We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator Hostel Venice

Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Concierge
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel description
Generator VeniceSo you fancy a date with a suave Venetian? well you’ve come to the right place. I’ll make you feel right at home in this floating city of bridges and canals. I open my doors in June to the great and the good, so make sure you navigate your way here soon my little friend. I’m about to show hostels in Venice what a Renaissance really is. See you on my little Island of Giudecca, close enough to see it all happen, far enough to avoid the crowds. Just the way I like it. I am Generator hostel in Venice and I am much, much, much more than a hostel.
Save
Traveller (311)
Room & Suite (158)
Dining (68)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good38%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“main island”(71 reviews)
“bed dorm”(34 reviews)
“common room”(15 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Concierge
1 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,165)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
292
285
105
47
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
292
285
105
47
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain islandbed dormcommon roomday passgiudecca islandvaporetto passboat buscommon areasbuffet breakfastlounge areasan marcothird floorwater busesyour luggagetrain stationyogurtst marks square
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 762 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Very friendly staff and helpful. The hostel's design is really nice and in a great location. At the reception, the coffee that they serve is also good and the food in general is in good price. However, the room was no clean enough.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danaibat
Reviewed 1 week ago

Warning! Bed Bugs! I stayed here for 3 nights just last week and was bitten by bed bugs. No exaggeration: 30+ bites from neck to toe. I started to get itchy and noticed bites after the 2nd night. I transferred to another room and brought...More

Thank Roy K
Response from Fabio M, General Manager at Generator Hostel VeniceResponded 3 days ago

Dear Roy, the incident is not pleasant. Apologies. The management has tried to get hold of you, but failed. You will be contacted once again Regards Generator Venice Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great time here (the karaoke night was totally crazy), the staff was awesome espcially Adriano who always had a kind word (i miss your spritz already). i just returned home that i already want to come back :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank audreyvalette
Response from Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel VeniceResponded 1 week ago

Dear audreyvalette, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Venice in the near future. Kind regards Venice Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

Really good hostel for young travellers, especially backpackers. Clean, private space for your bed. Bathroom showers are small. Food and alcohol on site. Friendly staff. Great experience, would recommend!More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chrzang
Response from Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel VeniceResponded 1 week ago

Dear chrzang, Thank you very much for your stay with us. we are very happy to hear that enjoyed your stay with us so much, it is a pleasure to host guests like you. We hope you have the opportunity to return soon. Best wishes...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is in a great place away from the crowds in the main inland (But this means you have to pay the cost of water bus to get there: 7.5 euros one way). Very comfortable beds, great common area, easy to meet people. The...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mryfarzan
Response from Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel VeniceResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, It is great to see that you loved our Venice Hostel. We put a lot of effort to make it the best it could be. You are right, we are just 5 minutes away and a single way tickets costs 7.50 euros. However,...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Details
Price range
US$54 - US$440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$54 - US$440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (311)
Room & Suite (158)
Dining (68)
Amenities (8)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Nearby
Giudecca
Giudecca is a retreat for Venetians away from the
crowds. Symbolically, six metal teeth represent
Venice’s six sestieri (districts); the seventh,
Guidecca, points away from the others – part of
Dorsoduro, but separated by the Giudecca Canal.
Giudecca evolved from a center of shipyards and
factories to a quiet residential area with a
sprinkling of restaurants and bars. The majestic
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
joancody1
26 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Odessymitford | Reviewed this property |
The taxi is very expensive. But, read on. The bus system of Venice is known as the Volperetta. It's a boat system. Very efficient. You get 24 hour/48 hour/72 hour tickets for limitless travel. A very good deal. And you can... More
1
Vote
ElainaCardiff
21 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from srossi78 | Reviewed this property |
It is the best place for a solo traveller! easy to reach and find and you can look at Venice in a very particular way!
1
Vote
Google Translation
Room Tips
"If you have mobility issues ask not to be placed on the top floor which hasn't got access via the lift..."
Read review
"Get a top bunk if you're tall because you won't be able to sit up in the bottom bunk."
Read review
"ask to have room with view."
Read review
"San Giorgio tower is only 5 euros and has amazing views!!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing