Hotel Metropolitan
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Metropolitan

Traveller (653)
Panorama of the Junior Suite at the Metropolitan Hotel
360
Panoramas (8)
Metropolitan Hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#15 of 108 hotels in Bologna
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Simple, minimalist, with an oriental flavour.. Design Hotel in Bologna The Hotel Metropolitan combines sophisticated interior design with an ancient tradition of hotellerie. Discreetly hidden in a small street in the historic center, ideal for discovering the excellence of the center of Bologna on foot and enjoying absolute tranquillity. On the 5th floor of the Hotel Metropolitan we have recently inaugurated the ROOF GARDEN, a unique space where it is possible to experience Bologna and observe it from a different point of view. A special place for us, an ideal location to spend relaxing or romantic moments, where it is possible to enjoy the view of the sunset suspended above the red roofs of the city while sipping a cocktail. A panoramic terrace overlooking the Bologna hills dominated by the basilica of San Luca. In the refined setting of the breakfast room, in the morning the Guest can choose between various oriental infusion teas accompanied by fragrant freshly baked brioches and fresh fruit patterns. Our staff will be able to advise you on the best restaurants in Bologna, the best shops and outlets and organize a visit to the major motoring realities of Emilia Romagna for you: Ferrari, Ducati and Lamborghini. And for those who want to stay overnight in refined apartments, maintaining the advantages and services of a hotel, the new MET'S APARTMENTS are available. For Hotel and Met's Guests, we suggest a series of garages with guarded parking in the areas surrounding the Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal

Location

Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121, Bologna Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Guglielmo Marconi Airport
Peretola Airport
48.1 mi
See all flights
2,145Reviews28Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,208
  • 696
  • 177
  • 39
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ward N wrote a review Sept 2022
Bellingham, Washington226 contributions29 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I absolutely loved this hotel, very upscale, new, clean, everything we needed, great breakfast, and a lovely roof bar. Room was great, bed was comfortable, bathroom was good, shower a little small but worked great. Staff was great, very attentive, and so polite. I definitely would return next time in Bologna, which I hope is soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pipiont Perrier wrote a review May 2021
Saint-Genis-Pouilly, France313 contributions85 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Liked · Hotel location is perfect. It is on a side road on the main street of Bologna (Via Indipendenza) and 5 minutes walking from the main square.

The check-in experience was very good, staff is nice and welcoming.

The room (a Junior suite) was spacious and clean.
The bed was really comfortable.
The bathroom was great, clean, big with a wonderful shower.

On the last floor there is an open bar, where you can have a drink looking at the roofs of Bologna, quite a nice way. A perfect way to relax in tranquility.

Disliked · There are a few things that I didn't like of the room, but maybe it is more a personal taste.

The door of the room has a big transparent glass, and there is only a curtain to cover the view from outside. (there are also external panels, but I didn't manage to lock them with the key). Nothing serious but I had a strange feeling when leaving the room you could see inside.

When I entered in the room, there was a sofa/bed and an open closet. I found it strange that with all that space available I didn't have a sofa or a table where I could watch the TV or eat something (being in pandemic period during the evening I was taking food in my room and I had to eat it on the bed).
In the bathroom there were no hooks to append your towels.

Although the room was comfortable and clean I found it not very practical.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gian Salvatore, Altro at Hotel Metropolitan
Responded 1 Jun 2021
Dear Pipiont, thank you for sharing your stay experience with other users. We are very happy that you enjoyed our Junior Suites in the Olive's Court. Certainly they are very special rooms and this is their charm. We will try to treasure your opinions, as we do for those of all our guests, to try to improve ourselves. We hope to see you again in Bologna soon. A cordial greeting, Gianclaudio
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
_louvicroberts wrote a review Apr 2023
Belfast, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We are just back from 5 nights staying in hotel Metropolitan. The hotel is situated in a great location, within walking distance from railway station and also from the historic centre of Bologna. We received a warm welcome from reception staff and given maps and recommendations of where to go. We had pre booked all restaurants before our trip which was confirmed by reception is best to do. Hotel reception very modern but we were slightly disappointed with our room. It was quite small and we faced out onto the street side rather than towards the hotel courtyard. We also faced right opposite a glass fronted stairwell of Zara department store so unable to keep shutters or curtain open for privacy reasons. The bathroom was a good size, an issue with the shower was quickly sorted. One thing to note, there was no iron or ironing board in room, and we had no safe. One was later put into the room but only after it was mentioned by us. Also not much space for clothes storage as a family of three in the room. Just little things like tissues or hair conditioner that you would expect from a 4 star hotel were not there. The room was very clean and was cleaned with fresh sheets and clean and clean towels everyday. Breakfast was good, and all the staff at breakfast where especially welcoming and friendly. The area is quite small so sometimes felt a bit cramped when making breakfast selection. Good choice of foods available. The rooftop terrace bar is lovely with great views across the rooftops of Bologna to the hills beyond, drinks are quite expensive but we also received complimentary small snacks and olives every time we went, with some crisps for our son! The staff here were all very friendly too. All in all a great stay and a good hotel, but would describe it more as a good 3 star hotel
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Not much storage No iron in room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ultan wrote a review Feb 2020
Wicken Bonhunt, United Kingdom44 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of Hotel Metropolitan is worth a full 5 stars - superb for seeing the city and a stone's throw from Piazza Maggiore. Its decor is sleek & modern and the lobby and our room were spotlessly clean. Sara on reception was extremely friendly and helpful and gave us a map with places she marked on it that we may enjoy, inluding restaurants. Our room was really nice inside, had a lovely little balcony and fab big shower. The problem we found, is that the internal sound proofing is virtually non-existent and we heard every footstep, dragged suitcase and worst of all, every door opening and closing all night long and early in the morning. I did mention this at reception and apparently there had been a group of drunken tourists who were very loud in the early hours, however, the noise was from more than just a group of chaps getting back to their rooms. If you're a heavy sleeper or are going to indulge in lots of vino, then go for it, otherwise, you've been warned.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Herzmewa wrote a review Apr 2023
Belfast, United Kingdom24 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is in a great location, just off the a main shopping street, 10 minutes walk from the historic centre and all the top tourist attractions. It’s also 15 minutes walk from the train station. There are lots of restaurants nearby to choose from, some I’ve left reviews for. Staff are pleasant, particularly the team that run the breakfast room in the morning. Room was clean and housekeeping brilliant, we had a visit every day. Bed was comfortable. Rooftop bar is a lovely feature, drinks are not cheap but you pay for the view and there were complimentary snacks provided too. Staff in the bar were really welcoming. In terms of downsides, we were a little disappointed with our room which was small and dark, facing the front of the hotel. We had hoped for something more light and airy, maybe even a terrace or balcony! There was no safe or ironing board provided and virtually no storage, we lived out of our suitcases for the duration of our stay. Shower was dated, not much water pressure. The breakfast room (and it is a room) is way too small to cope with the number of guests. One morning we were placed in a business meeting room to eat, and on another 2 occasions our son had to sit alone on a stool at a bench while my wife and I sat at a table. The food is displayed in a corridor which is also the entrance to the room, so it’s awkward to browse and make your choice of what to eat. The food itself is a strange mix of miniature pastries and sweets, as well as the usual ham, cheese and eggs. Recommend having breakfast at a nearby cafe instead. Bologna is amazing for a city break and overall this is a good hotel to make your base.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Have breakfast in a nearby cafe.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IJMLL wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this hotel on 23-26July, it was excellent. Location is amazing, walking distance to all major attractions. Our room ( 404) has a private outdoor seating area, we sat outside every nights with our glass of wine, absolutely perfect. The room is spotlessly clean, comfy bed. Amazing staff especially the front desk lady who worked mostly evening shift ( sorry we didn’t get her name) she is most charming, and to the lady who re-set the safe in our room you are an angel ! Also, a special mention to the lady who looked after us at breakfast, thanks for being so accommodating. We loved every single minute of our stay and can’t wait to be back. Thank you Hotel Metropolitan.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AprilEire wrote a review May 2023
Redmond, Washington14 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 3 nights in the apartments, located a short walk from the hotel, down a quiet "alley"- like street. The hotel staff greeted us warmly and walked us to the apartment. The unit we stayed in was spacious, clean and quiet, with a window we could open for fresh air. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The hotel and the apartments are very centrally located in Bologna, which is a big plus. Our bathroom was minimally appointed (no tissues, only one roll of T.P, etc.)- but whenever we asked for more supplies of towels or other items, they were quickly and cheerfully delivered to our room. We could also take advantage of the rooftop terrace of the hotel, which is a lovely spot with a view to enjoy a beverage. If I were traveling alone, I think it would be my personal preference to stay in the hotel rather than the apartments, since the street and the apartment building itself felt a bit deserted, especially late at night. (we didn't notice any particular issues, just that there was often no one around, since there's no lobby staff etc. in the apartment building.) Overall we enjoyed our stay in the apartment- and it was nice to have a refrigerator, kitchen sink etc.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ultrafussypants wrote a review May 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom163 contributions59 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Appalling customer service. We paid over 1100 euros for 3 nights in the business suite for a friend’s 60th. Booked and prepaid via booking.com The day before we were due to arrive Ryanair cancelled our flights due to an Italian strike. It was impossible for us to get there from Scotland. We contacted Booking.com who said that under the circumstances they would contact the hotel and ask for a refund. The hotel gave us a point blank ‘NO’ answer. We said we were happy to just transfer the room to different dates, but again they refused. The tone of the correspondence was very abrupt and ‘all about them’ and their losses!! No empathy or customer care at all. They offered us 25% discount on any future stay. Based on their customer care we will not be accepting this. There were 17 of us going to Bologna for the birthday celebration and every other person got a refund or a rescheduled date from their accommodation. Really not impressed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Metropolitan, Proprietario at Hotel Metropolitan
Responded 28 May 2022
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, you made it clear to the world that the Metropolitan Hotel acted correctly, you canceled a reservation due to an event for which we cannot be responsible. I specify that the reservation was NOT Refundable with clear conditions that included a penalty in case of cancellation and you was perfectly aware of this. Logically, if there had been the responsibility of the Hotel or if different cancellation conditions had been agreed, the reservation would have been fully refunded. The hotel is obliged by law to comply with contracts and hopes that its Guests are equally correct.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abbie G wrote a review Oct 2023
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As first timers in Bologna, we did not need a hotel with all the thrills as you shouldn't be in the room longer than you need and Hotel Metropolitan offered us a comfortable bed, an essential breakfast and service that i could not fault. To compare in the UK, I would compare it to an IBIS - you have everything you need without wanting for more. If you are someone who needs amenities and a 3 course meal for breakfast this isnt for you. However, if you want to be alley away from the highstreet, value substance over style and want a team of staff who will literally draw you a map of where you want to get to, don't sleep on this hotel.
One thing to be aware of [but i'm not sure is typical of all rooms] - our toilet had clear glass sliding doors that left nothing to the imagination so if you're sharing a room, be ready to get to know your roommate very well...or turn the tv up louder!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mikemadden441 wrote a review Nov 2023
Limerick, Ireland5 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel Metropolitan is in a fabulous location, only 5 minutes to the main square. When we arrived, information was great, and the staff took the time to deal with any queries we had.
We had a double standard, which was fine, but as my wife had a recent leg injury, it was hard for her to get into the bath/ shower as it was so high. Also in room 101, there was an electrical fault with the minibar alarming throughout the night, and the power going on and off.
We were moved to a different room 204, which was even larger and spacious, with a walk in shower.
Breakfast was fabulous, and we both looked forward to it every morning.
Fare is continental in nature, but some of the small plates, and pastries were delicious.
We requested an iron and ironing board from reception, and we had it dropped to our room in no time.
The roof top bar was also great.
The prices are a bit on the expensive side, but the service was worth it.
Small bites , crisps, provided and a young staff member in the bar was a wonderful young man, who couldn’t do enough for you. (Sorry I didn’t get his name).
Bologna is a wonderful city, and I would advise you to bring an extra suitcase, as the shopping is amazing.
Food in all the restaurants is awesome, and you won’t go hungry if you like Italian food.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do the red bus tour, as it gives you a fabulous overview of the whole city.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bologna area.
PRICE RANGE
£161 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
metropolitan hotel bologna
LOCATION
ItalyEmilia-RomagnaProvince of BolognaBolognaPorto
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL METROPOLITAN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Metropolitan
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Metropolitan?
Nearby attractions include Torre Prendiparte (0.2 miles), Cattedrale di San Pietro (0.2 miles), and Fontana del Nettuno (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Metropolitan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Metropolitan?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Metropolitan?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Metropolitan?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Metropolitan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mò Mortadella Lab, Vinoteca Bologna, and Bonelli Burgers.
Does Hotel Metropolitan have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Metropolitan offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Metropolitan located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Bologna.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Metropolitan?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Metropolitan?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Metropolitan?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
All Bologna HotelsBologna Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BolognaHotels near Hotel Metropolitan
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire