Hotel Astoria
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Astoria

MY PIC INSAID
Traveller (168)
La camera nel suo complesso
Room & Suite (124)
Cioccolata e spremuta d'arancia rossa
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#21 of 42 hotels in Parma
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel Astoria is located in Parma, it is a strategic building because is near railway station and the centre of the city, in via Trento 9. The Hotel includes 88 rooms, with different rooms, free telephone and wifi services, central heating and room cleaning service. Each apartment offers an individual kitchenette. Additionaly there is a car parking available (we ask for a small supplement for the use of kitchenette and car park). Children and animals are welcome, with some exception. In fact under two years old child can stay in your bed free; you can stay with your children, untill 6 years old, with only 20€; you can stay with your guys, untill 12 years old, with only 25€; Your animal can stay with you in your room, if it's maximum 22,00 lb with a little supplement. The apartments can be rented for a day, for a week, for a month. We also offer a free shuttle service from the Hotel to the Residence and vice versa on check-out day (upon availability). The apartments can be rented for a day, for a week, for a month. Check-in and check-out procedures must be completed at Astoria Residence Hotel, located in Trento 9, which is open 24/7. We also offer a free shuttle service from the Hotel to the Residence and vice versa on check-out day (upon availability).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 1 more

Location

Via Trento 9, 43122, Parma Italy
Name/address in local language
933Reviews7Q+A28Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 130
  • 388
  • 276
  • 86
  • 53
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JWBruce wrote a review Aug 2006
Scotland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this hotel for two nights and it proved a good choice. The room was spacious and clean: the breakfast was above average with plenty of choice. Reception staff were friendly and professional.

The real strength of the Astoria, however, lies in its location. It is only 10 minutes walk from the sites of Parma, along a main thoroughfare with attractive shops, including two splendid shops selling the best of Parma's produce.

The hotel has decent-sized carpark for guests, but be aware that you are charged 10 euros per day for this service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2006
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nuddlemaccher wrote a review Oct 2016
Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at what was called the Astoria Residence, which is an apartment building rented by the hotel. Check-in happens at the front desk of the actual hotel and you are delivered to the apartment by car. If you wish to walk, the apartment is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful for check-in and obtaining a cab for us.

The location of the residence is about 10 minutes from the train station. The apartment is very close to a main street with lots of shops and restaurants, and about 5-10 minute walk from some very nice shopping/restaurant streets and outdoor market.

The unit we stayed was very large, simple and quiet. It was also clean and the Wifi was very fast and consistent, some of the best we found in 3 weeks in Italy.

Overall I would say that the residence is a perfect budge hotel - clean, simple, well located.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PIU HOTELS P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Astoria
Responded 13 Oct 2016
Dear Guest Thank you so much! We guess you stay at one of our residences, Liberty or Cavour :) We are pleased you enjoy your stay with us and we hope to see you soon again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Вадим Ч wrote a review Jul 2013
Odesa, Ukraine
4.0 of 5 bubbles
No-frills hotel near the historic downtown. Clean, well-maintained, somewhat comfortable. The staff is friendly, breakfast very basic but perfectly eatable. At the time of booking, it was priced lower than other three-start hotels in the area.

As common in Italy, they seem to turn off airconditioning at night, turning it back on in morning. Ventilation worked strongly, though, so the experience was short of suffocating.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Astoria_Residence, Direttore at Hotel Astoria
Responded 12 Aug 2013
Gentili Ospiti, Vi ringraziamo per la recensione dell'Astoria Residence Hotel. Siamo lieti che abbiate rimarcato la pulizia dei nostri locali e la cortesia del personale come nostri punti di forza. Per quanto riguarda lo spegnimento notturno dell'aria condizionata, viene effettuato, in periodi in cui ciò è reso possibile dalla temperatura esterna, per applicare un minimo di risparmio energetico e contribuire alla "chiamata ecologica" che ci richiede di rispettare maggiormente il nostro Pianeta. Speriamo che anche altri dei nostri Ospiti possano apprezzare questa piccola scelta. Dear Guests, we thank you very much for your kind review on Astoria Residence Hotel. We are glad you noticed that the cleanliness of our spaces and our Staff's courtesy are very important for us. As for the turning off of the air conditioning, we do it, when possible due to external temperature, to apply a little eco-saving manoeuvre to help our Planet. We hope other Guests can appreciate this little choice too. Davide Regazzo General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
soontobebrown wrote a review Aug 2005
Birmingham, UK
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A wonderful hotel, in a fantastic location, in a brilliant town. We don't have a bad word to say about our stay at the Astoria. A one minute walk from the train station and ten minutes walk to the centre of Parma. Breakfast was good, in a lovely breakfast room. Room was quiet, spacious, clean and comfortable.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bob47 wrote a review Aug 2005
Kent
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for four nights in June 2005. A single room and my priorities as always were cleanliness, peace and quiet and comfort comensurate with the price. The Astoria Executive scored top marks on all.

I was initially concerned to notice that the room I had been allocated was on the first floor, at the front of the hotel directly above the entrance. But the place was superbly soundproofed and this was simply not an issue. The bathroom was absolutely spotless and was kept that way by good cleaning staff. The room was single and was therefore small; the sun meant that the blinds were permanently down thus making it feel a bit smaller still but it was a cool air-conditioned oasis and a superb place to retreat to after days of exploring Florence and Venice.

The reception staff spoke very limited English but always did their best to help. One person seemed very straight-faced but I could not fault their efficiency.

The breakfast benefited from having good fresh fruit available including strawberries.

I was very impressed with this hotel and was glad that the main bulk of my short-break in June 2005 was based here. I would definitely go back and can confidently recommend it to others.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
turnerstravels2014 wrote a review Apr 2015
Oakville, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On a trip around the world I booked this hotel for a stop to see cheese factory. Was told that 2 adult booking with two small children, in a double room, Illegal? Wanted to make a cash grab there. Thought for a moment I was in Romania or Ukraine. Wifi was horrible and heard various excuses over two days, but told that wifi was essentially, a gift not an expectation at a hotel. When I asked to have a rebate was told, no. Several others complaining at the same time to no avail. Asked to speak to a manager in the morning and was told he was not there. As discussion continued, man in suit, (manager) came out. I love when staff lie to me. I finally gave up in frustration and upon leaving after breakfast, front desk clerk called me over again, to loudly school me on hotel policies. On two occasions explained to me that this was not "America". I explained twice that I was Canadian, not American, although he had copies of family's passports. A very disappointing visit as the people ruined what would have been a nice hotel stay. Arrogance that rivalled any French I have encountered this trip. Give this hotel a skip as there is better value elsewhere in this city. By the way, big dirty train station in the back of the hotel for awful view and loud rumbling. Televisions from the late '80s and carpeted walls in elevators that are as ancient as the hills. Two thumbs down, and my family knows. 8 months around the world; hotel every night, 5 continents, 70,000 kms, and the Astoria earns a spot in the bottom 10 hotels stayed in. Booooo!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
regshammy wrote a review Aug 2015
Budapest
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The main reason for us for choosing this hotel was the relatively low price as well as the good ratings. It was a dismal experience. First of all the hotel debited my credit card a day before check-in and even though I know they have this option, in my opinion it is very impolite to do. Either debit the card when booking or when checking out. The hotel is located near the train station, and whereas in many cities these are perfectly normal areas, in Parma it was a bit dodgy. If you are by car, there is a car park near via Palermo, which is relatively cheap. The room which we got was definitely not clean, and to make things worse we got bitten by either bed-bugs or a very large number of mosquitoes. Since we were touring the same region and in no other hotel did we experience that many mosquito bites (not even a fourth) during one night, these in fact might have been really bed-bugs, a horrid experience. Breakfast was OK, there is also wifi in the hotel which did not work.
All in all for the same price find an other hotel (Parma is relatively cheap) and forget this and its relatively good ratings.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PIU HOTELS P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Astoria
Responded 13 Aug 2015
Dear Guest We are very sorry you ha da so bad experience in our hotel. Regarding the payment, what you called impolite is just a payment policy you knew from the beginning. We are fully booked until the end of September and the payment in advance is an international standard. Regarding the cleanliness we are really sorry because this is considered ad one of our strenghts. Thank you again for your review. Elisa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vale C wrote a review Apr 2013
Milan, Italy
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been at the Astoria in March 2013 for business. I've picked the hotel for its central position, and actually the city center is at walking distance from the hotel (10 min).
The hotel is decent but the service is quite poor: the only way to park your car is in the hotel's garage (14 Euros/day). Wireless internet is available with a fee of 3 Euros/hr. One day I came back to my room in late afternoon and the room wasn't done. Moreover the rooms are quite small.

...I wasn't very happy with this hotel....
Read more
Date of stay: March 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
libie2 wrote a review Jun 2006
Northern California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I moved to the Astoria at the last minute while already in Parma, after a bad experience at a Residence in this city. The staff was more than ready to show me a room when I showed up there in desperation. I ended up staying a week. The hotel is clean and friendly, and the bed was comfortable (not a given as I had found out). My room (single) was very small, but had a desk and room to work on a computer if necessary (and the size is standard for such a city center). Even though the room looked directly over the train station, it was extremely quiet. Room temperature was controlled within each room, and apart from one blistering day when I accidentally left the curtains open, was cool and comfortable. The maid service was excellent, and even when I left the room late in the day the room was made up on my return. Breakfast is standard, but there was plenty of choice even for the gluten-free eater - it includes fruit, cereals, and meats as well as the usual baked products. The restaurant next door is an added bonus; it has good food and the staff were very sensitive in seating a single woman alone in a comfortable area. The only drawback to this hotel is the location next to the rail station - it was fine in the day but I wouldn't have felt safe after dark on my own in this area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2006
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacky H wrote a review Jun 2018
Rugby, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was adequate for our needs but just all seemed a bit dark and old. Was well placed for the town centre though and there were parking facilities which were chargeable by the hotel. Don't think I would like to stay here for more than a couple of nights
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PIU HOTELS P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Astoria
Responded 31 Jul 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for having reviewed our structure. We are currently under renovation and our rooms will be ammodernated soon since, during the 2019, we will become a 4 stars hotel. We hope to see you again and we wish you best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Derek S asked a question Oct 2016
Coventry, United Kingdom25 contributions6 helpful votes
Can I have the address of the apartment building
Answer from PIU HOTELS
Parma, Italy56 contributions
Dear host, we have got some different bulding for your booking: -1 the Residence Liberty in Piazza Salvo D'Acquisto - 2 the Residence Le Cupole in viale Mentana - 3 the Residence Cavour in via Cavour 16. We hope to be helpful for you. Best Regard PIU Hotels
Monica B asked a question Aug 2018
Cosenza, Italy37 contributions16 helpful votes
qual horario é servido o cafe da manha?
Answer from Anna A
Parma, Italy7 contributions
Non saprei, provi a chiamare o a vedere il sito
GlostilIdie wrote a tip Dec 2017
Stroud, United Kingdom291 contributions151 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Interestingly, although our room overlooked the railway station and tracks, there was little noise from passing trains."
Read full review
garywalshe2016 wrote a tip Dec 2017
Southampton, United Kingdom89 contributions47 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid room overlooking railway"
Read full review
Colin K wrote a tip Sept 2017
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom299 contributions167 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 119 was very noisy"
Read full review
Martin R wrote a tip Jan 2017
Strensall, United Kingdom88 contributions39 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"if you like to keep a window open ask for a room that does not face the noisy train track"
Read full review
Victor M wrote a tip Jul 2016
Swansea, United Kingdom49 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room overlooked the railway but the double windows did a good job."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Parma area.
PRICE RANGE
£91 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
astoria executive hotel parma, astoria executive parma
LOCATION
ItalyEmilia-RomagnaProvince of ParmaParma
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ASTORIA - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Astoria
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Astoria?
Nearby attractions include Camera di San Paolo (0.3 miles), Basilica di Santa Maria della Steccata (Madonna della Steccata) (0.3 miles), and Museo Bodoniano (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Astoria?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Astoria?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Astoria?
Yes, a parking garage is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Astoria?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizzium - Parma, Ritual - Ristorante Messicano & Steakhouse, and Salumeria Garibaldi.
Does Hotel Astoria have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Astoria offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Astoria located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Parma.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Astoria?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Astoria?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Astoria?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Museo Casa Natale Arturo Toscanini (0.5 miles), Palazzo della Pilotta (0.4 miles), and Storica Spezieria di San Giovanni (0.4 miles).
Is Hotel Astoria accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Parma HotelsParma Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ParmaHotels near Hotel Astoria
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire