Novotel Bern Expo
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Novotel Bern Expo

Traveller (281)
Room & Suite (68)
Dining (36)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#12 of 34 hotels in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Novotel Bern Expo is a 4 star hotel offering 112 non smoking rooms located opposite the Bern Expo exhibition centre, the PostFinance Arena, the national horse riding centre and 200 m from the Wankdorfstadion and the Zentrum Paul Klee. The tram runs from in front of the hotel to the old city in 7 minutes. The tickets for the public transportation in the city and region of Bern are included in the room rate. The hotel features a restaurant, bar, internet corner and six meeting rooms, as well as facilities for guests with limited mobility, private pay parking and a fitness centre.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Indoor play area for children
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Guisanplatz 2, Bern 3014 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 62 out of 100
62
Belp Airport
EuroAirport Swiss
43.8 mi
See all flights
1,118Review15Q+A47Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 336
  • 525
  • 188
  • 38
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
andofitz wrote a review Jul 2022
Dublin, Ireland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Visiting from Ireland so the FOC public transport with Bern welcome app was fantastic , extremely frequent 9A bus service right outside , that was the highlight of this hotel , but in fairness I’d was reasonably priced on a hotel booking site , we did not book breakfast at €26pp per day , but hopped on the bus to the co-op , highly recommend, cost under €30 per day for 3adults 1 child ,
Cleaners coming into the room at 22:30 and 8:30 while we were in bed was unwelcome though , carpets need replacing as they are all I can say is filthy and smell bad . Pillows are tiny but bed comfy . Staff are friendly and can speak English very well which was a huge bonus for which I’m grateful .
Tea & coffee making facilities but no iron in the room .
FYI check with your mobile provider how your plan works in Switzerland as I was charged €66 the minute I landed ( nothing to do with hotel , just a heads up !)
Bern is beautiful, I was visiting family and won’t hesitate to use this hotel again ( just hope the carpets will be changed !€ , so convenient to get to .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring slippers ( carpets 🤢) Don’t book breakfast , travel into the city , I recommend co op...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DanHeiterZurich wrote a review Jan 2020
Dietikon, Switzerland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Always great to come back to Berne and stay overnight in the Novotel Expo. Nice people and the rooms are very clean. Directly from the highway you are in few minutes at the hotel. From there to the center of Berne you can use the pass free of charge offered by the hotel with the tramway in 10 minutes.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Accor Live Limitless Bern, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Bern Expo
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your review. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anita Bee wrote a review Aug 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We drove back home and this was our last stop, just for 1 night. Parking was in front of the hotel and it was free of charge. When we arrived in this fine hotel, after some hours driving, all you need is a warm and hearty welcome. And guess what?! Perfection, the welcome was sincerely friendly. How simple, but so effective. We received free tickets for the public transporation which is handy, as this hotel is near the Expo so a bit outside of the city center. However, with the tram (stops in front of the hotel) you reach the center in minutes. Easy does it! We had the family room (2 kids, 11 yrs and 16 yrs) which was just fine. The bathroom had everything you needed, the shower was a bit tiny but that was not a problem. It was clean and modern and felt fresh. Thanks for your friendly service and nice stay in your hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Accor Live Limitless Bern, Sonstige at Novotel Bern Expo
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Dear Antiabee, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay on Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important and valuable to us. We’re very pleased to recognize that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us here in Bern. It is a great pleasure to receive such a wonderful feedback and we are extremely proud to share your comments with our whole team. Thank you! We hope to welcome you again very soon! Kind regards and all the best to you, Your Novotel Bern Expo Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NellyKon wrote a review Jan 2020
Athens, Greece
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Location, not ideal for tourists who want to go to down town- is next to Bern expo.
Rooms were very spacious and clean. Bathroom quite small, and there is not enough space for clothes. Breakfast amazing.
The room service does not work all night long, so in case of late arrival then you have no other choice, as there is nothing close by. When I asked to take cutlery at the room, they denied and hardly offered me plastic ones. The strangest thing was that the restaurant and the bar were both closed on Sunday!!! So again, in case you want to eat then you have to move to a restaurant around- no many choices available especially in the evening. This is unacceptable for a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Accor Live Limitless Bern, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Bern Expo
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. We appreciate your honest feedback and are very happy that you liked our breakfast and the rooms in general. If you would like to get to the city center, you have free access with the public transportation. It takes you about 7 minutes to reach the most interesting attractions in town. We well noted your comment about the opening hours of our restaurant. We will discuss about it in the next days. However, you can find plenty of restaurants in our neighborhood and our staff is very happy to help you to find a matching restaurant. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vanelic wrote a review Aug 2020
Zagreb, Croatia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located in Bern Expo area. At check-in you get free city transport card and you are in the city centre in 15min by tram. Or you can also walk 30min.
Room was spacious, although outdated a bit. Good wifi and AC. The only negative thing was the matress (very uncomfortable) and hard pillows (not really up to a Novotel hotel standard). Was waking up many times during the night. Very little sleep
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Accor Live Limitless Bern, Sonstige at Novotel Bern Expo
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Dear Vanelic Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay on Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important and valuable to us. Sorry for the inconvenience you had with the facilities. Nevertheless we hope that you've enjoyed your stay here in Bern and we thank you for having chosen to spend your holiday at the Novotel Bern Expo. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon! Kind regards and all the best to you, Your Novotel Bern Expo team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travel4scuba wrote a review Dec 2021
Charlotte, North Carolina
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First don’t confuse the Novotel with the IBIS. We are not IBIS fans and in this case the hotels are in the same building.
Pro’s: the hotel is on the tram line and Switzerland offers you a free travel pass for the busses and trams for hotel guests when you ask for it at the front desk. This also includes the funicular to Gurten. In room coffee, tea, and refrigerator. Descent bar, excellent breakfast and nice staff.
Cons: it is about 10 min TEMs ride from old town Bern. Not many restaurants or grocery stores in walking distance, you need to take the tram.
Other: toilet in separate room than sink, our refrigerator would not get cold, low water pressure for the shower.
Bonus: get the SBB mobile app to plan your excursions and to find the right tram or bus to get you back to the hotel. You can also book your tickets to Grendlwald and beyond on the app, versus paying for a tour.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get to know the train and tram systems they can really help you enjoy your trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Loai H wrote a review May 2022
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I am writing this review after my first night and I am disappointed!

We asked for a double twin room bed, they informed us that they don't have a twin bedroom at all, but every room is equipped with a sofa bed that can be used as extra bed beside the queen bed, we said OK,
Unfortunately, in our first night I could not sleep, because of the spiral springs of the sofa bed mattress are SO BAD and they are hurting your back and body, since it's not a flat or comfortable, to the point that it prevents you from sleeping.
The pillow is small and not comfortable too (square shape!).
The shower box is too narrow and small, your body will hit the ceiling or the wall while taking shower.
The design of the room is bad, clothes hanger is not enough for 2 persons who is travelling for a business trip with 2 suites and a couple of shirts!
The TV is small,
The toilet is separated from the bathroom (the shower and bathtub), so if you want to wash your hands you have to walk out of the toilet, pass by your room to the bathroom! And the toilet is not provided with a trash box.
The room is not provided with a tissue box, there is only one hanged in the bathroom.
There is no place or table to keep your bag/luggage!
Check the attached pictures for better description
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Accor Live Limitless Bern, Other at Novotel Bern Expo
Responded 11 May 2022
Hej Loai H, thank you very much for your valuable time to provide us and the community a feedback about your stay! I am sorry that our product did not meet your requirements. Your points are clear and well noted. I am happy that you apparently had a good experience with our staff though. Let me inform you that we will completely renovate the Novotel as of October this year. I am confident that we will then be able to provide you a better experience with our product. Take care and thanks again. Matthias, Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cat564 wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Parking is about 20 swiss franks.
The facilities are very basic and even no individual toiletries in a room.
Too overpriced for that quality.
The worth is the service. The receptionist was very arrogant and sarcastic. Talking that it is 4 star hotel and if we have not stayed before in such chick place than it is a loss. After asking for my passport and address kept repeating that if I would previously stayed in 4 star hotels I should know that they request passport on arrival (because I have asked why does he need my passport and full address). What a ...
Do not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Accor Live Limitless Bern, Other at Novotel Bern Expo
Responded 5 Aug 2020
Hi cat564, thank you very much for your valuable time to feedback us on your stay. Unfortunately our teams have difficulties to understand what exactly happened that did upset you. Let me apologize for all situations that did not comfort you. I just would like to clarify a few points mentioned: Our parking fees are in a very good average referring to the common Swiss-Pricing scheme. We provide 112 rooms - each with an individual bathroom and toilet. Let us know in case there wasn't any facility. We are sorry that you did not leave happy! All the best, the whole team from the Novotel Bern Expo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thaller2021 wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Novotel Bern is located at a very central location at Guisan Platz next to the Expo location.
The service in the Novotel is always very good.
Room Prices are very acceptable. For a location in the heart of the town Bern !
Not to forget, the Restaurant and Bar are excellent too !
All in all a very good experience !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
heldermanuelsilva wrote a review Sept 2023
Zurich, Switzerland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good hotel with an amazing breakfast. I would say that the only downside was the curtain blind which was useless as the light can still enter the room.
The breakfast had a huge variety of food which was also very very good and tasty.
I like also very much the eye for the environment.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Novotel Bern Expo
Responded 24 Sept 2023
Dear Sir, Many thanks for your review of your recent visit to our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our amazing breakfast and appreciated our commitment to the environment. Our team strives to offer a wide variety of delicious and high-quality food options for our guests. However, we apologize for any inconvenience caused by the curtain blind in your room. We will take your feedback into consideration as we continue to improve our facilities and services. We would like the opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Best regards from the whole team with Matthias, Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Michael G
Thornhill, United Kingdom25 contributions9 helpful votes
Not when I was there.
Matt C asked a question Feb 2017
Chicago, Illinois53 contributions58 helpful votes
i have 2 children, 1 is 4 yr old and the other is 1 yr old. What are the charges for children? thanks
Answer from Alex h
Dubai, United Arab Emirates123 contributions16 helpful votes
Hi, You won't be charged anything extra. It would only apply if you ask for an extra bed or you have an adult who would join you for breakfast.
Sigit Mul wrote a tip Jul 2023
Bali, Indonesia283 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You need to go to 5th floor to use an iron, because no iron in all guest room "
Read full review
andofitz wrote a tip Jul 2022
Dublin, Ireland49 contributions43 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring slippers ( carpets 🤢) Don’t book breakfast , travel into the city , I recommend co op Download the Bern welcome app for free bus"
Read full review
travel4scuba wrote a tip Dec 2021
Charlotte, North Carolina226 contributions106 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get to know the train and tram systems they can really help you enjoy your trip"
Read full review
Lisa Burton-Van Alstine wrote a tip Aug 2019
Baltimore, Maryland140 contributions125 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request a room facing the back towards the Equestrian center"
Read full review
Christine C wrote a tip Jun 2019
Norman, Oklahoma50 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Corner rooms are larger and have lots of windows"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bern area.
PRICE RANGE
£153 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel bern expo hotel bern, accor bern expo, bern novotel
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBern Mittelland DistrictBern
NUMBER OF ROOMS
112
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NOVOTEL BERN EXPO - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel Bern Expo
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel Bern Expo?
Nearby attractions include Rosengarten (0.5 miles), UNIK Playground - Trampoline Park (0.5 miles), and Fusion Arena Virtual Reality Center (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel Bern Expo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Novotel Bern Expo?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel Bern Expo?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel Bern Expo?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel Bern Expo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Büner, Casa Novo, and Klosterli Weincafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel Bern Expo?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Novotel Bern Expo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Novotel Bern Expo?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Novotel Bern Expo offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Novotel Bern Expo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
All Bern HotelsBern Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BernHotels near Novotel Bern Expo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire