We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Astoria -TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hotel Astoria -TEMPORARILY CLOSED
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 20 October 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gg2015105
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BeadyLady
Reviewed 5 October 2015

My wife and I choose this hotel because the price was right for Venice. But then we learned why after being attacked by bed bugs after being in the room for only 5 minutes. Unfortunately it was too late at night to make a reservation anywhere else, so we were forced to stay there and were attacked by more bed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steven W
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Very simple and cheap hotel, great location. Friendly and helpful staff, the room was very basic, no AC or hairdryer and the WiFi didn't reach up to our third floor room but it was very cheap so these kind of things are expected! If you're the type of person to spend very little time actually in the hotel, this is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RickHug
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Well located - very close to the water buses and San Marco square and all major attractions like Doge's palace and museums. Cleanliness is a negative. To start with the hotel was DIRTY and a lot of dust in the room. Air Con didnt work but we managed (two small fans which looked like exhausts) since the weather was quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthi .
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

Staying in this hotel made me and my family feel like living in a squatter or a slum area! It's very very filthy! Bathroom, fridge, beds basin are all dirty. Bed has plenty of bed mites that when we woke up the next morning from our first stay, we all got bitten. Rats were playin' around the hotel entrance. They...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BreezynButch
HotelAstoriaVenice, General Manager at Hotel Astoria -TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are sorry to read about your disappointment about your recent stay. We'd like to encourage you to contact us as soon as possible in order to inquire about the issue you had with bed bugs. A recent bug problem has been reported by another guest in room 204 , but we found out that was not true...

Manila
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

When I first went in January it was all aright, but when I visited again just yesterday, it was terrible. The breakfast was cheap but terrible. No hot stuff available (except for drinks)! The sleeping is the worst thing. I haven't slept so bad ever in my life. Got bit by so many mosquitoes. Killed over 10 mosquitoes. Try to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GlobeTrotterManila
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

WARNING: DO NOT STAY HERE. Me and my girlfriend stayed at astoria in the beginning of august 2015 at room 204. The good things were: - (semi-)friendly staff - central location The bad things were: - black mold in the bathroom - no airconditioning. - blood stains on the sheets (due to bed bugs) The reason why you should absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DGtjs
HotelAstoriaVenice, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Astoria -TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are really sorry to read your disappointment about your recent stay in our property. We collected all your complains and have them solved in order that those issues will not happen again in the future. Our customers satisfaction is our first priority. We've been alarmed by your declarations about the bed bugs in room 204. We inquired...

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Do not be that stupid by staying here..They sell hotel becouse of closeness to the Square in exchange for misbehaving and threating you. They love to ruin your Holiday..This is their job..do not even walk around it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kutay B
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

We payed for a tripple room, we had a double room. There was no AC, even though the night temperatures reached 32 degrees. We had the room an hour too late, just to find out, the room hadn't been cleaned at all. There was even a used towel hanging in the window. The breakfeast was awful - cheap though. To...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas T

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#204 of 385 in Venice
377 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#55 of 385 in Venice
1,632 reviews
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#268 of 385 in Venice
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#74 of 385 in Venice
342 reviews
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#172 of 385 in Venice
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Marco

Neighbourhood Profile
San Marco
The most famous sestiere (district) in Venice has one of the world's most famous squares, St. Mark's (Piazza San Marco). Anchored on one end by the basilica, clustered around it are restaurants, museums, shops, orchestras playing in the square, pigeons, the grand pink Doge’s Palace (Palazzo Ducale), the soaring campanile bell tower, an astrological clock tower, plus gorgeous cafes and restaurants like Florian and Quadri. Piazza San Marco is beloved by Venetians themselves. They book a table anytime, which offers a buffer from the fray. This grand outdoor drawing room attracts Venetians for a stroll too, especially late in the afternoon when the hoards of daytrippers thin out. It's simply a grand place to meet.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria -TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Address: Calle Fiubera San Marco 951, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Price Range: £38 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astoria -TEMPORARILY CLOSED 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Astoria -TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Venice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Astoria -TEMPORARILY CLOSED staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Astoria -TEMPORARILY CLOSED staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a moscquito plug in to prevent getting bitten.”
 of 5 bubbles BeadyLady, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Rooms need to be clean and free of dust. Broken furniture and linen in the room needs to be clean.”
 of 5 bubbles 549arthi, 27 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Book a family room - great value for money”
 of 5 bubbles CeesF, 4 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Bring disinfectant wipes.”
 of 5 bubbles 647annaa, 19 Sep 2013 | Read review
“room 209 had trouble with shower draining aswell as mold throughout the room if they stick you with this gem please advise them your allergic to mold and will have an allergy attack as i did”
 of 5 bubbles bookubread, 30 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay