HITrental Old Town Apartments
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

HITrental Old Town Apartments

Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#1 of 2 lodges in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Stylish and furnished studio and apartments near the Chapel Bridge and Jesuit Church. The charming apartments are located in a historic building in the heart of Lucerne's old town and offers the ultimate living comfort. Thanks to the fully equipped kitchen, you have the opportunity to cook for yourself. Of course, a bathroom is also part of the apartments. There you will find a shower, hair dryer, towels, bath towels and hygiene products. On the second floor of the building there are washing machines and dryers, which you are free to use. The following services are also included in our service: Wi-Fi internet, TV with international channels, bed linen, towels and all additional costs.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Blackout curtains
Dining area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Brandgässli 9, Lucerne 6004 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Zurich Airport
30.6 mi
See all flights
Belp Airport
39.2 mi
See all flights
39Reviews1Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 12
  • 6
  • 1
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jrankw wrote a review Jul 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia115 contributions114 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The apartment was very modern and clean and had an excellent view of the clock tower. Although there was some difficulty getting the key out of the lockbox we managed to do so quickly. There was no A/C but they did have one stand-up fan (a second one would have been nice due to summer heat). The bed were nice and comfortable. The kitchen had all necessary amenities too. I do highly recommend they provide instructions in English on how to use the washer/dryer in the bathroom. Overall very nice location with lots of shops all around. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dominic Hess, Geschäftsführer at HITrental Old Town Apartments
Responded 30 Sept 2022
Hello Thank you for your words. In Switzerland we tend to have "colder" weather and therefore almost all households do not have air conditioning. This summer we had an extreme heat wave, which is very unusual. We know that a fan is not the same as an air conditioner, but at least it's a fan, right? Take care and we hope to welcome you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WrixRozza wrote a review Jul 2023
Portsmouth, United Kingdom8 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location - amazing! Located above a bar on the lakeside, with views over the lake, and town across the other side. We didn’t have a balcony but had large windows with radiators underneath them so happily sat with the windows wide open but still warm, watching the bustle below in the snow. Lovely! Central location a few minutes from the train and bus stations. The entrance to the apartment block is either via doorway at the back of a restaurant, or another at the back in a back alley. When we first got there we used the alley but after that we cut through the restaurant as is on the lakefront.

The room we had was very large with two bedrooms, kitchen, and large bathroom. Perfectly fine. It wasn’t quite ready when we got there but we were let in still, whilst they cleaned around us. It was lovely and warm which was great as it was snowing outside. Coffee machine which didn’t use. A nice touch would have been a welcome pack of basic food/drink like some apartments provide, but as we only really used the room as a base whilst exploring it was basic and fine.

Loads to do in the area including a trip up mount pilatus, boat trip out around lake Lucerne, Xmas markets, walking, etc. lots of restaurants, bars, shops, and food options. We had the most amazing cheese fondue at the restaurant directly under the apartment. It’s quite open to the elements with good lake views and twinkly lights, pretty but cold in December so they gave us blankets, fake fur coats, and heated cushions which was lush! The area is expensive though, so be aware of this!

If I was to return to this area I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stairs to get to rooms - and a teeny tiny elevator ( fits maybe two people!).
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John T wrote a review Aug 2022
Stony Brook, New York36 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a few nights here in July of 2022. Unfortunately, it was during the european heat wave, leaving us in a 3rd floor apt without air conditioning. They did provide us with fans, but for this spoiled American who is used to AC, they were barely adequate. Otherwise the site was functional and unremarkable except for it's location on the lake directly across from the church.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Haven't got one
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dominic Hess, Geschäftsführer at HITrental Old Town Apartments
Responded 30 Sept 2022
Hello John Thank you very much for your words. In Switzerland we tend to have "colder" weather and therefore almost all households do not have air conditioning. This summer we had an extreme heat wave, which is very unusual. We know that a fan is not the same as an air conditioner, but at least it's a fan, right? We still hope that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lin307 wrote a review Jan 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia23 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were at this apartment from 19 - 22 December 2019. It is a superbly clean and well kept place. The little kitchenette is well stocked with very high quality cookwares and utensils. They provide almost everything for you to whip up a decent meal if you decide to eat in. Its location is excellent, a short distance from the train station, and along the river where Chapel Bridge is. Shops are nearby and the city centre or other interesting places such as the Lion Monument and the grand old church are easily accessible on foot. COOP Supermarket is around the corner and small cafes and restaurants are literally everywhere. Even below the apartment facing the riverfront is a restaurant, and numerous more can be found along the way. The cleaning lady at the apartment was cheerful and always smiling. Lovely place and beautiful surroundings.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms facing the river would be ideal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dominic Hess, Geschäftsführer at HITrental Old Town Apartments
Responded 30 Sept 2022
Hello Lin Thank you very much for your kind and lovely words. We are happy to receive a good review, where we see that you had a great time in our apartment. Addtionally, we would be happy to welcome you again in one of our apartments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob C wrote a review Sept 2022
Dublin, Ireland27 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Smallest room ever. Bathroom door hits toilet barley missing sink, squeeze past and close door in order to use toilet. Hand soap in sing smells disgusting.
Front door nearly hits bed.
Telly on wall to right of bed facing end of bed, impossible to watch comfortably.
500 fine if fire alarm goes off. Air vent over hop just blows back into room.
No bedside tables.
Only light switch by door, you have to get out of bed to turn it off.
Charge for fresh sheets or towels.
Size is less than the 15 sq.mtrs. the quote.
It is central and the shower was powerfull.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoide the small rooms at this accommodation.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dominic Hess, Geschäftsführer at HITrental Old Town Apartments
Responded 30 Sept 2022
Hello Bob Thank you very much for your review. We are trying to make every guest happy. The apartment is small. We do provide nighttables in all the apartments but we didn't use them here because of the size of the apartment. It would take even more space. We have taken furniture that gives you enough space and the comfort someone needs. We write in all our advertisements how big the apartmnets are. On each platform you can choose which flat you would like to book. We offer various services which you can book in addition. We provide towels/shower towels per person. You may wash them at any time (laundry room in the building) or ask for new ones for an extra charge. Regarding the firealarm; Unfortunately, the fire alarm has to be paid by the person who triggered it. Fire alarms are there to protect everyone. As we have very strict regulations, the fire brigade and the police also come to every alarm to make sure that everything is in order. As long as you do not smoke in the flats, move the smoke detector or cause smoke/fire in the flat, the alarm will not go off. We are sorry to hear that you haven`t enjoyed your stay in our apartment.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eugene T. wrote a review Jul 2022
Dublin, California18 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Bare minimum in the heart of Old City.

You get pretty much a bed, few utensils and an amazing location.

There is no AC so it gets hotter than balls inside. Windows can't really be open either for sleep as restaurants below have tons of people dining till late.
Bedding is horrible and borderline not usable pillows. There is no front desk, staff or anyone else really to help you in any way. Just some apartments in the old building smelling like a restaurant it shares with.
Bottom line - if you are ok with slumming with basic or less necessities right in the heart of the city then this place is for you. If you want even basic amenities then steer clear of it. Wish I did!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dominic Hess, Geschäftsführer at HITrental Old Town Apartments
Responded 30 Sept 2022
Hello Tara Thank you for your feedback, we do appriciate your words and trying to improve every day. In Switzerland, we usually don't have air conditioning because we only have a few hot days a year. This year, Europe had a big heat wave. For such days we always provide our guests with fans. We don't have a reception, that's true. But our Customer Care is always available for you. We try to fulfil every possible wish and want our guests to be happy during their stay. Our employees are ready to help you with anything you may need. We are sorry that you haven`t enjoyed your stay in our apartment but we do hope that you had a nice trip in Luzern.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
richchek2016 wrote a review Nov 2018
Germantown, Maryland25 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband, myself and my elderly parents (ages 80 and 87) were scheduled to check in this evening for two nights. When we arrived in Lucerne by train and tried to get a taxi to the apartment, we were informed that the apartments are not accessible by car and that the only way to reach them is to walk. This was not communicated anywhere in the rental information. We never would have rented such a place because it is not accessible for my parents. We attempted to walk to the apartment, but en route, my 87-year-old father fell. We had to take him to the emergency room where he needed several stitches in his eyebrow. He is terribly cut up and bruised on his arms and face, and one of his fingers is badly sprained. I called the apartment management and I told them what happened and that there was no way we could stay there without being able to drive to the facility. They refused to allow us to cancel and refund our money. This is absolutely shameful. They should indicate somewhere that it is impossible to get to this place except for on foot. That would have been a non-starter for us. Stay away from this place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dominic Hess, Geschäftsführer at HITrental Old Town Apartments
Responded 8 Nov 2022
Dear richchek2016, We are truly sorry to hear that and we hope that your father is well. This information is on every platform and therefore its not possible for a refund. The best thing is to book directly and we can recommand you an apartment which fits your needs. Our customer care will answer all your questions for location, how to get there, etc. We are sorry about all cirumstances and wish you all the best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rameendra S wrote a review Sept 2019
Colombo, Sri Lanka193 contributions64 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Situated about 10mins walking distance from the main rail station, this is a place which is slightly difficult to locate. You have no option of left luggage at this premises if you arrive in the city early and hence you'll have to use the slightly expensive lockers at the station. Apartments are the real definition of small and you'll find probably the smallest lift in the world there!! Having said all these it's in a nice location and provides you with everything in a tiny place and has value for money.. Good place to stay and enjoy beautiful Lucerne!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dominic Hess, Geschäftsführer at HITrental Old Town Apartments
Responded 30 Sept 2022
Hello Thank you for your review. Unfortunetly, we only have very limited options to change anything in or around the building as of its age. Therefore we dont have a chance to install anything new or change it. But I think everyone is happy to see that there is at least a little one :) Unfortunetly, we dont have a storage room for the luggage. The only option is to store the luggage in the booked apartment. This is possible from 11am because at this time its check out of the previous guests. We would be happy to welcome you again in Luzern.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sven-Papa wrote a review Jul 2019
Playa del Ingles, Spain84 contributions140 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dear Reader, this is our comment and mail to the business chief. We’re shocked about such an annoying service in Switzerland and is not the norm! I lived many years in this beautiful city and thought never to find this speechless service:

“To start with my email i would like to thank you for being super rude to my partner who called you kindly today from the hospital to to raise some issues we have with our stay here so far.
I am also impressed by your description on booking .com where you say the below:

......I Only copy and pasted your own words.....:this is part of the guestbook:

Our administration team and especially Stephanie, Karina, Anna, Nadine handle all your requests and bookings with great care. Generally, we try to fulfill every wish and we’re keen to find an individual solution for everyone, because it is the only way we can achieve our top priority, to have satisfied guests. So don’t hesitate to ask anything and if it’s possible we will make it happen!”

Your information on booking .com is based on lies clearly as yes you do mention for an additional cleaning there is a fee BUT you dont explain that basically : we dont change towels and bed linen at all during your stay at all
Also you describe this as an further feature on the booking .com... we travel very often , we have stayed in hundreds of hotels, and apartments however we never knew that offering someone a towel and a bed linen is an additional feature.
We came in Switzerland for a very serious operation and if i knew that i would have to do everything on my own i would spend my almost 4000 euros somewhere else.
And yes as we are trip Advisors expert influencers, we are doing the same business in Gran Canaria where we live we know that sometimes the small things you can do to make a customer happy only if you want to .... So basically on your description on booking about yourselves and your administration team who fulfil your clients wishes you are big liars and this will be noticed clearly with screenshots, photos and all the documents we have to give an awareness to everyone who is looking to book your apartments. It is fair after all the way you have spoken to my partner on the phone by saying you have your own guides .
Lies , lies as these are the guides you should advertise on the platforms with simple english
1) we offer free washing machines but you must buy your own washing tablets
And upstairs there is a big sign which clearly says - see attached-

But then again inside the room on your booklet there is a page with the below message -see attached-

Perhaps you could explain us whats going on but again do not worries everyone will know with photos the way you are lying about your guides

2) we will not give you new towels or fresh

bedlinen for your stay with us unless you pay us more money ....
its very misleading when you say : a cleaning service is offered with an additional fee. You should be specific saying that we will not provide you with any additional towels no matter how long you stay with us unless you pay the extra cleaning fee....

Thanks a lot for your super friendly excellent customer service and what you did for us so far during these difficult times we are facing
This is the most unpleasant customer service we ever faced so far in our travel experience and certainly not what we expected in Switzerland ....

And yes we promised Trip Advisor and booking.com they will have all the necessary details and photos .

Many thanks for everything
Kind Regards
Mr Papadopoulos
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dominic Hess, Geschäftsführer at HITrental Old Town Apartments
Responded 30 Sept 2022
Dear Mr. Papadopoulos Thank you for your review and your honest words. There is nothing left besides a big apology from our side, although we try our very best to gurantee everyone a perfect stay, we are also only humans in the end and mistakes do happen. In you case, we made a lot of mistakes and did not present ourselfs as the perfect hosts we would love to be. We took all of your points into consideration and adjusted a lot of mechanism, thanks for letting us know and helping us to improve as a host as well, your expertise is very welcome. Again, we would like to say sorry and hope at one day you will be our guest again and we can proove you that we try everything to gurantee our customers a perfect stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tourist294599 wrote a review Sept 2018
India3 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There were issues in check in. I was promised that I can keep my luggage at 10.00 am but was made to wait by the co-worker for more than half an hour. She simply left us at the staircase to look after another customer. we were standing in the staircase for more than 30 minutes after travelling in international flight for 9 hours Hotplate never worked. Email sent were not responded. I was promised 2nd-floor apartment but was provided with the one at 2.5 floor. On check out, I was asked to provide feedback. When I provided my honest feedback, the HITRental used very abusive and offensive language. HITRental are liars. They can not reply as to why my e-mail on the hot plate not working was not replied.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Beware of liars like HITrental. They will only take your money. Do not provide any service. No...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dominic Hess, Geschäftsführer at HITrental Old Town Apartments
Responded 8 Nov 2022
Dear Tourist294599, thank you for your review. We are constantly trying to improve. Our goal is that our guests are happy and enjoy their stay. We are sorry that you have not received a response regarding the stove. Unfortunately, mistakes can happen and we apologize for this. Nevertheless, we wish you all the best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shihchuan Fu asked a question Nov 2018
Zhubei, Hsinchu County1 contribution
Is there coin-laundry in the appartments? Best regards Shihchuan Fu
WrixRozza wrote a tip Jul 2023
Portsmouth, United Kingdom8 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stairs to get to rooms - and a teeny tiny elevator ( fits maybe two people!)."
Read full review
Bob C wrote a tip Sept 2022
Dublin, Ireland27 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoide the small rooms at this accommodation."
Read full review
EMILAI333 wrote a tip Sept 2022
New York City, New York62 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"go bigger and get the bigger rooms, it is worth the space."
Read full review
John T wrote a tip Aug 2022
Stony Brook, New York36 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Haven't got one"
Read full review
lin307 wrote a tip Jan 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia23 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms facing the river would be ideal"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lucerne area.
PRICE RANGE
£186 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of LucerneLucerne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HITRENTAL OLD TOWN APARTMENTS - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about HITrental Old Town Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to HITrental Old Town Apartments?
Nearby attractions include The Riddle Escape Games (0.2 miles), Gameorama (0.2 miles), and Lake Lucerne (0.2 miles).
Which room amenities are available at HITrental Old Town Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at HITrental Old Town Apartments?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to HITrental Old Town Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Antons Restaurant, Pikante Peruvian Cuisine & Pisco Lounge, and Song Pi Nong.
Is HITrental Old Town Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Lucerne.
Are pets allowed at HITrental Old Town Apartments?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at HITrental Old Town Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to HITrental Old Town Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Musegg Wall (0.2 miles), Nadelwehr (0.09 miles), and Rathaus Stadt Luzern (0.04 miles).
All Lucerne HotelsLucerne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LucerneHotels near HITrental Old Town Apartments
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire