We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Show Prices
#7 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 231: English reviews
St Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here which is a little outside Bern, but this was fine as I needed to park my car and the carpark underneath the hotel, whilst not the hotels itself (I think is a public car park) is huge and direct access to hotel from the carpark. Very easy indeed to get to off the motorway which is a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wokingjames
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there for one nite going to Bienne from Lausanne. Practical exit just off the highway is really a plus. You also have a shell gas station on the exit so perfect when you leave as well if you need petrol. The lobby is correct and adjacent to the restaurant. It can be crowded at times and it takes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume H
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is outside the city of Bern. However, the pro is the shopping center behind the hotel. Some bar are opened till late night after midnight. Room size is not big but very cozy. Hotel may be recently renovated as it is really new. Breakfast is also nice but beware of big group tour which will harass your stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glenfiddich1985
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed here in 2016 more than 10 times (varying lengths of stay usually 5 nights) and always feel this hotel does what it says on the package. Good accommodation, excellent service and friendly and flexible staff. Shops, fitness and swimming are right next door in the Westside mall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ACJdeVette
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Another quick visit didn't disappoint - even though this was only 1 night it was just wonderfully efficient. Staff helpful, breakfast just great and being tucked into the local shopping centre made buying sundries very easy. Remember to use your FREE Bern travel card on the trams and trains from the stop literally outside the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
Tadley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

This place is a 10 minute train ride from the main station in Bern but it has some features that make the journey worthwhile. It is on the site of a shopping mall which means there are eating options easily available. However the key feature for the kids was the adjacent swimming pool which was included in the room rate....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
New York
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed for 2 nights. The front desk staff was friendly, but gave us the wrong floor and room number. We discovered that after trekking all the way up to find our key didn't work. Finding our way to the next floor down, the room was clean, rather dark, and the bathroom was very small with a nearly see-through door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyandCo
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review

Dear AndyandCo, We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. Please be assured that necessary steps will be taken to correct the points that you have raised...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This hotel is about 25 mins out of Bern Centre. The reception staff are friendly and polite. They told me I could use the nearby swimming facilities as part of the room rate - but I didn't get a chance. The room was clean an in good state of decoration. I might have been given a disabled room as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Hotel is good for business trips. Service is ok, staff friendly, rooms are good size. Typical Holiday Inn, nothing extraordinary. Convenient direct access to the mall with variety of restaurant choices plus a grocery store.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zarrin R
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

The hotel part of the Westside Holiday Inn is exactly as you would expect from the chain - I have stayed in several recently and this is a good example. Bear in mind if travelling from overseas that Swiss prices for food and drink can be higher than you might expect - we were a little taken aback by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard M

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
4.4 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
722 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
911 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
3.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
668 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Price Range: £103 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bern
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Bern-Westside staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Bern-Westside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“hard to say. Far from elevators if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles GHCMontreal, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for a higher room away from the lifts to avoid noise of tourists dragging large cases along the floors”
 of 5 bubbles 496keithc, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I recommend a room facing the front of the hotel, it gives you a great country view with the snow capped mountains in the distance.”
 of 5 bubbles 98DanM, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“floor 7 or 8 is more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Susie1988, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“You can see the Alps from one side of the hotel - ask when you register.”
 of 5 bubbles GinaCL, 29 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay