We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Villa Riis

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Villa Riis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2016

This hotel is overpriced and doesn't deliver what it says in it's the advertising. There was no hot water on the first day. The hot water tap had to be left on for 30 minutes before you could shower that was only available in the mornings. We were looking forward to using the swimming pool but told we could not... More 

Helpful?
Thank thedeansinternet
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I originally posted a harsh review but had it removed when fault was rectified. Well I can tell you I shoould have left it up. I feel sorry for the staff because theyy are the frontline and management is hiding behind them. Should four star hotels have peeling wallpaper, dirty ceilings, squashed mosquitoes on the wall, wifi only in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gordon S

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

The benefits of this hotel is that it's right in the centre of Taormina as well as the helpful staff. If I'm not mistaken her name is Claudia ! She is extremely hard working and dedicated to her job. She helped us with everything and anything that we needed. The downside to this hotel are the rooms...now to be fair... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The hotel is situated 50 meters far from one of the two main gates of Taormina historical center (that's basically a 1km street called "Corso Umberto" that branchs off in some other smaller alley), but in the same time it's built on a cliff so you have full open view of whole Taormina sea bay on the other side. Internal... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrWoland
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2016

New Rooms with perfekt aircondition. Tasteful. 4 points. With plus. Breakfast 3 points, could be more offers. Service very good and friendly, familiar athmosphete. Thanks to Claudia. The pool very fresh. And quiet. The Garden needs à bit of gardering but it Will be fixed I suppose. Thanks// Helena von Elern & Gun Sandstedt August 2016

Helpful?
Thank helenavonelern
Kenneth City, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

As much as I wanted to enjoy our stay here, we could not, as we gad NO HOT WATER! 2 triple deluxe rooms and one double, 8 family members all together, we had to all take very cold showers. Complaints to management was met with run the water for 10 minutes!explained we ran water for 30 minutes and still no... More 

Helpful?
Thank iacopelli
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

The manager of this place is a living ad for Airbnb. I'm a pretty easy hotel customer and I seldom complain. But I really feel this time was too much to let it go, and that the troubles my girlfriend and I went through are there to stay. We spent 3 nights there. The hotel must've been a beauty 20... More 

Helpful?
Thank AntoineHague
hotelvillariis, Direttore at Hotel Villa Riis, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Hague, we are sorry if you are unsatisfied, but our price are right in line with all other hotels in the area so our intention is not to rob the customers, rather to make their stay as pleasant as possible. Our parking fee is no secret in fact it is one of the first things that our receptionists... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2016

This cannot be classed as a hotel. Under no circumstances would I ever stay there again. Having booked a week's accommodation I moved out after one night (manager woudl not refund any of the money I paid) as the room was filthy, an antiquated odour, broken furniture, broken aircon, bathroom outdated (no toilet paper), no internet access in bedroom, no... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Annie B
hotelvillariis, Direttore at Hotel Villa Riis, responded to this review

Kind Madame, we think that you have been in another stucture because in that period our hotel was closed. We invite you to search the correct hotel. Kind regards Hotel Villa Riis More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week and loved every second! We read mixed reviews on Tripadvisor but thought we'd give it a go as the decor looked amazing! On arrival, we were upgraded to an incredible corner balcony room and went straight to the pool to relax after our flight! The hotel is just a 1 minute... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2015

I really wanted to like this place because the views are amazing - but I really hated it. Stayed just 2 days and then had to move to another hotel. The place was very old and rundown and our room smelled very bad.

Helpful?
1 Thank joannc887

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.0 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#28 of 88 in Taormina
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#59 of 88 in Taormina
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#68 of 88 in Taormina
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Sirina
Hotel Villa Sirina
#26 of 88 in Taormina
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Piccolo Giardino
Il Piccolo Giardino
#40 of 88 in Taormina
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
#62 of 88 in Taormina
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Vill Riis is a 4 - star , Baroque style hotel in the real centre on Taormina, only 10 meters from the main avenue Corso Umberto. All rooms are facing the Golf of Taormina and the lovely, always green park and on the right one can enjoy the view of the Mount Etna. Clients can enjoy an amazing sunset on the hotel's terrace while taking a sip of the local wines and listening the relaxing music.During the hot days our clients can refresh themselves in the outdoor swimming pool or they can simply relax by the pool or in the pool-bar. For the lovers of active holidays there is a tennis court which is surrounded by the trees and so offers a refreshing shadow while one is playing. Hotel Villa Riis collaborates with the City of Taormina and the Taormina Art so we are always informed about what is going on in Taormina and we keep informed also our clients by apdating our web site each day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Riis

Address: Via Don Pietro Rizzo 13, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Price Range: £141 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Riis 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Villa Riis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riis Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Riis Taormina, Sicily
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Villa Riis staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Villa Riis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea views are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles thedeansinternet, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Better to sleep on the street”
 of 5 bubbles 432annieb, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Don't even think about staying here”
 of 5 bubbles m2cue, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
“I think most if not all rooms has sea views, ours on the top floor has a fantastic view of the sea and Mount Etna”
 of 5 bubbles louisap784, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Corner suite with balcony is the only choice”
 of 5 bubbles SusannahMc, 1 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay