ibis budget Luzern City
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

ibis budget Luzern City

Luzern
Traveller (357)
Lucerne bridge
Room & Suite (185)
A view of hotel reception and office
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
£150
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#43 of 65 hotels in Lucerne
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make ibis budget Luzern City their hotel of choice when visiting Lucerne. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a quiet setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Rooms at ibis budget Luzern City provide a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at ibis budget Luzern City guests have access to 24 hour front desk, baggage storage, and newspaper. You can also enjoy breakfast buffet. Need a place to park? Parking is available at ibis budget Luzern City.

While staying at ibis budget Luzern City, visitors can check out KKL Luzern - Lucerne Culture and Convention Centre (0.5 mi) and Jesuitenkirche (0.5 mi), some of Lucerne's top attractions.

If you like Mediterranean restaurants, ibis budget Luzern City is conveniently located near Restaurant La Cucina, Restaurant Geissmatt, and Grottino 1313.

If you’re looking for something to do, Chapel Bridge (0.6 mi), Old Town Lucerne (0.6 mi), and Lion Monument (1.1 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of ibis budget Luzern City.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at ibis budget Luzern City as you experience all of the things Lucerne has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Convenience store
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
1.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Chinese and 6 more

Location

Kellerstrasse 6, Lucerne 6005 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 87 out of 100
87
Zurich Airport
Belp Airport
39.3 mi
See all flights
1,891Review37Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 241
  • 802
  • 591
  • 155
  • 102
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
shinysimo wrote a review Jan 2023
Cluj-Napoca, Romania120 contributions75 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is situated within walking distance from city center, it's very basic but comfortable, small shower area, but they did provide toiletries. The front desk persons were really nice and have shared tips and trcks, as well as maps of the city.
We visited during Lilu festival and we loved it. Breakfast is available upon request, they do have parking, we were able to find the last spot, for which we paid 14 CHF, but it was quite convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabrice Steib, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City
Responded 13 Feb 2023
Dear Client, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Luzern City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Hotel ibis budget Luzern Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BrakiWorldTraveler wrote a review Apr 2022
Belgrade, Serbia18,122 contributions5,361 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Switzerland is a very expensive country, so for a sightseeing tourist this Ibis Budget hotel is an ideal option imo.
If you're all day out exploring (and there's lot in Lucerne) there's no need to look for another and pay more.
Rooms are basic and small, but clean.
Check in was fast and they gave us our room even earlier, as well the Lucerne free public transport ticket which is very convenient. Bus Nr 4 runs to the main railway station and from there all attractions are close.
Breakfast was really good, better than in some more expensive hotels we stayed on our 8 days tour.
We were there by car and they have reasonable parking rates - 14 CHF for outdoor and 17 CHF for the garage.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabrice Steib, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City
Responded 23 Jan 2023
Dear Client, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Luzern City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Hotel ibis budget Luzern Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arthur M wrote a review Jan 2023
Hamilton, Canada1,418 contribution397 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As my house has hyperactive smoke alarm, the location of the exposed shower to the smoke alarm gave me PTSD. It felt like I could not take a hot shower with the cold weather and the steam will erroneously trigger the fire alarm. To be specific, the shower is located beside the bed, and is not fully enclosed either, so steam will travel out of the shower area, which scared me from taking a hot shower.

The toilets are also separated from the sink, so if you came from Italy, this will be a shocker! No opportunity to wash! Out of luck.

As for the bed and the room itself, it was pretty much at a typical Ibis fashion. I have no complaints on that. Breakfast was alright as well. Not sure if I saw hot meat and scrambled eggs. I'm sure it's just continental breakfast. So that's one thing to check.

Location is great though. A short walk to the train station and you're downtown. No complaints there either.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabio Zuliani, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City
Responded 23 Jan 2023
Dear Client, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Luzern City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Hotel ibis budget Luzern Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ana wrote a review Jun 2020
Bucharest, Romania1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited this month the hotel for the first time, at the check-in I was welcomed very friendly by the team. They put the safety first in this difficult times: disinfectant for the guests, glass between the guest and the employee at the reception and signs to remind us to keep the distance as well. The room is perfect for the price that I paid, the bed was comfortable. The take-away breakfast is a very good and safe idea in this times for only CHF 4.95 you can get a hot drink and a hot toast sandwich or cereals.
I will be definitely coming back here any time soon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabio Zuliani, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City
Responded 22 Jun 2020
Good Day, Thank you very much for your beautiful review! It is a real pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and also our friendly staff! We work harder everyday to make everyone feel home and comfortable. We hope to see you soon again very soon! Regards, Ibis Budget Lucerne City
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ADRENALINEGIRL2015 wrote a review Aug 2020
Canton of Fribourg, Switzerland19 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am giving our stay a 5 star, principally becuase of the male receptionist with the glasses who also spoke english!! He was extremely busy when we arrived, even with a queue behind us, he calmly explained all that we need to know, handing us a map and the free travel passes. So thanks again Mr.
The hotel is well situated at just a 5 minute tram ride into the city, which my girls loved taking each day! there iare a limited number of parking spaces outside at 14chf per 24 hours and further car park spaces elsewhere at a slightl higher fee. Reeption gives you a ticket which you need to display on your dashboard. Missing a couple of towels in the room, ( we were a family of 3) reception happily obliged with more ( girls on reception were also sweet). The pillows were not at all bad for an Ibis Budget...and I have stayed in several !! Only slight problem were banging doors on a couple of the nights...perhaps a sign asking guests to consider other guests when shutting their doors, a simple gesture such as this could help resolve the problem !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabio Zuliani, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City
Responded 5 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, many thanks for your review, it's a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay at IBIS budget Luzern City. Reviews like your are extremely motivating and give us the energy and the good will to keep providing our great hotel services. So many many thanks again :) I will forward your comments to Yathu (the guy with glasses at he reception) and the rest of the team who will definitely be delighted to read your review. We sincerely hope to have the chence to welcome you soon ! Kind regards Fabio Zuliani - General ager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chong wrote a review Sept 2023
Singapore, Singapore56 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room is clean. We got the biggest room with 3 bedrooms though we only had 2 persons staying. The room in general has the basic amenities such as shower gel, toilet rolls and towels. The slighting door is a bit hard to move, seems faulty. The counter staffs are friendly and even give tips on some budget options to eat and buy food, like next door Denner supermarket. The cleaning staffs even knocked on the door to ask if I needed extra towels since I went out the whole day and didn’t need any cleaning services. The location is not exactly near the main station but it’s doable if you do not have big luggage.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: About 15 mins walk from Luzern Station. Get the biggest room is you can.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabrice Steib, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City
Responded 23 Sept 2023
Dear Client, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Luzern City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Hotel ibis budget Luzern Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicha M wrote a review Feb 2020
Bangkok, Thailand104 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the main station in a quiet area. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful with the direction.

We booked for triple room with no breakfast. We were surprised how small the room was. We could not open our luggages and walk to the wash area. The shower room is very very small. This hotel is for sleeping only.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabio Zuliani, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City
Responded 5 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, many thanks for the nice review and for having shared you impressions after your stay at IBIS budget Luzern City. If you will ever have the opportunity to stay here again, please be informed that your family rooms are much bigger and comfortable for 3 persons. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again. Kind regards Fabio Zuliani - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
msaraf101 wrote a review Nov 2023
Kolkata (Calcutta), India83 contributions59 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Located a 5-7 min bus journey from the Luzern train station and picturesque old town, this hotel is a good option for budget travellers. Rooms are a tad small, and there is no lock on the bathroom door. Wifi works well. There is no balcony, and the entire property is non-smoking. The staff is always well dressed and professional, helpful and smiling. The reception can be contacted for a free bus pass meant for tourists for the duration of your stay at Luzern. I didnt have breakfast here so cannot comment on the food. There is a Denner (discount supermarket) practically next door, which is worth a visit for great deals on swiss chocolate, beer, perfumes etc., in addition to the regular stuff. The hotel is also walking distance from a nice bar (Bar 59) which is open till late, a gas station, a pizza place, an indian restaurant etc. The neighborhood is very safe to walk around even late at night. There is free hot water available 24/7 in the lobby if you want to use it for your ramen bowl etc. The hotel also sell drinks and snacks 24/7 at the lobby.

In case I visit Luzern on a tight budget again, I would stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: there is a nice view from the higher floor rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabrice Steib, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City
Responded 17 Jan 2024
Dear Client, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Luzern City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Hotel ibis budget Luzern Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BenDanielBlaLi wrote a review Jul 2021
Karmoy Municipality, Norway78 contributions52 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This budget hotel is only a 6 min walk from the train station in Luzern.
The rooms are small but clean and with a good bed.
The only bad thing is the toilets. The toilet is at the end of the room and there is only a light door with opening upperst and down that seperate. It gives little privacey to go to the toilet if you are more people in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabio Zuliani, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City
Responded 28 Sept 2021
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Luzern City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pablo R wrote a review Mar 2020
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina7 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The worst hotel in Luzern. Fabio Zuliani, "General Manager"attention is a disaster... No understanding of the guest needs and special situation. Would never book or recomend this hotel again. There are many other options in Luzern.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabio Zuliani, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City
Responded 27 Apr 2020
Dear Guest, Because of a disagreement related to the booking procedure your are badly reviewing our property despite the fact that you never stayed at IBIS budget Luzern! Maybe, if you will ever have the chance to spend at least 1 night at our hotel you will change your mind :) Regards Fabio Zuliani - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from RabePaul
Philadelphia, PA904 contributions198 helpful votes
Just ask as you check in, as you'll get a free pass to ride any public transit within the city of Luzerne, including the day you check out. This will be useful for getting from the hotel to the train station by riding Tram #4.
Umesh Vardam asked a question Sept 2021
India49 contributions3 helpful votes
Is there a designated smoking area?
Aqiem H asked a question Nov 2019
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia34 contributions
Do you charge any deposit?
Answer from John K
Victoria, Canada61 contributions52 helpful votes
I don't know...sorry.
Velvon A wrote a tip 5 May
Auckland, New Zealand293 contributions60 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take bus 4 to hotel on arrival at train station. No need to pay. show your hotel reservation. Upon check in you’ll get visitor card"
Read full review
msaraf101 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Kolkata (Calcutta), India83 contributions59 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"there is a nice view from the higher floor rooms"
Read full review
Chong wrote a tip Sept 2023
Singapore, Singapore56 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"About 15 mins walk from Luzern Station. Get the biggest room is you can."
Read full review
Luca C wrote a tip Aug 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid come here"
Read full review
Ultratech wrote a tip Jun 2023
SN415 contributions33 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"BYOB - Bring your own breakfast (Families) They are good with Hot Drinking Water and Microwave facility"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lucerne area.
PRICE RANGE
£122 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Etap Hotel Luzern City
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of LucerneLucerne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
128
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IBIS BUDGET LUZERN CITY - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about ibis budget Luzern City
Which popular attractions are close to ibis budget Luzern City?
Nearby attractions include Zentralbar (0.2 miles), Crea Arte (0.3 miles), and Netzwerk Neubad (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at ibis budget Luzern City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and reduced mobility rooms.
Is parking available at ibis budget Luzern City?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ibis budget Luzern City?
Conveniently located restaurants include BOLERO Restaurante, Grottino 1313, and Zur Werkstatt.
Is ibis budget Luzern City located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Lucerne.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ibis budget Luzern City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to ibis budget Luzern City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Musegg Wall (0.8 miles), Nadelwehr (0.6 miles), and Rathaus Stadt Luzern (0.6 miles).
Is ibis budget Luzern City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Lucerne HotelsLucerne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LucerneHotels near ibis budget Luzern City
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire