We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Dragon And Thistles

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breuil-Cervinia
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Start your review of The Dragon And Thistles
 Click to rate
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great time her at The Dragon, we had an amazing english breakfast followed by by a wonderful dinner and some wine. After we came back from the slopes (that was amazing) we sat down in the pub for a pint and watched som football. The Hotell is a stonethrow away from the lift!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frholter
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The service my friends and I received at this Welsh/Scottish themed hotel in the Italian Alps was simply outstanding. From arrival to departure the genuine care and attention of everyone working there from kitchen to housekeeping to bar was second to none. Everyone was sincere in their interest of our holiday wellbeing, the facilities and in the attention they gave...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dokmaak
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Amazing stay. good for all the family. staff were very friendly. Amazing chef. adivise everyone to go!!! Rooms were very good size with an amazing view from the windows. Great fun aswell as a great stay

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kai B
Inghams_1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon And Thistles, responded to this review

Thank you 'Kai B' for your comments regarding your Inghams ski holiday. We're glad that you had an "amazing stay" and hope to welcome you again next year. The Inghams team

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

Just spent a week skiing and stayed with a large group of family and friends at the Dragon. It's well located near ski hire, lifts, ski school and it's a bar, so what more could one need. The Inghams team were excellent and the boys and girls running the Chalet side made our stay a pleasure. Anna particularly was brilliant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keister2015
Inghams_1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon And Thistles, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your Inghams holiday experience, 'keister2015'. It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your week with us, where you were well looked after by our excellent team. We hope to welcome you back next winter.

Northamptonshire
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

Very good skiing, resort renowned for being closed due to high winds. The Dragon is in a perfect position - but so old and dirty. 1. Mould and mildew behind bedside cabinets. 2. Horrendous mould in bathroom. 3. Room 8, how Inghams get away with selling this as a double room I'll never know. Only enough room for 1 person....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra3179
Inghams_1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon And Thistles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Sandra3179, which we understand is also the subject of a complaint being handled by our Guest Services team. It's disappointing that you felt that the Chalet Hotel Dragon did not meet your expectations, and we regret that you seemingly did not raise these concerns with the Hotel Manager while you were with us, as action...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Cervinia is one of the most stunning locations for skiing, a great place for beginners and intermediates alike. Get the international pass because skiing into Switzerland and exploring the Matterhorn on skis will be something I will remember forever. The Dragon Hotel is in an incredible location just metres from the first ski lift. However it is seriously lacking in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Eps89
Inghams_1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon And Thistles, responded to this review

Thank you Eps89, which seems to echo some of the issues raised by the previous reviewer, LcpUK. As the Chalet Hotel Dragon is a licensed property, we cannot permit guests to bring their own alcoholic beverages on to the premises for consumption, as the resort team endeavoured to explain. We regret if this caused any disappointment and marred your holiday...

London
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

Cervinia is a fantastic resort in terms of skiing, and the scenery is beautiful. We loved the fact you could get to Zermatt too for even more skiing options. It's just a shame that we were let down by Inghams and the hotel. Inghams were poor, and the in-resort rep was quite unhelpful. We had friends who hadn't skiied before...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank LcpUK
Inghams_1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon And Thistles, responded to this review

We're sorry to learn that you didn't enjoy all aspects of your recent holiday in the Chalet Hotel Dragon, LcpUK. Albeit not the most modern Chalet Hotel, it does have some degree of Austrian charm, and most guests do enjoy taking advantage of the property's popular après bar. Whilst the bar remains open late, the dining area closes after dinner...

Manchester
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Great food (exceptional) more of a Gourmet sophistication than any of the reviews mentioned previously. Anna and her team were exceptional in the restaurant and ran a very tight friendly ship for such a young team - A credit to Inghams - our parties age range varied from 30 to 65 and the staff treated all with friendliness and respect....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Paul C
Inghams_1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon And Thistles, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive review of your recent holiday experience at the Chalet Hotel Dragon, Paul C. It's great to hear that you had a great stay and were looked after well by the Inghams team, particularly Anna and Al, who will no doubt be delighted with your comments regarding the exceptional service that...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2016

stayed here 3 times before the fixtures are basic as usual but what a difference a change in management makes me and the boys feel like we are leaving close friends rather than hotel staff forget the other reviews if you want a quiet week away this is not for you want a ski and party come here tony and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank len j
Inghams_1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon And Thistles, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you had to leave your new-found friends in the Chalet Hotel Dragon, len j, and fully appreciate that it's easier to leave the hotel staff when you've not built great friendships with them. Tony, Anna and the team are doing a fantastic job and it's great to hear that you agree. We hope that we'll...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Very disappointing hotel. So much potential with perfect location, but needs some proper management. An ideal outside bar area which is not used as a bar, with broken heaters and chairs knocked over. The pub is British themed, serving largely British customers, so getting it completely wrong as I don't think anybody goes to Italy to experience a British pub....

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Joel08_13
Inghams_1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon And Thistles, responded to this review

It's disappointing that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Chalet Hotel Dragon, Joel08_13, and were not expecting a British-run establishment in an Italian resort, though this is exactly what Inghams promise in their Chalet Hotels and chalets, which differ from Inghams hotel partner properties. We've noted your comments regarding music and some aspects of the catering and will look...

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breuil-Cervinia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#15 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#10 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lyskamm
Hotel Lyskamm
#24 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Angel Hotel
White Angel Hotel
#20 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fosson
Hotel Fosson
#21 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baita Cretaz
Hotel Baita Cretaz
#7 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
The Dragon And Thistles
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about The Dragon And Thistles

Address: Via Bich Jean Baptiste 3, 11021 Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Breuil-Cervinia
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dragon And Thistles 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Dragon And Thistles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with view towards the piste, other side can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles frholter, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“room 1,3,4,6,7,9,10,12”
 of 5 bubbles kaib273, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Second floor may be quieter don't pay extra for Matterhorn view, if you crouched down in our room you could see it.”
 of 5 bubbles xtravelagent007, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles martinr62, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 720grs, 4 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5