We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Locanda Gaffaro

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Locanda Gaffaro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Locanda Gaffaro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 14 April 2016

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, I knew what to expect. We had a second-floor room that was not spacious, but adequate for two people. Breakfast is only served during a 90-minute window and if you can't make that window, you're out of luck. But it was a satisfactory continental...

Thank Ringnab
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Three of us spent two nights cramped into small loft whereby we could only stand upright in half the room space. The bathroom was tiny - we could not raise our arms to wash hair in the shower; we could not sit on toilet without knocking knees on bidet. Despite outside cold, we kept the window open all night because...

1Thank 5ContinentsTraveller
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Hotel only a 5 min walk from bus station and 10 min from train station. Located in a quiet location of Venice, it was easy to get to everything. Staff was helpful, breakfast was delicious and brought to our room every morning. Would definitely come back and would highly recommend this place.

Thank Theresa G
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 15 February 2016

This aint a hotel rather just a lodge or B&B. Its run by a local and do not have any traits of a hotel. Probably the guys doesnt even know what a hotel is. Its just an old building transformed into hotel with some minor structure changes. Room wasnt ready when we reached and no bell boy concept. We had...

3Thank Dapinder_Dhillon
north carolina
Reviewed 13 November 2015

This is not a hotel, it is a B&B. They do not have full time service in the building, and particularly not at night. There is essentially no service except checkin/out, room maintenance and breakfast. But I have no complaints of any serious level. I stayed 4 nights in October, 2015. The owner/manager is seldom to be found or seen,...

3Thank roadgard
gaffaro, Proprietario at Hotel Locanda Gaffaro, responded to this review
Google Translation

Grazie per la Sua recensione . Terremo presente le Sue considerazioni per migliorare il nostro servizio nei limiti di una...

Reviewed 14 October 2015

My husband and I recently visited Italy for our honeymoon. Due to a storm in the Mediterranean, we left Sardegna a day early and headed for the mainland. After a 10 hour ferry ride to the main land, we were welcomed to this hotel with the horrid smell of cigarettes and a grumpy owner named Peter. We had a long...

1Thank Courtney E
San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 October 2015

The hotel is 10 min walk from Plaza Roma, where you can take people mover to cruise terminal. I stayed in their best room: family room with belcony, excellent service and included breakfast. If hotel could use better bed, I will give it a perfect score.

Thank siwei7686
Half Moon Bay, California
Reviewed 10 September 2015

The hotel is in a good location, near the bus and train stations, yet in a quiet area. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. My only complaint is the mosquitoes. There was air-conditioning, but we didn't use it because the nights were cool.

1Thank luna f
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Rated this place based on 5 criteria Location - 4 stars -Close to the train station -more "local" neighbourhood than staying near St. Marco Square Breakfast - 3 stars -they'll make you Cappuccino if you order it -they have croissants -other food quality is ok -quantity is limited Room - 1 star -not sure about the other rooms, but we...

Thank Shaheen G
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

The room was spacious and more than fit for two along with the on suite. There was a little noise at night as we were by the main entrance but nothing major and we did book fairly last minute. The breakfast was lovely with croissants, a hot drink, yogurt, spreads and plenty of fresh rolls. Advice I would give other...

1Thank Sarah F

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (54)
Room/Suite (14)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Bathroom (4)
Dining (7)
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (5)
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Malcanton
Hotel Al Malcanton
#213 of 386 in Venice
129 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#223 of 386 in Venice
163 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Falier
Hotel Falier
#207 of 386 in Venice
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#214 of 386 in Venice
242 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#110 of 386 in Venice
818 reviews
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#171 of 386 in Venice
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Croce

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Croce
Santa Croce gained importance as a sestiere (district) when Piazzale Roma was created in the 1930s to bring cars and buses close to the center of Venice. Constitution Bridge spans the Grand Canal linking Piazzale Roma to the train station. This area buzzes with energy from travelers and students. Historic palaces and former industrial buildings house some departments of Ca' Foscari and IUAV Architecture universities. On the Fondaco dei Turchi, Venice's Museum of Natural History offers Venetians prehistoric thrills, plus an overview of lagoon fish and wildlife. The Grand Canal, northern boundary of Santa Croce, is lined with palaces and decorated by the tall green dome of San Simeon Piccolo. Ca' Pesaro attracts Venetians to its contemporary art exhibitions. The Grand Canal exposes only one face of these buildings. On the opposite side, the palace often interacts with a square or a busy street to represent its neighbourhood identity.
Explore this neighbourhood


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Gaffaro

Address: Corte del Gallo Dorsoduro 3589, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Price Range: £100 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Locanda Gaffaro 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Locanda Gaffaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Gaffaro Hotel
Locanda Gaffaro Venice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Locanda Gaffaro staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Locanda Gaffaro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not accept rooms on the third floor, they are unsafe.”
722billl, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Finding this hotel is a challenge due to lack of signs and the address, it is easier to find and enter 3587 Dorsoduro”
drjay81, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Great location”
456theresag, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Not even a single good room.”
Dapinder_Dhillon, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“No differences noticed.”
roadgard, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates