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we will use it to improve the service and hope to host you again soon.

387 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (212)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (161)
Viewed
Matrimoniale Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Trevi
Pace Helvezia Hotel
Pace Helvezia Hotel
#416 of 1,291 in Rome
566 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Tiziano Hotel
Tiziano Hotel
#481 of 1,291 in Rome
385 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#201 of 1,291 in Rome
405 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Orso
Relais Orso
#420 of 1,291 in Rome
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori

Neighbourhood Profile
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
With three of Rome’s most beloved piazzas within a five-minute walk of each other, the Navona/Pantheon/Campo area may be the prettiest and most picturesque area of the city. Join the beautiful throngs hanging out in cafes, boutiques, art galleries, and wine bars, or peek at a neighbourhood museum or monument. If you want nonstop movida, the streets here are busy with chic bicyclists and Vespa drivers, street vendors, merchants, and locals. There is no rhyme or reason to its winding streets and there's something to see around every corner, so take pleasure in a spontaneous wander.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel offers modern amenities and comforts and is situated in the heart of Piazza Navona, convenient to major points of interest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Genio Hotel

Address: Via G Zanardelli 28, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Price Range: £69 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Genio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Genio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genio Hotel Rome
Hotel Style:
#240 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Genio Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Genio Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in another hotel, this one is poor.”
 of 5 bubbles grahamc721, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“do not reserve "single room".”
 of 5 bubbles tonybD2850JH, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“So disappointed that I couldn't offer a tip.”
 of 5 bubbles SteveBvespa, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We loved our room at the front where you could see everything happening on the street below.”
 of 5 bubbles happybythesea, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Please ask for a room facing a street with daylight.”
 of 5 bubbles TrudyO179, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay