Hotel des Alpes
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel des Alpes

Traveller (1141)
Bathroom
Room & Suite (185)
Restaurant
Dining (88)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
£347
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#9 of 65 hotels in Lucerne
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
If you’re looking for a charming hotel in Lucerne, look no further than Hotel des Alpes. Nearby landmarks such as Kornmarkt (0.1 mi) and Jesuitenkirche (0.2 mi) make Hotel des Alpes a great place to stay when visiting Lucerne. Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Hotel des Alpes offer a flat screen TV. During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a 24 hour front desk, baggage storage, and newspaper. For travelers arriving by car, there is paid public parking available nearby. Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out a science museum, such as Swiss Museum of Transport. The staff at Hotel des Alpes looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Marina View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Furrengasse 3, Lucerne 6004 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Zurich Airport
30.5 mi
See all flights
Belp Airport
39.3 mi
See all flights
1,692Review35Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 736
  • 653
  • 196
  • 81
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
David Y wrote a review Feb 2020
Paris, France7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Since we travelled to and from Luzern by train, this hotel is conveniently located just across the river bridge from the Luzern main train station. Our room was was adequately-sized and had a panoramic view across the river. At night it was quiet, even when the window was left open.

We were pleased that in the room there were two chairs and a place where two suitcases can be opened. (Double occupancy rooms in many other hotels only provide for one suitcase, a second suitcase having to be placed on the floor !) The safe was not large enough for a laptop but quite adequate for smaller items.

The bathroom was large, had excellent lighting and a well thought-out shower that did not allow water to splash on the floor as occurs in so many other hotel bathrooms.

The reception staff were really great - friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient with which to start the day.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: River-view rooms have a great view and are quiet at night.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher3680 wrote a review Jul 2021
Ocean Springs, Mississippi84 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were only able to stay one night but it was fantastic! First if you arrive by car you will park your vehicle initially in a courtyard setting near the hotel entrance. You will unload your bags and walk for MAYBE one minute to the hotel door. After checking in you will need to move your vehicle down the road to the public parking. This is maybe a 15 min walk back to the hotel. If you plan to leave early speak w/ the staff and they can give you a parking pass that is prepaid. You just pay the hotel and when you go to leave the parking garage you just insert the ticket you received from the hotel and you're good to go. This helps w/ not having to find a ticket machine to validate your ticket in the wee hours of the morning.

Upon arrival the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is very old and the rooms are basic but perfect for the setting. We had a room w/ a large balcony overlooking the river which was wonderful. After we parked our car it was a quick walk to everything that was around our hotel. There are many shops, restaurants etc within the vicinity of the hotel. In fact the hotel feels very much centrally located as we traversed Luzern quickly w/ only one day and always being close to the hotel. Since we had the balcony we wanted to use it. We bought a pizza from a local restaurant and a bottle of prosecco from the hotel and had a wonderful dinner on our balcony overlooking the river and Chapel Bridge.

Breakfast sounded amazing but we weren't able to experience that as we had to leave quite early to catch a train. By that I mean I had to walk to the parking garage at 2:30 A.M. from the hotel but it was very quiet and safe along the route. The parking garage are located near the bus/train station so there's always activity whether people or taxi's. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to visit the lovely Luzern.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Any room w/ a view of the river but get a balcony!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mswsteve wrote a review Feb 2020
Los Angeles38 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a great experience at this hotel. Room was clean and had great views of the bridge, historic buildings, lake and mountains. Desk staff was amazing, especially Simon who gave me a great room and helpful tips of what was happening in the city. The hotel is an easy 5-7 minute walk from the central train station which is manageable with luggage. Breakfast was continental, but still very good with local cheeses, meats, pastries, homemade Muslie and optional egg. I highly recommend and would return again next time I am in Lucerne. The entire staff I interacted with was also fluent in English which was helpful as well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paradise34612110473 wrote a review Jul 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We received a friendly welcome on check in at Des Alpes, but we were also pressured by a staff member not to use our American Express Card because Amex charges too much. I'm a free enterpriser, so I defend a business's right to determine what credit cards, if any, it wants to accept, but a business shouldn't advertise that it accepts a specific credit card when it actually does NOT.

We had a nice balcony room overlooking the river. It was very small, as are most European hotel rooms. This is not a complaint directed at Des Alpes, but rather just an alert for North American guests who are used to much more space.

Now to the grumbles:

1.
Again, like most European hotels, no bar of soap is provided. We went out and purchased our own bar of soap because Des Alpes couldn't or wouldn't supply one. We really dislike liquid soaps for showering and we think that most other guests also would prefer a bar of soap.

2.
We had 4 x 18.50 Swiss Franc vouchers to spend in the hotel and we used two (37 Francs) for breakfast on the first morning of our stay. The actual bill for breakfast was around 34 Francs, so we should have received a 3 Franc credit for future use but our waiter just said “That's good” and walked away. On the second morning we ordered a little more food and the bill came to around $40.30 Francs, or 3.30 Francs more than the 37 Franc coupon total. Of course, the waiter wanted the 3.30 Francs paid, and said it could be charged to our room !!! If it works to charge extra cost to our room it should have worked to provide a credit on the previous morning !! It was a little thing, but annoying, because we felt ripped off.

3.
Also in the restaurant on the second morning, we witnessed a young waitress picking through the bread slices with her hands and selecting some to put on a plate for a table guest. This was after she had been handling and setting up tables outside. Both of the other serving staff, a mature woman and young man, used tongs to handle the bread, as they should. We worry that careless food handling by staff can easily spread disease. Some training is needed.

Overall, we left Des Alpes with the feeling that small issues had tarnished our stay to the point that we wouldn't want to go back. Management needs to take a look at the way it is administering credit card acceptance, voucher credits, and food handling.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Be aware, if you are from North America, the rooms are SMALL !!! Hardly enough space for luggage...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita wrote a review Oct 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic location in Old Town overlooking the Chapel Bridge. We were traveling with another couple and booked rooms 563 & 564 on the top floor.
These rooms each have a balcony right next to each other with a low railing separating the two...perfect place to share a bottle of wine and the fabulous views. We could see the Chapel Bridge, the baroque Jesuit Church, Lake Lucerne and the surrounding mountains.

Our room was comfortable & clean with 2 French style doors opening to the patio. It was unseasonably warm in Lucerne so we opened the doors to catch a breeze (fans available upon request). There is some traffic and pedestrian noise but we loved being in the heart of everything.

Carafe and drinking glasses were provided. The tap water is AMAZING and better than any bottled spring water we have ever tried.

Front desk staff warm & welcoming. We had a lovely dinner at the hotel's restaurant with terrace seating on the water. Just magical.

The hotel was in walking distance of the Wirsthaus Taube restaurant where we enjoyed yet another spectacular open-air waterside table and delicious dinner.

The location allowed us to walk everywhere but the front desk also provided a link to a pass for free public transportation in the city area. Bonus!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book rooms 563 & 564 with shared balcony if traveling with family or friends.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ShannonE848 wrote a review Mar 2020
Vancouver, Canada179 contributions76 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and I stayed 3 nights at the wonderful Hotel des Alps in late February. I think 1 of the best things about the hotel is it’s location - an easy 5 minute walk from the train station, right in the lovely old town of Lucerne and on the river. We walked everywhere during our time in Lucerne.

The room was modest and the bed was too firm and narrow for my liking but otherwise it was very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was very satisfying with lots of great choices. We chose a room with a view of the river which was worth the additional cost. Switzerland is expensive but I think the Hotel des Alpes was reasonably priced.

During one of our days we took a day trip to Lauterbrunnen / Jungfrau region which made for a long day (about 3 hours on the train each way) but was spectacular- we were lucky to have good weather. The Swiss trains are incredibly efficient but expensive. Try to book in advance if you can - you’ll save some money. We didn’t do this with our day trip b/c we only wanted to go if the weather was good, so we payed full price fare.

I high recommend Hotel des Alpes in Lucerne.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bill S wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent three nights at Hotel des Alpes in late May/early June while visiting Lucerne. Located just 1/4 mile walk from the train station, boat dock and downtown and near the river, the location was a great place to see the city. Staff was very friendly both before our visit (email) and during, helping with food recommendations, transportation, stores and sights to see. Wish they had included a continental breakfast. Would definitely return to this hotel for my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
carl0086 wrote a review Jun 2022
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania199 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a perfect location, five minutes walk from the train station and directly opposite the chapel bridge. The reception staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I had just arrived after a long overseas flight and a warm greeting was wonderful. They also stored my luggage and offered a large bathroom to change clothes before my room was ready. The room was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. I got a single with a balcony with a view to the bridge. It was small, even for European standards, but perfect for a couple of nights. The shower had wonderful water pressure. The hotel is right in Old Town and everything is within walking distance.
One side note is that the reception entrance is on the side of the building not facing the bridge. I will definitely stay here on future trips to Lucerne.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
M. Gilmore wrote a review Mar 2022
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was exactly as advertised. A great buy off season and comfortable during our stay. We would return. The bed was comfortable, bath arrangements were as described, there was room service to ask for extras, breakfast was the BEST we experienced in Switzerland and we would not hesitate to stay here again. The hotel was central to everything that was happening in Lucerne. We could see the open air market, walk to the train station, the sights and shopping.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: room with a balcony overlooking the water was excellent.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven B wrote a review Sept 2021
Baltimore, Maryland6 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Three nights.. The Good: super location on river. First floor room with spacious balcony overlooking historic wooden bridge. Hotel restaurant on lower level. Food okay but that is very subjective. Reception people attentive and eager to help with planning schedules although received misinformation about boat schedules twice. Room spacious. The beds very comfortable. Walls bare with small mirror. There is a desk and lounge chair. The Bad: no dresser and no air conditioning (although they do provide a fan). I missed the fact there was no a/c when booked. That’s on me. But, were does two people put their clothes if they do not want to live out of suitcases for three nights? How much could a dresser cost? There is plenty of room for one. They could put it under the TV. In fact, they can remove the TV because the signal is so poor unless you like to listen to stutter and watch flickering. They do provide four cubicles next to hanging closet to store clothing. Lucerne is a charming town. The hotel is well located. We had to pay in full upon arrival. Thought that was a bit unusual. The owners need to do some minor upgrades with room interiors (art on walls and a DRESSER).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReniePenie asked a question Dec 2020
Vancouver, Canada107 contributions69 helpful votes
Is there an elevator in the hotel?
Sunni Ashforth asked a question Feb 2020
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States8 contributions2 helpful votes
What is the size of the double rooms facing the river? I can't find the answer on their webpage.
Answer from GlobRes_12719
Lucerne
Dear Sunni A, Thank you for your kind message and the interest in our hotel. Our rooms are approx. 15m², but please note that we are a really old buidling and all rooms are a little bit different. Please do not hesitate to contact us, if you have any further questions. Kind regards, Your hotel Des Alpes team
Crystal F asked a question Feb 2020
Denton, Texas
Do the rooms have a hairdryer?
Answer from Vickie P
Oyster Bay, New York5 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes
Melody H asked a question Aug 2019
Do you have heated towel racks?
Answer from Danny & Mable
New Zealand157 contributions28 helpful votes
They don't have it
ROADTRIPPER2018 asked a question Jul 2019
Greensboro, North Carolina124 contributions65 helpful votes
Cost of parking at the railway station?
DwardoLeonardo wrote a tip Apr 2024
Reno, Nevada55 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Face the river"
Read full review
OhioRedhorse wrote a tip Apr 2024
Ohio218 contributions58 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Familiarize yourself with the bus routes if not used to public transportation."
Read full review
barb777 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Chicago, Illinois143 contributions120 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room with a view of the Kappelbrucke. It is worth the money. "
Read full review
David B wrote a tip Feb 2024
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay here! Eat in their restaurant!"
Read full review
E S wrote a tip Jan 2024
Mountain View, California8 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Staff steals your clothes if left behind on accident"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lucerne area.
PRICE RANGE
£230 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
des alpes hotel, des alpes lucerne
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of LucerneLucerne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL DES ALPES - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel des Alpes
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel des Alpes?
Nearby attractions include Lake Lucerne (0.1 miles), Chapel Bridge (0.04 miles), and Old Town Lucerne (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel des Alpes?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel des Alpes?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel des Alpes?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel des Alpes?
Conveniently located restaurants include Song Pi Nong, Bellini Locanda Ticinese, and Restaurant Balances.
Is Hotel des Alpes located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Lucerne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel des Alpes?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel des Alpes?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel des Alpes?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Musegg Wall (0.2 miles), Nadelwehr (0.2 miles), and Rathaus Stadt Luzern (0.07 miles).
Does Hotel des Alpes have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Lucerne HotelsLucerne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LucerneHotels near Hotel des Alpes
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire