We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Il Chiostro del Carmine

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Il Chiostro del Carmine
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 206: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second time staying here (3 nights) and loved it as much, especially the views of the Tuscan hillside from our window. In fact, when we arrived we were offered a free upgraded room on the top floor to get better views. We slept on the most comfortable king mattress we have found in Italy by far. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Constant_Discovery
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We read other TA reviews before booking here, and discounted the few negative comments as outliers. That was a mistake. I recommend you read the negative comments closely as there may be some serious issues to detract from selecting this facility, especially if you intend to use a rental car. We booked a double deluxe room at 602 Euro for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LakeGastonRetired
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 14 October 2016

This hotel has a history dating back through the aeons of time - amongst other things, it has been an Abbey & a Hospital. That said, it is beautifully renovated & one really feels one is stepping back in time. Our room was well appointed, had a magnificent view over the old wall of Siena & into the valley below....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony W
Rethymnon Prefecture, Greece
Reviewed 13 October 2016

A fantastic historical building but an outer wall of it seems to need better restoration. Breakfast needs improvements in terms of variety. Some basic intro info about Siena would be nice to have by the reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GSKaparos
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We arrived at the hotel after a 'hilly' day of cycling through Tuscany. The cool and welcoming entrance and courtyard is perfect for weary travellers. The staff were attentive and accommodating - keep up the great service! I will certainly return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank E
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst we were in Siena. Hotel is in a great location, easy to drive to if you arrive from the correct side of the city with parking (only 15 euros for our stay) and only a few mins walk though nice quaint streets to the centre. Siena is not a big city so you can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wolfboy27
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

This place was dark and dreary and not at all what I expected. We were given a room downstairs but we said we wanted to stay upstairs because downstairs felt damp and dreary. The downstairs room and the bathroom are much larger downstairs. The breakfast was not great however the croissants were decent. The view from the breakfast room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica G
Canberra
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Spacious light-filled room, good bathroom and shower. We were on the first floor of an ex-convent. Il Chiostro was well-placed, close to restaurants, the many attractions of Siena and parking. Receptionist exceptionally helpful in nominating 5 good restaurants/trattorias Wifi perhaps marginal, but good breakfast made up for that

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence5464
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

It's impossible not to be charmed by this hotel - it still retains much of the monastery feel (monks lived here for 700 years... barefoot!) But beyond the building itself, the outstanding service sets this hotel apart. The minute we arrived, someone toted our luggage up the stairs. Marta at the front desk gave us terrific restaurant recommendations - and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ning W
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

We just arrived in Siena this evening & had booked a triple room in advance with Venere, very disappointed - although in the oldest part, unfortunately the room is very poor- and not of the same quality as the rooms upstairs. It smells of drains and no view at all out of high Windows. Was so looking forward to the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank portcherry
Anghel_Hotels, Direttore at Il Chiostro del Carmine, responded to this review

Dear Portcherry, we are so sad to read this on Tripadvisor, as you stated in the comment the staff is always very helpful and we always do our best to please our guest. But I care to explain the situation. It was impossibile for us to give you a different room, thing that we would have happily done if only...

247 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
2,936 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Borgo Grondaie
Borgo Grondaie
#6 of 116 in Siena
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Chicca B&B
La Chicca B&B
#13 of 116 in Siena
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Pantaneto Palazzo Bulgarini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Il Chiostro del Carmine

Address: Via della Diana 4, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Price Range: £46 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Chiostro del Carmine 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Il Chiostro del Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Del Carmine Residence Hotel Siena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Il Chiostro del Carmine staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Il Chiostro del Carmine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view of the countryside, not into the town. Stay on the Eurpoean 1st floor to reduce the number of steps.”
 of 5 bubbles LakeGastonRetired, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper level with views at the end of the building”
  • The magnificent view from the room.
 of 5 bubbles Anthony-Aardvark, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is no lift, so ask for level 1 if you don't walk up the stairs. Some rooms with a terrace, would provide an additional space to sit.”
 of 5 bubbles 552larissap, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“all would be quiet”
 of 5 bubbles JoanH898, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with windows facing west will have the spectacular countryside views”
 of 5 bubbles kurttb, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay