Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Machiavelli Palace

Traveller (558)
Panorama of the Junior Suite at the Hotel Machiavelli Palace
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (367)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#209 of 423 hotels in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Situated in the heart of Florence and built on a Templar church, just a few hundred metres from Santa Maria Novella train station and the Fortezza da Basso, the Hotel Machiavelli Palace is the ideal location from which to explore the city's secrets and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes.Multilingual staff 24h.Rich buffet breakfast.Air conditioned.Exchang service.Wi-fi service and internet point.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Via Nazionale 10, 50123, Florence Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Peretola Airport
Gal Galilei Airport
43.4 mi
See all flights
Alamanni-Stazione Santa Maria Novella
5 minFlorence Tramway Network
1,809Review25Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 426
  • 718
  • 401
  • 147
  • 117
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Barbara S wrote a review Oct 2021
Krakow, Poland1,886 contribution179 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is just 5 min walk from the main station and within walking distance from all main city attractions. The Staff is very helpful. Breakfast was really good - a nice selection of products, good quality of food!
The rooftop offers a nice view to the Cathedral. The only pain point is the noise - both from the city centre, but also we could hear a lot from neighbouring rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from marce m, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Dear Barbara, we apologize for the noise. We are glad you had a nice and pleasent stay at Machiavelli and Firenze, and thank you for the appreciation of our staff. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luís Ferreira wrote a review Oct 2021
Lisbon, Portugal15 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite not being located in an "interesting" part of Florence, it has a privileged location within a 10-minute walk of practically everything in the city, right next to the train station, with an atmosphere that extends the visit to the city. The room was nice and clean and the service (reception, cleaning and breakfast) very efficient, in a good price/quality ratio. As a prize, you have the roof top with a superb view over the city!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from marce m, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Responded 8 Oct 2021
Dear customer, thank you for this kind review. We are so glad you had a nice and pleasent stay at Machiavelli and Firenze. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie D wrote a review Oct 2023
148 contributions117 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is perfect literally 5 mins walk from the train station close by and easy walking to all of the main attractions. Very close to the markets . Our room was comfortable and had a fridge and air con . As others have said the roof top bar open from 4pm has an amazing view although the service is not the fastest . The breakfast room is attractive with frescoes in the walls . Breakfast was excellent lots of cereals cold meats and cheese fruit and pastries. Frequently topped up . We liked that pastries and water were also available free to guests after breakfast had finished and throughout the day . Staff at reception were efficient .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
carolynbsnell wrote a review Feb 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for 2 nights in this hotel in February and the service and hotel were excellent. I had a lovely room with a balcony which I wasn't able to use at this time of year, but I should imagine it would be lovely in Summer. The location is perfect, all the sites in Florence were within easy walking distance and it is also really close to the railway station
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip:  Although I booked a single room, I was lucky to find a double bed and the room was spacious and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Proprietario at Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear Carolyn, thank You for this great review. We are very glad You had a nice and pleasent stay at Machiavelli and Firenze. We hope to meet You again here. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JO P wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A couple of years ago I stayed at the hotel with a small informal group from Santa Barbara CA. When I got a serious knee injury on a side trip to the Cinque Terre, the staff at Hotel Machiavelli went out of their way to find me crutches, books to read while I waited for a flight back home, and lowered my room rate to accommodate the fact that I was paying out-of-pocket during that time.

They also have a very nice complementary breakfast, a fascinating historic past, and clean charming rooms walking distance from the core of Florence and from the train station. A variety of great reasonable cafes and restaurants are around every corner.
When I return to Florence, I will stay at Hotel Machiavelli.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from marce m, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Responded 1 Jun 2021
Dear Friend, we are glad You recovered from injury. We just did our duty to assist You in that moment, and we hope You have a nice memory of Firenze. We are waiting to meet You again here. Best regards from all the staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rohit84 wrote a review Oct 2023
Bengaluru, India59 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The only thing good about the hotel is the location

For the price of 200 euros a night and being a 3 star property the rooms are tiny, the shower area even smaller. The toilet was leaking. No kettle/ coffee in the room. What was surprising on day 2 we didn’t have hot water !!! How can you take hours to fix your hot water issues being a 3* property. The staff except for one gentleman at the reception & one other support staff the rest were not friendly ( need to fix your customer service ).
Nothing great to say of the property except if you want to stay near the station. But IMO you can find better !!
We would not come back 👎
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid if you can
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim F wrote a review Sept 2022
Charleston, United States8 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the train station making it very convenient for trips in and out of Florence. It is very close to the market, restaurants, souvenir shops and grocery stores. The staff is very nice and helpful. Our room located on the front of the hotel was noisy due to street traffic and loud voices. The room was spartan with old mattresses, poor air conditioning but had a large two head shower. If you choose to stay here ask for a room away from the street to get a good nights sleep. The convenience is the best feature of this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Febe wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a horrific experience at this hotel. I payed over $950 for 2 nights here and on the first night discovered bed bugs. When I immediately brought this to the staff’s attention, we were only offered new sheets. After having no choice but to sleep on the floor, we tried speaking with a manager but they were “out of town”. We were thankfully given a refund for our second night through our booking agency, but the hotel refused to budge on charging us over $400 for the first night. I understand that beg bugs are a simply a fact of traveling in popular areas, but this situation was simply handled terribly. I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone and truly hope no more people have their holiday ruined by this greedy and poorly run establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Staff Hotel Machiavelli, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Responded 20 Jun 2022
Dear guest, we are very sorry but what you found was not bad bugs (as you can see on the picture), room was cleaned perfectly and also double checked, anyway we offered to change the room but you prefer to ask refund and to don't stay for the second night. Regards Michele
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harry S wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is centrally located in Florence only a short walk from the central station.

Unfortunately out of everywhere we’ve stayed in the last 4 weeks this place had the most uncomfortable beds. 2 single beds pushed together and could feel every spring in the mattress.

Rooftop bar has a great view of the city however staff were pretty slow waiting tables and had to ask multiple staff each time we wanted a beer which generally took 20-30 minutes to get

Overall good location but wouldn’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark A wrote a review Mar 2024
Liverpool, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in room 118….. oh my lord what a nightmare. What the hotel don’t tell you is there is bar right outside your window. The street outside the bar is packed with people drinking and dancing to all hours.we walked to every area of Florence and never found a bar as loud and busy, seems out place in location like Florence. If you book this hotel insist you are not in a room overlooking the bar street . If the hotel sound proofed the room then it might make it bearable but if you like to get a good nights sleep AVOID at all costs
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roxana G asked a question Jun 2022
Maple Ridge, Canada19 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, is the roof top open in November?
Answer from HotelMachiavelli
Florence, Italy1 helpful vote
Hello fom Machiavelli We don't have major refurbishment. We are currently working on 3 rooms only (we have 85). And it is just a small work (changing bath-tubs). Roof-top would be re-opened in April, but depends on weather. Hope this helps best regards
Answer from dgm792
St. John's, Canada88 contributions74 helpful votes
A very centrally located hotel near everything. You can walk to all of the main tourist spots. Very near to restaurants and transportation.
Answer from HotelMachiavelli
Florence, Italy1 helpful vote
Hello from Machiavelli I apologize but in these days we are having some troubles with our email. We hope to solve these soon. Hope this helps best regards
jacquiknowles wrote a tip May 2024
Merseyside, United Kingdom7 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"My room was very noisy "
Read full review
SKF74 wrote a tip May 2024
Pennsylvania Furnace, Pennsylvania11 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lololo there was no sleep quality!"
Read full review
rohit84 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Bengaluru, India59 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid if you can"
Read full review
Patricia W wrote a tip Jul 2023
St. Augustine10 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel was close to train station and the mar. Buyer beware, our second room was not great, bathroom was acceptable."
Read full review
Jason wrote a tip Jun 2023
Mendon, Massachusetts1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Believe nothing from the pictures or any positive reviews."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Florence area.
PRICE RANGE
£117 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
machiavelli palace florence, machiavelli palace hotel florence
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceFlorenceFlorence Historic Center / San Lorenzo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL MACHIAVELLI PALACE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Machiavelli Palace?
Nearby attractions include Mercato Centrale (0.10 miles), Jimmy's Leather Collection (0.2 miles), and Fox in a Box Room Escape (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Machiavelli Palace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Machiavelli Palace?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Machiavelli Palace?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Palace, Bambi Trippa e Lampredotto, and Osteria Vecchio Cancello.
Is Hotel Machiavelli Palace located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Florence.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Machiavelli Palace?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Machiavelli Palace?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Machiavelli Palace?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore (0.4 miles), Basilica of Santa Croce (0.8 miles), and Basilica San Miniato al Monte (1.3 miles).
Is Hotel Machiavelli Palace accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Florence HotelsFlorence Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FlorenceHotels near Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire