We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dorint An der Messe Basel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dorint An der Messe Basel
Dorint An der Messe Basel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 167: English reviews
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room had the basics: In-room safe, powerful shower head, comfortable beds, large fridge. The hotel provided coffee and tea in the room for us, so I'm not sure if that's standard, as some reviewers indicated they paid extra. Concierge was friendly, and helpful. We received transit passes through the hotel which was easy to use, and very helpful. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McLung
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear McLung Thank you for staying with us and for writing this kind review. We are glad that you have enjoyed both, our hotel and our beautiful town. You are absolutely right - coffee and tea are included only in the comfort rooms and apartments - great you liked it. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything was good. Nothing particularly outstanding or noteworthy. It was what was advertised and therefore satisfied expectations. Good transport links to the centre and good service. Breakfast had a decent selection. Only issue was that our bath leaked water which was a real pain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy & Michael P
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear Kathy & Michael Thank you for staying with us and sharing your impressions. We are glad you have enjoyed your time and especially our breakfast and hope that our technical department has been able to resolve the issue with your bath. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon again. All our best regards Christian Gesslein...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very well located hotel. Easy walking distance to the Christmas Markets. Free travel pass given at reception which was really useful (even got us back to the airport). The hotel is clean and reasonably priced for Basel. My only (tiny) complaint would be that I specifically asked for a double bed when booking and the first room we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clairey001
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest Thank you for staying with us and telling us about your impressions. We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay! Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences with the bedding. We will train our front office team members to always have in mind which room is prepared as twin (you already have noticed that all our...

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Although not in city centre, Hotel Dorint is very convenient for the convention centre and because of the great transport infrastructure every thing else is in easy reach, particularly given that the hotel gives you a free pass for public transport. Although the hotel would not win awards fro architecture, it has large and well fitted bedrooms complete with desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cdab
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear cdab Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you like our sincer refurbished apartment rooms. I have shared your comments with our staff - in the name of the entire team I may express our gratitude for this commendation. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. All...

Nyon, Switzerland
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We were very pleased with this hotel. The rooms are nice and cozy, with a kettle to warm up water. There is no complimentary tea or coffee though, but you can obtain if you pay 2.- The bathroom is spacious, the TV was international and the wifi was free. The only bad thing was the bed - it was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetotravel155
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear Ilovetotravel155 Thank you for your stay with us and especially for the nice words you have found to describe the time in our hotel. We highly appreciate you took the time to write your comments and are happy you have enjoyed your visit. Please accept our apologies for the misunderstanding regarding the bedding type. Our rooms either have a...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Modern and airy decor with a large room, comfortable bed and kettle for making tea/coffee (as long as you had brought your own or were prepared to buy some from the reception). It had a nice powerful shower, lots of channels on the flat screen TV and was pleasant and warm. The pass for the trams was very welcome (and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spiritus26
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest Thank you for staying with us and especially for taking the time to share your experiences. We are very glad you have enjoyed your time here and hope to be able to welcome you back soon again. All our best regards Christian Gesslein Assistant Executive Manager

St Austell
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed here for a 3 day break, mainly so my husband could visit the Musee D'Auto in Mulhouse France. The hotel was excellent very comfortable room and the staff were so helpful and friendly. The barman cum waiter cum receptionist was such an amazing young man nothing was too much trouble in spite of rushing around doing several jobs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank staustellpatlor
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest Thank you for both - your stay with us and the very nice comment on your days in our hotel. Especially Maxime (the service man you are talking about) is very happy about your warm words. We are fully aware of the staff situation in this week and are very grateful to our team members. Many people...

Brookville, Indiana
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Absolutely loved staying here. The staff were very accommodating. The reception staff went above and beyond to help us with any tourism questions. The location was within walking distance to restaurants, trams, and work. Plus it was quiet. A big plus in my book. The room was beautiful. Will plan to stay here again and recommend to all my colleagues.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 888marcia
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear 888marcia Thank you for the very nice comment on your stay with us. It has been as well a pleasure reading it as it has been having you as our guest. Teh entire team is very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon again. All our best regards Christian Gesslein Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

We spent a night in Dorint hotel. The staff were very kind and helped us in finding what to do in the city. We got a card that gives us free rides on public transportation so we would get any where in the city (including the Airport) for free. Breakfast was little expansive (19chf per person) so we didnt take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bar m
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear valued Guest It has been a pleasure to be your host during your stay in Basel. Thank you for your kind feedback on our hotel. We agree, CHF 19 as early bird tariff for our breakfast might seem a little high, and we only can ask you for your understanding, that our requirements in top quality and freshness of...

Leicester
Reviewed 3 October 2016

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 day city break at the Dorint Basel. I've based my *5 stars* on the premise that if you can't actually fault any aspect of a hotel, this it's deserving of 5 stars. We were checked in speedily by very pleasant and attentive Reception staff [special praise to 'Marielle' who went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M0rpheus
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest It has been a big pleasure to read your comments on your stay with us. In the name of the entire team and especially Maxime and Marielle I may express our gratitude for the nice words you had found to describe your time here. As we do have a lot of employees from close Germany and France...

344 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (260)
Viewed
Amenities (59)
Viewed
Apartment (50)
Viewed
Comfort Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (74)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Adagio Basel City
0.3 mi away
Pullman Basel Europe Hotel
0.2 mi away
RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Stuecki Basel
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#9 of 51 in Basel
415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bildungszentrum 21
0.3 mi away
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Dorint An der Messe Basel

Address: Schoenaustrasse 10, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly Novotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Price Range: £79 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorint An der Messe Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Dorint An der Messe Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Hotel An Der Messe
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Basel
#22 Business Hotel in Basel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dorint An der Messe Basel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Dorint An der Messe Basel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The road isn't busy / noisy so no preference needed”
 of 5 bubbles Clairey001, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed ok there are no amazing views but it is well worth staying there.”
 of 5 bubbles staustellpatlor, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for he size bed you require/woudl lile at reception”
 of 5 bubbles lad1916, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“very standard and clean rooms, best for business trip”
 of 5 bubbles AliZareM, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“It's worth paying extra to get a room at the back - if available”
 of 5 bubbles Toddy098, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay