We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Save
Traveller (173)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (15)
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good19%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“free mini bar”(16 reviews)
“cable car”(74 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (599)
There are newer reviews for Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
393
90
16
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
393
90
16
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barcable carlarge swimming pooltrain stationsauna and steam roomvalley viewswiss buffetreception staffreal bonusthe main streetfamily holidayraclettefriendly hotelhis wifejust returned from a weekdessert buffetski school
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in this hotel as a large group ranging in age from 18 months to 65 years. The rooms were comfortable, reception team helpful and food delicious. There is a swimming pool and sauna (no textiles allowed!!) and a separate cabin...More

Thank Jackie_lonsdale
Response from Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel WengenResponded 12 February 2018

Dear guest Thank you so much for your visit with your family. We are very pleased that all guests of all ages enjoy their stay at the Sunstar ;-) We hope to welcome all of you back one day! Warmest regards from snowy Wengen Katja...More

Reviewed 8 February 2018

Having recently stayed at the Sunstar last week with a large party of friends, I had to write a review as we had a fantastic time. The Sunstar is clean, friendly and within a 2 minute walk to the nearest ski lift. The rooms are...More

1  Thank SOMERSET1970
Response from Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel WengenResponded 12 February 2018

Dear guest Thank you so much for taking your time and write such a positive feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you had a great evening in our grill kota. Many thanks again & hope to see...More

Reviewed 6 January 2018

Minimum confort in the room with a very small bathroom for quite an expensive price. View of the main road where garbage removal and snow plows pass early in the morning. Breakfast with lots to choose from but poor quality especially coffee from machine and...More

Thank mraus65
Response from Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel WengenResponded 9 January 2018

Dear guest Thank you for your review. We regret that you didn't enjoy your stay so much at our hotel, as we always give our best to make our guests happy. Since Wengen is a place which is suitable as well for couples as for...More

Reviewed 3 January 2018

Our family, grandparents, daughter & son-in-law, & two grandchildren spent our fifth Christmas at the Sunstar in Wengen, we had also been many times before, but everything was up to their usual high standard. The manager & his wife, Oliver & Katya are superb hosts...More

Thank Virginia S
Response from Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel WengenResponded 25 January 2018

Dear guest Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy that all of your family enjoyed their stay at the Sunstar Wengen and that you had a good time in our grillkota. We are looking forward to welcome you again :-)...More

Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

The Hotel does offer some astonishing views, but is very much let down by rude waiters at dinner time and also rooms which are dated and feel like they could use a bit of love. The views you can get in almost any hotel in...More

1  Thank CandleBite
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Babysitting
Room amenities
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$190 - US$374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$190 - US$374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (173)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (15)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"All the rooms are excellent. It is definitely quieter on the higher floors"
Read review
"We like village/mountain view duplex rooms, but valley rooms are great also."
Read review
"Ask for the Valley side of the hotel. Amazing, you see the mountains"
Read review
"Not on the main road"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing