Hotel Astoria
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Astoria

Camera SUITE DESING e sala della colazione
Traveller (501)
Lifestyle King Room
Room & Suite (94)
coffeeshop
Dining (52)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#38 of 64 hotels in Lucerne
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel Astoria offers everything expected of a modern conferencing hotel. Featuring light, bright and tastefully designed rooms, this architectural masterpiece in the heart of Lucerne is one of Switzerland’s most attractive urban hotels.RestaurantsWe own the most exciting restaurants in Lucerne. Thai, Italian or Asian Food at a superbly high standard as acknowledged by the Gault Millau restaurant guide.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Rooftop terrace
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian

Location

Pilatusstrasse 29, Lucerne 6002 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
859Reviews19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 220
  • 338
  • 180
  • 74
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
tamaralea wrote a review Sept 2022
Toledo, OH1,361 contribution371 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel as part of an Insight Vacations bus tour. It was a 15 minute walk to the heart of the tourist area, however it was closer to the train station, if that is important to you. Our room was nice and it was quiet, unlike others in our tour group, who heard noise from the bar all night. Breakfasts were really weak, with not much choice.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Astoria Luzern, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Astoria
Responded 1 Oct 2022
Dear tamaralea Thank you very much for your visit to our hotel and your subsequent feedback. We are very sorry that we were not able to convince you completely. However, we are happy to take your criticism as an opportunity to improve our service quality. In spite of everything, we would be pleased to welcome you again soon so that we can convince you of these improvements after all. Kind regards M. Ligabue Quality Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aussi p wrote a review Jan 2020
Houston, Texas27 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night here on our way to Zermatt, The hotel staff is very courteous the free included breakfast is not that well stocked with varieties but not bad.. The location is great walking distance to the train station and the walking distance to the Chapel Bridge. The hotel is nice and modern and clean. We enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Dear Aussie2185 Thank you very much for your stay and your feedback. We are happy that we convince you with our central location and service. All the best to you! We are really looking forward to welcoming you soon again! Best regards, Sheila Quality Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mainox wrote a review Nov 2021
Milan, Italy824 contributions133 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located 5min walk from the famous Bridge of Lucerne and 10min from Old Town. If you are looking for a hotel downtown, you are better off looking for a Hotel on the opposite side of the city.

The entrance hall is not so welcoming and not a nice environment, but the rooms amply make-up for the that and are cozy and perfectly clean, sanitized.

Very costly the car Garage (CHF 40/night), and strange the location for the Breakfast, in a structure where you are forced to exit the Hotel to find it, and not well signaled at all. The continental breakfast included in the package had a good variety of offering.

The hotel’s strengths are surely the nice rooms, big screen TV and a good breakfast. Cost: a little steep for the actual offering!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Hopefully you will not get a whole bus load of people checking in before you! Get directions for...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eli G wrote a review Feb 2020
Ramat Gan, Israel491 contributions147 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights, out of which Internet was operating for only the first 8 hours. The answers of the reception started with an estimation of 10-20 minutes and gradually grew to: "we have no idea why and when" very annoying from a hotels charging around 200$ a night.
Then we asked for a kettle, to which the answer was - we do not have kettles. Firsttime I get this answer in a hotel. However I was shown the way to a vending machine in the hotel, where one can purchase hot water for 1 SFr. Not a lot of money but a big disappointment
The hotel is too big and moving between the rooms to the restaurants is annoying. I would not recommend this hotel to a good friend
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: , Forget about it. Find another hotel. Try the Rebstock or Ameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Eli G We thank you for your stay and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies. Our primary goal is the satisfaction of our guests and we spare no effort to improve and optimize our service constantly. We definitely take your valuable feedback seriously. To diffusion some of your important cases, we would like to point out that all of our rooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi. We are working with a brand leader for Wi-Fi for Switzerland, which had unfortunately a technical problem that regrettably could have been solved after about 10 hours. Unfortunately, we do not have kettles but have passed your useful advice to our management in order to improve in the future. Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements. Best regards, Sheila Quality Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
crutt13 wrote a review May 2020
Pottstown, Pennsylvania568 contributions163 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here several nights while in town for work. The restaurant is close to the train station and can be accessed by taxi or bus.

The hotel has a nice cafe and restaurant adjacent to it and they have a small gym. It is well maintained, clean and quiet. The rooms are of adequate size, the beds were reasonably comfortable and they had a safe and desk. They offered complimentary breakfast and free bus passes in zone 10.

Overall it was a good stay and I'd happily return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria
Responded 4 Jun 2020
Dear crutt13 Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Astoria Lucerne and your great feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our central location and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again! Best regards, Sheila Quality Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
linda c wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
There were 10 people traveling in our group and we were staying for one night at the Astoria in May. We purchased a non refundable rate and prepaid. Then the world wide virus alert was made and our 4 friends who are coming from S. Korea are under travel restrictions and are unable to travel. We decided to cancel our cruise and land trip due to the uncertainty. While some hotels did not care about the dangers of travelers from restricted countries, Hotel Astoria, without a question, allowed us to cancel our non refundable and gave us a full refund.
Thank you, Hotel Astoria, for looking out for the welfare of your guests first. Whenever we are able to travel without worry again, soon, we will be certain to make our stay with you! You have impressed all of us with your proper placement of your priorities. Thanks again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Dear R7414FJlindac Thank you very much for your great feedback. We check each case individually and then decide based on various criteria. All the best to you! We are really looking forward to welcoming you soon! Best regards, Sheila Quality Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
XcitingTrips wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a stopover for us in July on our way to Interlaken. The location is perfect, 15 mins walk to the train station, and quite central to all the shops and restaurants by the lake. It's quite a new hotel so the rooms are good size with really comfortable beds. Note that the bathroom is completely open. There is no kettle in the room, but they provide a Nespresso coffee machine. So, unless you drink coffee, you are out of luck. We found the reception staff really friendly and helpful. The bonus was a 12.00pm checkout. The included breakfast is slightly disappointing, as it is very limited. As for vegetarian options, there was only cereal and fruit. All the cooked options were non-veg. Perhaps the hotel needs to think about vegetarian and vegan options and respond to the current market. Overall, a pleasant stay here, but very pricey for what we got.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Astoria Luzern, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Astoria
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Dear Rajputtin Thank you very much for your visit to our hotel and your subsequent detailed feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our location and our comfortable rooms. We would also like to thank you for the feedback regarding our vegetarian breakfast. We are very grateful for such feedback and will incorporate your suggestions into future breakfast planning. We would be very happy to welcome you again soon. Kind regards R. Horlacher Quality Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beverly Z wrote a review Oct 2022
B loomfield, United States23 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel as part of an Avalon Waterways River Cruise. Great location in the heart of town. Did not know what to expect but on arrival thought it was beautiful.
Nice big clean room. But when we took showers the mirrors stayed fogged up forever and made the whole room feel damp. The lighting was to dark for makeup since I couldn't use the bathroom. And my friends said in their room the AC was not working. We ate at LA Cucina which was an Italian restaurant in the hotel. Very good but was told we couldn't add the check to the room, but it had a spot for it on the receipt. The included breakfast was pathetic, scrambled eggs, undercooked bacon, and a few cold cuts.
The staff at the desk was very helpful and pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Astoria Luzern, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Astoria
Responded 26 Oct 2022
Dear Beverly Z Thank you very much for your visit to our hotel and your subsequent feedback. We are very pleased about the positive points you described. We regret all the more that we were not able to convince you completely. However, your criticisms are very welcome, as they help us to improve our service quality. Nevertheless, we hope that we will be able to welcome you again soon so that we can convince you of our usual high standards after all. Kind regards M. Ligabue Quality Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Storyteller524318 wrote a review Jul 2023
Metro Manila, Philippines71 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It is not easy to navigate this hotel. They have stairs and an escalator hidden from view in front. They have elevators also but they are located inside the building. The rooms however are spacious enough and have good lighting switches. We stayed two nights and on both days housekeeping was working well. Location is very good, within a five minute walk of the main train station, passing by Coop for low priced freshly squeezed orange juice and other grocery items plus ready to eat sandwiches. Porter service efficient and they have good reception 24 hrs. Internet is so so but their Asian/Thai resto is superb!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danilo G wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a room via Booking on 16th July- the same day you have o check in you will receive a call or a mail from the Management that will tell you that the hotel is closed and that you have to accept another hotel. So at night we had to find this new hotel (Renaissance hotel), that does not have any parking, and we had to accept a room just above the nightclub that is under the hotel. So we could not sleep whole night, had to park the car in the street, and pay the same as we were in Astoria. It is disgrace that Marriott allow this way to do business and that we got caught in this scam. Really careful in booking these three hotels (including Flora hotel) since you book one ... and you never know where you will sleep. and thsy still advertise a closed hotel ... and confirm the rooms. Is this serious?
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Stay just away from this and its management. Trust a family man who could not sleep whole night
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KJC asked a question Jun 2022
7 contributions2 helpful votes
Can you request a mini fridge in your room?
charlotte r asked a question Aug 2019
Essex, United Kingdom27 contributions32 helpful votes
We are staying in October, are there any excursions/day trips to Mount Titlis and any chocolate factories?
Answer from astorialuzern
Lucerne, Switzerland
Dear charlotte r We are looking forward to welcoming you in October. You can find all information about Mount Titlis under the webside from Mount Titlis. We are only a few walking minutes from the Lucerne train station. All informations about the chocolate factory you find under the website from aeschbach-chocolatier. Best regards, Sheila Quality Management
Answer from TomB29582
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina165 contributions33 helpful votes
I had the UK to Europe plug and it worked well.
Answer from astorialuzern
Lucerne, Switzerland
Dear Farah N Thank you very much for the interest that you show in our Hotel Astoria. We have an elevater from the parking area to the lobby. We are looking forward to welcoming your client! Best regards, Sheila Quality Management
Jim wrote a tip Sept 2023
Lakewood McHenry County, Illinois215 contributions44 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere and let them know you will not tolerate noise"
Read full review
Scott B wrote a tip Sept 2023
4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Basic no frills hotel; lack of amenities including basic room service or concierge. Rooms are sparsely decorated and lack basic carpeting. "
Read full review
John and Nancy L wrote a tip Aug 2023
Stratford, New Jersey169 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here if you don’t like the idea of no bathroom door. We thought it was a cool style."
Read full review
karoleigh wrote a tip Jul 2023
North Carolina3,837 contributions526 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"They do have quiet rooms. Ask for one overlooking the quiet street."
Read full review
CKBH100 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Singapore, Singapore34 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose the proper corner of the hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lucerne area.
PRICE RANGE
£219 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
astoria hotel lucerne
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of LucerneLucerne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
264
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ASTORIA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Astoria
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Astoria?
Nearby attractions include The Riddle Escape Games (0.2 miles), Gameorama (0.2 miles), and Chapel Bridge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Astoria?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Astoria?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Astoria?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Astoria?
Conveniently located restaurants include Antons Restaurant, Bolero Restaurante, and Ampersand Grillrestaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Astoria?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel Astoria located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 miles away from the centre of Lucerne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Astoria?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Astoria offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Astoria?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Astoria?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Musegg Wall (0.5 miles), Nadelwehr (0.2 miles), and Rathaus Stadt Luzern (0.3 miles).
All Lucerne HotelsLucerne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LucerneHotels near Hotel Astoria
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire