Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne

Traveller (211)
Bad
Room & Suite (168)
Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
No prepayment needed
£242
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£242
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 65 hotels in Lucerne
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Great Belle Epoque Design-Hotel built in 1875. Unique design, first class service, wild art installations & wallpapers and a fantastic lake view makes this place just amazing.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Hiking
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Tennis court offsite
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Umbrella
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Private bathrooms
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available

Location

Haldenstrasse 53, Lucerne 6006 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 68 out of 100
68
Zurich Airport
Belp Airport
40.1 mi
See all flights
510Reviews17Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 412
  • 71
  • 17
  • 7
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
hmlauer wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has obviously a long history on the lake, now carefully upcycled and with good design sensitivity selected interior and equipment. Staff exceptionally customer focused to provide a feeling of being valued and cared for. Breakfast is a blast: unique home made granola in different versions, awesome cheese selection and a fantastic coffee served. Well done!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Berger, Inhaber at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne
Responded 15 Nov 2022
Dear guest Thank you very much for this amazing feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our beautiful house and our service! Its great you appreciate our regional rich and fresh breakfast. See you soon, kind regards Manuel Berger and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yaenkie wrote a review Jan 2020
Somme, France24 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Location of the Hotel is quite practical close to the lake and still a bit away from the main tourist crowd spots. It has a kind of vintage and old style charm, it’s almost like a boutique hotel. An always important fact is that the Bed was comfortable. The interior of the rooms is uncluttered but stylish, comfortable and functional. Even though there is a traditional flair to the hotel interior, it still is well maintained and clean were it counts, e.g. the bathroom was clean and the Windows are good insulated towards the busy road (a speed camera just down the road does it’s part to keep the main road rather quiet :-) ) . Their Staff is also extraordinary kind, flexible, attentive and friendly. It was during Christmas time when we visited and they had subtle but nice decoration such as a lovely Christmas tree. Also i would like to mention that the complimentary breakfast buffet was exceptionally diverse for this price range in Switzerland. All in all i can confirm the “slogan” i read from an older Newspaper hanging on the wall article calling it: the “little” Grand Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Berger, Inhaber at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay. The road in front of the hotel is in fact quite busy. We will exchange all the windows of the rooms in one month, to further enhance the comfort for our guests and to keep the noise outside. We would be happy to welcome you back soon. best regards Manuel Berger and staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kingsley Flint wrote a review Sept 2020
Cossonay, Switzerland186 contributions207 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived on a rainy day and were a little nonplussed finding the advertised parking place for our car. There is not a driveway in front of the entrance for unloading baggage. This is the only weak point I would say, but the fifth star was easily retrieved by the friendly and helpful reception we had at the front desk. We were helped with our heavy suitcase and given a clear map to the underground parking 100 metres away. The room was very cosy and extremely quiet, perfectly adequate and charmingly furnished. The bed really comfortable. There was a small portable air conditioner fitted to the window on to a tiny but very sweet balcony. The bathroom was very good, save for the shower pan which can be tripped onto when using the washbasin, and has no grab rail, safety nonslip mat, nor a little shelf for shampoos etc. Otherwise excellent products and good towels are in evidence. The location is good, within easy bus ride or even walking distance (if it’s not raining ) of the centre and we were offered travel passes for the bus and trains in the area, so taking out the car was unnecessary to go to town. Coffee is available even if you opt for not taking the breakfast, and they agreed to a reduction as we did not need breakfast in the hotel - we were going to a wedding reception very well fed!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Berger, Inhaber at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Dear Flint Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you very much for your compliments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we could assist you with everything you needed. We would be happy to welcome you again. best regards Manuel Berger and the staff of Hotel Beau Séjour
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jay wrote a review Jun 2020
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Being one of the lucky few to be safely stranded outside of my country since the onset of the COVID era of human civilisation, I decided to take advantage of a decidedly tourist-free weekend in Lucerne. Situated just behind a park beside picturesque shore of Lake Lucerne, this little gem of a hotel retains the feel of a guest house whilst also giving the contemporary air of a modest hotel. Hand sanitiser and disinfectant were readily available and adherence to all COVID measures were clearly in effect. The decor was predominantly classic but with a creative contemporary twist, evident by the hotel's original pink stickers pasted in various places, incuding one on the portable air conditioner, "Ugly but cool." Overall, for the price, one of the best places I have stayed at in Switzerland.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Berger, Inhaber at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Dear Jay Thank you so much for your nice review. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the style of the hotel and that you share our sense of humor. We would be happy to welcome you again. best regards Manuel Berger and all the staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
486louise wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom12 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and I stayed here for 5 days over Christmas and really enjoyed this hotel. The room we had overlooked the lake and the view was amazing. The room was very spacious with seating and table provided which we appreciated as we did not want eat out every night. The bathroom was a good size too and looked recently updated with a good pressure shower. The room was very clean and the staff very helpful. I had contacted the hotel prior to arrival to enquire about restaurants opening at Christmas and public transport during this period and found them extremely helpful. The free bus pass provided for tourists is very useful and even though the hotel is not that far on foot, there are regular free buses out front of the hotel. Our only slight criticisms would be no fridge in room, uncomfortable pillows and the road is quite noisy. None of these though would stop us staying here again if in Lucerne again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Berger, Inhaber at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Dear Louise Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you spent enjoyable days with us and that we could help you with everything you needed. We are renewing the windows in our rooms now to keep the road noise outside. We would be happy to welcome you again soon. best regards Manuel Berger Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happy Traveler wrote a review Sept 2022
Seattle283 contributions144 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has a wonderful view of the lake, and they provide a bus pass so that it's incredibly easy to get to and from the Altstadt. Seriously, the bus stop is right there and it was really easy. Order the egg dish for breakfast. It was yummy. Something that was a surprise to us was that they offer laundry service for 17 Euro for a load! that was a great find since we were going to be touring for three weeks.

The room was spacious for being such an old hotel, and they offer air conditioning which was needed in the summer heat. The air conditioner is a free standing unit that is a little loud, but we it was worth it to be comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Berger, Inhaber at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne
Responded 26 Dec 2022
Dear guest Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our house and felt comfortable. All the best for 2023, with our best wishes from lucerne, Manuel Berger and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marilynpm wrote a review Apr 2021
Chicago, Illinois3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights in July 2019. The hotel is well situated, with bus transport to the train station and center within 30m of the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, and were always available when we had a question.

The hotel itself is lovely; it retained the grandness of a classic hotel with quirky modern décor touches. We stayed in room 22, which was spacious and bright with a balcony overlooking the park and lake. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and to our pleasant surprise, there was a standalone air conditioner in the room, which helped with both street noise and humidity.

Breakfast was delicious with a wide selection of yoghurt, breads, cheese, sausages, and fruit, as well as scrambled and boiled eggs. Seating is available inside the dining room or on the lovely veranda, overlooking the lake.

We have nothing but praise for the hotel and will definitely stay here again if travels bring us back to Lucerne.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Berger, Inhaber at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Dear guest Thank you very much for the feedback. We are pleased that you liked it so much and appreciated the house with its historical soul. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Manuel Berger and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tata823 wrote a review Sept 2021
Florida222 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice hotel with beautiful art and decor. The historic aspect makes it very special and we very much enjoyed the spacious layout of the room. The staff is absolutely lovely, warm and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic and one of our favorites in all of our stays in Switzerland. The view from the balcony was great. The room was quiet and the perks of USB plugs, lovely toiletries, etc made it a nice night.

It’s a little bit of a walk from some of the more touristy options (which is equally just as great as it can be a little bit inconvenient for those not ready for that). We loved the lake location and think that it allowed for a quieter night’s sleep. We were able to take a wonderful long walk on the lake during the evening and also the morning because it’s so conveniently situated near it.

Downsides: AC unit in the room was rigged a bit so it might not work well if the tube that connects the machine to outside air isn’t the proper fit. We were able to leave the windows open so it didn’t bother us. But check the unit if that’s important to you. Also, Parking can be a bit of a walk (especially with luggage) but the staff is very kind in explaining where to go and letting you leave luggage in the lobby for a moment while you load/unload/park.

Overall, a lovely stay in a pretty part of town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Have your license plate number handy if you’ll be parking in the lot down the street.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Berger, Inhaber at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Dear guest Thank you for your kind review. We are happy you had a good stay at our place and could appreciate your time in lucerne. Thank you for the comment on the air conditioning and parking situation. we are very happy about feedback, so we can improve constantly. Kind regards Manuel Berger and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Greg_Ziggy wrote a review Aug 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The scenic location, a free public transport pass, absolutely stunning interiors, coordinated Rituals cosmetics in the room, a very nice quality of bedding, and ''Ugly but cool'' (As per the sticker on it) AC unit in the room - makes it a really exceptional place to stay, and should set a standard for others.

What makes it a trully fabulous place to stay is the staff.
Bunch of beautiful souls, who made our stay unforgettable experience, and out of 5 places we stayed across Switzerland - the best one, by far.

To top it all off, they can whip up a very decent espresso, tasty cortado, and a proper negroni, which makes them my kind of folks in any corner of the world :)

I will forever sing praises for the quality time I had with y'all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Berger, Inhaber at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne
Responded 27 Dec 2022
Dear Greg Many many thanks for your amazing comment and the rating. We are happy we could satisfy you all over. Would be great to welcome you again! Kind regards from lucerne Manuel Berger and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leonardo Alcantara wrote a review Feb 2020
Rio de Janeiro, RJ1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is a renovated old house from an rich family. It is located in front the big lake around which Lucern is placed. It is a pleasant location, not the best one to stay for tourism, but still walking distance from the main attractions. Lucern has a good transportation system, so, it does not make all the difference.

The hotel itself is also pretty regular. Not particularly fancy, but at least clean. There is no full body mirror in the room, which is very questionable for a hotel at this price point.

The service is really lacking. I usually don't bother with minor issues. But there were plenty for a stay so short.

The worst? My kid took a charger from the room with us by mistake. I had already noticed that upon arrival in my next destination, and I was ready to return it. But I received a email so rude, in such an accusatory tone that I was deeply offended. I returned it by mail, and I did not receive any confirmation of the receipt.

And when questioned the management answered as if the main problem was the failing to notify me of the return and not the rudeness of the first email itself.

The breakfast service was also underpair. One day the level of boiling water in kettle for the eggs was almost in the bottom. The other day there was no spoons for the eggs.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Berger, Inhaber at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Dear Leonardo Thank you very much for taking the time for your review. First of all we are sorry that we have not met your expectations for your stay with us. The egg boiler was in fact not satisfying and got replaced by freshly boiled eggs from our kitchen. We appreciate all feedback, as it helps us to improve our service for our guests constantly. However, concerning our communication we cannot accept your criticism and must defend our staff. It is an everyday occurence that our guests forget something in their room or take something with them, almost always by mistake. As with every customer, our reception staff wrote a kind e-mail, asking if a charger was taken by mistake and, if yes, if you would like to return it or if you prefer to keep it for the charge of the original purchase price. This is a standard procedure for an absolutely minor issue and there was nothing rude in the text written by our staff. Again, we are very open for all kinds of criticism, but it ends when our staff is attacked for no reason. We would be happy to welcome you again and wish you all the best. best regards Manuel Berger Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rounak j asked a question Jan 2024
Indore, India468 contributions70 helpful votes
does the hotel have elevator? my mother cant use stairs because of her legs
Answer from Eric S
Toronto, Canada77 contributions47 helpful votes
Yes they do but it’s small and old
Answer from tommradk
Petersburg, Illinois80 contributions57 helpful votes
The walk isn’t bad but not good if you are pulling luggage with you. I would take the bus. It stops right by the hotel and goes to the train station. When coming from the train station you want the bus stop after the casino.
Jess G asked a question Oct 2021
Harlingen, Texas, USA16 contributions6 helpful votes
Do you rent out bikes for town?
Answer from Chez-Gautier
Zug, Switzerland383 contributions221 helpful votes
Hi Jess G, they have 2 hotel bicycles which you can use for free.
Michele H wrote a tip 22 May
Victoria, Canada3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no parking on site and the elevator is very small. Expect some stairs when you arrive."
Read full review
snowmanFL wrote a tip Oct 2023
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida16 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Mattresses are quite firm, which may be an issue for some. Be sure to try the long, paved lakefront walk across the street. Bus stop nearby"
Read full review
HHLVR wrote a tip Oct 2023
United States484 contributions187 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel is too far to walk with luggage if arriving by train."
Read full review
wengengirl wrote a tip Sept 2023
Middleton, Massachusetts135 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a patio lake view"
Read full review
Alicia B wrote a tip Sept 2023
San Diego, California39 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel gives you a Lucerne local card that gives you free bus rides in the area and discounts to museums."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lucerne area.
PRICE RANGE
£156 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of LucerneLucerne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL BEAU SEJOUR LUCERNE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne?
Nearby attractions include Grand Casino Luzern (0.3 miles), Nationalquai (0.3 miles), and Markuskirche (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne?
Conveniently located restaurants include SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana, Villa Schweizerhof, and Restaurant Olivo.
Is Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the centre of Lucerne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Musegg Wall (0.9 miles), Nadelwehr (0.9 miles), and Rathaus Stadt Luzern (0.8 miles).
Does Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
All Lucerne HotelsLucerne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LucerneHotels near Hotel Beau Sejour Lucerne
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire