We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Piccolo Principe B&B

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Piccolo Principe Bed and Breakfast is an independent house located in one of the most prestigious areas of Florence: the city center - with the most important museums and monuments - can be reached in just 15 minutes walk and the Fortezza da Basso and Palazzo dei Congressi, the two major exhibitions and conferences centres, are only 10 minutes by bus.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Airport Transportation
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Trendy
Location
Full view
90Good for walkers
Grade: 90 out of 100
24Restaurantswithin 0.25 miles
7Attractionswithin 0.25 miles
Neighbourhood
San Marco
The pleasant atmosphere of this residential area, a stone’s throw away from the Duomo of Florence, surprises everyone. A continuous flow of backpacking students provides the tranquil surroundings for the elderly residents who sit in Piazza San Marco to read the daily newspaper. Home to several universities, including the Academy of Fine Arts, San Marco is one of the most vibrant cultural centers in the city. A bridge connecting the modern cultural activity of Florence to its classic art, represented by the everlasting magnificence of the original David, resonates as a symbol of Florence and of Italy as a whole. Get lost in a Neoclassic world, a journey back in time through historic buildings like Spedale degli Innocenti (Hospital of the Innocents), San Marco church, Basilica della Santissima Annunziata, and natural jewels like the Botanical Gardens.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
Reviews & more
318Reviews
268Photos
3Q+A
3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 236
  • 76
  • 4
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
This B&B is close to the centre of Florence (10-15 minutes walk), and far enough from the crowds.
We looked at similar options, hotels, other B&Bs and this was great value.
When we arrived, we weren't disappointed. Everything was as advertised, clean, and spacious.
It's close to
Read more
In short:
* Mishandled Booking - Did not actually have our stay booked so we had to spend two days with the hosts mother
* Mishandled Payment - Charged another booking for our stay by mistake
* Mishandled Breakfast - Lacked basics and not as described
* Mishandled our belongings
Read more
Response from Ilaria P, Direttore at Piccolo Principe B&B
Responded 1 Jul 2017
Dear client, It is a surprise for me to read your neg­ative review about your staying. Let us analyze this "mishandled everythi­ng" step by step. You arrived on the 13th of June and I re­alized of my mistake of overbooking. I apologized immedia­tely and after one minute I called you back with a new and free solution for you: you were offered to stay free of charge at my mother's b&b for two days . Actually I offered you one night free and you asked for two nights free, for all the time you stayed at my mother's b&b. I apologized again for my mistake and I gave you the 2 nights free. Same residential are­a, same distance from the city centre, more familiar style but very comfortable and clean. I did all of this be­cause I made an over­booking , it was my fault and I apologiz­ed for that. So, you did not pay a penny for your fir­st two nights of Your Florentine vacatio­n, during Pitti Fash­ion days. On the third day we told you not to worry about your luggages : we would take th­em to Piccolo Princi­pe b&b , with your consent. As for the credit ca­rd payment I did not charge the credit card of anot­her client, as you understood, there has been a misunderstan­ding between us. In fact I charged your credit card for only 8 ni­ghts instead of 10 nights that you used, on the last two days of your stay and not in advance as I to­ld you on my email before your arrival. As for breakfast I really do not unde­rstand. Everything described in our website was ready for you. we well describe our Continental breakfa­st in our website : Moreover , you found some home made cake­s, in addition to fr­esh pastry croissants , fresh bread, home made jam, fresh ch­eese and "schiacciat­a". I booked museums free of charge for my service, as soon as you arrived at Piccolo Principe. As for the cleaning service I always give my cli­ents the card to hang outside of their room's door if they do not want the cle­aning of their room I make every day. I respect my clients' request so I clean­ed your room only du­ring those days you did not hang the mes­sage on the door in which it was written­:" do not disturb. When I entered the room there was no mes­sage outside so I un­derstood I had to cl­ean it that morning. I changed the sheets and towels and I cl­eaned the floor and the two ensuite bath­rooms. As soon as you called me that day, I gave an apology and an explanation... there was no ticket or me­ssage out of your ro­om's door. I have never been ru­de and unprofessional to you, I did told you on the phone, in a very polite way, to remind to put the message out of your room if you would not want the cleaning service. Sorry for not being so professional as you wrote in your rev­iew. And sorry for my ove­rbooking, that I sol­ved in one minute af­ter you called me on your arrival day. Everybody can make a mistake and try to solve it .
Read more
This b&b is very nice, clean and confortable. 10 minutes walking from Florence city centre. The rooms are spacious and clean, full furnished. There is a nice terrace where in summertime you can have a perfect and delicious breakfast. The owners are really nice and kind.
Read more
We've just finished out second stay at the Piccolo Príncipe (first visited in 2011 ). Ilaria and Ricardo are the warmest and most accommodating hosts. Like our first visit, they attended to every detail and did the utmost to make our stay comfortable and very memorable for us and
Read more
This b&b was amazing! Great recommendations for dining in the area and help with local transportation by the hosts. Excellent rooms and great fresh breakfast on the terrace. Would stay here again the next time I'm in Florence!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorPiccolo Principe B&B
The Triple Room at the Piccolo Principe B&B
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorPiccolo Principe B&B
The Quadruple Room (Double and Two Twin Beds) at the Piccolo Principe B&B
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorPiccolo Principe B&B
The Quadruple Room at the Piccolo Principe B&B
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorPiccolo Principe B&B
The Double Room at the Piccolo Principe B&B
Photo provided by managementPiccolo Principe B&B
Camera 4
Previous
Hi, I would like to know how much does it take to walk from Santa Maria Novella train station to the hotel? Thanks!
it takes a twenty minutes walk, otherwise you can take the bus 17 verga or 11 from the railway station and you can join us in 8 minutes . ilaria
0 votes
Buongiorno c'è un parcheggio nelle vicinanze?
Abbiamo un box auto privato proprio sotto la struttura a € 20 a notte. È un garage chiuso dove ci sta solo la sua auto. Intorno a noi è possibile parcheggiare sulle strisce blu a € 1,50 l'ora. Altrimenti abbiamo due garage convenzionati a € 15 a notte, uno a due min a piedi e chiude dalle 20 alle 7 della mattina, l'altro a 7 min a piedi aperto 24h.
3 votes
Salve io e una mia amica eravamo interessate a prendere un stanza per il 12-06 e volevamo saperne qualcosa di più ... Non so magari se potete darci un recapito telefonico... Grazie
Mi scuso per il ritardo della risposta ma non avevo capito questa nuova funzione di Tripadvisor. Comunque per il 12 giugno non ho disponibilità di camere. Grazie per la richiesta Saluti Ilaria Paoletti (339 2804091)
0 votes
"They're all quite spacious with a loft platform, usually where the bathroom is located. They all have nice lighting so you cannot go wrong with any of the rooms."
"Be aware to walk about half an hour from Santa Maria Novella Train Station. If you have luggage could be better to hail a cab."
"rooms 4+5 face a nice terrace"
PRICE RANGE
US$131 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceFlorenceSan Marco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing