We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Al Giardino dell'Alloro

Vicolo San Carlo 8, 90133, Palermo, Sicily Italy
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#115 of 457 B&Bs in Palermo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in the historical centre of the city, inside the quarter of the Kalsa, just opposite Villa dell’Alloro, in the rooms and the communal spaces you will find paintings, photographs of contemporary Sicilian artists. Our house is on the first floor without a lift and all the rooms have a well-equipped kitchen available for organizing breakfast or a quick lunch. Our guests will also have the opportunity to enjoy a private, silent and fragrant garden where they can read a book, listen to music, work on the computer or simply stay in the company of our fantastic and loving cats Tommy and Skizzy.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
215Reviews0Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 107
  • 69
  • 15
  • 14
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
TheTours wrote a review Jul 2019
Sheffield, United Kingdom25 contributions31 helpful votes
Having read a review in The Guardian for Al Giardino, we were so impressed we cancelled our original accommodation booked in Palermo and contacted Donatella directly and confirmed our booking on 20/3/19. When we arrived at Al Giardino on 6/7/19 and buzzed to be let in, she said she had her mother staying with her and had no record of our booking and cut me off on the intercom! Panic stricken, I got our iPad and pulled up the email trail as she would not answer the intercom again but I found a record of the phone number so called and was put through to an answerphone. I left a message advising her how unprofessional this was and quoted the dates of all our emails and that I would take this further. I continued to press the buzzer and she returned saying that she was arranging for someone to come to see if he could help us from another B&B. Luckily Giusseppe from Harmony B&B was amazing and sorted us an apartment out or this could have completely ruined our family holiday. I understand that Donatella may have had something crop up in her personal life but when you run a business, the least she should have done was to either email or phone us to advise before we actually arrived on her doorstep. Wouldn't risk staying with someone so unprofessional.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donatella P, Proprietario at Al Giardino dell'Alloro
Responded 25 Jul 2019
Unfortunately, my mother had been hospitalized in an emergency hospital and I had no time to advise you of this incident. You anyway had an accomodation in another apartment, thanks to my friend giuseppe. I understand that you were on vacation, but unfortunately sometimes special situations occur that in a family and non-business management lead to misunderstandings. I apologize for the inconvenience , which I believe, however, to have compensated with the accommodation I gave you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
susieibbo wrote a review May 2019
Wallingford, United Kingdom11 contributions9 helpful votes
We were a group of 3 couples, having booked 9 months previously. Arrived at 9 pm from the airport to be told they didn’t have the 3 double rooms as they were decorating. We were given 2 apartments - one for two a walk away and another for 4 nearer but it was a family room with a very uncomfortable sofa bed in the sitting room. Access to the bathroom was through the sitting room. Breakfast was very inadequate basically self catering, not in the ‘lovely courtyard’ No service. No warning of this was given. A discount was offered which did not compensate for the experience. Card machine broke down so only took cash. Too big a party to find somewhere else. Extremely disappointing. We can not recommend. I only give positive reviews usually but on this occasion I felt compelled to write this.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donatella P, Proprietario at Al Giardino dell'Alloro
Responded 5 Jun 2019
Dear Sir, unfortunately we could not accommodate you in our house because we had a part of the apartment that had flooded the night before and we took care of settling in another apartment all for you. Breakfast was not included in the price and in any case we did find the same as for the first breakfast in the kitchen (milk, tea, coffee, jams, butter, water). We made a discount on the price by not paying you one night for the inconvenience created and anyway you could say it immediately after the 1st night that the accommodation was not to your liking and we would have looked for another accommodation instead of staying 3 nights with us. The garden was accessible, as you were told, and you were given the keys to use it. I'm sorry about this unpleasant misunderstanding, I would have preferred to look for another solution with you from the first night.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lilywall wrote a review Mar 2019
London, United Kingdom215 contributions111 helpful votes
We stayed here in February when Palermo has few tourists. Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly and made sure we were warm and comfortable and had everything we needed. They also recommended good local restaurants and organised transport to the airport, Our family room(s) were spacious and the shower room was good. We had a Nespresso coffee machine and a kettle and could have cooked in the room had we wanted to - several small family food shops and a decent baker were close by. We can see why a good friend recommended this place to us - we would certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Worth going for the family room upgrade
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ted L. wrote a review Feb 2019
6 contributions
Al Giardino is in the perfect place to stay in Palermo. From this little hide-away, you can easily walk to almost any point in the center of the old city. Even better, within 50 m of the door is a free shuttle that can spare you the energy of walking to central Palermo sites, so you can walk around at your destination. The B&B is also quite attractive, functional, clean and has a staff willing to help in any way. They even saved us from being fined for driving in a center city toll zone. Comfortable accommodations and a friendly cat make you feel right at home. There are several good restaurants within a 10 minute walk.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Andrea D wrote a review Oct 2018
Tampa, Florida98 contributions36 helpful votes
The location is excellent, close to everything in the historic old district and many good restaurants. The young man who works there is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good with plenty of choices. The downside was the musty room, not a good place for those with allergies or sensitivities to odours.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BoehmBawerk wrote a review Sept 2018
Oxford, United Kingdom148 contributions103 helpful votes
Lots to like - a great location in La Kalsa just off Via Alloro, easy walking distance from the train station, two friendly cats, a degree of character in the room including works from local artists and, above all, excellent service from Murali, the Sri Lankan born concierge. Cleaning was also carried out very quickly and efficiently (Palermo is a tricky city to remain fragrant in) and the fruit at breakfast was enjoyable. Downsides are few although we might have wished for fresh bread at breakfast and prices are perhaps on the high side.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Adam H wrote a review Sept 2018
London, United Kingdom16 contributions7 helpful votes
Stayed here for two nights. Had a large double room, was very clean. Staff were super friendly and helpful. A/C worked perfectly Located a short walk, 5 or so mins, from the centre of Palermo and the train station. I would definitely consider staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wendy P wrote a review Jun 2018
London, United Kingdom5 contributions
We enjoyed our stay at Al Giardino dell'Alloro very much. Our room was spacious, clean and well equipped. Murali was very helpful and friendly and served a good breakfast on the peaceful verdant terrace.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We had a first floor accommodation which was actually two rooms and we appreciated the space.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from skizzina, Proprietario at Al Giardino dell'Alloro
Responded 22 Jun 2018
Thank you very much. We are still waiting for you for a new visit to our city. The staff of Al Giardino dell'Alloro
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David O wrote a review Oct 2017
18 contributions18 helpful votes
We spent three nights in Al Giardino, while we explored the delights of Palermo. The b&b is very stylish and comfortable, with spacious accommodation. It is located in a quiet part of the old town, within easy reach of all the key sights. A free bus that regularly circulates the city stops in the lane just outside - so convenient! We would like to thank Donnatella and her very friendly assistant for their warm welcome and helpful suggestions about where to eat etc. Altogether a highly recommended place to stay. Ps forgot to mention the substantial breakfast, which we took in the attractive inner courtyard. A very pleasant way to start the day!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
372richard wrote a review May 2017
Southampton, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
Location is excellent, right on the free centro storico bus route which takes you to all the places of interest. Breakfast was good. Had good recommendations for local restaurants. We had two rooms interlinking.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donatella P, Proprietario at Al Giardino dell'Alloro
Responded 2 May 2017
Dear Guests, thank you very much for your appreciations. I hope to host you again in another occasion. See you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Palermo area.
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of PalermoPalermoTribunali
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AL GIARDINO DELL'ALLORO - B&B Reviews, Photos (Palermo, Italy)

Frequently Asked Questions about Al Giardino dell'Alloro
Which popular attractions are close to Al Giardino dell'Alloro?
Nearby attractions include Goccio - L'Arte del Miscelare (0.2 miles), Museum of tiles Stanze al Genio (0.2 miles), and Affresco del Trionfo della morte (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Al Giardino dell'Alloro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Al Giardino dell'Alloro?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Al Giardino dell'Alloro?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Al Giardino dell'Alloro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cinematocasa Bistrot, Divino in gusto alla Magione, and Madonieat.
Are any cleaning services offered at Al Giardino dell'Alloro?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Al Giardino dell'Alloro?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Al Giardino dell'Alloro?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Al Giardino dell'Alloro?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palazzo Drago Airoldi di Santa Colomba (0.5 miles), Oratorio di Santa Cita (0.5 miles), and Palazzo Steri - Chiaromonte - Carcere dei penitenziati (0.2 miles).