We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Retrome Rome

Show Prices
#400 of 3,704 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Retrome Rome
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Retrome Rome
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
London
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a four night stay at retrome. The room we stayed in was large and had everything anyone would need for a short break away. It is very close to the Colosseum and it is great to walk past every day. The staff were very helpful and communication was good before and during our stay. They were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nenes84
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your very nice review. It was a pleasure to host you in Rome, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. We put a lot of emphasize on introducing the real Roman life to our guests. We have created an online map with most of the points of interest in our neighborhood (which...

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We had a lovely time staying here. It was not hard to find the first time- having read reviews we knew there would no be a flashing sign, but if you know the street and property number you will find it. We had a great welcome, very friendly and helpful with a free cup of tea- very welcome after travelling....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank May R
Moti_retrome, Owner at Retrome Rome, responded to this review

Dear May, Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time you took in order to share your positive experienve with us, and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Retrome. We are happy to read that you liked the restaurants and the general atmosphere in our area. It is a residential neighborhood, so you...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 16 April 2013

After living in Rome for two years in 2008-2010 we were happy to visit the city again in March 2013. The RetRome was advised to us by Roman friends who had people staying over there before. RetRome B&B proved to be an excellent place to stay. Central location (central and quiet!), tidy rooms and off course the retro-design bonus. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomfooleryNL
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Thank you for your great review, and of course, thanks for visiting us again. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you could have seen, the hotel is decorated in a retro-vintage style, but each room is individually decorated, so depends on the theme of every room, you can find a different decor...

Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewed 15 April 2013

As was written in the reviews I read before the flight the entrance doesn't look promising, but we didn't have time look at the door since we got the most warm welcome we could expect from Angela.(including coffee, wine and explanation about the city). The room are in great location very close to the Colosseum and to the Metro station....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EladH
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review

Dear Elad, Thank you for your good review. We appreciate the time you took to write about your expreience with us, and to share it with the other travellers. We believe that a friendly and warm welcome is the key to start a holiday in the best way. We know that you have travelled for a long time, so a...

olds
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This hotel can be very hard to find and our taxi even had trouble finding it, giving us a little concern. Once we found it the rooms were small but clean and adequate. What this hotel has going for it is location and for Rome price. We were a 5 minute walk to the coliseum and it's metro station. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil F
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time and efforts to write this review, and we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the issue of finding the hotel - please note that it is located in a protected building, and we are limited with the size of the board we can...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I'm really happy that i found this B&B whilst searching for accommodation for my weekend in Rome. The price was really reasonable at 85€ per night. We had room #3 which was spacious, well decorated and extremely clean. In addition to the rooms, there is a communal kitchen and outside area. We arrived much earlier than the check in time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angelbabe
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review

Hi, We thank you for the good review and the time you took in order to share your good experience from the Colosseum Garden. We are especially happy that you like our retro-vintage decor. We put a lot of emphasize on the decoration part and we are pleased that this is being appreciated by our guests. We are looking forward...

Reviewed 12 February 2013

For the price we paid it was great value for money. Ideal location with very friendly helpful staff. The rooms were exactly as described and immaculately clean. We would definitely return to this b&b again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lea44567
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review

Hi again, Thank you for your great review. We really appreciate the time that you took in order to write this review and to share your experience with other travellers. We, at the Colosseum Garden will keep working hard to stay in this level of service, and to offer a great value for your money. The cleanliness of our rooms...

Landstuhl, Germany
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed in the double room for a very reasonable price considering its outstanding location. The free wifi was a much-needed relief from the price gouging of our previous hotel. The breakfast isn't in-house; rather, it's just a couple of blocks away at a nearby cafe/restaurant and you choose from a limited menu. It was still plenty of food and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TigerTrips
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your nice review. We appreciate the time you took to review us, and we are happy that you have enjoyed you stay with us. The WiFi is always supplied by us for free, and in the coming period we are going to introduce the world first Google TV in each of our guest rooms - it...

Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

They have done such an amazing job with the rooms and overall.. At first you could be kind of surprised because of TE first image you get once you are outside looking the building but once you are inside you will be amazed, it's indeed an awesome place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Didibb
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review

Hello Didi, Thank you for your great review. We thank you for staying with us, and we are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We indeed invested a great deal of efforts in the special design of the rooms (and our reception), and it is nice to hear that it is being appreciated by our guest....

Reviewed 7 November 2012

The Retrome is definitely a very friendly, warm and inviting place to stay and I realyl recommend it. We had a brilliant sleep, and the bathroom is just perfect. The rooms are decorated in a cool retro style which we love, and you can see that every little details is being take care of . The service we got from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakubbdorty
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review

Dear Jakub, Thanks for your great review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate the time you took to write your review and to share your good experience with other travelers. A special thanks and greeting are sent from Angela. She is happy that the different recommendation she gave you, were good,...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Colosseum B
Colosseum B
#257 of 3,704 in Rome
251 reviews
Monti
Arena Guest House Roma
Arena Guest House Roma
#148 of 3,704 in Rome
398 reviews
Monti
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
#566 of 3,704 in Rome
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Profumo Maison d'Hotes
Profumo Maison d'Hotes
#68 of 3,704 in Rome
252 reviews
Monti
MarcoAurelio49 Apartments - Colosseo
Monti
Colorseum Resort
Colorseum Resort
#2,424 of 3,704 in Rome
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Monti

Neighbourhood Profile
Monti
Monti is Rome’s rebel yell. This neighbourhood just west of Termini train station mixes grit with fun as it continues to fight for its reputation as a magnet for the artsy, alternative, and hipster. Every season, quirky boutiques and food spots sprout up on its cobblestone streets. The neighbourhood supports unique and homegrown businesses that cater to its longtime residents as well as hipsters on the hunt. Hang out at Piazza della Madonna dei Monti anytime after lunch and you'll always find something going on.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Retrome is a design, boutique accommodation, offering private guest rooms and apartment suites all with private en-suite bathrooms in Retro-Vintage design in the very center of Rome, in a quiet location just meters from the Colosseum.Our air-conditioned guest rooms are spacious and comfortable and our apartment suites varies in size and can host up to 8 guests in the large 2 bedroom suite. Our design concept and standards have been recognized by travelers, magazines and newspapers around the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Retrome Rome

Address: Via Marco Aurelio 47, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Price Range: £49 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Retrome Rome 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Retrome Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Retrome Rome staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Retrome Rome staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont expect large rooms. Any room with windows overlooking the street are better.”
 of 5 bubbles EstrabeauLalo, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My guess is rooms on the higher floors have better WIFi”
 of 5 bubbles travelingGeorge81, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“#4 is small”
 of 5 bubbles 547stefaniec, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Doesn't have elevators, so if there are elderly people do ensure to ask for one of the ground floor rooms, if available.”
 of 5 bubbles pvasanth, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“nr. 5 is nice”
 of 5 bubbles han56, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5