We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel des Balances

Traveller (838)
360
Panoramas (13)
Dining (70)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Hotel Des Balances - a four star superior property – is located in the beautiful heart of Lucerne’s Old Town. The ideal starting point for shopping and sight seeing.It has 56 tastefully renovated rooms and suites with a view of the famous Chapel Bridge, Jesuit Church and Mount Pilatus.Enjoy market fresh creations in our Restaurant Balances with lounge, bar and terrace directly at the river Reuss. 14 Gault Millau points stand for culinary art.Individual premises impressively combine tradition and modern comfort and provide the perfect framework for your unique event.Treat yourself to insBrational moments at the Hotel des Balances.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Electric Vehicle Charging Station
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Boutique
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
162Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
38Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,417Reviews
1,205Photos
22Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 941
  • 372
  • 66
  • 25
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I went here for a honeymoon and it was the best choice. Everything was great. Best location, best room condition.. oh the breakfast was fantastic. Paolo welcomed us very very nicely and kindly. We really satisfied with the service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Balances, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Balances
Responded 3 days ago
Many thanks for your fantastic review! We are very happy that you fully enjoyed your honeymoon and that you are satisfied with your choice. We are looking forward to your soon return.
Read more
I stayed 1day but it was great time.Even im not good at english reception was very kind and helped me to understand. Room was very clean and comfortable and also great location. the balcony has great view of Capell Bridge.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Balances, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Balances
Responded 3 days ago
We thank you very much for your great review! It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be pleased to welcome you again any time soon.
Read more
The room smelled of cigarette smoke and air freshener. The hotel is run-down, poorly maintained, overpriced, and certainly not up to the standards of a 4 star establishment. The staff doesn’t care. What an expensive disappointment. I would give it zero stars if I could.
Read more
Response from Balances, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Balances
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your review! Honest feedbacks always help us to continuously reflect on and improve our guest services. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We do, however, not understand why you did not communicate your dissatisfaction to us while on the premises as we always strive to meet our guests’ needs and wishes. We regret that your stay did not meet your expectations but we do not share your comments about our staff and company culture. We will check all issues mentioned and will take all necessary action to avoid any possible negative experience for our guests.
Read more
We stayed here several times and love this hotel ... but this time it was different. We got a room on the first floor and on the side opposite to the river ... to be avoided. The curtains are not very efficient and the lights from the streets are strong. Not great if you want a
Read more
Response from Balances, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Balances
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your review! We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback, helping us in this way to continously improve our guest services. We are very sorry to hear that you did not sleep well this time. We will certainly disuss your comments with our staff. We would be happy to welcome you again and show that we take these feedbacks seriously.
Read more
Hotel Des balances was perfect. We really love the location as we could walk to everywhere from the hotel. The balcony on the river was fabulous. The staff was extremely friendly and very very helpful. This is one of our favorite hotels.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Balances, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Balances
Responded 3 days ago
Thanky you so much for your excellent review! We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time staying with us and we also would like to thank you for your kind compliments to our staff. We would gladly welcome you back soon.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel des Balances
The Suite at the Hotel des Balances
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel des Balances
The Romantic Suite at the Hotel des Balances
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel des Balances
The Junior Suite at the Hotel des Balances
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel des Balances
The Double Room at the Hotel des Balances
The view from the room
PreviousNext
123456115
Depending upon who you book through you can include breakfast. We did not include breakfast. It is SF 31.00 per person for the hotel breakfast.
0 votes
Show all answers
No idea. Best will be to give them a call.
0 votes
Show all answers
No, our terrace is closed during the winter. Best regards
0 votes
The rooms are not air conditioned, but generally have huge windows and/or French doors , all of which have automatic screens. The buttons next to the bed operate the screens. They were SO fun to discover and play with. As for room configuration and prices, I have no idea. Best bet is to check their website or any place that handles them. Having said that, the hotel IS expensive.... but we thought it was well worth it. Enjoy!
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345
"Rooms with a view are the ones that allow smoking on the balcony. So beware."
"If you can get a room with a view over the river it is definitely worth it."
"view of the river"
"Can't beat the river view with the city and alps views"
"More money spent - better room"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$171 - US$438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
des balances hoteldes balances lucerne
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of LucerneLucerne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing