Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Paganelli

Riva Dei Schiavoni Castello 4182, 30122 Venice Italy
Traveller (852)
camera "Unique Balcony Basin View"
Room & Suite (541)
Breakfast Room at the Hotel Paganelli
Dining (51)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£206
Get rewarded with One Key
£216
£187
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#137 of 361 hotels in Venice
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
With its excellent location in the city’s heart, close proximity to St. Mark’s Square and to many attractions, this traditional and elegant Hotel offers an ideal choice for leisure and business travel. Occupying a former convent it’s rich in history and modern amenities (including internet connection). Admire the stunning view from the pretty roof terrace and individual rooms,embrace the centrality of the hotel, using it as an ideal base for exploring this fascinating city.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Lagoon View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
1,331Review57Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 573
  • 555
  • 143
  • 33
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Zoe Wrigley wrote a review Oct 2020
16 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We made a spontaneous decision last Thursday night and flew out to Venice Friday morning for a long weekend a Hotel Paganelli. The location is fantastic the water bus and taxis drop you right outside and you can get anywhere you want from this stop. The rooms were nice and clean and I slept like a baby. Showers very nice and spacious, modern amd powerful. Staff were nice and we were offered breakfast in bed every day which I loved. Cafe Internazionale next door is great food and good value for money at lunch time with any meal being 10 euros. I would definitely stay here again. One word of advice keep your windows closed at night I didn’t and I was literally eaten alive by mozzies
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julian O wrote a review Apr 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned after a 4 night stay. Our room was nothing like the pictures. We were put in room the size of a shoe box at the back of reception, hardly enough room to swing a cat, as soon as we entered the room there appeared to be flying bugs/mosquito thing and a plug in bug killer on the side, the room was dark with only two windows overlooking the back yard. Steel mesh on the windows with no real means of escape as the mesh appeared fixed in place (good to report there was no fire). I asked when we checked in if we had a room with a view and told no, you weren't kidding. The guy on reception said we could have a better room for the night but had to move rooms in the morning as someone else wants the room. Being so close to reception we had the privilege of hearing everyone come and go at all hours and people sitting the other side of the wall which had a searing area. I couldn't count how many times the receptionist phone buzzed during the night with text messages. Wall were paper thin and we could even hear the people upstairs zipping and unzipping their suitcase. Breakfast was good, if not a little bit limited. The two ladies looking after the restaurant were very polite and friendly. The only issue we had was the toaster was useless. I put my bread through 6 times and it came out roughly the same could if not a little drier every time. I asked the lady if she could turn up the setting as the notice said "you are forbidden to touch the settings" she went to find someone from the kitchen. A lady of Asian decent appeared and was the rudest person going. Not only did she give the waitress a dressing down through no fault of her own but I was told in an aggressive Italian English "that's how it is, get over it!". Would I stay there again, or recommend it, no. The only thing it's got going for it is the location. Right on the front and only 5 minutes walk to the Doge Palace and St Marks Basilica. Used Tiqets to book fast track access to both locations, well worth the money and not having to queue for hours, brilliant app. We also booked both our water taxi transfered through them which very good value as the water taxi stopped right outside the hotel. Reception staff were hit and miss, some acknowledged you most others ignored you. I kept telling myself it's a city hotel, so poor service comes with the location, but I think I was just making excuses for poor customer service. On a positive Venice is despite out hotel, a beautiful city.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Tiqets was a great app to book airport transfers, places to visit. Very good value for money and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zozo66 wrote a review Feb 2020
United Kingdom24 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights, we stayed in room 301 and it had some really nice views. The room had tea & coffee facilities, the room itself was very clean and tidy. Location of the hotel was perfect right in the middle of everything. The breakfast was nice, you get juice, coffe, tea, croissants, cake, fruit, yogurt, scrambled egg and rolls. The boat drop off point is right outside the hotel so when you get it from the airport to the hotel it is very easy. We had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Direzione, Direttore generale at Hotel Paganelli
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Dear Shazza123456, thank you for writing us your feedback and for letting us know you were satisfied with your stay at Hotel Paganelli. We hope you will choose us again when you return to the wonderful Venice! Best regards, Hotel Paganelli
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracey A wrote a review Jan 2020
Wollongong, Australia41 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel's location was great for moving around Venice - either for water transport or walking. Our room was really clean and comfortable. We booked based on the other positive reviews on here and can't really add any more to what has already been said. I would recommend you stay here for your experience in Venice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelPaganelli, Proprietario at Hotel Paganelli
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear Tracey, thank you for reviewing us, we are glad to know you loved Hotel Paganelli and we look forward to welcoming you again in Venice! Best regards, Hotel Paganelli
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bronwen G wrote a review Apr 2023
London, United Kingdom109 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was so pleased with my choice of the Hotel Paganelli and have absolutely no complaints at all.

Top of the list has to go to location which is right on the waterfront at San Zaccaria with immediate access to all the ACTV water buses around the city and the Alilaguna boat to the airport. There are also gondolas and water taxis. It was great to be able to get off the boat from the airport with no sense of the geography and to be able to see our hotel in front of us!
As well as the transport, you are also very close to a raft of the big sights the city has to offer - only steps away from the Bridge of Sighs / St Mark's / Doge Palace etc.

We were fortunate to have a room at the back of the hotel so while you compromised on the view, it was very quiet at night. Our room had a fridge and a kettle and the wifi was the best I've ever come across in a hotel. One scan of a QR code and we automatically had a consistent service throughout our stay. Breakfast was fantastic and plentiful - cold meats and cheeses, cereal, fruit, pastries, croissants etc.
Staff were friendly and spoke good English.
There are loads of restaurants around the hotel and many of them include service and cover charges so you don't get any surprises when the bill comes.

If I were to return to Venice I would pick this hotel again and would recommend it without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Direzione, Proprietario at Hotel Paganelli
Responded 20 May 2023
Dear 464bg, Thank you very much for this wonderful review. I am delighted to know that you had a great stay with us and that you particularly enjoyed the breakfast, the location and the wifi. We are looking forward to welcoming you here again. Kind Regards, Veronica - Hotel Paganelli
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven322 wrote a review Jun 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom60 contributions72 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 4 nights at the end of May. The hotel was great. The room was small but the bed was comfortable, it was really clean and the shower was great, perfect after a long day out exploring the city. The staff were brilliant, helped with boat times and any tours. They organised a boat tour to Murano and Burano, which was great. The boat pick up was just outside the hotel and it was great value at €20, it lasted around 4.5hrs.
The breakfast that was included was also excellent. There was some fruit, yoghurts, cakes, bread, boiled and scrambled egg, cereal, croissants and fresh meats. Orange juice, tea, coffee and water on offer for drinks.
Should we visit Venice again, there’d be no choice other than the Paganelli. The airport boat stops right outside the hotel and it’s close to everything, the location is perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ole-Petter G wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent three nights at this hotel. The day of arrival we went down to reception and complained about our room being dirty. The shower was full of dirt, crumbs and hair underneath the bed and generally dusty all over. After complaining and giving them the opportunity to clean it again we came back finding dirty water lying in the shower and again, the floor was not cleaned. When we approached the staff with this for a second time we were told we were just lying and had to show him the room and dirt, to which he responded that it was rusty pipes and we had to accept some crumbs.

After arguing we were allowed to switch rooms the next day. The rest of the stay were met with poor service and a disgusting attitude from the hotel staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelPaganelli, Proprietario at Hotel Paganelli
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear Ole-Petter We’re sorry if your cleaning standards didn’t match your ones, but, regretfully, we have to point the fact that our cleaning procedure is always marked as spotless in any single review here and in other portals. Our housekeeping manager always check the quality of the rooms before let us doing any check in, and we never give to our guest a dirty room. Moreover, as the cleaning level wasn’t matching your standards, we’ve sent immediately our team to clean what was, for your point of view, dirty, and you were in the room showing to the team what was wrong. I really doubt that our staff, which is directly hired from the hotel and it’s working with us since 10 years, was so lazy to ignore your requests. When the housekeeper left the room, you’ve admitted that the room was ok for your standard. The next day, blaming again about the room you’ve booked, and that was “ok” 24 hours before, you requested another room. We’ve offered you a lagoon view room with an upgrade fee (which is standard procedure as the room price is, of course, higher than the one you’ve booked). Refusing the upgrade with payment, we’ve moved to the same category room, that you saw the night before. We’re sorry if your plan was blaming all these of kind of room type, pretending to have a free upgrade to a upper category, spotting new issues every time, despite we were working hard to make you happy. We find your behavior very disrespectful, especially against all the people who booked an higher category rooms and pay for its value.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
9320 wrote a review Mar 2022
Chorley, United Kingdom10 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect location, Manuel on reception was so lovely and helpful (Inter fan!) but all the staff were the same. Couldn’t do enough for us. Rooms cleaned daily and towels changed. We had a triple room which was certainly big enough with a great bathroom and shower. The bar next door was our ‘local’ again friendly staff and Aperols for €4! Water bus (Alilaguna) from the airport was €15 and drops you literally at the door of the hotel. We didn’t do the organised tour to the islands and the water bus to Burano is also from San Zaccheria, basically right outside the hotel. We ate mainly in the squares behind the hotel at night and found the front deserted by 10.30pm which helped for a good nights sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
denise r wrote a review Oct 2022
Warrington, United Kingdom30 contributions105 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Just had a 4 night stay with friends. The location of the hotel was perfect for us, boat stations just opposite and just minutes from St Marks square. The hotels position also had some great little bars, restaurants and shops just within a few minutes away.

The hotel itself is quite small . We had a superior double room with a tiny balcony but it was nice and quiet despite and it worked for us. However, the storage in our room was poor, no cupboard space and the wardrobe was tiny with very little hangers. The room was also a little too dark for me so some brighter lighting would enhance it greatly or brighter decor would lighten it up. I agree with the previous reviewer when they referred to it in need of a bit of DIY .

Breakfast was good, the breakfast staff was lovely, friendly and helpful. The addition of a toaster would make the breakfast perfect for us

The lady in the reception with the short dark hair was so efficient and helpful, always smiling, gave us tips and helped us with places to visit etc. However, I never found this with the some male receptionists (not all I must stress) I found some to be quite rude and sharp with their answers and reluctant to look up from the computer which is a pity because they are front of house.

Another disappointing factor was that at approx 20:30 the bar was not open and the restaurant to the hotel would not serve drinks unless you had booked a meal which surprised me as they did have bar stools that you could sit at. I am assuming it was because you had to have an evening there to receive a drink , a proper explanation from the restaurant front of house lady would have helped.

Overall, a few adjustments would have made our stay a perfect one but don’t get me wrong we enjoyed and would definitely return to Venice and maybe at the Paganelli .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Room Tip: We stayed in 205 in a peaceful spot at the back very quiet other than the sound of lovely church...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Direzione, Proprietario at Hotel Paganelli
Responded 27 Oct 2022
Dear Denise, Thank you very much for your feedback.We appreciate very much all your valuable suggestions. I am sorry you did not have a very good experience wth some members of our staff, i am very well aware that they are young, have a lot to learn and they are getting trained everyday to deliver the best service, however all of them have different personalities and need the time to work on it and fit it to the job. I am sorry you were disappointed that the bar was closed, we are a 3 star hotel and we do not have a 24h bar service, we are very lucky to have a place for our guests to enjoy drinks and food however there are some days that we need to close it early to allow our staff to rest. Moreover my colleagues at the reception are always happy to serve bottled drinks, such as beers, wines and soft drinks on their time off. At our Restaurant we usually work with reservations and most of the time we are fully booked so we do not do any kind of bar service in that location especially since we have another space dedicated to it in front of the lagoon as my colleagues at the restaurant explained to you properly on the spot. In regards to the stools we have them because we think they fit well with the environment and they might come in handy. I am very glad to know you enjoyed our location, we are very lucky to be located in such an amazing area. Once again i thank you for your feedback and i hope to see you again. Kind regards, Veronica - Hotel Paganelli
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorraine M wrote a review Mar 2024
Stockport, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Paganelli San Marco location is very close to the water transfer to/from the airport. Great base for exploring. Booked through Jet2 city breaks and paid for superior double….. nothing superior about the room!!! Cramped, small, dimly lit and unbearably hot (as with most Italian hotels no air-con in the winter months) just walking around the bed as risk of knocking yourself out on the large wall mounted TV. There were 2 compact wardrobes either side of the bed with limited hanging space in one wardrobe and missing the rail in the other! Queried room status with reception staff who confirmed they had two rooms that were on the smaller size but still a superior. Hotel is tired and in need of a refurbish but it’s clean, offers a nice breakfast and if you’re room is too hot open a window but make sure you use mosquito plug /spray (yes even in March) husband always a mossie feast!
Did it spoil our city break - no not at all, the whole point of a city break is to spend as little time in your room. Would we return to The Paganelli? Sadly no, even with an offer of a discount for our next stay 🙁 but we will for sure return to Venice.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Location is a plus but hotel tired and room disappointingly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Direzione, Proprietario at Hotel Paganelli
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear F5197YOlorrainem, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guests satisfaction very seriously and we are sorry to know that your stay left much to be desired. I am sorry that you found the room small, all the measurements are written in the description of the room at the time of booking. Our hotel has been refurbished many times, in particular the room you were staying was refurbished last year so it's quiet new. Maybe the style was just not of your taste since it is more on the classic side however at the time of booking you can see many pictures of the rooms to make it easier to understand how they look like, we offer as well the charming rooms which are slighlty bigger and more modern so maybe those were more aligned with your taste. Once again we tank you so much for your feedback. Kind Regards, Veronica - Hotel Paganelli
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Lynne Nursey
23 contributions5 helpful votes
Yes shower gel and shampoo are provided as well as a kettle. However, as they are the standard size as supplied in most hotels I prefer to bring my own travel size bottles myself.
Answer from Aharlow85
New York City, New York2 contributions4 helpful votes
Yes you can they are super understanding they will bring your luggage for you as well they are Awsome
Answer from Amy K
Saint Louis, Missouri144 contributions47 helpful votes
Yes, the hotel is modern enough, every room has it's own bathroom, and there are additional bathrooms in the hall.
gippa26 wrote a tip 8 Apr
Sunderland, United Kingdom66 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 104 is spacious although not a great view"
Read full review
Lorraine M wrote a tip Mar 2024
Stockport, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location is a plus but hotel tired and room disappointingly "
Read full review
TheGreatWhiteG wrote a tip Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia139 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no parking, but not an issue as no one drives!"
Read full review
hopeEngland wrote a tip Aug 2023
england20 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perfect location "
Read full review
LadyCDerby wrote a tip Aug 2023
Derby21 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Buy a 2 or 3 day travel ticket from the water taxi point outside the hotel for getting around cheaply and easily"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Venice area.
PRICE RANGE
£134 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
paganelli hotel venice
LOCATION
ItalyVenetoProvince of VeniceCity of VeniceVeniceCastello
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL PAGANELLI - Updated 2024 Reviews (Venice, Italy)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Paganelli
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Paganelli?
Nearby attractions include Doge's Palace (0.1 miles), Piazza San Marco (0.2 miles), and Basilica di San Marco (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Paganelli?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Paganelli?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Paganelli?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Paganelli?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gelateria Gallonetto, Osteria da Bubi, and Ai Do Leoni.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Paganelli?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Paganelli?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Doge's Palace (0.1 miles), Scuola Grande di San Rocco (0.8 miles), and Basilica dei Santi Giovanni e Paolo (San Zanipolo) (0.3 miles).
Does Hotel Paganelli have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Hotel Paganelli accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Venice HotelsVenice Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in VeniceHotels near Hotel Paganelli
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire