We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Gran Cancelliere B&B

Via del Celso 49, 90134, Palermo, Sicily Italy
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#210 of 457 B&Bs in Palermo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Check-in: rooms are available after 01:00 p.M. Always on appointment. Guests are kindly requested to communicate the estimated time of arrival in advance and send an sms or call in case of delay. Luggage can be left in the B&B before check-in time, always on appointment. Check-out: by 11:00 a.M. If needed, luggage can be left in the short lets and picked up later. City tax are not icluded in the total price. Euro 1,50 to person for night.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Room service
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Romantic
62Reviews0Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Rebecca H wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Stayed with a group of friends for my bday weekend and the apartment was perfect and everything we needed! Very stylish and clean apartment. Silvia was very helpful and great with communication, she even accommodated us by allowing us late check out. The little touches in the apartment were great too, like the coffee machine, travel adapters, biscotti and cold water, milk and fruit in the fridge, really appreciated the little touches. Location is perfect too, right in central Palermo. Only thing was the street was quite noisy at night for sleeping. However would 100% stay again. Thanks Silvia :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Silvia Curcio, Owner at Gran Cancelliere B&B
Responded 31 May 2022
Thank you very much for choosing us dear Rebecca, for me it was a pleasure to have you as a guests
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
D L wrote a review May 2022
Bonn7 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked the hotel over booking.com, had it confirmed for several but the hotel cancelled on short notice and never replied to any messages or calls. Supposedly, because our credit card weren’t valid - in fact we use this card multiple times every day (also for booling hotdl and rental cars) so this cant be the true case. We rather assume that the hotel wanted to make more money (we booked well in advance for good deal and the prices have significantly risen since then) and therefore cancelled. In tripadvisor other travellers commented on similar experiences. Highly recommended to stay away from this scam!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Silvia Curcio, Owner at Gran Cancelliere B&B
Responded 20 May 2022
Dear guest Two reservation from the same person, how can I have 2 different reservation for the same day? I write the same answer You do a not refundable reservation and for many times we try to use your card but doesn’t work. I ask you to pay by bank transfer but you want to pay by cash at your arrival, I tell you many times that the credit card for us it is a guarantee in case of any damage, and that the payment and that the payment is refundable must be made immediately, but you immediately threatened me to make so many negative reviews. yes, in our b&b you can not stay if you do not have a valid credit card and if you do not pay a refundable booking. thank you for communicating it, we accept only non-fraudulent reservations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chh wrote a review Jul 2019
9 contributions1 helpful vote
we stayed there for 2 nights! the location is perfect 5 min walk to the main street attraction.the manager Silvia is very helpful she made our stay very pleasant and easy. the place is super clean and comfortable. also, she offered us a good breakfast at a shop nearby:) highly recommend thank you, Silvia,
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
pale81 wrote a review Nov 2018
Barcelona, Spain694 contributions231 helpful votes
Excellent location, walking distance from everywhere in Palermo. Great breakfast, fresh croissants. Sylvia was a very good hostess, with great tips and how to get around the city. good tips for local restaurants. We had a delightful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lily_lashes42 wrote a review Jan 2018
11 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
This b&b is right in the centre of Palermo just a 5 minute walk to Tietro Massimo ( opera house ) 10 minutes from the cathedral and 2 minutes from lots of shops and restaurants, we could not have wished for a better location for our 48 hours here. Silvia was an excellent hostess, so helpful and welcoming from the minute we enquired about booking. Her rooms are spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. She recommended some great places to eat and the must see places to visit. Mille grazie Silvia, we will recommend you to anyone visiting beautiful Palermo x
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JamesQManchester wrote a review Jul 2016
Cartmel, United Kingdom23 contributions3 helpful votes
We had a great short stay at the Gran Cancelliere. The hotel itself was perfect with comfort beds and situated centrally to all major city landmarks. We rang ahead and given directions so it was easy to find. The breakfasts were the best we had in Italy during our short tour which included expensive 4* hotels. However what really made this a great place was the reception and general service provided by Silvia. She gave us great tips on where to visit and restaurants to eat at and the recommendations were invaluable. Would certainly recommend to anyone who is having a short stay in Palermo.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ceyhun y wrote a review Oct 2015
Izmir, Türkiye12 contributions7 helpful votes
the hotel is in agreat location and owner lady (sorry I forgot her name) was really helpful, she gave us very good restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was very good. We totally recommend Gran Cancelliere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: good location, helpful staff
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Janine L wrote a review Sept 2015
5 contributions1 helpful vote
This B&B is simple stunning. It's has modern furnishing, and is beautifully decorated. With only 3 rooms is the smallest I've ever stayed in, but don't be turned off, it was a magnificent stay. It definitely had the personal touch! It is extremely central, air con, perfectly working wifi. It's a nice touch getting little biscottis in the room. The hostess was extremely friendly and helpful, she came around every morning and made us a delicious breakfast and would give us recommendation of where to eat. It near enough felt like we rented the apartment as we were the only people staying there for the first 2 nights. It was simply great. If we return to Palermo, we would without a doubt stay here again. Thanks for your great hospitality
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SFVoyageur wrote a review Jul 2015
60 contributions10 helpful votes
The B&B is a beautiful, newly renovated, apartment in a secure building in the heart of Palermo. The beds are extremely comfortable as is the entire apartment. There are just two guest rooms, one with an ensuite bath; the other has the bath immediately across the hall. There is also a seating area which adjoins the two-table breakfast room. We found the photos on the site to be accurate. The B&B is owned by a charming family who provided top notch service in all respects. I made contact via "What's App" and responses to questions or issues was always prompt. Breakfast is lovely, with hot food carefully prepared each morning by Silvia or her mother. But, look out because you will gain weight on the delightful local pastries! The B&B is perfectly located in the center of the historic district. It is just a block or so away from the main street, Victor Emmanuelle, where many of the main historic sites are located. And, it is a short walk down a well-lit alley of steps to "Frida Pizzeria" which has a well-deserved reputation as the best pizza in Palermo. We loved our 4 days in Palermo and were delighted with Gran Cancelliere.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There can be traffic on the street just outside the bedrooms, but earplugs worked for us.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bill G wrote a review Nov 2014
Brattleboro, Vermont3 contributions1 helpful vote
When we arrived, there was no sign on door or way to know how to buzz to get in. Owners don't live there, so arrange your arrival time in advance and hope you can figure out how to buzz in. We had to ask to borrow a stranger's cellphone to call the owner's daughter to let us in when we were at the door. Taxi driver was helpful and stood around until it was all settled. The room was small, but decent and modern. A nice bathroom was across the hall from our room, so it could be a bit awkward even though you don't share. There is a fan, but no air-conditioning and it was a bit too warm in Oct. at night. The room is a few feet from the road and it was extremely noisy. I found 3 little bugs in my bed on the third and last night. That ruined a good night's sleep. Looked ominously like bed bugs to me and I was up half the night checking. One of the other guests had bite marks all over her lower legs, but who knows if that was related. We informed the owners of the problem and showed them one of the bugs I had killed. I'm sure they intended to resolve the issue properly although they made up some lame excuse about bugs flying in through the window (these bugs had no wings). Owners were there only on the weekend and they made a good breakfast. Their daughter, Silvia, is there during the week. They were very helpful in answering our sightseeing questions and the owner drove us to the bus station, which was very nice, but I would have preferred some offer of compensation for the sleep lost.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2014
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Silvia2187, Proprietario at Gran Cancelliere B&B
Responded 23 Nov 2014
Sono molto rammaricata nell'aver appreso il disappunto dei miei ospiti ma nello stesso tempo mi sento in dovere di tutelare la verità rispondendo a questa recensione. Il mio B&b è situato in un palazzo storico , multi centenario , protetto dalla Soprintendenza dei Beni Culturali di Palermo quindi mi è vietata l'affissione di una targa, tuttavia è molto semplice notare la presenza del citofono digitale che con la sola pressione di due tasti (!!!) mostra i nomi delle persone che risiedono all'interno del palazzo, e di conseguenza anche del mio B&B. I signori non avevano bisogno di un cartello o di chiamare al telefono bastava semplicemente ricordare di aver prenotato in un B&b e non in un albergo e quindi citofonare. Per quanto riguarda il problema degli insetti; la mia struttura è nuova, dotata di zanzariere in ogni finestra, nessun insetto può entrare se non portato dall'esterno. I signori il giorno della loro partenza al momento del pagamento mi hanno chiesto uno sconto sul prezzo del soggiorno come indennizzo per una notte insonne causata da un moscerino. Al momento in cui ho chiesto all'ospite di vedere quali fossero questi moscerini,quello che ho visto sul letto ; erano semplicemente dei pallini di cotone generati dai loro maglioni di colore blu. Peraltro le persone che erano ospiti in quei giorni, le stesse che il signore accusa di essere state morse ,sono rimaste tutt'altro che insoddisfatte e tutto ciò è dimostrato dalle recensioni che loro stessi hanno pubblicato. Sono veramente dispiaciuta che tutto il lavoro reso per rendere gradevole il soggiorno di questi ospiti siano stato vano . Sarà tenuta in considerazione questa recensione, come tutte le altre ,nei limiti delle opinioni non tendenziose.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Palermo area.
PRICE RANGE
£158 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of PalermoPalermo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAN CANCELLIERE B&B - Updated 2024 Prices (Palermo, Italy)

Frequently Asked Questions about Gran Cancelliere B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Gran Cancelliere B&B?
Nearby attractions include Palazzo Conte Federico (0.3 miles), Palazzo Drago Airoldi di Santa Colomba (0.1 miles), and Chiesa Del Gesu (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gran Cancelliere B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and room service.
What food & drink options are available at Gran Cancelliere B&B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Gran Cancelliere B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cinematocasa Bistrot, Biga Genio e Farina, and Dolce Capo.
Are there any historical sites close to Gran Cancelliere B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palazzo Drago Airoldi di Santa Colomba (0.1 miles), Oratorio di Santa Cita (0.4 miles), and Palazzo Steri - Chiaromonte - Carcere dei penitenziati (0.6 miles).
Is Gran Cancelliere B&B accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.